Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 03/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 over the limitation of “receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the inner surface of the liner” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mandal (U.S. 2015/0085611 A1).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Ravi, Thierry and Burns do not disclose or suggest at least the features of "moving the inner string axially within the liner while the wet cement is being flowed into the annulus; transmitting an ultrasonic pulse from an acoustic sensor on the inner string, wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the liner; receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the inner surface of the liner at the acoustic sensor as the inner string is moving axially within the liner, the transmitting and the receiving performed as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus; determining an acoustic impedance indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus."
Examiner respectfully disagree. Ravi et al., which is the primary reference, disclose: moving the inner string (“wireline tool 180”) axially within the liner (116) while the wet cement (108) is being flowed into the annulus (para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals”);
transmitting an ultrasonic pulse from an acoustic sensor on the inner string within the liner (para 0049: “The sensor, for example, emit an acoustic pulse, which easily pass through the steel of the production casing 116”), wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward (as shown in fig. 5) toward an inner surface of the liner (116; refer to para 0049);
receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse at the acoustic sensor as the inner string is moving axially within the liner (para 0049; “the wireline tool is pulled upward so that the sensor 181 will sense an absence of cement slurry, and the sensor 182 will sense a presence of cement slurry. The sensor…emit acoustic pulse”), the transmitting and receiving performed as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus (para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals”. Examiner notes that the top of cement is rising because cement is flowing into the annulus. If cement is not flowing, the top of cement will not rises. This therefore implies that the wireline tool is moving, transmitting and receiving pulses, as cement is flowing in the annulus);
However, Ravi et al. fail to disclose the step of determining an acoustic impedance which is indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse.
Thierry et al. teach a method of installing a casing (22, see fig. 5, step 70 and refer to para 0036) in a borehole (16), comprising: transmitting an ultrasonic pulse (para 0033: “emit acoustic waves 54”; para 0031: “acoustic logging tool 26 may perform…acoustic impedance from ultrasonic waves”) from an acoustic sensor (“transducer 52”) on an inner string (para 0029: “logging tool 26 may be conveyed using…coiled tubing”) within the casing (22; as shown in figs. 1-2), wherein the ultrasonic pulse (54) is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the casing (22; see fig. 2); receiving a reflection (“reflected waves 56”; [0033]) of the ultrasonic pulse from the casing at the acoustic sensor (52; see fig. 2 and refer to para 0033); determining an acoustic impedance (para 0031: “measurements of acoustic impedance”; also refer to para 0028, 0033, and 0034) indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection the ultrasonic pulse as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus (para 0032: “acoustic cement evaluation data 36 may indicate absence of cement or that the annular fill 18 has a generally liquid or gas character”; para 0031: “acoustic cement evaluation data 36…identify likely locations where solid, liquid, or gas is located in the annulus”; also refer to para 0036). This information is used to verify whether cement in the annulus has properly set or not (refer to para 0032).
Ravi et al. further disclose the use of a drilling rig (114) for lowering the liner (116; see fig. 4 and refer to para 0039). However, Ravi et al. is silent to deploying the liner at an end of a drill pipe.
E. Burns et al. has been used to teach that it is known to use a drill string (S, see fig. 1) to lower a liner (11) in a wellbore during a cementing process (refer to col. 2, lines 35-41).
In summary, Ravi et al. disclose the general inventive concept. Thierry et al. teach that acoustic impedance is a useful information to determine during a cementing process where casing is installed in a wellbore to verify whether cement in the annulus has properly set or not and E. Burns et al. generally teach that it is known to use a drill string (S, see fig. 1) to lower a liner (11) in a wellbore during a cementing process (refer to col. 2, lines 35-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recites “transmitting an ultrasonic pulse from an acoustic sensor on the inner string, wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the liner; receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the inner surface of the liner”. [0017] recites “the acoustic sensor 140 transmits an ultrasonic pulse radially outward toward an inner surface of the liner 114 and measures an acoustic impedance based on a reflection of the pulse”. The specification only has support for “transmitting an ultrasonic pulse from an acoustic sensor on the inner string, wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the liner”. There is no support for “receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the inner surface of the liner”. The specification only state that measurements are made based on a reflection of the pulse. The specification does not specifically state that the pulse is reflected from the inner surface of the liner.
Claims 3, 6-8, 11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as being dependent on claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (U.S 2018/0010438A1), in view of Thierry et al. (U.S. 2015/0177198A1) E. Burns et al. (3,076,509), and Mandal (U.S. 2015/0085611 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ravi et al. disclose a method of installing a liner in a borehole (see figs. 1, 4, 5, and refer to para 0005 and 0035: “the one or more additional conduits (e.g., …liners…shown here as casing 30”. Examiner is using the embodiment of figs. 4-5 with wireline 180), comprising:
deploying a liner (116) at an end of a string (upper sections of liner string lowered via drilling rig 114);
deploying an inner string (“wireline tool 180”; para 0049) through the liner (116; as shown in fig. 5);
flowing a wet cement (108; see figs. 4-5 and refer to para 0039) through an interior of the liner (116) and into an annulus between the liner (116) and a wall (106) of the borehole to flow uphole through the annulus (as shown in fig. 5);
moving the inner string (“wireline tool 180”) axially within the liner (116) while the wet cement (108) is being flowed into the annulus (para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals”);
transmitting an ultrasonic pulse from an acoustic sensor on the inner string within the liner (para 0049: “The sensor, for example, emit an acoustic pulse, which easily pass through the steel of the production casing 116”), wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward (as shown in fig. 5) toward an inner surface of the liner (116; refer to para 0049);
receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse at the acoustic sensor as the inner string is moving axially within the liner (para 0049; “the wireline tool is pulled upward so that the sensor 181 will sense an absence of cement slurry, and the sensor 182 will sense a presence of cement slurry. The sensor…emit acoustic pulse”), the transmitting and receiving performed as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus (para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals”. Examiner notes that the top of cement is rising because cement is flowing into the annulus. If cement is not flowing, the top of cement will not rises. This therefore implies that the wireline tool is moving, transmitting and receiving pulses, as cement is flowing in the annulus);
determining a depth of an upper surface of the wet cement (TOC 122) from the acoustic data (para 0049); and
performing an operation based on the depth of the upper surface of the wet cement (the analysis of the “TOC” may indicate a problem addressed by adjusting a cement plan for a future cement job, and the analysis may indicate a need to repair a location of the set cement; refer to abstract, see fig. 11, step 312, and para 0071).
However, Ravi et al. fail to disclose the step of determining an acoustic impedance indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse.
Thierry et al. teach a method of installing a casing (22, see fig. 5, step 70 and refer to para 0036) in a borehole (16), comprising: transmitting an ultrasonic pulse (para 0033: “emit acoustic waves 54”; para 0031: “acoustic logging tool 26 may perform…acoustic impedance from ultrasonic waves”) from an acoustic sensor (“transducer 52”) on an inner string (para 0029: “logging tool 26 may be conveyed using…coiled tubing”) within the casing (22; as shown in figs. 1-2), wherein the ultrasonic pulse (54) is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the casing (22; see fig. 2); receiving a reflection (“reflected waves 56”; [0033]) of the ultrasonic pulse from the casing at the acoustic sensor (52; see fig. 2 and refer to para 0033); determining an acoustic impedance (para 0031: “measurements of acoustic impedance”; also refer to para 0028, 0033, and 0034) indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection the ultrasonic pulse as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus (para 0032: “acoustic cement evaluation data 36 may indicate absence of cement or that the annular fill 18 has a generally liquid or gas character”; para 0031: “acoustic cement evaluation data 36…identify likely locations where solid, liquid, or gas is located in the annulus”; also refer to para 0036). This information is used to verify whether cement in the annulus has properly set or not (refer to para 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of method of Ravi et al. to include step of determining an acoustic impedance indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus, as taught by Thierry et al., for determining whether the cement in the annulus has properly set or not (refer to para 0032).
Ravi et al. further disclose a drilling rig (114) for lowering the liner (116; see fig. 4 and refer to para 0039).
However, Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry et al., fail to teach deploying the liner at an end of a drill pipe.
E. Burns et al. generally teach that it is known to use a drill string (S, see fig. 1) to lower a liner (11) in a wellbore during a cementing process (refer to col. 2, lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of lowering tool for another (i.e., substitute the tubulars used to lower liner 11 with a drill string, as taught by E. Burns) to achieve the predictable result of lowering the liner in the wellbore for cementing.
However, Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry et al. and E. Burns et al. is silent to the specific details of the signal movement: receiving the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the inner surface of the liner.
Mandal teaches a system and method for monitoring and inspecting pipe casing and its surrounding cement support structure (refer to abstract and para 0015). The system comprises a casing (202) and an inner string (112) deployed through the casing (202; see fig. 2 and refer to para 0016). Ultrasonic pulse (refer to para 0017) is transmitted from a system (100) on the inner string (112), wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the casing (202) and a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse is received from the inner surface of the casing (refer to para 0016 and 0024).
While Ravi et al. is silent to the specific details of how the pulses are transmitted and received, Mandal teaches that that when the pulses are transmitted, they are reflected from the inner surface of the pipe, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pulses of Ravi et al. reflect from the inner surface of the liner when emitted from the sensor, as taught by Mandal, for the purpose of monitoring and inspecting pipe casing/liner and its surrounding cement support structure (refer to abstract and para 0015).
Regarding claim 9, Ravi et al. disclose a borehole system (100; fig. 4; Examiner is using the embodiment of figs. 4-5 with wireline 180), comprising:
a liner (116; figs. 4-5; para 0035: “the one or more additional conduits (e.g., …liners…shown here as casing 30”) disposed in a borehole (106);
an inner string (“wireline tool 180”; para 0049) that extends through the liner (116; as shown in fig. 5), wherein the inner string (“wireline tool 180”; para 0049) is configured to move axially within the liner (116; para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals”);
a pump (144; fig. 4 and para 0040) for flowing a wet cement (108) through an interior of the liner (116) and into an annulus between the liner (116) and a wall of the borehole (106; para 0040) to flow uphole through the annulus (as shown in figs. 4-5) wherein the inner string (“wireline tool 180”) is moved axially within the liner (116) while the wet cement (108) is being flowed through the interior and into the annulus (as shown in fig. 5, cement can be seen flowing inside liner 116 as 180 is lowered; para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals);
an acoustic sensor (para 0049; 181, 182) disposed on the inner string for transmitting an ultrasonic pulse radially outward toward an inner surface of the liner (para 0049: “The sensor, for example, emit an acoustic pulse, which easily pass through the steel of the production casing 116”) and receiving a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse as the inner string is moving axially within the liner (para 0049; the sensor will sense the presence or absence of the cement slurry as the wireline tool is pulled upward) to measure an acoustic data of the annulus as the cement is flowing into the annulus (refer to para 0049), the transmitting and receiving performed as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus (para 0049 “As the top of cement (TOC) 122 rises, the wireline tool 180 is pulled upward in response to the sensor signals”. Examiner notes that the top of cement is rising because cement is flowing into the annulus. If cement is not flowing, the top of cement will not rises. This therefore implies that the wireline tool is moving, transmitting and receiving pulses, as cement is flowing in the annulus); and
a processor (161) configured to:
determine a depth of an upper surface of the wet cement (TOC 122; refer to para 0049) from the acoustic data (refer to para 0049); and
perform an operation based on the depth of the upper surface of the wet cement (the analysis of the “TOC” may indicate a problem addressed by adjusting a cement plan for a future cement job, and the analysis may indicate a need to repair a location of the set cement; refer to abstract, see fig. 11, step 312, and para 0071).
However, Ravi et al. fail to teach the step of determine an acoustic impedance indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse.
Thierry et al. teach a method of installing a casing (22, see fig. 5, step 70 and refer to para 0036) in a borehole (16), comprising: transmitting an ultrasonic pulse (para 0033: “emit acoustic waves 54”; para 0031: “acoustic logging tool 26 may perform…acoustic impedance from ultrasonic waves”) from an acoustic sensor (“transducer 52”) on an inner string (para 0029: “logging tool 26 may be conveyed using…coiled tubing”) within the casing (22; as shown in figs. 1-2), wherein the ultrasonic pulse (54) is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the casing (22; see fig. 2);receiving a reflection (“reflected waves 56”; [0033]) of the ultrasonic pulse from the casing at the acoustic sensor (52; see fig. 2 and refer to para 0033); determining an acoustic impedance (para 0031: “measurements of acoustic impedance”; also refer to para 0028, 0033, and 0034) indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection the ultrasonic pulse as the wet cement is flowing into the annulus (para 0032: “acoustic cement evaluation data 36 may indicate absence of cement or that the annular fill 18 has a generally liquid or gas character”; para 0031: “acoustic cement evaluation data 36…identify likely locations where solid, liquid, or gas is located in the annulus”; also refer to para 0036). This information is used to verify whether cement in the annulus has properly set or not (refer to para 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of method of Ravi et al. to include step of determine an acoustic impedance indicative of a type of a fluid in the annulus based on the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse, as taught by Thierry et al., for determining whether the cement in the annulus has properly set or not (refer to para 0032).
However, Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry et al., fail to teach the liner is disposed at an end of a drill pipe.
E. Burns et al. generally teach that it is known to use a drill string (S, see fig. 1) to lower a liner (11) in a wellbore during a cementing process (refer to col. 2, lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of lowering tool for another (i.e., substitute the tubulars used to lower liner 11 with a drill string, as taught by E. Burns) to achieve the predictable result of lowering the liner in the wellbore for cementing.
However, Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry et al. and E. Burns et al. is silent to the specific details of the signal movement: receiving the reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the inner surface of the liner.
Mandal teaches a system and method for monitoring and inspecting pipe casing and its surrounding cement support structure (refer to abstract and para 0015). The system comprises a casing (202) and an inner string (112) deployed through the casing (202; see fig. 2 and refer to para 0016). Ultrasonic pulse (refer to para 0017) is transmitted from a system (100) on the inner string (112), wherein the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted radially outward toward an inner surface of the casing (202) and a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse is received from the inner surface of the casing (refer to para 0016 and 0024).
While Ravi et al. is silent to the specific details of how the pulses are transmitted and received, Mandal teaches that that when the pulses are transmitted, they are reflected from the inner surface of the pipe, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pulses of Ravi et al. reflect from the inner surface of the liner when emitted from the sensor, as taught by Mandal, for the purpose of monitoring and inspecting pipe casing/liner and its surrounding cement support structure (refer to abstract and para 0015).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (U.S 2018/0010438A1), in view Thierry et al. (U.S. 2015/0177198A1), E. Burns et al. (3,076,509), and Mandal (U.S. 2015/0085611 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of King et al. (U.S. 2002/0157828A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal teach all the features of this claim as applied to claims 1 and 9 above; however, Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry et al., E. Burns and Mandal, fail to teach a conveyance system involving a liner packoff secured in the liner at a fixed depth, wherein the liner packoff including the acoustic sensor.
King et al. teach a system and method for cementing a casing or liner (11, fig. 1) in a wellbore (refer to para 0003, 0008, and 0013). A cement plug/liner packoff (29) is used as the conveyance, wherein the packoff is secured in the liner (11) at the fixed depth (as shown in fig. 1), the liner packoff (29) comprising a plurality of sensors (41, 43, fig. 2 and refer to para 0016; [0027] “surface equipment 111 receives and processes acoustic signals from cement plug”). Such a system improves the quality of the cementing operation (refer to para 0007).
Since King et al. teach that it is known use a cement plug as a conveyance means during a cementing process, wherein sensors are placed in the cement plug during a cementing operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the conveyance means of Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal, with a cement plug/liner packoff secured in the liner at a fixed depth and including a sensor, such as the acoustic sensor, as taught by King et al., for improving the quality of the cementing operation (refer to para 0007).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (U.S 2018/0010438A1), in view of Thierry et al. (U.S. 2015/0177198A1), E. Burns et al. (3,076,509), Mandal (U.S. 2015/0085611 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pelletier et al. (U.S. 2016/0369620A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; Ravi et al. further disclose measuring a temperature at a location of the acoustic sensor (para 0056: sensors 185, 186, 187, 188 are temperature sensors) and determining the depth of an upper surface using the acoustic impedance (TOC 122; refer to para 0049).
However, Ravi et al. as modified by Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal is silent to determining the depth of the upper surface using the temperature data.
Pelletier et al. generally teach the use of acoustic sensors and temperature sensors to log cement, wherein changes in temperature and/or acoustic measurements can be used to determine cure stage, location of a top of cement, defects in cement, cement bonding quality, etc. (refer to para 0107).
Since Ravi et al. teach taking temperature data and acoustic data and Pelletier et al. generally teach the use of temperature and/or acoustic measurements to determine location of a top of cement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the temperature data collected by Ravi et al., as modified by Thierry, E. Burns, and Mandal to determine cement cure stage, location of a top of cement, defects in cement, cement bonding quality, etc., as taught by Pelletier et al. (refer to para 0107).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (U.S 2018/0010438A1), in view Thierry et al. (U.S. 2015/0177198A1), E. Burns et al. (3,076,509), and Mandal (U.S. 2015/0085611 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Pelletier et al. (U.S. 2016/0369620A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal teach all the features of this claim as applied to claims 1 and 9 above; however, the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal fail to teach determining the depth of the upper surface by determining the depth at which the acoustic impedance changes from a first value to a second value.
Pelletier et al. generally teach that change in acoustic measurements can be used to determine location of a top of cement (see figs. 11A, 11B, and refer to para 0107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the method of determining the cement top in the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal with using changes in acoustic measurements, as taught by Pelletier et al., for the predictable result of detecting and mitigating problems associated with the cementing operation.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (U.S 2018/0010438A1), in view Thierry et al. (U.S. 2015/0177198A1), E. Burns et al. (3,076,509), and Mandal (U.S. 2015/0085611 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Steele (U.S. 2016/0230533A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal teach all the features of this claim as applied to claims 1 and 9 above; of Ravi et al. further teach a pressure sensor (185, 186, 187, 188; para 0056). However, the combination of Ravi et al., Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal is silent to the pressure sensor for measuring a pressure in the annulus, wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a fluid loss from the borehole based on the pressure and the acoustic impedance.
Steele generally teaches a cementing operation in which an acoustic communication module (124, fig. 1 and para 0025) comprises a pressure sensor (120, para 0036) measuring a pressure in the annulus (see figs. 1, 2A, 2B) for calculating a fluid loss from the borehole based on the pressure and the acoustic data (refer to para 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ravi et al. and Thierry et al., E. Burns, and Mandal to use the pressure sensor of Ravi for measuring a pressure in the annulus, wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a fluid loss from the borehole based on the pressure and the acoustic impedance, as taught by Steele, for determining if fluids are falling into loss zone and appropriate remedial actions taken (refer to para 0036).
Conclusion
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672