Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen (US 2022/0039039) in view of Zhang (US 20160047884).
Referring to claim 1, Maattanen discloses an apparatus (FIG. 5, Par. 151-152, “UE”, “a user equipment or UE”) comprising a processor coupled with a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions that, when the instructions executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform a method (FIG. 5, 13-14, Par. 152, “UE 200 includes processing circuitry 201 that is operatively coupled to input/output interface 205, radio frequency (RF) interface 209, network connection interface 211, memory 215 including random access memory (RAM) 217, read-only memory (ROM) 219, and storage medium 221” ), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining trajectory information associated with a moving communication device (Par. 101, “The wireless device may also obtain the serving and target satellite trajectories.” Par. 118, “the UE receives the trajectories via broadcasted signaling, e.g., in the system information block (SIB)”. Par. 260, “wherein the trajectory information comprises information regarding the movement”. Note that the UE receives satellite trajectory information (or orbit) or movement information on its orbit, which is the curved and around Earth. Also note that the satellite is moving on it orbit which reads on moving communication device),
wherein the apparatus is served by the moving communication device (Par. 101, “The wireless device may also obtain the serving … satellite trajectories”, note that the UE obtain the serving satellite’s trajectory); and
Maattanen is not relied on for limitation “transmitting or receiving data based on the trajectory information”.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses transmitting or receiving data based on the trajectory information (FIG. 9A-10B, Par. 86, “beam 905 used for directional communication with one or more receivers in the passenger train 705-b may need to be tracked and adjusted . . . the initial beam 905 to move with the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b, as illustrated in FIG. 9A by subsequent beams 910, 915”. Note that the initial beam is adjusted based beam trajectory. Here, adjusted is equivalent to aligned . Par. 86, “based at least in part on a current velocity of the receiver(s), a current position of the receiver(s), and a known trajectory of the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b. The second (future) estimated position may then be used by the base station 105-f to adjust the initial beam 905 to move with the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b, as illustrated in FIG. 9A by subsequent beams 910, 915”. Note that beam 905 is the initial antenna beam between the moving device (train) and the base station equipment, then based on velocity and trajectory of receivers).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Maattanen by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, as claimed for the purpose of adjusting the communication channels so that all the trajectory elements are considered and thus providing quality signaling. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the trajectory information comprises at least one of beam trajectory information or geographical trajectory information, the beam trajectory information indicating a beam trajectory and the geographical trajectory information indicating a geographical trajectory (Maattanen, Par. 193, “wireless device may communicate in a non-terrestrial network, which may include one or more satellites as network nodes. The wireless device may obtain location information regarding the satellites, such as their current locations and their trajectories. In this manner, the wireless device may be able to determine the locations of the network nodes at different points in time”).
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the trajectory information comprises the geographical trajectory information and wherein the geographical trajectory information comprises at least one of a position of the moving communication device, an altitude of the moving communication device, or a velocity of the moving communication device (Maattanen, Par. 193, “the wireless device may obtain location information regarding the satellites, such as their current locations and their trajectories. In this manner, the wireless device may be able to determine the locations of the network nodes at different points in time”).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein, when the trajectory information comprises the beam trajectory information, the transmitting or receiving data based on the trajectory information comprises:
transmitting or receiving data using an antenna beam, wherein the antenna beam is obtained based on beam trajectory information (Zhang, Par. 49, “receive geographical information about the UEs, including, for example, their known locations, velocities, trajectories, and so forth”. Par. 68, lines 17-21, “The trajectory sub-module 450 may be configured to receive, generate, process, store, or transmit trajectory information (e.g., the typical paths taken by one or more transmitters and/or receivers).”. Note that the base station receives beam trajectory from the UE, thus the UE sends signaling indicative of beam trajectory).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Maattanen by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, as claimed for the purpose of adjusting the communication channels so that all the trajectory elements are considered and thus providing quality signaling. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 7, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the transmitting or receiving comprises transmitting or receiving data using an antenna beam ((FIG. 9A-10B, Par. 86, “In FIG. 9A, a passenger train 705-b is passing through a tunnel in the direction indicated by the arrows (towards the top of the page). As the passenger train 705-b moves relative to the base station 105-f, a beam 905 used for directional communication with one or more receivers in the passenger train 705-b may need to be tracked and adjusted. As such, and as described above with reference to the tracking module 310 in FIG. 3, the base station 105-f may track the desired beam direction based at least in part on the known geographical information”, “the base station 105-f may determine a second (future) estimated position of the receiver(s) in the passenger train 705-b at a second (future) time based at least in part on a current velocity of the receiver(s), a current position of the receiver(s), and a known trajectory of the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b. The second (future) estimated position may then be used by the base station 105-f to adjust the initial beam 905 to move with the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b, as illustrated in FIG. 9A by subsequent beams 910, 915”. Note that beam 905 is the initial antenna beam between the moving device (train) and the base station equipment, then based on velocity of the train and beam trajectory of receivers in the train, subsequent beams 910 and 915 are used for communication), the method further comprising predicting a receive parameter associated with the antenna beam based on the beam trajectory and a mobility pattern of a receiver of the antenna beam (Zhang, FIG. 9A-10B, and Par. 86, “determine a second (future) estimated position of the receiver(s) in the passenger train 705-b at a second (future) time based at least in part on a current velocity of the receiver(s), a current position of the receiver(s), and a known trajectory of the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b. . . . to adjust the initial beam 905 to move with the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b, as illustrated in FIG. 9A by subsequent beams 910, 915”. Par. 15, “The known trajectory of the receiver may be estimated based at least in part on historical information, and the historical information may include actual movement of other receivers during previous time periods.”. Note that the system anticipates the next beam e.g., beam 925 based on speed and trajectory of the train).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Maattanen by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, as claimed for the purpose of adjusting the communication channels so that all the trajectory elements are considered and thus providing quality signaling. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 8, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the transmitting or receiving comprises transmitting or receiving data using an antenna beam, the method further comprising communicating with the moving communication device, signaling indicative of a receive parameter that is associated with the antenna beam and is predicted by a receiver of the antenna beam based on the beam trajectory and a mobility pattern of the receiver of the antenna beam (Zhang, FIG. 9A-10B, Par. 86, 15, “In FIG. 9A, a passenger train 705-b is passing through a tunnel in the direction indicated by the arrows (towards the top of the page). As the passenger train 705-b moves relative to the base station 105-f, a beam 905 used for directional communication with one or more receivers in the passenger train 705-b may need to be tracked and adjusted. As such, and as described above with reference to the tracking module 310 in FIG. 3, the base station 105-f may track the desired beam direction based at least in part on the known geographical information”. Note based on the communication between the moving train the BS, which includes beam information, velocity of moving train, the system anticipates a receive parameter, e.g., direction of the beam 925 based on speed and trajectory of the train).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Maattanen by incorporating the teachings of Zhang so that the beamforming is utilized and allowing for alignment of beams based on predictions. This would help in situations where a base station is not available or in situations where to avoid burdening the base station. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the trajectory information is received via system information block (SIB) or radio resource control (RRC) (Maattanen, Par. 118, “the UE receives the trajectories via broadcasted signaling, e.g., in the system information block (SIB)”).
Referring to claim 10, Maattanen discloses an apparatus comprising a processor coupled with a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions that, when the instructions executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform a method (Par. 51, “a first non-terrestrial network node is disclosed for use in an NTN comprising at least the first non-terrestrial network node and a second non-terrestrial network node. The first non-terrestrial network node comprises a memory configured to store instructions and processing circuitry configured to execute the instructions”), wherein the method comprises:
transmitting trajectory information, the trajectory information associated with the apparatus while it is moving (Par. 101, “The wireless device may also obtain the serving and target satellite trajectories.” Par. 118, “the UE receives the trajectories via broadcasted signaling, e.g., in the system information block (SIB)”. Par. 260, “wherein the trajectory information comprises information regarding the movement”. Note that the UE receives satellite trajectory information (or orbit) or movement information on its orbit, from a non-terrestrial network node, e.g., satellite), wherein the apparatus is serving a user equipment (UE) (Par. 101, “The wireless device may also obtain the serving … satellite trajectories”, note that the UE obtain the serving satellite’s trajectory).
Maattanen is not relied on for limitation “transmitting or receiving data based on the trajectory information”.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses transmitting or receiving data based on the trajectory information (FIG. 9A-10B, Par. 86, “beam 905 used for directional communication with one or more receivers in the passenger train 705-b may need to be tracked and adjusted . . . the initial beam 905 to move with the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b, as illustrated in FIG. 9A by subsequent beams 910, 915”. Note that the initial beam is adjusted based beam trajectory. Here, adjusted is equivalent to aligned . Par. 86, “based at least in part on a current velocity of the receiver(s), a current position of the receiver(s), and a known trajectory of the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b. The second (future) estimated position may then be used by the base station 105-f to adjust the initial beam 905 to move with the receiver(s) on the passenger train 705-b, as illustrated in FIG. 9A by subsequent beams 910, 915”. Note that beam 905 is the initial antenna beam between the moving device (train) and the base station equipment, then based on velocity and trajectory of receivers).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Maattanen by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, as claimed for the purpose of adjusting the communication channels so that all the trajectory elements are considered and thus providing quality signaling. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same
way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 11, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the trajectory information comprises at least one of beam trajectory information or geographical trajectory information, the beam trajectory information indicating a beam trajectory and the geographical trajectory information indicating a geographical trajectory (Maattanen, Par. 193, “wireless device may communicate in a non-terrestrial network, which may include one or more satellites as network nodes. The wireless device may obtain location information regarding the satellites, such as their current locations and their trajectories. In this manner, the wireless device may be able to determine the locations of the network nodes at different points in time”).
Referring to claim 12, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the trajectory information comprises the geographical trajectory information and wherein the geographical trajectory information comprises at least one of a position of the apparatus, an altitude of the apparatus, or a velocity of the apparatus (Maattanen, Par. 193, “the wireless device may obtain location information regarding the satellites, such as their current locations and their trajectories. In this manner, the wireless device may be able to determine the locations of the network nodes at different points in time”).
Referring to claim 13, the combination of Maattanen/Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, when the trajectory information comprises the beam trajectory information, transmitting or receiving, by the apparatus, the data based on the trajectory information comprises: transmitting or receiving, by the apparatus, data using an antenna beam, wherein the antenna beam is obtained based on beam trajectory information (Zhang, Par. 49, “receive geographical information about the UEs, including, for example, their known locations, velocities, trajectories, and so forth”. Par. 68, lines 17-21, “The trajectory sub-module 450 may be configured to receive, generate, process, store, or transmit trajectory information (e.g., the typical paths taken by one or more transmitters and/or receivers).”. Note that the base station receives beam trajectory from the UE, thus the UE sends signaling indicative of beam trajectory).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Maattanen by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, as claimed for the purpose of adjusting the communication channels so that all the trajectory elements are considered and thus providing quality signaling. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Claims 16-19 recite features analogous to the features of claims 1-4 respectively, except that claims 16-19 are method claims while claims 1-4 and apparatus claims. Thus, claims 16-19 are broader. Therefore, claims 16-19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in the rejection of claims 1-4 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 14, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 20:
The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “wherein the antenna beam is selected from a plurality of candidate antenna beams, based on alignment between the beam trajectory and a mobility pattern of the apparatus”, as in claims 5, 14 and 20, along with the limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 15:
The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “wherein the method further comprises determining beam misalignment of the antenna beam based on at least one of: a difference between a velocity vector of the apparatus and the beam trajectory having a magnitude that is greater than a threshold; or received signal power associated with the antenna beam”, as in claims 5, 14 and 20, along with the limitations of the intermediate and base claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644