DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species II, FIGs. 1C and 3, and claims 8-15 and 17 in the reply filed on 08/06/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7, 16 and 18-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the lead structure width is greater than a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings” as recited in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-15 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the originally filed specification does not clearly explain “the lead structure width is greater than a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings” as claimed. Specifically, the originally filed specification does not have detailed description of what is defined or considered as “a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings.”
Claims 9-15 and 17 are rejected as being dependent on claim 8.
Claims 8-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the lead structure width is greater than a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings” as recited. Specifically, since the “a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings” is not clearly described, defined or explained, it’s not clear if the “a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings” is the cross-sectional area of the wire 108a (annotated FIG. 1C) or the cross-sectional area (area inside the circular helix windings 108 in yz plane, annotated FIG. 1C). As seen in FIG. 1C, the width 122 of the lead structure 104 is larger than the cross-sectional area of the wire 108a, but the width 122 of the lead structure 104 is NOT larger than the cross-sectional area inside the circular helix windings 108 in yz plane. Accordingly, for examination purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as the width 122 is larger than the cross-sectional area of wire 108a.
Claims 9-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as being directly or indirectly dependent from claim 8 and therefore inheriting the indefiniteness thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, 12, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusada (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0234860 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Kusada teaches a circuit 1 (FIG. 4) comprising:
a substrate 5 supporting the circuit, wherein a substrate surface (upper surface) of the substrate defines a plane (a plane parallel to the upper surface) extending through the substrate;
a terminal 51;
a lead structure 3 of an electrically conductive material, having a lead structure width 3a (annotated FIG. 4), coupled to the terminal; and
a coil 2, of the electrically conductive material, having first and second coil ends 22 and a number of windings 21 of the electrically conductive material extending between the first and second coil ends, the first coil end at a surface of the lead structure, wherein the lead structure width is greater than a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings (paras. [0047]-[0048] and [0053]). The distance of the annotated dotted arrow is longer than the solid arrow. Accordingly, Kusada meets the width limitations as claimed.
With respect to claim 9, Kusada teaches the circuit of claim 8, wherein the lead structure has first portion 31 extending parallel to the plane and a second portion 32 bent at an angle away from the plane (paras. [0057] and [0058]).
With respect to claim 12, Kusada teaches the circuit of claim 8, wherein the lead structure is a first lead structure, the terminal is a first terminal, the lead structure width is a first lead structure width, and the circuit further comprises:
a second lead structure (the other lead structure 3) at the second coil end, wherein the second lead structure has a second lead structure width greater than the largest cross sectional dimension of the windings; and
a second terminal (the other terminal 51) spaced apart from the first terminal, wherein the second lead structure is coupled to the second terminal (paras. [0047]-[0048] and [0053]).
With respect to claim 14, Kusada teaches the circuit of claim 12, wherein the first lead structure has a first bend at a first angle relative to the plane and the second lead structure has a second bend at a second angle relative to the plane (paras. [0047]-[0048] and [0053]). The claim does not require the first angle and the second angle to be different.
With respect to claim 17, Kusada teaches the circuit of claim 8, wherein the coil has a longitudinal axis that is oriented at a respective angle relative to the plane ranging from parallel to orthogonal to the plane (paras. [0047]-[0048] and [0053]).
Claims 8, 12, 14 and 17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2005/0174208 A1, hereinafter “Sato).
With respect to claim 8, Sato teaches a circuit (FIG. 1A)comprising:
a substrate (not expressly shown) supporting the circuit, wherein a substrate surface (a surface of the substrate) of the substrate defines a plane extending through the substrate;
a terminal 12 and or 12a;
a lead structure 7 of an electrically conductive material, having a lead structure width (width of lead structure), coupled to the terminal; and
a coil 1, of the electrically conductive material, having first and second coil ends (front and back ends) and a number of windings (turns) of the electrically conductive material extending between the first and second coil ends, the first coil end at a surface of the lead structure, wherein the lead structure width is greater than a largest cross sectional dimension of the windings (paras. [0087] and [0088]).
With respect to claim 12, Sato teaches the circuit of claim 8, wherein the lead structure is a first lead structure, the terminal is a first terminal, the lead structure width is a first lead structure width, and the circuit further comprises:
a second lead structure (the other lead structure 7) at the second coil end, wherein the second lead structure has a second lead structure width greater than the largest cross sectional dimension of the windings; and
a second terminal (the other terminal 12 and or 12a) spaced apart from the first terminal, wherein the second lead structure is coupled to the second terminal (paras. [0087] and [0088]).
With respect to claim 14, Sato teaches the circuit of claim 12, wherein the first lead structure has a first bend at a first angle relative to the plane and the second lead structure has a second bend at a second angle relative to the plane (paras. [0087] and [0088]). The claim does not require the first angle and the second angle to be different.
With respect to claim 17, Sato teaches the circuit of claim 8, wherein the coil has a longitudinal axis that is oriented at a respective angle relative to the plane ranging from parallel to orthogonal to the plane (paras. [0087] and [0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Okano et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0020352 A1, hereinafter “Okano”).
With respect to claim 9, Sato teaches the circuit of claim 8. Sato does not expressly teach the lead structure has first portion extending parallel to the plane and a second portion bent at an angle away from the plane.
Okano teaches a circuit (FIG. 2B), wherein the lead structure 126A or 126B has first portion 127A or 127B extending parallel to the plane (mounting plane) and a second portion bent (vertical bent portion) at an angle away from the plane (para. [0095]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second portions of the lead structure as taught by Okano to the circuit of Sato to mount the coil on the substrate at a desired height to meet design requirements.
Claims 10, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusada and or Sato, as applied to claims 8 and 12 above, and further in view of Tsuji et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2025/0072012 A1, hereinafter “Tsuji”).
With respect to claim 10, Kusada and or Sato teaches the circuit of claim 8, wherein the substrate is a leadframe, and wherein the terminal includes a leadframe terminal of the leadframe.
Tsuji teaches a circuit 10 (FIG. 3), wherein the substrate 80 or 90 is a leadframe, and wherein the terminal SD and or 81 or 91 includes a leadframe terminal of the leadframe (paras. [0061], [0062], [0065] and [0070]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the leadframe as taught by Tsuji to the circuit of Kusada and or Sato to improve mechanical stability of the components and or to improve heat dissipation.
With respect to claim 11, Kusada and or Sato in view of Tsuji teaches the circuit of claim 10, further comprising:
a die 50 or 60 mounted on the leadframe, and the terminal includes a die terminal (Tsuji, para. [0057]).
With respect to claim 13, Kusada and or Sato teaches the circuit of claim 12. Kusada and or Sato does not expressly teach the first terminal and the second terminal are spaced different distances from the plane.
Tsuji teaches a circuit 10 (FIG. 3), wherein the first terminal SD and the second terminal 66 are spaced different distances from the plane (plane of substrate 80 or 90) (paras. [0070] and [0071]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the different distances as taught by Tsuji to the circuit of Kusada and or Sato to provide the required circuit components arrangement to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 15, Kusada and or Sato teaches the circuit of claim 12. Kusada and or Sato does not expressly teach the substrate is a leadframe, wherein the first terminal is a leadframe terminal of the leadframe, and wherein the first lead structure is coupled to the leadframe terminal, the circuit further comprising:
a die mounted on the leadframe, wherein the second terminal is a die terminal of the die, and the second lead structure is coupled to the die terminal.
Tsuji teaches a circuit 10 (FIG. 3), wherein the substrate 80 or 90 is a leadframe, wherein the first terminal SD is a leadframe terminal of the leadframe, and wherein the first lead structure WA or WB is coupled to the leadframe terminal, the circuit further comprising:
a die 50 or 60 mounted on the leadframe, wherein the second terminal 56 or 66 is a die terminal of the die, and the second lead structure (the other of structure WA or WB) is coupled to the die terminal (paras. [0070], [0074]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the terminals and die as taught by Tsuji to the circuit of Kusada and or Sato to provide the required electrical connection between different elements of the circuit to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837