DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walter Emll Saunders (GB – 2451880 A).
As per claim 1, Sunders discloses Brake Disc Assembly comprising:
a hub (10, Fig: 1-2) having an axle axis (Fig: 1-2) and a plurality of spokes (20, Fig: 1-2), each spoke having therein a groove (18, Fig: 1-2);
a disc (11, Fig: 1-2) having a center aperture (Fig: 1-2) where the hub (10) is positioned (Fig: 1-2), the disc having a plurality of tabs (22, Fig: 1-2) around a periphery of the center aperture (Fig: 1-2), each tab having therein a groove and each tab aligned with one spoke such that the groove on each tab is aligned with a groove on each spoke (Fig: 1); and
a retainer (12, Fig: 1-2) positioned in each aligned groove on the hub and each groove on the disc to secure the disc to the hub and to enable the disc to move radially relative to the axle axis (Disc Brake Assembly, [0017], Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 2, Sunders discloses wherein the retainer includes a wire (The locking ring 12 is formed of spring steel, so that it’s a wire, Fig: 2)..
As per claim 3, Sunders discloses wherein the retainer is a single wire (12, Fig: 2).
As per claim 4, Sunders discloses wherein the plurality of spokes (20) is at least three spokes (Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 5, Sunders discloses wherein each spoke includes a pair of arms (17, Fig: 1-2) and wherein each arm includes the groove of the hub (18, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 7, Sunders discloses wherein each spoke (20, Fig: 1-2) includes a pair of arms (17, Fig: 1-2) defining a pocket therebetween (18, Fig: 1-2) and wherein one tab is positioned in each pocket (Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, Sunders discloses Brake Disc Assembly comprising:
a disc (11, Fig: 1-2) having a center aperture (Fig: 1-2) and having a first surface plane and a second surface plane (21 on both side, Fig: 1-2);
a hub (10, Fig: 1-2) positioned in the center aperture (Fig: 1-2) and having an axle axis (Fig: 1-2) and retaining portions (20, Fig: 1-2) that engage with the disc; and
a retainer (12, Fig: 1-2) securing the disc to the retaining portions of the hub to enable the disc to move radially relative to the axle axis such that the retainer and retaining portions are positioned between the first surface plane and the second surface plane (Brake Disc Assembly, [0016], Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 14, Sunders discloses wherein the retainer (12) includes a wire (12, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 19, Sunders discloses wherein the hub (10, Fig: 1-2) includes a plurality of pockets (18, Fig: 1-2), wherein the disc (11, Fig: 1-2) includes a plurality of tabs (22, Fig: 1-2), wherein one tab is positioned in each pocket (Fig: 1-2), and wherein the raceway runs through each tabs and each pocket (Attached figure and Fig: 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-12, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter Emll Saunders (GB – 2451880 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Izumine (US – 4,821,848).
As per claim 6, Sunders discloses all the structural elements of the claim invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each tab includes a pair of projections and the groove in each tab is positioned between the projections.
Izumine discloses Brake Disk comprising:
each tab (6, Fig: 3a, 3b) includes a pair of projections (7, Fig: 3b) and the groove (9, Fig: 3b) in each tab is positioned between the projections (Fig: 3a, 3b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Brake Disc Assembly of the Sunders to make the wherein each tab includes a pair of projections and the groove in each tab is positioned between the projections as taught by Izumine in order to prevent a backlash or improper engagement at the joint of the braking section with the hub section is effectively checked by the dish-shaped springs so that no noise may be generated.
As per claim 8, Sunders discloses Brake Disc Assembly comprising:
a disc (11, Fig: 1-2) having a center aperture (Fig: 1-2);
a hub (10, Fig: 1-2) positioned in the center aperture and having an axle axis (Fig: 1-2);
a plurality of tabs on one of the disc (22, Fig: 1-2) and the hub (17, Fig: 1-2) and a plurality of pockets on the other of the disc and the hub, wherein one tab is positioned in each pocket (18, Fig: 1-2); and
at least one retainer (12, Fig: 1-2) running along the raceway to secure the disc (11) to the hub (10) and to enable the disc to move radially relative to the axle axis (Fig: 1-2),
a raceway defined by a path through each of the plurality of pockets (Attached figure and Fig: 1-2).
Sunders discloses all the structural elements of the claim invention but fails to explicitly disclose a raceway defined by a path through each of the plurality of tabs.
Izumine discloses Brake Disk comprising:
a raceway (9, Fig: 3b) defined by a path through each of the plurality of tabs(5, Fig: 3a, 3b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Brake Disc Assembly of the Sunders to make the a raceway defined by a path through each of the plurality of tabs as taught by Izumine in order to prevent a backlash or improper engagement at the joint of the braking section with the hub section is effectively checked by the dish-shaped springs so that no noise may be generated.
As per claim 9, Sunders discloses wherein the at least one retainer is a single wire (12, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 10, Sunders discloses wherein the at least one retainer includes a wire (12, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 11, Sunders discloses wherein the disc (11) includes the plurality of tabs (22) and the hub (10) includes the plurality of pockets (18, 20, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 12, Sunders discloses wherein the pocket (18) is positioned between two arms (17, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 15, Sunders discloses wherein the hub (10) has a plurality of grooves (Attached figure and Fig: 1-2) and wherein the retainer (12) is positioned in a raceway defined by a path of the plurality of grooves (Attached figure and Fig: 1-2).
Sunders discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the disc has a plurality of grooves.
Izumine discloses Brake Disk comprising:
the disc (2, Fig: 3a, 3b) has a plurality of grooves (9, 11, Fig: 3a, 3b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Brake Disc Assembly of the Sunders to make the disc has a plurality of grooves as taught by Izumine in order to prevent a backlash or improper engagement at the joint of the braking section with the hub section is effectively checked by the dish-shaped springs so that no noise may be generated.
As per claim 16, Izumine further disclose wherein the grooves of the disc are aligned with the grooves on the hub (Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 17, Sunders discloses wherein the retaining portions include spokes (20, Fig: 1-2) that include the grooves (18, Fig: 1-2) on the hub (10, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 18, Izumine further disclose wherein the disc has a plurality of tabs (6, Fig: 3a, 3b) including the grooves (9,11, Fig: 3a, 3b).
As per claim 20, Izumine further disclose wherein the retaining portions (7, 9, Fig: 3a, 3b) are positioned to be centered between the first surface plane and the second surface plane (Fig: 3a, 3b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: RANKIN et al. (US – 2018/0180123 A1),
B: Burgoon et al. (US – 2017/0002878 A1),
C: Metzen Hans-Peter (DE – 19648582 A1), and
D: Bauer Juergen (DE – 10358088 A1).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616