Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment have resolved some of the claim objections and 112(b0 rejections from the preceding Office Action. Those issues which have not been resolved are presented again below and applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, for the reasons discussed below.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that drawings are adequate, contending in part that the lines “are distinct, black, and adequately contrast with the background”. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states that, “Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.” The lines are faint and gray, and objectively, not black as required. The examiner respectfully requests submission of corrected drawing sheets.
Regarding the claim objections of claims 1 and 5, applicant contends that the “preamble as written clearly defines the intended purpose of the claimed invention” and “the phrase [in particular] provides emphasis without introducing ambiguity and is clear”. The examiner has not asserted that the claim language is unclear or indefinite, but rather grammatically awkward. While deletion has been recommended, the examiner would welcome other meaningful attempts at resolution of the grammatically awkward structure of the claim—which appear to be vestiges of foreign application idiosyncrasies or translation error.
Regarding the 112(b) rejection, applicant asserts the phrase “a bearing that is not adapted for levelling off misalignments” is understood by a PHOSITA. Applicant asserts that this is intended to convey a ‘lack of mechanisms or features’ to achieve the particular functionality (or not levelling off misalignments). Applicant appoints to portions of the specification. However, the portions of the specifications are largely self-referential and merely describe the functionality using identical terms in the specification in such a way which is unclear what specific features/mechanism (which are still unnamed in applicant’s response). As expressed in MPEP 2173.05(g), “the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (noting that the Supreme Court explained that a vice of functional claiming occurs "when the inventor is painstaking when he recites what has already been seen, and then uses conveniently functional language at the exact point of novelty")”. In this case, the recited limitation fails to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim.
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 11, applicant asserts that the phrase, “in particular” is intended to convey “the screed support structure as optional or preferred”. As expressed in MPEP 2173.05(d), “If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim.” The examiner notes that each example claim language intended to convey examples or “preferred” structure has been held to be indefinite. It is additionally noted that applicant asserts that the limitation intends be non-limiting “to only that structure”, but, then renders the claim as to what other structures are potentially embraced by the claim.
Lastly, regarding the prior art rejection, applicant first asserts that the problem addressed by the application “is reducing torsion and bending in long, flexible paver screeds” and that the technical problems addressed by the prior art combination “solve different technical problems”. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Further it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “long, flexible paver screeds”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). The claim, per its preamble, directs the invention to a “vibration drive train”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Second, applicant argues that one would not combine Reiter with Strasser as Strasser is directed to “compact, stationary concrete block machines” and doing so would require “a substantial redesign to accommodate the difference between the vibration characteristics”. First it is unclear whether applicant is attempting to argue against the analogous-ness of the two inventions, but, if so, applicant has not made that argument on the record. The examiner, however, does not the general applicable of Strasser articulated by Strasser e.g. “the production of concrete stone or concrete finished articles, in general, and in particular to such [a] machine” (Column 1, lines 10-11). Reiter is directed to the finishing of concrete surfaces (see e.g. Para 0002-0003).
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the combination would require “a substantial redesign” and asserts the motivation requires “hindsight reconstruction”, the examiner disagrees. First it is noted that, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Second, regarding applicant’s assertion of “substantial” redesign including purported issues with “housing compatibility”, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). It is additionally noted that applicant’s assertions appear to be largely speculative and conclusory. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-6 have poor line quality such that they would result in unsatisfactory reproduction characteristics. See 37 CFR 1.84(L). The line quality must be black and durable. The lines are faint and gray.
. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1’s preamble recites “for making a screed body of a screed device of a paver vibrate”. This is grammatically awkward. The examiner recommends deletion.
Claim 5 recites “in particular”. This is grammatically awkward. The examiner recommends deletion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a bearing that is not adapted for levelling off misalignments”. It is unclear what structural limitations this imposes on the claim. In other words, what would be required of a bearing without the recited adaptation.
Claim 11 recites “in particular the screed support structure.” It is unclear what limitation is intended to convey, whether it is merely preferrable or required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter (US 20220049507 A1), in view of Strasser (US 3792617 A).
Regarding claim 1 Reiter as modified teaches a vibration drive train for making a screed body of a screed device of a paver vibrate, the vibration drive train comprising:
a rotatable vibration shaft extending along a rotational axis (A) (Fig 11, shaft 268).
Reiter is silent on a first shaft end and a second shaft end, wherein the vibration shaft comprises an unbalance mass for generating a vibration arranged between the first and second shaft ends.
Strasser teaches between a first shaft end and a second shaft end (Fig 1, top and bottom end of 6), wherein the vibration shaft comprises an unbalance mass for generating a vibration arranged between the first and second shaft ends (Fig 1-2, mass 3a around shaft 6, see Title).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Reiter by having a first shaft end and a second shaft end, wherein the vibration shaft comprises an unbalance mass for generating a vibration arranged between the first and second shaft ends as disclosed by Strasser because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the shaft and weight arrangement of Reiter) for another (the shaft and weight arrangement of Reiter) to obtain predictable results (vibration generation).
Reither as modified teaches a torsionally stiff tubular bearing housing (Fig 11, housing 238), wherein the vibration shaft extends through the tubular bearing housing (Fig 11, housing 238 with modified shaft 268), and wherein the tubular bearing housing is adapted to be firmly attached to the screed body (Fig 11, capable of attachment to body 214); and
a first ball bearing unit and second ball bearing unit arranged inside the tubular bearing housing spaced apart along the rotational axis (A) (Fig 11, bearings 280 and 284), wherein the first and second bearing unit are adapted for rotatably bearing the vibration shaft towards the tubular bearing housing (Fig 11, Para 0044, shaft as modified is “rotatably supported within the exciter housing 238 by first and second bearings 280, 284.”).
Regarding claim 2 Reiter as modified teaches wherein the first ball bearing unit and/or the second ball bearing unit is a groove ball bearing and/or is a bearing that is not adapted for levelling off misalignments (Fig 11, groove ball bearings, as seen).
Regarding claim 3 Reiter as modified teaches wherein the unbalance mass and/or the tubular bearing housing is arranged between the first ball bearing unit and the second ball bearing unit (Fig 11, mass on shaft, as modified by Strasser, would be between the bearings as seen in Reiter); and/or the unbalance mass and/or the tubular bearing housing extend from the first ball bearing unit and the second ball bearing unit (note the other alternative is taught).
Regarding claim 4, Reiter as modified teaches wherein the unbalance mass is shaped as a cylindrical shaft section, which is arranged eccentrically to the axis of rotation (A) of the vibration shaft (note the other alternatives are taught), and/or
a mass welded and/or bolted to the vibration shaft (Fig 1 of Strasser, mass is bolted to the shaft via 8),
wherein the rotatable vibration shaft comprises a first cylindrical shaped bearing section and a second cylindrical shaped bearing section (Fig 11, bearings 280 and 284, Fig 1 of Strasser, shaft is cylindrically shaped within bearings on opposing ends as modified), wherein the unbalance mass is arranged between the first cylindrical shaped bearing section and the second cylindrical shaped bearing section (Fig 11, mass on shaft, as modified by Strasser, would be between the bearings as seen in Reiter).
Regarding claim 5, Reiter as modified teaches wherein the vibration shaft, in particular the first shaft end of the vibration shaft, is provided with a clutch to couple a motor with the vibration shaft (Fig 11, clutch 272/273), wherein the clutch is adapted for coupling a motor with the vibration shaft in a form-fit, force-fit and/or material-fit manner (Fig 11, coupled to motor 218, form-fit seen).
Regarding claim 6, Reiter as modified teaches comprising a fastening device configured for fastening the tubular bearing housing to a screed support structure of the screed body (Fig 11-12, fasters extending through 238, seen on left and right of 268).
Regarding claim 7 Reiter as modified teaches wherein a fastening device is arranged on an outside of the tubular bearing housing (Fig 12, fasteners as defined in claim 6 are exposed on the top of the housing, as seen via 306).
Regarding claim 8 Reiter as modified teaches wherein a fastening device is adapted to firmly attach the vibration drive train to the screed device in a translational direction and/or rotational direction (Fig 12, fasteners as defined in claim 6 are usable to secure to screen device below housing 238 translationally).
Regarding claim 9, Reiter as modified teaches wherein a fastening device comprises a first fastening unit arranged in an area of the first bearing unit (Fig 12, left side fastener, the head in the area of the first bearing unit 280) and/or a second fastening unit arranged in an area of the second bearing unit (Fig 12, right side fastener, the tip is in the area of the second bearing unit 284).
Regarding claim 10, Reiter as modified teaches comprising a motor that is connected to the first shaft end of the vibration shaft via the clutch (Fig 11, clutch 272/273 coupled to motor 218, form-fit seen).
Regarding claim 11, Reiter as modified teaches comprising a torque support that is configured to support the torque provided by a motor towards the screed body, in particular the screed support structure (Fig 11, bolt extending through 246 would resist any torque conveyed by motor).
Regarding claim 12, Reiter as modified teaches wherein the torque support is adapted to provide translational displacement along the rotational axis (A) and/or orthogonal to the rotational axis (A) (Fig 11, translate-able orthangonal to axis A, by insertion or removal).
Regarding claim 13 Reiter as modified teaches a screed body comprising at least one vibration drive train according to claim 1 (Fig 11, device of 11 seen, see also parent claim 1).
Regarding claim 14 Reiter as modified teaches a screed device comprising at least one screed body according to preceding claim 13 (Fig 11, device of 11 seen, see also parent claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Reiter as modified teaches paver comprising at least one screed device according to the preceding claim 14 (Fig 11, device of 11 seen, see also parent claim 1; device is usable as a paver).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676