DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to the application filed 09/29/23. The request for foreign priority to a corresponding TW application filed 03/22/23 has been received and is proper. Claims 1-8 are currently pending yet all are rejected due to the 112 and 103 rejections detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the following claim 1 limitations: (1) the “screws” that connect the pivotal arm to the main body; (2) the “screws” that connected the pivotal arm to the driving disc; (3) the first V-shaped spring 10 and the second V-shaped spring 100; and (4) the “flat bearing” 17 of the driving disc, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the claim 7 limitation of “the pins.” Only a single “pin” was defined in claim 1 and only a single pin is depicted in the Drawings, at Figures 1 and 5.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "10" and "12" have both been used to designate the “pin” in Figure 1, although reference character “10” should point to the first V-shaped spring.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” has been used to designate both the guide member (in Figure 1) and the main body (in Figure 2).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification refers to “the pins 12” but only a single pin 12 is shown in the Drawings at Figures 1 and 5. See Printed Pub at para. 0023.
In addition, multiple components are referred to that do not appear in the Drawings, including: (1) the “screws” that connect the pivotal arm to the main body; (2) the “screws” that connected the pivotal arm to the driving disc; (3) the first V-shaped spring 10 and the second V-shaped spring 100; and (4) the “flat bearing” 17 of the driving disc. See id.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected because claim 1 refers to “screws” that connect one end of the pivotal arm (1) to the main body (2) and additional “screws” that connected the other end of the pivotal arm (1) to the driving disc (3) but it is unclear whether this refers to multiple threaded elements at each end of the pivotal arm or if this merely refers to threading at the pivotal arm. The Drawings do not show multiple screws at each end of the pivotal arm, but instead show what might be a single ‘screw’/threaded element. See Figs. 1, 2, 5.
Claim 7 is rejected because it refers to “the pins.” Only a single “pin” was defined in claim 1 and only a single pin is depicted in the Drawings, at Figures 1 and 5. Hence, this limitation lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Evans in view of Tsai and Alexander
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (FR 8913920) in view of Tsai (U.S. Patent No. 9,394,029) and Alexander et al. (ES 2673554). Evans is directed to a disc brake and its automatic adjustment mechanism. See Abstract. Tsai is directed to a bicycle disc brake apparatus. See Abstract. Alexander is directed to a brake application device for a disc brake activated by a rotating lever. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Evans discloses an adjustable parallelism brake device [Figs. 1-3] for brake pads (14a, 14b), comprising: a pivotal arm (19), a main body (11) connected to the pivotal arm, a driving disc (50), and an attached body (13), the main body fixedly connected to the attached body through connecting screws (12L, 12R), the pivotal arm having one of two ends thereof connected to the main body via screws [see Fig. 1 (top of 19)] and adapted to be connected to a cable (17), another one of the two ends of the pivotal arm fixedly connected to the driving disc via screws [see 112 rejection, supra], the driving disc having a flat bearing (57) mounted thereto, the driving disc contacting against the main body through the flat bearing, a directional drive disc (51) located below the driving disc. See Figs. 1-3.
Evans discloses all the limitations of this claim except: (1) the driving disc arguably not include a “flat washer” in addition to the flat bearing; (2) the “multiple adjustable screws” and “flat threaded columns” that engage the first and second pads, respectively, by a first and second “V-shaped spring,” respectively; and (3) a “pin” passing through holes of the two pads.
Second, Tsai discloses a brake mechanism with a drive disc [see Fig. 1 (4 at top)] with a flat bearing and flat washer (5, 6), and an adjustable screw [see Fig. 1 (screw left of 71)] extending through a threaded hole (at 41) with a head which supports a first friction pad (20) by a first V-shaped spring [see Fig. 1 (22 on left side of 20)], the attached body including a flat threaded column (3-6 on the bottom), the flat threaded column includes a distal end (3 on the bottom) which supports a second friction pad (other 20) by a second V-shaped spring [see Fig. 2 (22 on right side of other 20)], the first friction pad and the second friction pad each having a hole (202) defined in one side thereof and a pin (73) passing through the hole of each of the first and second friction pads and being secured to the attached body. See Fig. 1; see also 112 rejections above (no V-shaped springs included; hence their function is unclear).
Although the Tsai “washer” is a gasket, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a typical, thin ring-shaped metal washer because these types of washers are well-known and commonly used in the art when placing components in axial juxtaposition with each other to preserve the components and enhance performance and longevity. In fact, Evans does this on the other side of the driving disc, using washer 34 with bearing 36. See Fig. 3.
It would further be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include the V-shaped spring feature to ensure proper biasing of the pads for positioning purposes.
It would further be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include the “pin” through the holes of the pads to ensure proper alignment of the pads and their secure placement in the brake caliper.
Finally, Tsai is deficient in teaching “multiple” adjustable screws on the side of the driving disc. Alexander teaches the commonly employed feature of multiple adjustable screws (20a, 20b) in threaded holes on the side of the driving disc activated by the pivotal arm (5). See Fig. 1. It would further be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature to ensure even distribution of brake application force across the length of the brake pad to prevent uneven wear, and increase longevity of the parts. It would then be obvious to further modify Tsai to include multiple columns on the opposite side of the caliper, engaging the other brake pad, for the same reasons articulated above.
Claim 2: Alexander discloses that the directional drive disc includes at least two holes to which the adjustable screws are connected. See Fig. 1.
Claim 3: Alexander discloses that each of the adjustable screws has a compression spring (152) mounted thereto which is located corresponding to a hole in the main body, a washer and a locking ring (149, 150) are respectively mounted to each of the adjustable screws, the compression spring on each adjustable screw contacts the washer corresponding thereto, the adjustable screws extend into the main body. See Fig. 1. Tsai discloses that the adjustable screw includes a hexagonal recess defined in the head thereof. See Fig. 1.
Claim 4: Evans discloses that each of the driving disc and the directional drive disc has multiple grooves defined in a facing end surface thereof, each groove is an arc-teardrop shaped groove (52) with varying depths, the grooves of the driving disc and the directional drive disc are located in pairs, a ball (61) is movably accommodated in each pair of the grooves of the driving disc and the directional drive disc. See Fig. 3. Tsai also discloses this feature. See Fig. 1 (balls 40, grooves 42).
Claim 5: Tsai discloses that the flat threaded columns are threadedly connected to an inside of the attached body, and the distal end of each of the flat threaded columns supports the second friction pad by the second V-shaped spring. See Fig. 1.
Claim 6: Tsai discloses that the first V-shaped spring provides an expansive force to bias the head of the adjustable screws to contact the first pad, the second V-shaped spring provides another expansive force to bias the distal ends of the flat threaded columns to contact the second friction pad. See Fig. 1.
Claim 7: Tsai discloses that the pins are open-ended pins which are inserted into holes in both first friction pad and the second friction pad. See Fig. 1; see also 112 rejections above.
Claim 8: Evans discloses that the main body has a guide member for passage of the cable. See Fig. 1 (bottom of 19).
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 December 18, 2025