DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 6/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that each subcombination presented by the Examiner includes the limitations of Claim 1. This argument is persuasive, and the restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 1 recites “A battery pack, comprising: a housing a plurality of cells arranged in the housing” on line 1 of the claim. Although the claim is clear and not indefinite, please separate “a housing” and “a plurality of cells arranged in the housing” by a comma or semicolon (i.e., “a housing, a plurality of cells arranged in the housing” or “a housing; a plurality of cells arranged in the housing”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 4 recites “a first tab” on line 2 of the claim, but then recites “the tab” on line 3. Although the claim is clear and not indefinite, please change “the tab” on line 3 to “the first tab” to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 19 recites “the battery pack comprises a plurality of first supporting portions and a plurality of second supporting portions; the plurality of first supporting portions and the plurality of second supporting portions are disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion” on lines 4-6 of the claim. Although the claim is clear and not indefinite, Claim 1 already sets forth a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion. To ensure proper antecedent basis, please change “a plurality of first supporting portions and a plurality of second supporting portions” in Claim 19 to “a plurality of the first supporting portions and a plurality of the second supporting portions.” Please also change “the plurality of first supporting portions and the plurality of second supporting portions” in Claim 19 to “the plurality of the first supporting portions and the plurality of the second supporting portions.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, which depends upon Claim 10, recites “the second groove is provided on the second protrusion” on lines 3-4 of the claim. It is unclear how the first groove can be disposed on the first protrusion (as required by Claim 10), and also have the second groove disposed on the second protrusion. The instant disclosure teaches the first protrusion (13) and second protrusion (14) are on opposite sides of the module (in the second direction, see Examiner’s Annotations to Fig. 2). The connecting piece (80), which has the first and second grooves, does not span across the module in the second direction to connect to 13 and 14. Instead, it is mounted along the first direction of the module (see Fig. 4):
Instant Fig. 2 Annotated by Examiner (L) and Instant Fig. 4 (R)
Examiner requests Applicant amend the claim to clarify the orientation of the connecting piece. Since the instant disclosure supports the connecting piece being mounted along the first direction of the module, with the first and second grooves disposed on protrusions that are vertically aligned (in the third direction), the claim will be interpreted as “the second groove is disposed on a third protrusion.” See Claims 14 and 15 for definitions of the third protrusion that are consistent with this interpretation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al., CN 209418572 U.
Regarding Claim 1, Hu discloses a battery pack (energy storage device, Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (lower cover 1, upper cover 2, front plate 3, rear plate 4, and two side plates 6 [0038], Figs. 1-2),
a plurality of cells arranged in the housing (plurality of energy storage batteries 52 [0032], Fig. 3), the plurality of the cells being stacked in a first direction (Annotated Fig. 2);
a supporting piece disposed between two cells (frame member 53 [0033], Figs. 1-6), the supporting piece comprises a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion arranged opposite to each other (opposite ends 56 of frame member 53, Annotated Fig. 4); and
in a second direction, the housing comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion (limiting ribs 7 at both ends of the upper cover 2 [0040-0059], Figs. 2 and 6, Annotated Fig. 2), the supporting piece is disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion ([0040], Fig. 2), the first supporting portion is connected to the first protrusion and the second supporting portion is connected to the second protrusion (the limiting ribs 7b at each end of the upper cover 2 are provided with a frame limiting groove 564 that engages with each frame limiting hook 563 on the frame member 53 [0040], Fig. 6), and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Annotated Fig. 2).
Hu – Annotated Figs. 2 and 4
Regarding Claim 2, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the first supporting portion comprises at least two supporting blocks (two frame limiting hooks 563 [0040], Figs. 4-6); wherein in a third direction, the two supporting blocks are disposed on two opposite sides of the supporting piece respectively (Annotated Fig. 4);
a through groove is provided between the two supporting blocks (heat dissipation holes 561 [0042]), and the third direction is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction (see Annotated Fig. 2 in Claim 1).
Hu – Annotated Figs. 4 and 6
Regarding Claim 3, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the battery pack further comprises a buffer (limiting longitudinal plates 581 [0013-0014]), and one side of the buffer is connected to the supporting piece and another opposite side is connected to a cell arranged adjacent to the supporting piece (sides of the two limiting longitudinal plates 581 abut against the sides of the energy storage battery 52, connected on other side to long arm member 55 [0045-0046], Figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 4, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the cell comprises a packaging case (see exterior of energy storage battery 52 in Fig. 3), an electrode assembly accommodated in the packaging case, and a first tab connected to the electrode assembly (the tabs 521 at both ends of each energy storage battery 52 are connected to the positive and negative terminals of the energy storage battery 52 [0036]; the claimed “electrode assembly accommodated in the packaging case” is necessarily present in order for the battery to possess positive and negative terminals); the first tab extends out of the packaging case ([0017] Figs. 2-5); the first tab comprises a first welding portion disposed outside the packaging case (busbar 84; tab 521 connected to busbar 84 [0049-0052], Figs. 6-8); and viewed in the first direction, the first welding portion (84) and the first supporting portion (ends 56 of frame member 53) are arranged on two opposite sides of the first protrusion (56 on interior-facing side of rib 7b, 84 on an exterior-facing side of 7b, see Figs. 6-8).
Hu – Fig. 7
Regarding Claim 5, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the packaging case comprises a first part and a second part arranged in sequence (Annotated Figs. 3 and 5), wherein the first part is configured to accommodate the electrode assembly, the first tab extends out of the packaging case through the second part ([0017], Annotated Figs. 3 and 5); the supporting piece is provided with a through groove (U-shaped heat dissipation half hole 562 [0043], Fig. 5), and the through groove is provided between the second parts of two adjacent cells in the first direction (the heat dissipation half holes 562 of two adjacent short arm members 56 can be combined to form a tab avoidance hole [0043]).
Hu – Annotated Figs. 3 and 5
Regarding Claim 6, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the first tab (521) further comprises a first extension disposed outside the packaging case (portion of 521 protruding from the battery in the first direction, Annotated Fig. 3), the first extension is disposed between the first welding portion (84) and the second part (Annotated Fig. 3); viewed in the first direction, at least a part of the first extension is within the through groove (tab 521 extends to the outside through the tab avoidance hole formed by adjacent short arm members 56 [0043], Figs. 4-5).
Hu – Annotated Figs. 3-5
Regarding Claim 12, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the housing is provided with a first side wall (upper cover 2) and a second side wall (lower cover 1) arranged opposite each other in a third direction (Annotated Fig. 2); the first protrusion and the second protrusion are disposed on the first side wall (parallel limiting ribs 7a and 7b are respectively provided at both ends of the inner walls of the upper cover 2 and the lower cover 1 [0059]); and the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Annotated Fig. 2).
Hu – Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 13, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the first part is disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion in the first direction (limiting ribs 7 limit the movement of the frame member 53, frame member 53 contains the battery cell 52 [0040], see Annotated Figs. in Claims 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the housing is provided with a first side wall (upper cover 2 [0038]) and a second side wall arranged opposite to each other in a third direction (lower cover 1 [0038], Annotated Fig. 2), the first side wall is provided with the first protrusion and the second protrusion ([0040]), the second side wall is provided with a third protrusion and a fourth protrusion (ribs 7 on lower cover 1 [0040]); one of the supporting blocks is connected to the first protrusion disposed on the first side wall, the other supporting block is connected to the third protrusion disposed on the second side wall (563/7b connections [0040-0042], Annotated Figs. 2, 4, 6):
Hu – Annotated Figs. 2, 4, 6
Regarding Claim 15, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses in the third direction, the first protrusion disposed on the first side wall and the third protrusion disposed on the second side wall are arranged opposite to each other (see Annotated Figs. in Claim 14); in the third direction, the second protrusion disposed on the first side wall and the fourth protrusion disposed on the second side wall are arranged opposite to each other (see Annotated Figs. in Claim 14)
Regarding Claim 16, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the supporting piece (53) further includes a third supporting portion (frame member 53 includes two long arm members 55 arranged along the length direction of the energy storage battery 52 [0042]), the first supporting portion (56) and the second supporting portion (56) are arranged at two opposite ends of the third supporting portion (55, [0042-0044], Annotated Fig. 4):
Hu – Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding Claim 17, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the supporting piece is a flat plate structure (Figs. 2-4), one cell (52) is disposed on a side surface of the third supporting portion (55) by a binder (limiting longitudinal plates 581 are perpendicularly connected to the inner walls of the two long arm members 55, the sides of the two limiting longitudinal plates 581 abut against the energy storage battery 52 along the width direction and fix the battery to the frame member [0045]; plates 581 “bind” the battery 52 to the inner wall of 55), the cell being a cell towards the supporting piece (the energy storage battery 52 is fixed in the frame member 53 [0045]).
Regarding Claim 18, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses in the second direction, the first supporting portion (end 56 of 53) abuts against the first protrusion, and the second supporting portion (end 56 of 53) abuts against the second protrusion (the limiting ribs 7b at each end of the upper cover 2 engage with both ends of the frame member 53 [0040], Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 19, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the first protrusion is arranged continuously in the first direction, and the second protrusion is arranged continuously in the first direction ([0040, 0059], see limiting ribs 7 arranged continuously in the first direction in Fig. 2);
the battery pack comprises a plurality of the first supporting portions and a plurality of the second supporting portions (plurality of frame members 53 [0008], Annotated Fig. 2); the plurality of the first supporting portions and the plurality of the second supporting portions are disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion ([0040], see Figs. 2-6).
Hu – Annotated Fig. 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as applied to Claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Yang, KR 20200124478 A.
Regarding Claim 7, Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hu discloses the first supporting portion (56) is arranged on an interior side of the first protrusion (interior portion of 7b, see Figs. 2 and 6). Hu does not disclose the first welding portion (84) “is disposed on the first circuit board.” However, this limitation is taught by Yang.
Yang teaches a battery module connection device, wherein a connector (screw 28) electrically and physically connects a circuit board (substrate 20) to a first welding portion (busbar 30 [0004, 0022, 0032], Figs. 1-5). Yang teaches the connector ensures the circuit board is electrically connected to the busbar, in order for the circuit board to sense current flow and send a signal to the Cell Manage Unit ([0004, 0021]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to connect the first circuit board of Yang to the first welding portion of Hu, in
the battery module of Hu, in order to monitor cell voltage and manage the battery module.
Modified Hu
Regarding the limitation “when viewed in the first direction, a first circuit board and the first supporting portion are arranged on two opposite sides of the first protrusion,” Hu discloses the first supporting portion (56) is arranged on an interior side of the first protrusion (interior portion of 7b, see Figs. 2 and 6). The structure of Modified Hu would have the circuit board (Yang, 20) mounted to the first welding portion (84) on Hu’s connecting piece (83), which is on an exterior side of the first protrusion (7b).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Hu discloses the battery pack further comprises a connecting piece (Hu, busbar support 83 [0052], Figs. 3, 6, 7); wherein the connecting piece comprises a connecting plate (Hu, base plate 831), a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion (Hu, two side plates 832), the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are arranged at two opposite ends of the connecting plate (Hu, the busbar support 83 is U-shaped and includes a base plate 831 and two side plates 832 disposed opposite to each other on both sides of the base plate 831 [0052]); the first circuit board (Yang, 20) is disposed between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion (see Modified Hu):
Modified Hu
Regarding Claim 9, modified Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Hu does not disclose “the connecting piece further comprises a fixing portion, and the fixing portion is disposed on the connecting plate, wherein the fixing portion fixes the first circuit board to the connecting piece.” However, this limitation is also taught by Yang.
Yang teaches a fixing portion is disposed on a connecting piece (connecting screw 28 and connecting boss 17 on base 10 [0029-0032], Figs. 2-4). Yang teaches the fixing portion (17 and 28) fixes the first circuit board (20) to the connecting piece ([0032-0035], Fig. 4). Yang teaches this fixing structure is advantageous, since the battery module connection device (10/20/30) can be removed and reinstalled if a defective battery in the module needs to be replaced ([0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the fixing portion of Yang (28/17) to the connecting piece of modified Hu (Hu, 83), in order to reattach the circuit board after being removed from the module.
Yang – Fig. 4
Regarding Claim 10, modified Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Hu discloses the first connecting portion (Hu, 832) is provided with a first groove (Hu, bracket side plates 832 are respectively provided with bracket slots 834 [0054]), and the first groove is provided on the first protrusion (Hu, plates 832 are mounted to rail 7b via hooks 563 engaging with slots 834 [0016-0020, 0040, 0054], Figs. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Hu discloses the second connecting portion (Hu, 832) is provided with a second groove (Hu, bracket slots 834) and a third groove (Hu, bracket fixing hooks 836), the second groove and the third groove are provided on two opposite sides of the first circuit board (Hu Fig. 7), the second groove is disposed on the third protrusion (see 35 USC 112(b) Section) (Hu, plates 832 are mounted to rail 7b via hooks 563 engaging with slots 834 [0016-0020, 0040, 0054], Figs. 5-7); the battery pack further includes a connection structure disposed on the first circuit board (Yang, connecting part 24 formed along lower edge of substrate 20 [0031]), at least a part of the connection structure is disposed in the third groove (Yang’s connecting part 24 would abut an inner portion of Hu’s bracket fixing hooks 836 and/or be disposed between Hu’s bracket fixing hooks 836 and busbar bracket 83).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Hu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Hu does not disclose the battery pack is accommodated in a body of an electric apparatus. However, this limitation is also taught by Yang.
Yang teaches battery modules are used in electric vehicles to supply the required amount of power to the vehicle ([0003]). Yang’s electric vehicle is consistent with the instant disclosure’s definition of an electric apparatus and body at [0082] of the published specification: “Further, the electric apparatus may be an electric vehicle, an electric bus, an electric car, or the like, and the body is a vehicle structure. The battery pack 100 is provided in the vehicle to supply power.”
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the battery pack of modified Hu to the electric vehicle of Yang, as Yang teaches the battery pack is suitable for providing power to the vehicle.
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721