DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 19 recites the limitation "another locator bit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alameldeen et al. (US-12,093,573), and further in view of Tkacik et al. (US-11,567,676).
a. Referring to claims 1, 8 and 15:
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Alameldeen teaches an apparatus comprising: an execution circuitry to execute an instruction to generate a memory request to read a data line from memory (Col 4, Lines 42-47 and Col 13, Lines 37-40…. CPU/execution unit; memory requestors send read requests for cache lines); and a memory controller circuit to: determine that a field of the decrypted data line is set to a locator value for a repeated value (Fig. 5 and Col 8, Lines 24-25…. compressed flag C=7 with index fields IS, I1, I2), identify a first location of a first instance of the repeated value in the decrypted data line based on the locator value, read the repeated value from the first location in the decrypted data line (Col 8, Lines 43-55…. IS points to the selected base word; a removed word with delta of zero is the same value as the base word)), identify a second location in the decrypted data line for a second instance of the repeated value based on the locator value (Col 8, Lines 16-21 and 43-55…. I1, I2 point to where the removed words were), shift the decrypted data line to remove the locator value from the decrypted data line and to generate space for the repeated value to be inserted into the second location, and insert the repeated value into the space within the decrypted data line to generate a resultant data line (Fig. 4-5 and Col 7, Lines 5-34…. metadata occupies the space of the removed words ahead of remaining words; on a read the block is reconstructed with the removed words restored in their positions).
Alameldeen is silent with respect to decrypting the data line into a decrypted line. However, decrypting a data line read from a memory in a memory controller is well known in the art and disclosed by Tkacik in Col 7, lines 4-13 (read IEE of the memory controller decrypts data read from the DRAM in response to a read command from the core) and Col 6, Line 60 thru Col 7, Line 2 (write IEE encrypts data before it is written to the DRAM).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alameldeen by encrypting the compressed block before it is written and decrypting it on a read before it is reconstructed as taught by Tkacik for the purpose of protecting the data stored in external memory from an attacker who snoops the path between the processor and memory.
a. Referring to claims 2, 9 and 16:
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, the combination of Alameldeen and Tkacik teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory controller circuit is to shift bits in the decrypted data line to the left of the second location by a width of the repeated value to remove the locator value and generate the space for the repeated value to be inserted into the second location, and not shift bits in the decrypted data line to the right of the second location (See Alameldeen, Fig. 5 and Col 8, Lines 24-55…. metadata sits at the left end in the space of the removed 16-bit words; restoring a removed word moves the words to its left back over the metadata while the words to the right of the removed position keep their place).
a. Referring to claims 3, 10 and 17:
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination of Alameldeen and Tkacik teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory controller circuit is to determine that the field of the decrypted data line is not set to a conflict indicator value, and perform the identify the first location, the read, the identify the second location, the shift, and the insert in response to the determination that the field of the decrypted data line is not set to the conflict indicator value (See Alameldeen, Col 7, lines 5-28, Col 9, Lines 10-15 and Col 13, Lines 26-35…. compressed flag C=0 marks an unsuccessful compression with overflow data stored separately; compressed block with C=7 is decompressed).
a. Referring to claims 4, 11 and 18:
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination of Alameldeen and Tkacik teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the locator value comprises a first value to indicate the first location of the first instance of the repeated value within a first proper subset of the decrypted data line, and a second value to indicate an offset within a second proper subset of the decrypted data line (See Alameldeen, Fig. 5 and 6, Col 9, Lines 16-35 and Col 10, Lines 29-37…. IS or IA locates the base word, and the 4-bit I1/I2 give the position of the removed word, within a 32B chunk of a 64B line).
a. Referring to claims 5, 12 and 19:
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, the combination of Alameldeen and Tkacik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory controller circuit is further to check another locator bit of the decrypted data line, wherein the bit being set to a first value indicates to the memory controller circuit that the first location and the second location of the repeated value are in a first half of the decrypted data line, and the bit being set to a second value indicates to the memory controller circuit that the first location and the second location of the repeated value are in a second half of the decrypted data line (See Alameldeen, Col 10, Lines 29-45…. for a 64B line, compression is performed in either the top or bottom 32B chunk, and the compressed flag of the chunk indicates which half holds the base and removed words).
a. Referring to claims 6, 13 and 20:
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, the combination of Alameldeen and Tkacik teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory controller circuit is further to: receive a second data line for writing to the memory; search the second data line for a repeated value; determine that the repeated value in the second data line is identifiable using a second locator value for a repeated value in the second data line; in response to the determination, generate the second locator value for the repeated value in the second data line, remove a second instance of the repeated value from the second data line, and insert the second locator value into the second data line (See Alameldeen, Col 7 Lines 5-19 and Col 8, Lines 57 thru Col 9, Line 10…. on a write, words matching the base are found, I1/i2 are set, the words are removed and the metadata is placed in their space); encrypt the second data line that includes the second locator value into an encrypted data line; and cause a write of the encrypted data line to the memory (See Tkacik, Col 6, Line 60 thru Col 7, Line 2…. write IEE encrypts data before it is written to the DRAM).
a. Referring to claims 7 and 14:
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the combination of Alameldeen and Tkacik teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the memory controller circuit is further to, before the encrypt, set another locator bit of the second data line to a first value in response to a first instance and a second instance of the repeated value in the second data line being in a first half of the second data line, and to a second value in response to the first instance and the second instance of the repeated value in the second data line being in a second half of the second data line (See the rejection in claims 5 and 6; Alameldeen, Col 10, Lines 29-45…. Flag set for the top or bottom 32B chunk that is compressed on the write).
Conclusion
/IZUNNA OKEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497