DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sole et al. (US Patent No. 4,168,066) in view of Jones (US Patent No. 3,806,122) and Parker et al. (US Patent No. 10,058,754).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6 and 7, Sole discloses a target assembly (50), comprising: a frame assembly comprising a plurality of frame elements (60,62,64) , wherein each frame element of the plurality of frame elements defines an opening (see Figure 6); wherein each of the plurality of frame elements is welded to adjacent, other frame elements of the plurality of frame elements (column 2 lines 55-56 discloses that the frame elements could be metal and may be connected by any suitable fastener such as an adhesive or the like. Since the reference teaches the use of metal material and that the components could be connected by adhesive or the like, since welding metal materials to one another is a very well commonly known method of attaching component and the term “or the like” is regarded as being included); and the periphery of the frame assembly generally follows a triangular shape (see Figure 6). Sole does not disclose the frame elements as being substantially having the same shape. However, the use of frame elements/target elements being same shape is not a new concept and Jones is one example of reference that teaches frame elements could be different shapes as shown in Figure 3 or same shapes as shown in Figure 2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the frame elements of Sole to have same shape to use a known alternative target means.
Sole does not disclose a plurality of target elements, wherein each of the plurality of target elements is positioned at least partially within an associated frame element of the plurality of frame elements. However, using target elements being positioned in associated frame element is not a new concept and Parker teaches target elements (112) positioned within associated frame element (110,104) as shown in Figure 8 of the Parker reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the Sole device with target
Regarding claims 4-5, Sole does not explicitly disclose the target elements as comprising foam or rubber or comprising at least one of polyethylene foam, EVA foam, Volara ® foam, FloTex ® foam, and neoprene foam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the target elements as recited in the claims, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 8, Parker teaches wherein each of the plurality of target elements has a front surface (the right end of component 112 as shown in Figure 2) and a back surface (the left end of component 112 as shown in Figure 2), wherein the back surface is larger than the front surface. It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 9, wherein: the frame elements are arranged in a plurality of rows; the number of frame elements per row increases in an arithmetic progression; and the arithmetic progression begins with 1 and increases by 1 (see Figure 6 of Sole).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the opening of each of the plurality of frame elements generally defines a circle, square, triangle, parallelogram, trapezoid, or polygon ( as shown in figure 6 of Sole, the opening is a circle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parker et al. (US Patent No. 10,058,754).
Regarding claim 11, Parker discloses a target assembly (100), comprising: a frame assembly or body (102), wherein the frame assembly or body defines a plurality of openings (104); a plurality of target elements (112), wherein each of the plurality of target elements is positioned at least partially within an associated opening of the plurality of openings (see Figure 3); wherein: each of the plurality of openings is substantially the same shape (see Figures 1-4); the openings are arranged in a plurality of rows; and wherein the number of openings per row increases in an arithmetic progression, and wherein the arithmetic progression begins with 1 and increases by 1 (see Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 12, wherein each of the openings is substantially circular (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, wherein each of the plurality of target elements is tapered (as shown in Figure 2, component 112 is tapered).
Regarding claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of target elements has a front surface (the right end of component 112 as shown in Figure 2) and a back surface (the left end of component 112 as shown in Figure 2), wherein the back surface is larger than the front surface. It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the periphery of the frame assembly generally follows a triangular shape (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claim 11 above and see Figures 1-4.
Regarding claim 21, further comprising: a base (106), the base configured with mounting holes (120); and support elements sized and configured to support the frame body, when the support elements are positioned within the mounting holes, at a desired orientation (see Figure 4).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker.
Parker does not explicitly disclose the recited material types for the target elements and for the frame assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use any type of material including the ones recited, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711