DETAILED ACTION
Clarity of the record - Claim Interpretation
It is noted that some of the claimed limitations are made in the alternative (A or B). Please note however that alternative/contingent claim limitations can carry different weight between method and apparatus claims, and may result in different conditions of allowability between the different embodiments. Regarding alternative limitations, please see MPEP 2173.05(h). Regarding contingent limitations, please see MPEP 2111.04(II). In light of the preliminary amendment filed 11/6/2023 please also note MPEP 2111.03 regarding transitional phrases (“includes”).
Note that with regards to invoking 112(f), the limitations ‘an access network device’ and ‘location management function network element’ are read by the Examiner as common place and understood naming conventions for elements in the communication environment and based on the 3-prong analysis are not interpreted as invoking a 112(f) means plus function interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo (US Pub 20230413221).
Re claim 12, Guo discloses a positioning method, comprising:
sending, by a terminal (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40), a first correspondence to a serving access network device (Par 24, 54; Fig 2 TRP 104-1 to UE 106) or a location management function network element (Fig 5 el 4; Par 25-27, 30, 54, 61-70), wherein
the first correspondence includes a correspondence between information about a plurality of antenna ports (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with antenna panels, designations of respective antenna panels and number of panels) and information about a plurality of time errors (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with timing offsets as correlated to respective antenna panels),
each antenna port (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40), of the plurality of antenna ports, is configured to send a corresponding positioning reference signal (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – SRS signal from respective antenna panels), and
the first correspondence is used to determine a location of the terminal (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 454; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40); and
sending, by the terminal, the corresponding positioning reference signal through one or more of the plurality of antenna ports (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 454; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – SRS signal from respective antenna panels).
Re claim 14, Guo discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses receiving, by the terminal, second indication information from the serving access network device (Fig 2 el 2; Fig 5 el 3; Par 24, 54-57) or fourth indication information from the location management function network element (Fig 4A el 402 Par 29-36, 39-40), wherein
the second indication information (Fig 2 el 2; Fig 5 el 3; Par 24, 54-57) and the fourth indication information (Fig 4A el 402 Par 29-36, 39-40) indicate the terminal to report the correspondence between the information about the antenna port (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with antenna panels, designations of respective antenna panels and number of panels) and the information about the time error (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with timing offsets as correlated to respective antenna panels); and
sending, by the terminal, the first correspondence to the serving access network device (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40) or the location management function network element (Fig 5 el 4; Par 25-27, 30, 54, 61-70) comprises:
sending, by the terminal, the first correspondence to the serving access network device (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40) or the location management function network element (Fig 5 el 4; Par 25-27, 30, 54, 61-70)based on the second indication information (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40) or the fourth indication information (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40).
Re claim 17, Guo discloses the method of claim 12, Guo further discloses a system (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100), comprising: a processor (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100); and a memory configured to store computer readable instructions (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100) that, when executed by the processor (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100), cause the system to implement the method of claim 12 (see the rejection of claim 12 above).
Re claim 20, Guo discloses the method of claim 12, Guo further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100) configured to store computer readable instructions (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100) that, when executed by the terminal (Fig 8, Par 91-97, 100), cause the terminal to implement the method of claim 12 (see the rejection of claim 12 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11, 15-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (hereinafter Mano)(US Pub 20210185632) in view of Cui (US Pub 20170006575) and Guo (US Pub 20230413221).
Re claim 1 Mano discloses a positioning method, comprising:
Receiving (Figure 15 step 5a, 6a and 7a ‘PRS transmissions’ from UE 115 to TRP 105 elements; Par 137-138, 167-172, 176, 180), by an access network device (Figure 15 step 5a, 6a and 7a ‘PRS transmissions’ from UE 115 to TRP 105 elements; Par 137-138, 167-172, 176, 180), a positioning reference signal from a terminal (Figure 15 step 5a, 6a and 7a ‘PRS transmissions’ from UE 115 to TRP 105 elements; Par 137-138, 167-172, 176, 180); and
Sending (Figure 15 step 5d, 6d and 7d ‘provide location information’ from TRP elements 105 to Location server 196, Par 167, 175, 179 and 183-184), by the access network device (Figure 15 step 5d, 6d and 7d ‘provide location information’ from TRP elements 105 to Location server 196, Par 167, 175, 179 and 183-184), positioning measurement information to a location management function network element (Figure 15 step 5d, 6d and 7d ‘provide location information’ from TRP elements 105 to Location server 196, Par 167, 175, 179 and 183-184), wherein
the positioning measurement information includes a positioning measurement result determined based on the positioning reference signal (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port) and an antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port), and the antenna port is of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port), or
the positioning measurement information includes a positioning measurement result determined based on the positioning reference signal (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port) and corresponds to an antenna port (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port) of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port); however Mano fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element comprises information about and information about an antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result, and the antenna port is of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based; and (2) wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element comprises information about a time error corresponding to the positioning measurement result, and the time error corresponds to an antenna port of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based.
Regarding item (1) above, this design is however disclosed by Cui. Cui discloses wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element comprises information about and information about an antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Fig 3 el s307; Par 192-193 and 210-212), and the antenna port is of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Fig 3 el s307; Par 192-193 and 210-212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Mano in order to incorporate the antenna information signaling of Cui based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by providing more data relevant to the communication environment and associated devices in order to improve the position determination processing in both accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding item (2) above, this design is however disclosed by Guo. Guo discloses wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element (Par 26, 40) comprises information about a time error corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Par 26, 40), and the time error corresponds to an antenna port of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Par 26, 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Mano in order to incorporate the signaling of associated timing errors related to reference signal communication of Guo based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by providing more data relevant to the communication environment and associated devices in order to improve the position determination processing in both accuracy and efficiency.
Re claim 2, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, Mano further discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the access network device, first indication information from the location management function network element (Fig 10 s1001, Par 301-302; Fig 6 s601, Par 241-242; Fig 7 s701 Par 251-252)
wherein the first indication information indicates to report (Fig 10 s1001, Par 301-302; Fig 6 s601, Par 241-242; Fig 7 s701 Par 251-252) the information about the antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254), or the first indication information indicates to report the information about the time error corresponding to the positioning measurement result;
and sending, by the access network device (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254), the positioning measurement information to the location management function network element (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254) comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the positioning measurement information (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254) to the location management function network element based on the first indication information (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254);
while Guo in combination further discloses the alternative limitation of wherein the first indication information indicates to report the information (Par 26, 40, 53-54) about the antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result, or the first indication information indicates to report the information about the time error (Par 26, 40, 53-54) corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Par 26, 40, 53-54).
Re claim 3, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 1, Guo further discloses wherein the access network device is a serving access network device of the terminal (Par 24, 54; Fig 2 TRP 104-1 to UE 106), and the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, a first correspondence from the terminal (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40), wherein the first correspondence comprises includes a correspondence between information about a plurality of antenna ports (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with antenna panels, designations of respective antenna panels and number of panels) and information about a plurality of time errors (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with timing offsets as correlated to respective antenna panels), and each antenna port (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40), of the plurality of antenna ports, is configured to send a corresponding positioning reference signal (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – SRS signal from respective antenna panels).
Re claim 4, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 3, Guo further discloses wherein sending, by the access network device, second indication information to the terminal (Fig 2 el 2; Fig 5 el 3; Par 24, 54-57), wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal to report the correspondence between the information about the antenna port (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with antenna panels, designations of respective antenna panels and number of panels) and the information about the time error (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with timing offsets as correlated to respective antenna panels).
Re claim 6, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 3, Guo further discloses wherein sending (Fig 5 el 5; Fig 2 el 4; Par 23-24, 25-27, 53-54), by the access network device (Par 23-24, 25-27, 53-54), the first correspondence to the location management function network element (Par 23-24, 25-27, 53-54).
Re claim 7, Mano discloses a positioning method, comprising:
Receiving (Figure 15 step 5d, 6d and 7d ‘provide location information’ from TRP elements 105 to Location server 196, Par 167, 175, 179 and 183-184), by a location management function network element (Figure 15 step 5d, 6d and 7d ‘provide location information’ from TRP elements 105 to Location server 196, Par 167, 175, 179 and 183-184), positioning measurement information from a plurality of access network devices (Figure 15 step 5d, 6d and 7d ‘provide location information’ from TRP elements 105 to Location server 196, Par 167, 175, 179 and 183-184), wherein
the positioning measurement information includes a positioning measurement result determined based on the positioning reference signal (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port) and an antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port), and the antenna port is of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port), or
the positioning measurement information includes a positioning measurement result determined based on the positioning reference signal (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port) and corresponds to an antenna port (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port) of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Figure 15 5a-d Par 172-175 – PRS transmitted with same/similar known constraints, 6a-d Par 176-179, 7a-d Par 180-183; Par 137-138 – UL-PRS are transmitted from a same antenna port); and
determining (Figure 15 step 8; Par 167, 184), by the location management function network element (Figure 15 step 8; Par 167, 184), a location of the terminal based on the positioning measurement information of the plurality of access network devices (Figure 15 step 8; Par 167, 184); however Mano fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element comprises information about and information about an antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result, and the antenna port is of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based; and (2) wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element comprises information about a time error corresponding to the positioning measurement result, and the time error corresponds to an antenna port of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based.
Regarding item (1) above, this design is however disclosed by Cui. Cui discloses wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element comprises information about and information about an antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Fig 3 el s307; Par 192-193 and 210-212), and the antenna port is of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Fig 3 el s307; Par 192-193 and 210-212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Mano in order to incorporate the antenna information signaling of Cui based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by providing more data relevant to the communication environment and associated devices in order to improve the position determination processing in both accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding item (2) above, this design is however disclosed by Guo. Guo discloses wherein the positioning information sent from the access network device to the location management function network element (Par 26, 40) comprises information about a time error corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Par 26, 40), and the time error corresponds to an antenna port of the positioning reference signal on which the positioning measurement result is based (Par 26, 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Mano in order to incorporate the signaling of associated timing errors related to reference signal communication of Guo based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by providing more data relevant to the communication environment and associated devices in order to improve the position determination processing in both accuracy and efficiency.
Re claim 8, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 7, Mano further discloses further comprising:
sending, by the location management function network element (Fig 10 s1001, Par 301-302; Fig 6 s601, Par 241-242; Fig 7 s701 Par 251-252), first indication information to the plurality of access network devices (Fig 10 s1001, Par 301-302; Fig 6 s601, Par 241-242; Fig 7 s701 Par 251-252),
wherein the first indication information indicates to report (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254) the information about the antenna port (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254) corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Fig 10 s1002, Par 303-314; Fig 6 s602, Par 244-248; Fig 7 s702 Par 253-254), or the first indication information indicates to report the information about the time error corresponding to the positioning measurement result;
while Guo in combination further discloses the alternative limitation of wherein the first indication information indicates to report the information (Par 26, 40, 53-54) about the antenna port corresponding to the positioning measurement result, or the first indication information indicates to report the information about the time error (Par 26, 40, 53-54) corresponding to the positioning measurement result (Par 26, 40, 53-54).
Re claim 10, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 7, Guo further discloses receiving, by the location management function network element (Par 26-27, 36, 39-49, 53-54 – from TRP to LMF communications), a first correspondence from a serving access network device of the terminal (Par 26-27, 36, 39-49, 53-54), or receiving the first correspondence from the terminal,
wherein the first correspondence comprises includes a correspondence between information about a plurality of antenna ports (Par 26-27, 36, 39-49, 53-54 – resource indications associated with antenna panels, designations of respective antenna panels and number of panels) and information about a plurality of time errors (Par 26-27, 36, 39-49, 53-54 – resource indications associated with timing offsets as correlated to respective antenna panels), and each antenna port, of the plurality of antenna ports, is configured to send a corresponding positioning reference signal (Par 26-27, 36, 39-49, 53-54 – SRS signal from respective antenna panels and LMF determination of position).
Re claim 11, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method according to claim 10, Guo further discloses sending, by the location management function network element (Fig 4A el 402 Par 29-36, 39-40), fourth indication information to the terminal (Fig 4A el 402 Par 29-36, 39-40), wherein the fourth indication information indicates to report (Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40) the correspondence between the information about the antenna port (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with antenna panels, designations of respective antenna panels and number of panels) and the information about the time error of the terminal (Fig 4A el 404; Fig 4B el 452; Par 26-27, 30-36, 39-40 – high layer parameter associated with timing offsets as correlated to respective antenna panels).
Re claim 15, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method of claim 1, Mano further discloses a system (Fig 21 Par 242), comprising: a processor (Fig 21 el 2102, Par 242, 244-246); and a memory (Fig 21 el 2120/2104, Par 242, 246-248, 250-252, 255-257) configured to store computer readable instructions (Fig 21 el 2120/2108, Par 242, 246-248, 250-252, 255-257) that, when executed by the processor (Par 242, 244-248, 250-252, 255-257), cause the system to implement the method of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Re claim 16, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method of claim 7, Cui further discloses a system (Fig 23 Par 475-480), comprising: a processor (Fig 23 el 114, Par 475-480); and a memory (Fig 23 el 113, Par 475-480) configured to store computer readable instructions that (Par 475-480), when executed by the processor (Fig 23 el 114/113, Par 475-480), cause the system to implement the method of claim 7 (see the rejection of claim 7 above).
Re claim 18, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method of claim 1, Mano further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Fig 21 el 2120/2108, Par 242, 246-248, 250-252, 255-257) configured to store computer readable instructions (Fig 21 el 2120/2108, Par 242, 246-248, 250-252, 255-257) that, when executed by the access network device, cause the access network device (Fig 21 el 2120/2108/2102, Par 242, 244-248, 250-252, 255-257) to implement the method of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Re claim 19, the combined disclosure of Mano, Cui and Guo as a whole discloses the method of claim 7, Cui further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Fig 23 el 114/113, Par 475-480) configured to store computer readable instructions that (Fig 23 el 114/113, Par 475-480), when executed by the location management function network element (Fig 23 el 114/113, Par 475-480), cause the location management function network element to implement the method of claim 7 (see the rejection of claim 7 above).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Goto (US Pub 20200383089).
Re claim 13, Guo discloses the method according to claim 12, but fails however to explicitly disclose receiving, by the terminal, configuration information from the serving access network device, wherein the configuration information includes configuration information of a time- frequency resource of the positioning reference signal and configuration information of an antenna port of the positioning reference signal; and sending, by the terminal, the corresponding positioning reference signal through one or more of the plurality of antenna ports comprises: sending, by the terminal, the corresponding positioning reference signal through the one or more of the plurality of antenna ports based on the configuration information.
This design is however disclosed by Goto. Goto discloses receiving, by the terminal, configuration information from the serving access network device (Par 57, 81, 188-189), wherein the configuration information includes configuration information of a time- frequency resource of the positioning reference signal (Par 57, 81, 188-189) and configuration information of an antenna port of the positioning reference signal (Par 57, 81, 188-189); and sending (Par 57, 81, 188-189), by the terminal, the corresponding positioning reference signal through one or more of the plurality of antenna ports (Par 57, 81, 188-189) comprises: sending (Par 57, 81, 188-189), by the terminal, the corresponding positioning reference signal through the one or more of the plurality of antenna ports based on the configuration information (Par 57, 81, 188-189).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Guo in order to incorporate the configuration communication of Goto based on the rationale of the use of a known technique to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance by providing configuration information prior to the transmission of the reference positioning signals reduces error and improves accuracy and efficiency in both the signal communication and the associated positional determinations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the above cited claims. Re claim 5 the prior art fails to explicitly disclose the specified information compositions, communication arrangement and information determination positioning. Re claim 9, the prior art fails to explicitly disclose the grouping and associated determination processing as claimed.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R NEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631