DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 06/03/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-14, 17 and 19-20 are amended.
Claim 15 is canceled.
New claim 21 is added.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Re: Claim Objections
Applicant’s Remarks (remark page 7), filed on 06/03/2026, regarding claim objection to claim 1 and 8 have been considered and the claim 1 and 8 have been amended. The objections to claim have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Re: Rejections Under 35 U.S.C § 103
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 7-8), filed on 06/03/2026, regarding claim 1, ‘claim 1 recites … Ishii fails to disclose or suggest that its "conditional handover configuration" is a "configuration[] of the candidate target cells associated with the L1/L2-based handover," as required by claim 1. In fact, Ishii does not disclose or suggest any L1/L2-based handover at all, much less configurations "associated with the Ll/L2-based handover."Therefore, claim 1 is allowable for at least this reason’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, examiner would like to mention that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
R2-220 teaches configuration of the candidate target cells associated with L1/L2-based handover (R2-220: [FIG.1], [Page 2]) and Ishii teaches conditional handover configuration for candidate target cells with an indicator indicating target cell to handover to and another indicator indicating whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the configuration may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover and the wireless terminal would keep or release the configuration based on the indication (Ishii: [FIG.32], [0007]; [0362], [0275], [0402]). Therefore, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the subject matters as claimed with motivation to determine validity of the handover configurations after handover.
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 8-9), filed on 06/03/2026, regarding claim 1, ‘In addition, the combination of R2-220 and Ishii fails to disclose … Therefore, claim 1 is allowable for at least this additional reason’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. R2-220 teaches UE receiving, before Handover decision, a RRC reconfiguration about the handover configurations of candidate target cells associated with a L1/L2-based handover (R2-220: [FIG.1], [Page1], [Page 2]) and Ishii teaches UE receiving, after Handover decision, a RRC reconfiguration about conditional handover configuration with an indicator indicating target cell to handover to and another indicator indicating whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the configuration may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover and the wireless terminal would keep or release the configuration based on the indication (Ishii: [FIG.32], [0007]; [0362], [0275], [0402]). Therefore, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the subject matters as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 7-9), filed on 06/03/2026, with respect to claims 1-14 and 16-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2208212 (“Prerequisites and benefits of Lower Layer Mobility”), hereinafter “R2-220”, in view of Ishii et al. (US 20220408323 A1), hereinafter “Ishii”.
Per claim 1, 8 and 13:
Regarding claim 1, R2-220 teaches ‘A method’ (R2-220: [Page 6]: “methods”);
‘comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 10: “Source DU” -> “UE”: “RRC Reconfiguration”);
‘comprising one or more configurations of candidate target cells associated with a layer 1 and/or layer 2 (L1/L2)-based handover’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 8: Generate RRC Reconfiguration 1) Measurement Configuration of L1 cell change 2) Configuration of prepared cells”, “Target DU”; [Page 2]: “Having received the UE configurations for the candidate target cell(s), the CU generates an RRC Reconfigurntion (step 8) that is sent to the UE in step 9/10. Among other information, the RRC Reconfigurntion message contains: ■ Measurement reporting configuration for L1/L2 mobility, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of serving and target cells. ■ Configuration of the prepared candidate cell(s) which the UE needs to execute when it receives a L2 command to change the serving cell (perform handover) … The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE in step 16-19”);
‘receiving at least one RRC reconfiguration message comprising: a first indicator indicating a handover to a target cell’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step: 14: “Source DU”: “Decision: Serving Cell Change”; step 15: “Source DU”-> “UE”: “MAC CE trigger cell change”). However, after handover decision, R2-220 teaches UE receiving a MAC CE to trigger handover instead of a second RRC reconfiguration with an indicator indicating a handover to a target cell to trigger handover.
R2-220 does not expressly teach ‘a second indicator indicating whether to release or retain, after a successful completion of the handover to the target cell, at least one configuration of the one or more configurations of the candidate target cells associated with the L1/L2-based handover; and after successfully completing the handover to the target cell and based on the second indicator, performing at least one of: releasing the at least one configuration; or retaining the at least one configuration’.
However, Ishii in the same field of endeavor teaches network sends, after handover decision, an RRC reconfiguration with conditional handover configurations which may comprise an indicator indicating a target cell to handover to and another indicator indicating whether the conditional handover configuration provided may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover and the wireless terminal would keep or release the configuration based on the indication (Ishii: [FIG.32]: step 32-4: “HANDOVER DECISION”, step 32-6: “RRCReconfiguration (CHO config)”; [0077]: “conditional handover configurations comprising at least one identity of a candidate target cell”; [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0375]: “the handover configuration information may be removed. Thus, if valid, the wireless terminal may keep the conditional handover configuration after the handover execution, otherwise, the wireless terminal may release the conditional handover configuration”; [0275]: “handover configuration information 10 can be and/or can comprise and/or can form part of radio resource control reconfiguration information (RRCReconfiguration information)”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 for UE to receive a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising: a first indicator indicating a handover to a target cell; and a second indicator indicating whether to release or retain, after a successful completion of the handover to the target cell, at least one configuration of the one or more configurations of the candidate target cells associated with the L1/L2-based handover; and after successfully completing the handover to the target cell and based on the second indicator, perform at least one of: releasing the at least one configuration; or retaining the at least one configuration in order to in order to determine validity of the handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 8, R2-220 teaches ‘A method’ (R2-220: [Page 6]: “methods”);
‘comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 10: “Source DU” -> “UE”: “RRC Reconfiguration”);
‘comprising one or more configurations of candidate target cells for layer 1 and/or layer 2 (L1/L2)-based handover’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 8: Generate RRC Reconfiguration 1) Measurement Configuration of L1 cell change 2) Configuration of prepared cells”, “Target DU”; [Page 2]: “Having received the UE configurations for the candidate target cell(s), the CU generates an RRC Reconfigurntion (step 8) that is sent to the UE in step 9/10. Among other information, the RRC Reconfigurntion message contains: ■ Measurement reporting configuration for L1/L2 mobility, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of serving and target cells. ■ Configuration of the prepared candidate cell(s) which the UE needs to execute when it receives a L2 command to change the serving cell (perform handover) … The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE in step 16-19”);
‘receiving a RRC reconfiguration message’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step: 14: “Source DU”: “Decision: Serving Cell Change”; step 15: “Source DU”-> “UE”: “MAC CE trigger cell change”). However, after handover decision, R2-220 teaches UE receiving a MAC CE to trigger handover instead of a second RRC reconfiguration message to trigger handover.
R2-220 does not expressly teach ‘an indicator indicating to release the one or more configurations of the candidate target cells for L1/L2-based handover; and based on the indicator, releasing the one or more configurations’.
However, Ishii in the same field of endeavor teaches network sends, after handover decision, an RRC reconfiguration with conditional handover configurations which may comprise an indicator indicating the conditional handover configuration provided needs to be released after executing a handover and the wireless terminal would release the configuration based on the indication (Ishii: [FIG.32]: step 32-4: “HANDOVER DECISION”, step 32-6: “RRCReconfiguration (CHO config)”; [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message … needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0375]: “the handover configuration information may be removed … the wireless terminal may release the conditional handover configuration”; [0275]: “handover configuration information 10 can be and/or can comprise and/or can form part of radio resource control reconfiguration information (RRCReconfiguration information)”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 for UE to receive a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising: an indicator indicating to release the one or more configurations of the candidate target cells for L1/L2- based handover; and based on the indicator, release the one or more configurations in order to in order to determine validity of the handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 13, R2-220 teaches ‘A method’ (R2-220: [Page 6]: “methods”);
‘comprising:
sending, by a first base station to a second base station, a first message comprising a first indicator indicating a presence of one or more cell configurations of candidate target cells associated with a layer 1 and/or layer 2 (L1/L2)-based handover for a wireless device’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: “Source DU” (first base station) -> “Target DU” (second base station”: step 2: “UL RRC message transfer”, step 4: “UE context setup request”; [Page 1]: “Lower Layer Mobility requires the provision of the target cell configurations in advance”; [Page 2]: “Preparation Phase
o In step 1-2, the UE sends a measurement report containing the measurements of serving and target cell(s).
o Using the reported measurements, the CU can identify a potential set of candidate target cells to which the UE can be handed over to (step 3). In this example, the CU identifies candidate target cells that are served by either source DU or another DU (i.e., target DU) which are controlled by the same CU.
o In step 4, the CU requests the preparation of a candidate target cell controlled by the target DU by sending UE Context Setup Request message … Measurement reporting configuration for Ll/L2 mobility, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of serving and target cells”);
‘receiving, by the first base station from the second base station, a second message comprising a second indicator indicating to retain or release, after successfully completing a handover to the second base station’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: “Target DU” -> “Source DU”: step 5: “UE context setup response”, step 9: “DL RRC message transfer”). However, R2-220 fails to expressly teach ‘a second message comprising a second indicator indicating to retain or release, after successfully completing a handover to the second base station’;
‘the one or more cell configurations of candidate target cells associated with the L1/L2-based handover for the wireless device’ (R2-220: [Pages 1-2]: “Lower Layer Mobility requires the provision of the target cell configurations … Measurement reporting configuration for Ll/L2 mobility, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of serving and target cells”);
‘sending, based on the second message and by the first base station to the wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message comprising the second indicator’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 10: “Source DU”-> “UE”: “RRC Reconfiguration”; the RRC Reconfiguration message contains: ■ Configuration of the source cell containing the TCI states of the target cell for ICBM ■ Measurement reporting configuration for Ll/L2 handover, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of source and target cells. ■ Configuration of the prepared candidate cell(s) which the UE needs to execute when it receives a L2 command to change the source cell (perform handover)”). However, R2-220 fails to expressly teach comprising the second indicator.
However, Ishii teaches signaling message to configure the conditional handover configuration may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover (Ishii: [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0375]: “the handover configuration information may be removed. Thus, if valid, the wireless terminal may keep the conditional handover configuration after the handover execution, otherwise, the wireless terminal may release the the conditional handover configuration”; [0275]: “handover configuration information 10 can be and/or can comprise and/or can form part of radio resource control reconfiguration information (RRCReconfiguration information)”; [FIG.7]: “SOURCE CELL” <-> “TARGET CELL”: “HANDOVER COORDINATION”, “SOURCE CELL”-> “WIRELESS TERMINAL”: “RRCReconfiguration(CHO config)”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 for the first base station to receive from the second base station a second message comprising a second indicator indicating to retain or release, after successfully completing a handover to the second base station, the one or more cell configurations of candidate target cells associated with the L1/L2-based handover for the wireless device; and send, based on the second message and by the first base station to the wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message comprising the second indicator in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 2, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘based on the second indicator indicating to retain the at least one configuration, retaining the at least one configuration’ (Ishii: [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0375]: “the particular handover configuration information stored in handover configuration storage 210 may be still valid for future use … Thus, if valid, the wireless terminal may keep the conditional handover configuration after the handover execution”, retain the still valid configuration; [0275]: “handover configuration information 10 can be and/or can comprise and/or can form part of radio resource control reconfiguration information (RRCReconfiguration information)”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 3, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘initiating, based on the at least one RRC reconfiguration message and the first indicator, the handover to the target cell’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 10 to 16: RRC Reconfiguration triggers UE to move from HO Preparation Phase to Execution Phase; [Page 2]: “Preparation Phase … Execution Phase … The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE in step 16-19”).
Regarding claim 4, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘a reconfiguration with sync message’ (Ishii: [Listing 13]: “ReconfigurationWithSync”; [0198]: “the ReconfigurationWithSync IE may comprise RACH config-urations, indicating that this handover involves mobility (cell change and/or gNB change)”);
‘a reconfiguration with sync indication based on execution of a conditional reconfiguration’ (this is optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to include RACH configuration for cell change (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 5, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘based on the second indicator indicating to release the at least one configuration, releasing the at least one configuration’ (Ishii: [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0375]: “the handover configuration information may be removed … the wireless terminal may release the conditional handover configuration”, release configuration based on indicator; [0275]: “handover configuration information 10 can be and/or can comprise and/or can form part of radio resource control reconfiguration information (RRCReconfiguration information)”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 6, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches ‘wherein the one or more configurations of candidate target cells comprises an identifier to uniquely identify a L1/L2-based handover configuration’ (R2-220: [Page 2]: “the RRC Reconfigurntion message contains: ■ Measurement reporting configuration for L1/L2 mobility, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of serving and target cells. ■ Configuration of the prepared candidate cell(s) which the UE needs to execute when it receives a L2 command to change the serving cell (perform handover)”. Ishii: [0009]: “conditional handover configurations comprising at least one identity of a candidate target cell … perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of each of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the at least one indication upon or after performing the handover”; [Listing 4]: “CHOConfig”, “choConfigId”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching of identity of a candidate target cell with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 7, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘wherein the one or more configuration of candidate target cells comprises a target configuration to be applied for the wireless device for communicating with the target cell’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 16: “UE” -> “Target DU”: “Random access”; [Page 2]: “the RRC Reconfigurntion message contains: ■ Measurement reporting configuration for Ll/L2 mobility, i.e., configuration on how to report the L1 beam measurements of serving and target cells. ■ Configuration of the prepared candidate cell(s) which the UE needs to execute when it receives a L2 command to change the serving cell (perform handover)”, configuration of the target cell for UE to communicate with the target DU (cell)).
Regarding claim 9, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘wherein the releasing is after successfully completing a handover to a target cell’ (Ishii: [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0375]: “the handover configuration information may be removed … the wireless terminal may release the conditional handover configuration”; [0426]: “wherein each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is released upon or after performing the handover to the target cell, in a case that the at least one indication indicates the each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is provided as not full configuration”; release configuration after handover; [0275]: “handover configuration information 10 can be and/or can comprise and/or can form part of radio resource control reconfiguration information (RRCReconfiguration information)”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 10, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘wherein the indicator comprises one or more parameters indicating: all configurations of the one or more configurations of candidate target cells are to be released’ (R2-220: [0404]: “wherein the one or more conditional handover configurations are released upon or after performing the handover, in a case that the indication indicates the reconfiguration message is provided as not full configuration”; [0426]: “wherein each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is released upon or after performing the handover to the target cell, in a case that the at least one indication indicates the each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is provided as not full configuration”, all configurations are released after handover; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 11, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
Combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches ‘before the releasing, completing a random access procedure on a target cell’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 16: “UE” -> “Target DU”: “Random Access”; [Page 2]: “The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE in step 16-19”; perform RACH to a target cell before completion of handover. Ishii: [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover. Upon executing a handover, the wireless terminal 26(55) may determine the validity of the conditional handover configuration, if not used by the executed handover, based on the indication”; [0426]: “wherein each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is released upon or after performing the handover to the target cell, in a case that the at least one indication indicates the each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is provided as not full configuration”, release after handover to the target cell; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching of indicator with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 12, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘receiving L1/L2 signaling initiating a handover to an indicated candidate target cell’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 15: “Source DU”-> “UE”: “MAC CE trigger cell change”, step 16: “UE”-> “Target DU”: “Random access”; [Page 2]: “The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE in step 16-19”);
‘wherein the L1/L2 signaling comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI)’ (this is optional); ‘a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 15: “Source DU”-> “UE”: “MAC CE trigger cell change”).
Regarding claim 14, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 13 (discussed above).
Combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches ‘wherein the at least one RRC reconfiguration message further comprises a third indicator indicating the handover to the second base station’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: “Target DU”; [Table 1]: “CHO”, “Enabled for measurement ID used for CHO execution”; [Page 9]: “In CHO, UE can only execute the handover to a prepared target cell”; [Page 8]: “conditional handover (CHO)”; RRC reconfiguration message could indicate CHO to a prepared target DU. Ishii: [FIG.7]: step 7-6: “RRCReconfiguration (CHO config)”, step 7-4’: “CHO CONDITION MET”, step 7-7: “WIRELESS TERMINAL” -> “TARGET CELL”: “Random Access Preamble”; [Listing 4]: “CHOConfig”; [0007]: “In CHO, the gNB of the source cell provides CHO configuration parameters including candidate target cells and triggering conditions to the UE in RRC_CONNECTED state. After receipt of the CHO configuration parameters, the UE may perform measurements of radio signals from the source cell as well as the candidate target cells, and may autonomously initiate a handover to one of the candidate cells whose triggering conditions are met”; [0157]-[0158]: “the serving cell, e.g., source gNodeB 22, has already negotiated with each of the candidate target cell(s), and the wireless terminal 26 is allowed to autonomously execute a handover to one of the candidate target cell(s) as long as the CHO configuration remains valid. Therefore, once the CHO configuration is provided in the message of act 7-5, it may be wasteful to send a measurement report with regard to any of the candidate target cell(s) … a mea-surement report control unit 86 which may suppress the reporting of measurements for candidate target gNodeBs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching of CHO configuration with that of R2-220 in order to suppress wasteful measurement report (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 16, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 13 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘the first base station is a source base station associated with a layer 1 and/or layer 2 (L1/L2)-based handover’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: “Source DU”; [Page 2]: “L1/L2 mobility”);
‘the second base station is a target base station associated with the L1/L2-based handover’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: “Target DU”);
‘performing, by the first base station, the L1/L2-based handover’ (R2-220: [FIG.1]: step 13: “UE”-> “Source DU”: “L1 Measurement Report”, step 14: “Source DU”: “Decision: Serving Cell Change”, step 15: “Source DU”-> “UE”: “MAC CE trigger cell change”; [Page 2]: “The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE in step 16-19”).
Regarding claim 17, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 13 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘wherein the first message comprises a handover request message for handover from the first base station to the second base station’ (R2-220: “Source DU”-> “Target DU”: step 2: “UL RRC message transfer, L3 Measurement Report”, step 4: “UE context setup request”; [Page 2]: “In step 1-2, the UE sends a measurement report containing the measurements of serving and target cell(s).
o Using the reported measurements, the CU can identify a potential set of candidate target cells to which the UE can be handed over to (step 3). In this example, the CU identifies candidate target cells that are served by either source DU or another DU (i.e., target DU) which are controlled by the same CU.
o In step 4, the CU requests the preparation of a candidate target cell controlled by the target DU by sending UE Context Setup Request message … The handover from serving cell to target cell is executed by the UE”).
Regarding claim 18, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 13 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘wherein the presence indicates the one or more cell configurations of candidate target cells on the wireless device’ (R2-220: [Page 2]: “In step 1-2, the UE sends a measurement report containing the measurements of serving and target cell(s).
o Using the reported measurements, the CU can identify a potential set of candidate target cells to which the UE can be handed over to (step 3). In this example, the CU identifies candidate target cells that are served by either source DU or another DU (i.e., target DU)”).
Regarding claim 19, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 13 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘wherein the second indicator comprises a plurality of parameters indicating a plurality of cell configurations of candidate target cells to be released on the wireless device’ (Ishii: [0362]: “a signalling message to configure the conditional handover may comprise an indicator to indicate whether the conditional handover configuration provided in the message may be kept or needs to be released after executing a handover”; [0375]: “the handover configuration information may be removed. Thus, if valid, the wireless terminal may keep the conditional handover configuration after the handover execution, otherwise, the wireless terminal may release the the conditional handover configuration”; [0404]: “wherein the one or more conditional handover configurations are released upon or after performing the handover, in a case that the indication indicates the reconfiguration message is provided as not full configuration”; [0426]: “wherein each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is released upon or after performing the handover to the target cell, in a case that the at least one indication indicates the each of the one or more conditional handover configurations is provided as not full configuration”; [Listing 12-1]: “CHOConfig”, “CHOConfigToRemoveList”, “fullConfig”, “1..maxNrofCHOConfigId”; [0402]: “perform a handover to a target cell; and determine validity of the one or more conditional handover configurations based on the indication upon or after performing the handover”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to determine validity of the conditional handover configurations after handover (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 20, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 13 (discussed above).
R2-220 does not expressly teach, but Ishii teaches ‘a reconfiguration with sync’ (Ishii: [Listing 13]: “ReconfigurationWithSync”; [0198]: “the ReconfigurationWithSync IE may comprise RACH config-urations, indicating that this handover involves mobility (cell change and/or gNB change)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ishii’s teaching with that of R2-220 in order to include RACH configuration for cell change (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 21, combination of R2-220 and Ishii teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
R2-220 teaches ‘wherein the handover to the target cell is a layer 3 (L3)-based handover’ (R220: [Page 6]: “L3 measurement reporting for handover”, L3-based handover).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462