Amendment after Non-final office action filed on August 31, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 5 and 14 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 15-18 are pending in this application.
Applicant elected with traverse of
in the reply filed on June 30, 2026. The traversal was not found persuasive and the restriction was deemed to be proper and made FINAL in the previous office action. Claims 4, 9, 13 and 18 remain withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected species. Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12 and 15-17 are examined on the merits in this office action.
The Examiner telephoned the Applicant’s representative, Michele Kliem, on July 29, 2026, after she received a phone call from Ms. Kliem on July 28, 2026 (because she had a question regarding the species election), to request a power of attorney (POA) to be filed as soon as possible, to discuss the application. On October 28, 2026, the Examiner telephoned Ms. Kliem to request POA to be filed as soon as possible, because there is still no POA on record. Ms. Kliem indicated that she will contact the Applicant to inquire about the status of POA. Due to time constraint, a final office action is set forth herein.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
Objection to the abstract is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the abstract.
Objection to claims 6, 8, 15 and 17 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Objection to claim 6 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Objection to claim 15 is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
Rejection of claims 8 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Rejection of claims 1-3 and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colak et al (Neurocirugia (Astur), Dec 2009, 20(6): 533-540, cited in the previous office action), is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Maintained Rejections
35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-12 and 15-17 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colak et al (Neurocirugia (Astur), Dec 2009, 20(6): 533-540, cited in the previous office action) in view of Singec et al (US 2021/0348119, cited in the previous office action) and Cairns et al (ACS OMEGA, 2018, 3: 12392-12402, cited in the previous office action).
Colak et al teach the study of examination of the neuroprotective effects of Q-VD-OPh, a pan-caspase inhibitor, in an in vivo studies (see “Background”). Colak et al teach spinal cord injury (SCI) rat model, treated with Q-VD-OPh (group 3), and Group 3 tissue samples showed five days after injury, the mean apoptotic cell counts was 1.25 +/- 0.34 in group 3, indicating that the number of TUNEL-positive cells in and injured spinal cord was greatly reduced by treatment with Q-VD-OPh. The neurologic function scores were significantly better in the Q-VD-OPh treated group than in the trauma-created control group (see “Results”).
The difference between Colak et al and instant claims is that Colak et al do not teach ivermectin, and that the skin or gut injury is a scar or a burn.
However, Singec et al teach a medium composition comprising components configures to support at least one mammalian cell in vitro or ex vivo and Chronman 1 and/or derivative thereof (see claim 8), the medium composition further comprising Emricasan and/or a derivative thereof (see claim 10). Singec et al teach “A “stem cell” is a cell characterized by the ability of self-renewal through mitotic cell division and the potential to differentiate into a tissue or an organ. Among stem cells, embryonic and somatic stem cells may be distinguished. Among the stem cells, embryonic and somatic stem cells may be distinguished. For example, mammalian embryonic stem cells may reside in the blastocyst and give rise to embryonic tissues, whereas somatic stem cells may reside in adult tissues for the purpose of tissue regeneration and repair” (see paragraph [0056]). Singec et al teach “The term “caspase inhibitor” refers to small molecules that act by binding to the active site of caspases either in a reversible or irreversible manner. They are available as either pan-caspase or caspase-specific inhibitors. In some embodiments of the invention the caspase inhibitor is a casepase-3 inhibitor. Exemplary caspase-3 inhibitors are Emricasan, Z-VAD-FMAK (benzyloxycarbonyl-Val-Ala-Asp(OMe)-fluoromethylketone), Z-DQMD-FMK (Z-Asp(OMe)-Gln-Met-Asp(OMe) fluoromethyl ketone), Z-DEVD-FMK (benzyloxycarbonyl-Asp(OMe)-Glu(OMe)-Val-Asp(OMe)-fluoromethylketone) or Ac-DEVD-CHO (N-acetyl-Asp-Glu-Val-Asp aldehyde)” (see paragraph [0074]), and “The term “Emricasan” refers to 3-(2-(2-tert-butylphenylaminooxalyl) aminopropionylamino)-4-oxo-5-(2,3,5,6-tetrafluorophenoxy)pentanoic acid…Emricasan-related compounds or derivatives are structurally-related compounds” (such as Q-VD-OPh hydrate)” (see paragraph [0075]). Singec et al teach that cell survival improved with Chroman 1 and Emricasan (see for example, EXAMPLE 3).
Additionally, Cairns et al teach that ivermectin promotes peripheral nerve regeneration during wound healing (see, for example, Title). Cairns et al teach skin wound of the mouse model and mouse model of diabetic neuropathy (see for example, p. 12393, right column). Cairns et al teach dermal wound healing model, dorsal skin of adult male BALB/c mice (see p. 12399, left column, top) and in vivo model of full thickness skin repair (see p. 12399, right column, top).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Colak et al and Singec et al and Cairns et al because all of the references teach the promotion of tissue repair/regeneration. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success, since Singec et al teach that addition of Emricasan and Emricasan-related compounds or derivatives (e.g., Q-VD-OPh) enhanced the cell survival, and Cairns et al teach that ivermectin promotes peripheral nerve regeneration during wound healing, one would at least expect an additive effect. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer for enhancing tissue regeneration and/or tissue repair on skin or gut injury wherein the skin or gut injury is a scar or a burn, with a reasonable expectation of success.
The MPEP states that “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). But see In re Geiger, 815 F.2d 686, 2 USPQ2d 1276 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“Based upon the prior art and the fact that each of the three components of the composition used in the claimed method is conventionally employed in the art for treating cooling water systems, the board held that it would have been prima facie obvious, within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103, to employ these components in combination for their known functions and to optimize the amount of each additive....Appellant argues... hindsight reconstruction or at best,... obvious to try’.... We agree with appellant.”). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that there would be at least an additive effect.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that “Colak combined with Singec and Cairns fail to teach or suggest each of the claimed elements…Colak et al do not teach ivermectin…Cairns does not teach using caspase inhibitors as recited in independent claims 1 and 10, but rather Cairns teaches usually a [[a]] totally different drug- toll-like receptor 3 agonist…” Applicant argues that
.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. The instant rejection is a 35 U.S.C. 103 (an obviousness) rejection. Colak et al teach spinal cord injury (SCI) rat model, treated with Q-VD-OPh (group 3), and Group 3 tissue samples showed five days after injury, the mean apoptotic cell counts was 1.25 +/- 0.34 in group 3, indicating that the number of TUNEL-positive cells in and injured spinal cord was greatly reduced by treatment with Q-VD-OPh. Thus, Colak explicitly teach tissue injury treatment with Q-VD-OPh.
Singec et al teach “A “stem cell” is a cell characterized by the ability of self-renewal through mitotic cell division and the potential to differentiate into a tissue or an organ and that “The term “caspase inhibitor” refers to small molecules that act by binding to the active site of caspases either in a reversible or irreversible manner. They are available as either pan-caspase or caspase-specific inhibitors. In some embodiments of the invention the caspase inhibitor is a casepase-3 inhibitor. Exemplary caspase-3 inhibitors are Emricasan, Z-VAD-FMAK (benzyloxycarbonyl-Val-Ala-Asp(OMe)-fluoromethylketone), Z-DQMD-FMK (Z-Asp(OMe)-Gln-Met-Asp(OMe) fluoromethyl ketone), Z-DEVD-FMK (benzyloxycarbonyl-Asp(OMe)-Glu(OMe)-Val-Asp(OMe)-fluoromethylketone) or Ac-DEVD-CHO (N-acetyl-Asp-Glu-Val-Asp aldehyde)” (see paragraph [0074]), and “The term “Emricasan” refers to 3-(2-(2-tert-butylphenylaminooxalyl) aminopropionylamino)-4-oxo-5-(2,3,5,6-tetrafluorophenoxy)pentanoic acid…Emricasan-related compounds or derivatives are structurally-related compounds” (such as Q-VD-OPh hydrate)”. Singec et al teach that cell survival improved with Chroman 1 and Emricasan.
Cairns et al teach that ivermectin promotes peripheral nerve regeneration during wound healing. Cairns et al teach skin wound of the mouse model and mouse model of diabetic neuropathy, teach dermal wound healing model, dorsal skin of adult male BALB/c mice, and in vivo model of full thickness skin repair. Cairns et al teach the study of effect of ivermectin in an in vivo model of wound healing (p. 12398, right column) and ivermectin-treated wounds have increase neuronal and glial marker expression (p. 12399, left column).
Thus, the combined art is prima facie obvious over instant claims. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Colak et al and Singec et al and Cairns et al because all of the references teach the promotion of tissue repair/regeneration. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success, since Singec et al teach that addition of Emricasan and Emricasan-related compounds or derivatives (e.g., Q-VD-OPh) enhanced the cell survival, and Cairns et al teach that ivermectin promotes peripheral nerve regeneration during wound healing, one would at least expect an additive effect. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer for enhancing tissue regeneration and/or tissue repair on skin or gut injury wherein the skin or gut injury is a scar or a burn, with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rejection is deemed to be proper and is maintained herein.
Improper Markush
Claims 3, 8, 12 and 17 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush groupings of pan caspase inhibitor and TLR3 agonist are improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: The pan caspase inhibitors recited in claims 3 and 12 do not share a common core structure because Q-VD-OPh is a peptide and the others are small molecules; the TLR3 agonists recited in claims 8 and 17 do not share a common core structure because RNA is nucleic acids and the others are small molecules.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant did not respond to this rejection. Therefore, it is deemed that the rejection is proper and is maintained herein.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
10/29/2026