DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Pending claims for consideration are claims 1-10, 12-18, and 20-21. Applicant has amended claim 1 and 9. Claims 11 and 19 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn.
The rejection of Claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn.
4. Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance:
That- There is no disclosure anywhere in Tedesco that equates the dongle
mentioned in Col. 32 with the "mobile terminal" 10 of Figure 4. Nor is there any disclosure that the mobile terminal is a system comprising a wireless dongle and a wireless earpiece with a user interface comprising at least one microphone and at least one speaker. The specification provides no support for treating the mobile terminal 10 as either a wireless dongle, or as a wireless earpiece, or as some combination of both
In response to applicants’ argument- The claims were examined in their broadest most reasonable interpretation in light of the applicant’s specification. Further, it is the combination of Tedesco, Nassami, Koss, and Seshhadri that teaches the claimed language, neither Tedesco, Nassami, Koss, and Seshhadri alone. Within the art The term “dongle” refers to any small adapter device that plugs in and connects to a computer, providing additional functionality. Tedesco in Col.32/lines 7-15 discloses the common forms of computer readable media included in its specification, for example, a floppy disk, a flexible disk, hard disk, magnetic tape, any other magnetic medium, a 10 15 25 30 35 40 45 50 55 60 65 CD-ROM, DVD, any other optical medium, punch cards, paper tape, any other
physical medium with patterns of holes, a RAM, a PROM, an EPROM, a FLASH-EEPROM, a USB memory stick, a dongle, any other memory chip or cartridge, a carrier wave, or any other medium from which a computer can read. Fig 4 discloses small adaptor devices that plug in and connects to a computer.
b. That- Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Nassami with the Koss or Seshadri's authentication process is improper.
In response to applicants’ argument- the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets, Nassami’s adaptive wireless headset system, Koss’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process, and Seshadri’s earphone comprising an alert and authentication process with biometrics are all from the same field of endeavor and in combination disclose the prior art of record as illustrated in the 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-10, 12-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent No.: US 8,630,633 B1 to Tedesco et al(hereafter referenced as Tedesco), in view of Pub.No.: US 2007/0087780 A1 to Nassami, in further view of Pub.No.: US 2017/0318378 A1 to Koss et al(hereafter referenced as Koss), in further view of Pub.No.: US 2006/0166716 A1 to Seshadri et al(hereafter referenced as Seshadri), in further view of Patent No.: US 9,961,489 B2 to Elias.
Regarding claim 1, Tedesco disclose “a system comprising: a wireless dongle (Common forms of computer readable media include, for example, a floppy disk, a flexible disk, hard disk, magnetic tape, any other magnetic medium, a 10 15 25 30 35 40 45 50 55 60 65 CD-ROM, DVD, any other optical medium, punch cards, paper tape, any other physical medium with patterns of holes, a RAM, a PROM, an EPROM, a FLASH-EEPROM, a USB memory stick, a dongle, any other memory chip or cartridge, a carrier wave, or any other medium from which a computer can read [Col.32/lines 7-15]); “a user interface (mobile user interface also serving as wireless dongle[Fig.4/item 10]) comprising at least one microphone and at least one speaker” (mobile user interface [Fig.4/item 10]).
Tedesco does not explicitly disclose “a wireless earpiece, the wireless earpiece comprising: a processor for executing a set of instructions; and a memory for storing the set of instructions wherein the set of instructions are executed hands free to associate the wireless earpiece with the wireless dongle and communicate content wirelessly between the wireless earpiece and the wireless dongle to authenticate hands free, and the wireless dongle comprising a self-contained housing of the wireless dongle, the self-contained housing having a first end and a second end, a memory disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the logic engine configured to authorize hands free communication with the wireless earpiece, signal generators wherein the wireless dongle can signal its location”
However, Nassimi discloses “a wireless earpiece (wireless earpiece Nassami[Fig.1/item 30]), the wireless earpiece comprising: a processor for executing a set of instructions; and a memory for storing the set of instructions”(i.e. computer processor built into wireless earpiece Nassimi[Fig.1/item 30]) “wherein the set of instructions are executed hands free to associate the wireless earpiece with the wireless dongle (wireless dongle Nassimi [Fig.1/item20]) and communicate content wirelessly between the wireless earpiece and the wireless dongle to authenticate hands free” (Communication between wireless earpiece and dongle Nassimi [Fig.1] also see Handshaking includes an authentication procedure for ensuring secure communications between dongle 20 and headset 30. For example, the present invention may employ a unidirectional authentication flow or a bidirectional authentication flow Nassami [par.0031]), “and the wireless dongle comprising a self-contained housing of the wireless dongle” (wireless dongle Nassimi [Fig.1/item20]), the self-contained housing having a first end and a second end (self-contained housing Nassimi [Fig.1/item 20]) , “a memory disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the logic engine configured to authorize hands free wireless communication with the wireless earpiece” (the present invention may employ a unidirectional authentication flow or a bidirectional authentication flow Nassimi[par.0031] also see Nassami earpiece device Nassami [Fig.1]for handsfree operation),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets with Nassim’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassim’s teaches an earphone authentication system interconnected to a dongle over a network, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Neither Tedesco nor Nassami explicitly disclose “a wireless transceiver disposed within the self-contained housing and configured for wireless Bluetooth communications over a first interface and wireless communications over a second interface, a logic engine disposed within the self- contained housing and operatively connected to the wireless transceiver, and a USB interface of the second end for physically connecting the wireless dongle to a port of a computing system.”
However, Koss in an analogous art discloses “a wireless transceiver disposed within the self-contained housing and configured for wireless Bluetooth communications over a first interface (wireless earphone Koss[Fig.3]) and _ wireless communications over a second interface, a logic engine disposed within the self- contained housing and operatively connected to the wireless transceiver”(wireless communication over network extended to data source Koss[Fig.2c]), “a memory disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the logic engine configured to authorize communication with the wireless earpiece, and a USB interface of the second end for physically connecting the wireless dongle to a port of a computing system.”(USB interface 130 within self-contained housing 10 interconnected to microprocessor 116 Koss[Fig.3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets, and Nassami’s adaptive wireless headset system with Koss’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassami teaches a wireless headset system comprising a wireless dongle, Koss teaches an earphone authentication system interconnected to a dongle over a network, and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Neither Tedesco, Nassami, nor Koss explicitly disclose “and to communicate an alert indicating whether the user of the earpiece is authorized to communicate with the wireless dongle, based on the biometric data from the one or more biometric sensors of the wireless earpiece and, one or more biometric sensors configured to generate biometric data of a user”
However, Seshadri in an analogous art discloses “and to communicate an alert indicating whether the user of the earpiece is authorized to communicate with the wireless dongle”(an alert may be provided to users via the user interface. The alert may take the form of visual, audible, or tactile stimuli that signals the user to the presence of the additional communication stream. This alert may prompt the user to select how the multiple audio streams are to be serviced. The user may make their selection through the user interface Seshadri [par.0068] also see These communication pathways may be secured by encryption, validation, pairing, or other like means to secure the communications exchanged with the base unit. Validation or pairing may prevent unauthorized devices from communicatively coupling to the base unit. Seshadri [par.0036]), based on the biometric data from the one or more biometric sensors of the wireless earpiece and , one or more biometric sensors configured to generate biometric data of a user; a user interface comprising at least one microphone and at least one speaker;” (a local data base that may compare biometric, password user interface, VRS Voice pattern recognition , encryption key/Donegal, in order to allow modular wireless headset 10 to access resources available through base unit 16. Seshadri[par.0030])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets, Nassami’s adaptive wireless headset system and Koss’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process with Seshadri’s earpiece which comprises an alert and biometric authentication in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassami teaches a wireless headset system comprising a wireless dongle, Koss teaches an earphone authentication system interconnected to a dongle over a network, Seshadri discloses an earphone comprising an alert and authentication process with biometrics, and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Neither Tedesco, Nassami, Koss, nor Seshadri explicitly disclose “signal generators wherein the wireless dongle can signal its location”
However, Elias in an analogous art disclose “signal generators wherein the wireless dongle can signal its location” (The tracking device 100 of certain embodiments can further utilize the wireless LAN 122 (e.g., the Bluetooth network) for over-the-air updates, wireless dongle communications for personal authentication, or communication with one or more external devices Elias[Col.9/lines 54-58] also see FIGS. 3A and 3B schematically illustrate two example configurations of the first location tracking circuit 110 and the second location tracking circuit 120 Elias[Col.10/lines 1-4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets, Nassami’s adaptive wireless headset system and Koss’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process and Seshadri’s earpiece which comprises an alert and biometric authentication with Elias’s Method for tracking individuals in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassami teaches a wireless headset system comprising a wireless dongle, Koss teaches an earphone authentication system interconnected to a dongle over a network, Seshadri discloses an earphone comprising an alert and authentication process with biometrics, Elias discloses a dongle system which utilizes first location and second location circuit for tracking, and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “ wherein the content includes data and audio content” (Clip-on microphone 58e may be used to receive audio data and re-transmit it to the mobile terminal 10 Tedesco [Col.6/lines 6-7]), head phones may take the form of earbuds, and along with ergo nomic plastic 64, may be positioned in a manner that is secure, comfortable, and effective for listening to Sounds produce by the mobile terminal 10 Tedesco [Col.6/lines 26-30]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the set of instructions are further executed to: authenticate a user utilizing the wireless earpiece is authorized to communicate with the wireless dongle”( the earphone 10 may connect automatically to the host server 40 via an available infrastructure wireless network 30 ( see FIG.2D ) , e.g. , the infrastructure wireless network 30 having the highest RSSI and to which the earphone 10 authenticated to use Koss [par.0045]).
Regarding claim 4 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless earpiece is associated with the wireless dongle utilizing a secure identifier”(FIG. 28. As shown, each record of the user profile database may be given a unique identifier Tedesco[Col.25/ lines 53-55]).
Regarding claim 5 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless earpiece is one of a pair of wireless earpieces worn in ears of a user.” (Koss [FIGS . 4A - 4B] illustrates the wireless earphone connected to another device according to various embodiments of the present invention).
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless earpiece further comprises at least one sensor (Koss [FIGS . 4A - 4B] illustrates the wireless earphone connected to another device according to various embodiments of the present invention).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless dongle further comprises a battery”(the electronic system 200 can also include a battery 212 [par.0022]).
Regarding claim 8 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “further comprising a smart case for the wireless earpiece and wherein the wireless dongle is configured for connection to the smart case using the USB interface”(wireless case Koss[Fig.4a/item 200]).
Regarding claim 9, Tedesco discloses a system comprising: a wireless dongle(a dongle, any other memory chip or cartridge, a carrier wave, or any other medium from which a computer can read [Col.32/lines 13-15] with cell phone service as the wireless dongle [Fig.1])), comprising at least one microphone and at least one speaker” (mobile user interface [Fig.4/item 10]).
Tedesco does not explicitly disclose “ a wireless earpiece comprising: a processor for executing a set of instructions; and a memory for storing the set of instructions, wherein the set of instructions are executed to associate the wireless earpiece with the wireless dongle and communicate content wirelessly between the wireless earpiece and the wireless dongle, a user interface : the wireless dongle comprising: a self-contained housing of the wireless dongle, the self-contained housing having a first end and a second end, a second wireless transceiver disposed within the self-contained housing and configured for wireless radio frequency communications over a second interface; a memory disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the logic engine, a user interface, wherein the wireless dongle configured to receive user input directly from the user”
However, Nassimi discloses “a separate wireless earpiece (wireless earpiece Nassami[Fig.1/item 30]) comprising: a processor for executing a set of instructions; and a memory for storing the set of instructions(i.e. computer processor built into wireless earpiece Nassimi[Fig.1/item 30]), wherein the set of instructions are executed to associate the wireless earpiece with the wireless dongle(wireless dongle Nassimi [Fig.1/item20]) and communicate content between the wireless earpiece and the wireless dongle” (Communication between wireless earpiece and dongle Nassimi [Fig.1]), a user interface : the separate wireless dongle(wireless dongle Nassimi [Fig.1/item20]) comprising: a self-contained housing of the wireless dongle (self-contained housing Nassimi [Fig.1/item 20]), “the self-contained housing having a first end (input into phone Nassimi [Fig.1/item 26) and a second end (i.e. wireless transceiver/receiver of dongle Nassimi[Fig.1]), “a second wireless transceiver disposed within the self-contained housing and configured for wireless radio frequency communications over a second interface” (i.e. wireless transceiver/receiver of earpiece Nassimi [Fig.1]) ; “a memory disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the logic engine.” (the present invention may employ a unidirectional authentication flow or a bidirectional authentication flow Nassimi[par.0031]), a user interface, wherein the wireless dongle configured to receive user input directly from the user”(user wears a wireless headset configured to provide short range wireless communications between the wireless telephone and the headset by way of a “base-station” device Nassimi [par.0007])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets with Nassim’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassim’s teaches an earphone authentication system interconnected to a dongle over a network, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Neither Tedesco nor Nassimi discloses “and to authenticate handsfree based on a user’s biometric readings whether the user of the wireless earpiece is authorized to communicate with the wireless dongle, a logic engine configured to authorize hands free, wireless communication with the wireless earpiece based on if the biometric reading of the user provided for authentication is the biometric reading of an authorized user”
However, Seshadri in an analogous art discloses “and to authenticate handsfree based on a user’s biometric readings whether the user of the wireless earpiece is authorized to communicate with the wireless dongle.”(a local authentication via a local data base that may compare biometric, password user interface, VRS Voice pattern recognition, encryption key/Dongal, in order to allow modular wireless headset 10 to access resources Seshadri [par.0030]), a logic engine configured to authorize hands free, wireless communication with the wireless earpiece based on if the biometric reading of the user provided for authentication is the biometric reading of an authorized user(a local authentication via a local data base that may compare biometric, password user interface, VRS Voice pattern recognition, encryption key/Donegal, in order to allow modular wireless headset 10 to access resources Seshadri [par.0030]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets, Nassami’s adaptive wireless headset system with Seshadri’s earpiece which comprises an alert and biometric authentication in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassami teaches a wireless headset system comprising a wireless dongle, Seshadri discloses an earphone comprising an alert and authentication process with biometrics, and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Neither, Tedosco , Nassami, nor Seshadri explicitly discloses “a first wireless transceiver disposed within the self-contained housing and configured for wireless Bluetooth communications over a first interface; the logic engine disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the wireless transceiver; and a physical interface of the second end for physically connecting the wireless dongle to a port of a computing system.”
However, Koss in an analogous art discloses “a first wireless transceiver disposed within the self-contained housing and configured for wireless Bluetooth communications over a first interface” (data source 20 may communicate with the earphone 10 via the ad hoc wireless network 24 using any suitable wireless communication protocol , including Wi-Fi ( e.g., IEEE 802 . 11a/b/g/n ) , WiMAX ( IEEE 802.16 ) , Bluetooth Koss[par.0024]), the logic engine disposed within the self-contained housing and operatively connected to the wireless transceiver; and a physical interface of the second end for physically connecting the wireless dongle to a port of a computing system.”(wireless network adapter 22 may comprise a wireless network interface or other suitable transceiver that plugs into a USB port or other port or jack of the data source 20 to stream data, e.g., digital audio files , via a wireless network Koss[par.0023])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tedesco’s monitoring system for headphones, earbuds/headsets, Nassami’s adaptive wireless headset system, Seshadri’s earpiece which comprises an alert and biometric authentication with Koss’s wireless earphone system comprising a dongle and authentication process in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Tedesco discloses an earpiece which can be interconnected to a mobile device, Nassami teaches a wireless headset system comprising a wireless dongle, Seshadri discloses an earphone comprising an alert and authentication process with biometrics, Koss teaches an earphone authentication system interconnected to a dongle over a network, and all are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the content includes data and audio content” (Clip-on microphone 58e may be used to receive audio data and re-transmit it to the mobile terminal 10 Tedesco [Col.6/lines 6-7]), head phones may take the form of earbuds, and along with ergo nomic plastic 64, may be positioned in a manner that is secure, comfortable, and effective for listening to Sounds produce by the mobile terminal 10 Tedesco [Col.6/lines 26-30]).
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless earpiece is associated with the wireless dongle utilizing a secure identifier”(FIG. 28. As shown, each record of the user profile database may be given a unique identifier Tedesco[Col.25/ lines 53-55]).
Regarding claim 13 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless earpiece is one of a pair of wireless earpieces worn in ears of a user” (Koss [FIGS . 4A - 4B] illustrates the wireless earphone connected to another device according to various embodiments of the present invention).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless earpiece further comprises at least one sensor” (Koss [FIGS . 4A - 4B] illustrates the wireless earphone connected to another device according to various embodiments of the present invention).
Regarding claim 15 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the wireless dongle further comprises a battery” (the electronic system 200 can also include a battery 212 [par.0022]).
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “further comprising a smart case for the wireless earpiece” (wireless case Koss[Fig.4a/item 200]).
Regarding claim 17 in view of claim 16, the references combined disclose “wherein the physical interface is a USB interface” (USB interface 130 within self-contained housing 10 interconnected to microprocessor 116 Koss[Fig.3]).
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the USB interface is interchangeably connectable between the port of the computer and the smart case” (wireless case Koss[Fig.4a/item 200]).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 19,the references combined disclose “wherein the set of instructions are executed to associate the wireless earpiece with the wireless dongle and communicate content between the wireless earpiece and the wireless dongle; and to communicate an alert indicating whether the user of the earpiece is authorized to communicate with the wireless dongle” (an alert may be provided to users via the user interface. The alert may take the form of visual, audible, or tactile stimuli that signals the user to the presence of the additional communication stream. This alert may prompt the user to select how the multiple audio streams are to be serviced. The user may make their selection through the user interface Seshadri [par.0068] also see These communication pathways may be secured by encryption, validation, pairing, or other like means to secure the communications exchanged with the base unit. Validation or pairing may prevent unauthorized devices from communicatively coupling to the base unit. Seshadri [par.0036]).
Regarding Claim 21 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “wherein the logic engine configured to authorize communication based on biometric user authentication and configured to automatically implement authorization and communication links in response to communication of select wireless earpiece conditions” (The registration information to be exchanged and compared may include Voice patterns, bio metric information, user tactile inputs in response to stimuli, password, Voice recognized input, audio or video tests Seshadri [par.0049] also see Seshadri [par.0030]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433