DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10, 12, 14-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-29 and 31-33 remain pending in the application. Claims 11, 13, 17, 20, 23 and 30 were cancelled. Claims 24-29 were withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“safety feature means” as recited in claim 31 (first, “means” is a generic placeholder; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “safety feature”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “safety feature” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the means).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 33, “one or more of” with the limitation after together is indefinite. If the limitation only require “one of” there would not be any issues, however when the limitation require “or more”, the claim is required to have “a safety pin” in line 5, then require “a safety pin” in line 7. So does the system require one or two safety pin? And does “the safety pin” in line 8 refer to “a safety pin” in line 5 or 7? And other similar issues in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beber (US 20130334352 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Beber teaches a slicer (see Figures 8-9), comprising:
a base (12);
a lower assembly (452) supported by the base (see Figures 8-9);
an upper assembly (454, 448 and 456) moveably coupled to the lower assembly (via 452); and
a knife (30) coupled to the upper assembly, where the knife is rotatable around a rotation axis (axis of 9),
wherein the upper assembly is movable along the rotation axis (via axis of 468), relative to the lower assembly, between an initial position and a static extended position (paragraph 0122 and see Figures 8-9),
wherein the lower assembly includes a lower engagement portion (top portion of 452) and the upper assembly includes an upper engagement portion (bottom portion of 454), and wherein the lower and upper engagement portions are configured to engage each other such that in the initial position the lower engagement portion, the upper engagement portion, and the knife are rotatable around the rotation axis (see Figures 9).
Regarding claim 2, Beber teaches when the upper assembly is in the initial position, the knife is in an operating position (see Figures 8-9), and wherein when the upper assembly is in the extended position, the knife is in a cleaning position (since the blade is exposed and can be claim, under BRI the position is considered as “a cleaning position”, see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Beber teaches the knife moves further away from the lower assembly when the knife moves from the operating position to the cleaning position (as discussed in the position in claim 2, see Figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 4, Beber teaches the upper assembly includes an upper shaft (shaft of 466 and 454), the upper shaft having a top portion and an elongated portion, wherein the elongated portion includes a first groove or detent (groove of 466 ) and a second groove or detent (groove of 458), wherein the first groove or detent is configured to secure the upper assembly to the initial position, and wherein the second groove or detent is configured to secure the upper assembly to the extended position (see Figures 8-9).
Regarding claim 5, Beber teaches the lower assembly includes a lower shaft, the lower shaft including a lumen extending through the lower shaft (space for 468), wherein the elongated portion of the upper shaft extends through at least a portion of the lumen of the lower shaft (see Figures 8-9), and wherein a lower shaft groove or detent (468) is configured to secure the elongated portion of the upper shaft to the lower shaft via the first groove or detent or the second groove or detent of the elongated portion of the upper shaft (paragraph 0026 of the translation).
Regarding claim 10, Beber teaches when the upper assembly is in the initial position, the lower assembly, the upper assembly, and the knife are configured to rotate together (see Figures 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beber (US 20130334352 A1) in view of Schmidt (US 20210137154 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Beber teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Beber fails to teach the slicer includes safety feature means to disable a slicing function of the knife when the upper assembly is in the extended position.
Schmidt teaches the slicer includes safety feature means to disable a slicing function of the knife when the upper assembly is in the extended position (paragraph 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Beber to add the safety feature, as taught by Henn, in order to improve the safety of the device (paragraph 0086 of Schmdit).
Regarding claim 31, modified Beber further teaches a motor for rotating the knife (14) , where the safety feature means comprises one or more of: a sensor configured to detect a knife cover position, disposed in communication with a control board of the slicer (as mdofeid, detect the correct condition of the tool, paragraph 0086 of Schmdit).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Beber teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 4 stated above.
Beber fails to teach a safety pin extending between a first end and a second end, wherein the elongated portion further includes a third groove, and wherein the safety pin is moveable between a locked position, where the first end of the safety pin extends into the third groove, and an unlocked position, where the first end of the safety pin is pulled out of the third groove.
Furthermore, no additional prior art could be found to teach the claimed limitations either alone nor in combination to further modify the device of Beber. Thus claim 6 is allowable, claims 7-9 are allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 6.
Claims 12, 14-16, 18-19, 21-22 and 32 are allowed.
Regarding claim 12, Beber teaches a slicer (see Figures 8-9), comprising:
a base (12);
a lower assembly (452) supported by the base (see Figures 8-9);
an upper assembly (454, 448 and 456) moveably coupled to the lower assembly (via 452); and
a knife (30) coupled to the upper assembly, where the knife is rotatable around a rotation axis (axis of 9),
wherein the upper assembly is movable along the rotation axis (via axis of 468), relative to the lower assembly, between an initial position and a static extended position (paragraph 0122 and see Figures 8-9),
wherein the lower assembly includes a lower engagement portion (top portion of 452) and the upper assembly includes an upper engagement portion (bottom portion of 454), and wherein the lower and upper engagement portions are configured to engage each other such that in the initial position the lower engagement portion, the upper engagement portion, and the knife are rotatable around the rotation axis (see Figures 9).
Beber fails to teach wherein the upper assembly includes a latch and a shaft release pin, wherein the latch is configured to releasably couple the upper assembly to the lower assembly, and wherein the shaft release pin is configured to be movable to engage the latch and release the latch from engagement with the lower assembly.
Regarding claim 12, Mullins teaches a slicer (see Figure 1), comprising:
a base (23); a lower assembly (75) supported by the base; an upper assembly (19) moveably coupled to the lower assembly (via 77); and a rotatable knife (17) coupled to the upper assembly, wherein the upper assembly is movable relative to the lower assembly along a longitudinal axis of the upper assembly (via 77 for vertical movement), the upper assembly includes a latch and a shaft release pin (47).
Mullins fails to teach a latch wherein the latch is configured to releasably couple the upper assembly to the lower assembly, and wherein the tool release pin is configured to move the shaft release pin to release the latch from engagement with the lower assembly.
Furthermore, no additional prior art could be found to teach the claimed limitations either alone nor in combination to further modify the device of Beber or Mullins. Thus claim 12 is allowable, claims 14-16 are allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 12. Claims 18-19, 21-22 and 32 are allowable for the same reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 4/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 10 and 31 under Schmidt have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Beber (US 20130334352 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 4/16/2026