CTNF 18/478,175 CTNF 96654 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 5, 7-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen US20170288192A1 (corresponding to EP3226325A1 cited in IDS filed 23 October 2025) . Regarding claim 1 , Chen discloses a separator ( Cen, Fig. 1, separator 10 ), comprising: a substrate ( Chen, Fig. 2, substrate 12 ) and a first coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the substrate ( Chen, Fig. 2, coating 16 ), wherein the first coating layer comprises a first polymer ( Chen, [0009], organic polymer particles ) and based on a total mass of the first coating layer, a mass percent x of the first polymer is 60 wt% to 90 wt% ( Chen, [0011], 5~95 wt% ), the claimed range if found to be obvious for overlapping the prior art range at least at 60 to 90 wt%, see MPEP § 2144.05, and while Chen does not teach wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C, Chen does teach a first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, following Instant Table 1, used in a similar environment for a similar purpose would be understood by the skilled artisan to possess the claimed softening point properties, satisfying the limitation wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C. See MPEP §2112. Regarding claim 2 , Chen also teaches wherein a thickness of the first coating layer is 3 μm to 40 μm ( Chen, [0040], 30 µm ). Regarding claim 5 , Chen further teaches wherein the density of the first coating layer controls the ionic conductivity (resistivity) of the separator ( Chen, [0045] ), and when the first coating layer is too dense ( e.g. , dependent on x, the first polymer wt%) the ionic conductivity (resistivity) of the separator will decrease (increase) ( Chen, [0045] ), satisfying the limitation wherein Z = x·b, wherein Z Ω is an ionic resistance of the separator, b represents a first ionic resistance coefficient. While Chen does not explicitly teach wherein 1 ≤ b ≤ 1.2, Chen teaches wherein the first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, following Instant Table 1, used in a similar environment for a similar purpose would be understood by the skilled artisan to possess the claimed first ionic resistance coefficient, satisfying the limitation wherein 1 ≤ b ≤ 1.2. See MPEP §2112. Regarding claim 7 , Chen teaches based on a total mass of the first coating layer, a mass percent x of the first polymer is 60 wt% to 90 wt% ( Chen, [0011], 5~95 wt% ) (see claim 1 above), and with respect to the limitation wherein F = x·a, wherein F N/m is a bonding force between the first coating layer and a positive electrode plate, a represents an adhesion coefficient, and 5.0 ≤ a ≤ 30, it is that examiner’s position that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the recited first coating layer. Chen teaches a first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, as disclosed by applicant in Instant Table 1, are used in a similar environment for a similar purpose. Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities, it appears reasonable that the prior art taught by Chen would inherently posses physical properties, e.g., a bonding for F = x·a between the first coating layer and a positive electrode plate, a represents an adhesion coefficient, and 5.0 ≤ a ≤ 30, such that the first coating layer as taught by Chen would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations. See MPEP §2112. Regarding claim 8 , Chen additionally teaches wherein the first polymer comprises at least one of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ). Regarding claim 9 , Chen further teaches wherein the first polymer is a secondary particle, and a particle diameter Dv 50 of the secondary particle is 10 μm to 30 μm ( Chen, [0010], 1~150µm ), the claimed range if found to be obvious for overlapping the prior art range at least at 10 to 30 µm, see MPEP § 2144.05. Regarding claim 10 , Chen also teaches wherein a first surface of the substrate is coated with the first coating layer ( Chen, Fig. 2, substrate 12, coating 16 ), and a second surface of the substrate is coated with a second coating layer, ( Chen, Fig. 2, substrate 12, coating 14 ) and a thickness of the second coating layer is 0.2 μm to 4 μm ( Chen, [0036], 4µm ). Regarding claim 11 , Chen additionally teaches wherein the second coating layer comprises a second polymer ( Chen, [0016], binder, Fig. 2, layer 14 ), and based on a total mass of the second coating layer, a mass percent of the second polymer is 78 wt% to 87.5 wt% ( Chen, [0016], 5~95 wt% ), the claimed range if found to be obvious for overlapping the prior art range at least at 78 to 87.5 wt%, see MPEP § 2144.05. Regarding claim 12 , Chen further teaches wherein the second coating layer comprises a second polymer ( Chen, [0016], binder, Fig. 2, layer 14 ), the second polymer comprises a high-molecular-weight polymer of a non-core-shell structure, and the high-molecular-weight polymer of a non-core-shell structure is at least one selected from acrylate, acrylonitrile, or propylene ( Chen, [0012] ). Regarding claim 13 , Chen discloses an electrochemical device ( Chen, [0017] ), comprising a positive electrode plate ( Chen, [0017] ), a negative electrode plate ( Chen, [0017] ), a separator ( Chen, [0017] ), and an electrolyte solution ( Chen, [0041] ), wherein the separator is located between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate ( Chen, [0017] ), and the separator comprises a substrate ( Chen, Fig. 2, substrate 12 ) and a first coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the substrate ( Chen, Fig. 2, coating 16 ), wherein the first coating layer comprises a first polymer ( Chen, [0009], organic polymer particles ) and based on a total mass of the first coating layer, a mass percent x of the first polymer is 60 wt% to 90 wt% ( Chen, [0011], 5~95 wt% ), the claimed range if found to be obvious for overlapping the prior art range at least at 60 to 90 wt%, see MPEP § 2144.05, and while Chen does not teach wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C, Chen does teach a first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, following Instant Table 1, used in a similar environment for a similar purpose would be understood by the skilled artisan to possess the claimed softening point properties, satisfying the limitation wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C. See MPEP §2112. Regarding claim 14 , Chen also teaches wherein a thickness of the first coating layer is 3 μm to 40 μm ( Chen, [0040], 30 µm ). Regarding claim 18 , Chen further teaches wherein the first polymer is a secondary particle, and a particle diameter Dv 50 of the secondary particle is 10 μm to 30 μm ( Chen, [0010], 1~150µm ), the claimed range if found to be obvious for overlapping the prior art range at least at 10 to 30 µm, see MPEP § 2144.05. Regarding claim 19 , Chen additionally teaches wherein a first surface of the substrate is coated with the first coating layer ( Chen, Fig. 2, substrate 12, coating 16 ), and a second surface of the substrate is coated with a second coating layer, ( Chen, Fig. 2, substrate 12, coating 14 ) and a thickness of the second coating layer is 0.2 μm to 4 μm ( Chen, [0036], 4µm ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen US20170288192A1 (corresponding to EP3226325A1 cited in IDS filed 23 October 2025) in view of Adams US20160301052A1 . Regarding claim 3 , Chen does not teach wherein, in any region of 250 μm × 200 μm on a surface of the first coating layer, a number of particles of the first polymer with a maximum length of 10 μm to 30 μm is 10 to 30. Adams teaches wherein for thin separators, controlling the length of polymer chains can be used to control the high temperature mechanical strength of the separator and thereby more electrode material can be designed into a battery cell, improving energy density ( Adams, [0052] ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the length of the first polymer, which is an art known result effective variable as taught by Adams, of Chen wherein in any region of 250 μm × 200 μm on a surface of the first coating layer, a number of particles of the first polymer with a maximum length of 10 μm to 30 μm is 10 to 30, thereby improving the high temperature mechanical strength of the separator and thereby more electrode material can be designed into a battery cell, improving energy density ( Adams, [0052] ). Regarding claim 15 , Chen does not teach wherein, in any region of 250 μm × 200 μm on a surface of the first coating layer, a number of particles of the first polymer with a maximum length of 10 μm to 30 μm is 10 to 30. Adams teaches wherein for thin separators, controlling the length of polymer chains can be used to control the high temperature mechanical strength of the separator and thereby more electrode material can be designed into a battery cell, improving energy density ( Adams, [0052] ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the length of the first polymer, which is an art known result effective variable as taught by Adams, of Chen wherein in any region of 250 μm × 200 μm on a surface of the first coating layer, a number of particles of the first polymer with a maximum length of 10 μm to 30 μm is 10 to 30, thereby improving the high temperature mechanical strength of the separator and thereby more electrode material can be designed into a battery cell, improving energy density ( Adams, [0052] ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen US20170288192A1 (corresponding to EP3226325A1 cited in IDS filed 23 October 2025) as evidenced by Hansen US20180143157A1 . Regarding claim 4 , Chen does not teach wherein an ionic resistance Z of the separator is 0.5 Ω to 1.2 Ω. Chen teaches a substantially similar separator to that of the claimed invention and further teaches wherein a thickness of the first coating layer is 3 μm to 40 μm ( Chen, [0040], 30 µm ) and the first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, following Instant Table 1, used in a similar environment for a similar purpose. Hansen evidences wherein the width of the separator controls the ionic resistance ( Hansen, [0132] ) which can be selectively modified by the skilled artisan ( Hansen, [0127] ) allowing for simplifications in assembly and improvements in reliability ( Hansen, [0126] ). Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities and as evidenced by Hansen, it appears reasonable that the prior art taught by Chen would inherently possess physical properties, e.g., wherein an ionic resistance Z of the separator is 0.5 Ω to 1.2 Ω, such that the separator as taught by Chen would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations. See MPEP §2112. Regarding claim 17 , Chen does not teach wherein an ionic resistance Z of the separator is 0.5 Ω to 1.2 Ω. Chen teaches a substantially similar separator to that of the claimed invention and further teaches wherein a thickness of the first coating layer is 3 μm to 40 μm ( Chen, [0040], 30 µm ) and the first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, following Instant Table 1, used in a similar environment for a similar purpose. Hansen evidences wherein the width of the separator controls the ionic resistance ( Hansen, [0132] ) which can be selectively modified by the skilled artisan ( Hansen, [0127] ) allowing for simplifications in assembly and improvements in reliability ( Hansen, [0126] ). Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities and as evidenced by Hansen, it appears reasonable that the prior art taught by Chen would inherently possess physical properties, e.g., wherein an ionic resistance Z of the separator is 0.5 Ω to 1.2 Ω, such that the separator as taught by Chen would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations. See MPEP §2112 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen US20170288192A1 (corresponding to EP3226325A1 cited in IDS filed 23 October 2025) in view of Sasaki US20160268565A1 . Regarding claim 6 , Chen does not teach wherein a bonding force F between the first coating layer and a positive electrode plate is 3 N/m to 35 N/m. Sasaki teaches wherein a bonding force F between the first coating layer and a positive electrode plate ( Sasaki, [0023] ) is 3 N/m to 35 N/m ( Sasaki, Table 1, Adhesiveness, 4.7 to 6.5 N/m ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bonding force of Chem with the teaching of Sasaki thereby giving preferable low temperature output property ( Sasaki, [0024] ) and preferable high temperature cycle property ( Sasaki, [0025] ). Regarding claim 16 , Chen does not teach wherein a bonding force F N/m between the first coating layer and a positive electrode plate is 3 N/m to 35 N/m. Sasaki teaches wherein a bonding force F N/m between the first coating layer and a positive electrode plate ( Sasaki, [0023] ) is 3 N/m to 35 N/m ( Sasaki, Table 1, Adhesiveness, 4.7 to 6.5 N/m ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bonding force of Chem with the teaching of Sasaki thereby giving preferable low temperature output property ( Sasaki, [0024] ) and preferable high temperature cycle property ( Sasaki, [0025] ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams US20160301052A1 in view of Chen US20170288192A1 (corresponding to EP3226325A1 cited in IDS filed 23 October 2025) . Regarding claim 20 , Adams teaches an electronic device ( Adams, [0014], claim 22 ), comprising an electrochemical device ( Adams, [0014] ), the electrochemical device comprises a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, a separator ( Adams, [0015], cathode/separator/anode ), and an electrolyte solution ( Adams, [0021] ), wherein the separator is located between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate ( Adams, [0015], cathode/separator/anode ), and the separator comprises a substrate and a first coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the substrate ( Adams, [0097], a polypropylene-based multi-layer membrane ), wherein the first coating layer comprises a first polymer ( Adams, [0097], polypropylene layer on a polyethylene or polypropylene layer ). Adams however does not disclose based on a total mass of the first coating layer, a mass percent x of the first polymer is 60 wt% to 90 wt%, and a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C. Chen teaches based on a total mass of the first coating layer, a mass percent x of the first polymer is 60 wt% to 90 wt% ( Chen, [0011], 5~95 wt% ), the claimed range if found to be obvious for overlapping the prior art range at least at 60 to 90 wt%, see MPEP § 2144.05, and while Chen does not teach wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C, Chen does teach wherein a first polymer selected from polymers of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, styrene, butadiene ( Chen, [0012] ) and these same materials, following Instant Table 1, used in a similar environment for a similar purpose would be understood by the skilled artisan to possess the claimed softening point properties, satisfying the limitation wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 150 °C. See MPEP §2112. Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first coating layer of Chen in Adams, thereby enduring higher expansion force ( Chen, [0083] ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JARED HANSEN whose telephone number is (571)272-4590. The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tiffany Legette can be reached at 571-270-7078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 6 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 7 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 8 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 9 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 10 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/478,175 Page 11 Art Unit: 1723