Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 11, 13, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin, et al . (US20200150777).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a key switch for a computer accessory for use as an input device of a computer comprising: a switch housing (304, 305); a stem 312, wherein a portion of the stem extends above the switch housing; a position spring 314 positioned under the stem, wherein the position spring is configured to return the stem to a starting position after the stem is depressed; a torsion spring 318, wherein the torsion spring is configured to make a click sound when acted upon; and a click bar 324, wherein an overhang of the click bar is positioned over a portion of the torsion spring; wherein the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang contacts the click bar when the stem is depressed resulting in a first click sound, and the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang contacts the click bar a subsequent time when the stem is released resulting in a second click sound (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches the key switch wherein when the stem 312 is depressed, the torsion spring 318 flexes in a downward direction, and when the stem passes a predetermined threshold, the portion of the torsion spring under the overhang will release and contact the click bar 324 producing the first click sound (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches the key switch wherein when the stem 312 is released, the torsion spring 318 flexes in an upward direction, and when the stem passes the predetermined threshold, the portion of the torsion spring under the overhang will release and contact the click bar producing the second click sound (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the first click sound and the second click sound are of equal volume (because the same tensioning spring leg engages the same protrusion geometry with the substantially the same travel distance in both downward and upward motions, the resulting click sound would inherently be of equal volume).
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches the key switch wherein a portion 308 of the torsion spring 318 extends outside a top portion 302 of the switch housing (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the portion of the torsion spring that extends outside the top portion of the housing is the portion of the torsion spring that is under the overhang (Figs. 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the housing comprises an upper portion 304 and a lower portion 302, and wherein the click bar 324 is not connected to the upper portion (Figs. 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 11, Lin teaches the key switch wherein at least a portion of the click bar 324 is outside of the upper portion 304 (Fig. 3a-3b).
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the portion 308 of the torsion spring 318 that is positioned under the overhang contacts the overhang to make the first click sound (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang contacts the overhang to make the second click sound (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the click bar comprises a sloped lower portion, and when the stem is depressed, the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang is pushed downward against the sloped lower portion (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the sloped lower portion of the click bar pushes the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang horizontally away from the stem (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches the key switch wherein when the stem is released, the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang pushes upward against the bottom of the overhang (Fig. 3A-3E and paragraph 36-40).
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, et al . (US20180301300).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a key switch for a computer accessory for use as an input device of a computer comprising: a switch housing 10; a stem 20, wherein a portion of the stem extends above the switch housing; a position spring 45 positioned under the stem, wherein the position spring is configured to return the stem to a starting position after the stem is depressed; a torsion spring 30, wherein the torsion spring is configured to make a click sound when acted upon; and a click bar 15, wherein an overhang of the click bar is positioned over a portion of the torsion spring; wherein the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang contacts the click bar when the stem is depressed resulting in a first click sound, and the portion of the torsion spring that is positioned under the overhang contacts the click bar a subsequent time when the stem is released resulting in a second click sound (Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 23-30).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the key switch wherein a portion 32 of the torsion spring 30 extends outside a top portion 10 of the switch housing (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the key switch wherein the portion 32 of the torsion spring 30 that extends outside the top portion of the housing is the portion of the torsion spring that is under the overhang 25 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the click bar 15 is not connected to the stem 20 (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, et al . (US20200150777) in view of Li, et al . (US20180301300).
Regarding claim 9, Lin does not teach the click bar being not connected to the stem. However, Li teaches a similar key switch with a click bar 15 that is connected to the stem 20. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the location of click bar and formed it on the stem as taught by Li, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 10, Lin teaches key switch wherein the upper portion comprises an opening 11 for the stem (Fig. 3a-3b). Lin does not teach the one or more additional openings 17. However, Li teaches a similar key switch with one or more additional openings 17, wherein the one or more additional openings are configured to permit the first click sound and the second click sound to emanate through the one or more additional openings (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Li in the key switch of Lin to allow the click sounds to emanate outward effectively
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, et al. (US20200150777) in view of Lin (US20220277910).
Regarding claim 12, Lin does not teach the key switch being hot-swappable. However, Lin ‘910 teaches a similar key switch that is hot-swappable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lin’910 in the key switch of Lin to make it a hot-swappable key which would makes it easier repairable.
Claims 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, et al . (US20200150777).
Regarding claim 15 and 16, Lin teaches the key switch wherein the click bar that has multiple different shapes (paragraph 32), but does not teach the shape being like an upside-down letter L or a letter C. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the click bar to have an upside-down letter L shape or C shape, since the particular claimed configuration is just one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing mating surfaces. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878).
Regarding claim 20, Lin does not teach the click bar is made from nylon. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the bar click from nylon or equivalent plastic material because such material were well known to be suitable for switch components, offering durability and desirable acoustic properties.
Conclusion
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833