DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 4/29/2026 in which Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Beierschmitt fails to disclose "in response to the
fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets", "cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs" and "determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring". Examiner disagrees and points to Beierschmitt’s teaching that the trip mechanism 132 may be a relay through which power flows when the relay is closed and interrupts power when the relay is open (see para. 0021); the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 may calculate the resulting circuit's impedance from the measured current and voltage from the current and voltage sensors 128 and 130. If the circuit impedance is too large, a series arc fault is present such as the series arc fault 202 [fault detection signal] in FIG. 2 and the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to open (see para. 0027); The load control switching elements 148A-C may also provide user load control at the respective outlets 114, 116 or 118 since the power to the outlet may be interrupted by opening the respective load control switching elements 148A-C. The neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C and load control switching 148A-C may be controlled strictly off line by frequency timing and thus no control communication between the outlet controllers 144 of the outlets and master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 is necessary [in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets] (see para. 0033); The master controller 126 uses the detected current and voltage to determine whether an overcurrent condition exists and controls the trip controller 124 to trigger the trip mechanism 132 when an abnormal condition is detected (see para.0022); Under normal operation, the neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C are open and the load control switching elements 148A-C are closed and thus current flows through any loads connected to any of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 (see para. 0025); The switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C are controlled to open and close by the specific outlet controller such as the outlet controller 144 of the outlet 114. Alternatively, the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized (see para. 0028); The system then checks each outlet 114, 116 and 118 for series arc faults. During these subsequent checks, the load control switching elements 148A-C remain open. The neutral shorting switching element 146A is closed while the other two neutral shorting switching elements 146B-C remain open in order to determine whether a series arc fault exists upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 exceeds a predetermined threshold value indicating a series arc fault upstream of the outlet 114. If such a fault is detected, the circuit breaker unit 112 trips the trip mechanism 132 [cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs] (see para. 0030); Thus, in addition to providing fault detection, the location of series arc faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet 114, 116 and 118 as the load control switching elements 148A-C are switched on and off in sequence [determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring] (see ¶ 0031). Examiner construes that when power is interrupted at an outlet, communication is disabled at each controller 126 and that as the master controller 144 checks for a fault at each outlet, it is able to close the outlets under normal operations and keep the outlets open that indicate a fault.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0155349 to Nelson et al (“Nelson”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0202304 to Beierschmitt et al (“Beierschmitt”) in further view of U.S. Patent 7,800,874 to DiSalvo et al (“DiSalvo”).
As to Claim 1, Nelson teaches a system, comprising: a plurality of outlets in electrical communication with each other, the plurality of outlets configured to form a circuit (a controller is in electronic communication with the plurality of outlets, see Abstract), the plurality of outlets configured to have a respective associated identity (The outlet identification 116 may also be transmitted to the circuit breaker controller 106. The circuit breaker controller 106 becomes aware of the type (or class) of device 112 that is plugged into the receptacle 104, see ¶ 0054); a controller in communication with the plurality of outlets, the controller comprising at least one processor and at least one computer-readable storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (a controller is in electronic communication with the plurality of outlets. The controller includes a processor and memory in electronic communication with the processor, see Abstract);
Nelson does not teach the plurality of outlets configured to have a relative position in the circuit, each outlet of the plurality of outlets being configured to be in an open state or a closed state; a controller in communication with the plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receive a fault detection signal from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets; cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs; determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring; determine, based on the location of the additional fault, a corrective state for each of the plurality of outlets; wherein: the corrective state for the first outlet is the open state; the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet is the open state; and the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets on a line side of the first outlet is the closed state; cause each of the plurality of outlets to be in the corrective state determined for each of the plurality of outlets; and transmit a notification based on the location of the additional fault.
Beierschmitt teaches the plurality of outlets configured to have a relative position in the circuit (Electrical outlet devices are coupled to the circuit breaker via the line and neutral conductors. Each of the electrical outlet devices has a neutral shorting switching element coupled between the line and neutral conductors, and a load control switching element in the line conductor, see Abstract), each outlet of the plurality of outlets being configured to be in an open state or a closed state (If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If no current is detected, the algorithm proceeds to close the neutral shorting switching element 146A on a first outlet such as the outlet 114 (408), see ¶ 0038); a controller in communication with the plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receive a fault detection signal from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets indicating a detection of a fault, in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets (the trip mechanism 132 may be a relay through which power flows when the relay is closed and interrupts power when the relay is open, see ¶ 0021; the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 may calculate the resulting circuit's impedance from the measured current and voltage from the current and voltage sensors 128 and 130. If the circuit impedance is too large, a series arc fault is present such as the series arc fault 202 [fault detection signal] in FIG. 2 and the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to open, see ¶ 0027; the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized, see ¶ 0028; The load control switching elements 148A-C may also provide user load control at the respective outlets 114, 116 or 118 since the power to the outlet may be interrupted by opening the respective load control switching elements 148A-C. The neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C and load control switching 148A-C may be controlled strictly off line by frequency timing and thus no control communication between the outlet controllers 144 of the outlets and master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 is necessary [in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets], see ¶ 0033; The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault [fault detection signal], the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [configure each of the outlets to be in the open state], see ¶ 0038);
cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs (The master controller 126 uses the detected current and voltage to determine whether an overcurrent condition exists and controls the trip controller 124 to trigger the trip mechanism 132 when an abnormal condition is detected, see para.0022; Under normal operation, the neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C are open and the load control switching elements 148A-C are closed and thus current flows through any loads connected to any of the outlets 114, 116 and 118, see para. 0025; The switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C are controlled to open and close by the specific outlet controller such as the outlet controller 144 of the outlet 114. Alternatively, the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized, see para. 0028; The system then checks each outlet 114, 116 and 118 for series arc faults. During these subsequent checks, the load control switching elements 148A-C remain open. The neutral shorting switching element 146A is closed while the other two neutral shorting switching elements 146B-C remain open in order to determine whether a series arc fault exists upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 exceeds a predetermined threshold value indicating a series arc fault upstream of the outlet 114. If such a fault is detected, the circuit breaker unit 112 trips the trip mechanism 132 [cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs], see ¶ 0030; If no current is detected, the algorithm proceeds to close the neutral shorting switching element 146A on a first outlet such as the outlet 114 (408), see ¶ 0038);
determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring (The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418), see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007);
determine, based on the location of the additional fault, a corrective state for each of the plurality of outlets, wherein the corrective state is the open state (The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414). If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418). If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet [corrective state is the open state] such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream, see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007), cause each of the plurality of outlets to be in the corrective state determined for each of the plurality of outlets; and transmit a notification based on the location of the additional fault (Thus, in addition to providing fault detection, the location of series arc faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet 114, 116 and 118 as the load control switching elements 148A-C are switched on and off in sequence [determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring], see ¶ 0031; The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414). If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418). If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet [corrective state is the open state] such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream. If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream, see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007; informing customers of a voltage drop at end use devices and enhanced load control based on series arc fault detection at the specific outlet from the neutral shorting switching elements at each outlet. The system could also be used as a troubleshooting tool informing a user of arc fault locations [transmit a notification based on location of an additional fault], see ¶ 0035).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nelson with Beierschmitt to teach the plurality of outlets configured to have a relative position in the circuit, each outlet of the plurality of outlets being configured to be in an open state or a closed state; cause the at least one processor to: receive a fault detection signal from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets; cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs; determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring; determine, based on the location of the additional fault, a corrective state for each of the plurality of outlets; wherein: the corrective state for the first outlet is the open state; cause each of the plurality of outlets to be in the corrective state determined for each of the plurality of outlets; and transmit a notification based on the location of the additional fault. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform arc fault detection on branch wiring through switched elements at an outlet (see ¶ 0001).
Nelson and Beierschmitt do not expressly disclose the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet is the open state; and the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets on a line side of the first outlet is the closed state.
DiSalvo teaches the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet is the open state (circuit interrupting devices that are capable of breaking at least one conductive path at both a line side and a load side of the device. The conductive path typically has at least a first end (i.e., the line side) that connects to a source of electrical power and at least a second end (i.e., the load side) that connects to one or more loads, see Col. 4, lines 22-28; the fault sensor uses a differential transformer and neutral transformer to sense ground faults and energize a relay that disconnects power to the load side [corrective state for the load side is an open state] in the event a ground fault is detected, see Col. 6, lines 36-39); and the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets on a line side of the first outlet is the closed state (circuit interrupting devices that are capable of breaking at least one conductive path at both a line side and a load side of the device. The conductive path typically has at least a first end (i.e., the line side) that connects to a source of electrical power and at least a second end (i.e., the load side) that connects to one or more loads, see Col. 4, lines 22-28; The fault sensor 112 may include a push-button 308 and resistor 310 as part of a self-test system that induces a ground fault condition simulation (i.e., a current imbalance is caused) onto the line side conductors for detection by the fault sensor 112…when the device is in use, it may be desirable to have the self-test system send a signal to the relay controller 114 to cause the relay 124 to close [corrective state on a line side is the closed state] immediately after it has been opened by the detection of the simulated fault induced by the self-test system, see Col. 7, lines 24-28, 44-50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nelson and Breierschmitt with DiSalvo to teach the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet is the open state; and the corrective state for any of the plurality of outlets on a line side of the first outlet is the closed state. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the circuit interrupting portion used to automatically break electrical continuity in one or more conductive paths between the line and load sides upon the detection of a fault (see Col. 4, lines 61-64).
As to Claim 7, Nelson, Breierschmitt and DiSalvo depending on Claim 6, DiSalvo teaches wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a line side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the closed state ((circuit interrupting devices that are capable of breaking at least one conductive path at both a line side and a load side of the device. The conductive path typically has at least a first end (i.e., the line side) that connects to a source of electrical power and at least a second end (i.e., the load side) that connects to one or more loads, see Col. 4, lines 22-28; The fault sensor 112 may include a push-button 308 and resistor 310 as part of a self-test system that induces a ground fault condition simulation (i.e., a current imbalance is caused) onto the line side conductors for detection by the fault sensor 112…when the device is in use, it may be desirable to have the self-test system send a signal to the relay controller 114 to cause the relay 124 to close [corrective state on a line side is the closed state] immediately after it has been opened by the detection of the simulated fault induced by the self-test system, see Col. 7, lines 24-28, 44-50).
As to Claim 8, Nelson, Breierschmitt and DiSalvo depending on Claim 6, DiSalvo teaches wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the open state (circuit interrupting devices that are capable of breaking at least one conductive path at both a line side and a load side of the device. The conductive path typically has at least a first end (i.e., the line side) that connects to a source of electrical power and at least a second end (i.e., the load side) that connects to one or more loads, see Col. 4, lines 22-28; the fault sensor uses a differential transformer and neutral transformer to sense ground faults and energize a relay that disconnects power to the load side [corrective state for the load side is an open state] in the event a ground fault is detected, see Col. 6, lines 36-39).
As to Claim 16, Nelson and Breierschmitt depending on Claim 15, Nelson and Breierschmitt do not expressly disclose wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a line side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the closed state. DiSalvo teaches wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a line side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the closed state (circuit interrupting devices that are capable of breaking at least one conductive path at both a line side and a load side of the device. The conductive path typically has at least a first end (i.e., the line side) that connects to a source of electrical power and at least a second end (i.e., the load side) that connects to one or more loads, see Col. 4, lines 22-28; The fault sensor 112 may include a push-button 308 and resistor 310 as part of a self-test system that induces a ground fault condition simulation (i.e., a current imbalance is caused) onto the line side conductors for detection by the fault sensor 112…when the device is in use, it may be desirable to have the self-test system send a signal to the relay controller 114 to cause the relay 124 to close [corrective state on a line side is the closed state] immediately after it has been opened by the detection of the simulated fault induced by the self-test system, see Col. 7, lines 24-28, 44-50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nelson and Breierschmitt with DiSalvo to teach wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a line side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the closed state. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the circuit interrupting portion used to automatically break electrical continuity in one or more conductive paths between the line and load sides upon the detection of a fault (see Col. 4, lines 61-64).
As to Claim 17, Nelson and Breierschmitt depending on Claim 15, Nelson and Breierschmitt does not expressly disclose wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the open state. DiSalvo teaches wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the open state (circuit interrupting devices that are capable of breaking at least one conductive path at both a line side and a load side of the device. The conductive path typically has at least a first end (i.e., the line side) that connects to a source of electrical power and at least a second end (i.e., the load side) that connects to one or more loads, see Col. 4, lines 22-28; the fault sensor uses a differential transformer and neutral transformer to sense ground faults and energize a relay that disconnects power to the load side [corrective state for the load side is an open state] in the event a ground fault is detected, see Col. 6, lines 36-39).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nelson and Breierschmitt with DiSalvo to teach wherein at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets is electrically positioned on a load side of the first outlet, and the corrective state for each of the at least one outlet is the open state. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the circuit interrupting portion used to automatically break electrical continuity in one or more conductive paths between the line and load sides upon the detection of a fault (see Col. 4, lines 61-64).
Claim(s) 3-6, 9, 12-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0155349 to Nelson et al (“Nelson”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0202304 to Beierschmitt et al (“Beierschmitt”).
As to Claim 3, Nelson teaches a system, comprising: a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets, the plurality of outlets being configured to form a circuit (a controller is in electronic communication with the plurality of outlets, see Abstract), the controller comprising at least one processor and at least one computer-readable storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (a controller is in electronic communication with the plurality of outlets. The controller includes a processor and memory in electronic communication with the processor, see Abstract).
Nelson does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receive, from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets, a fault detection signal indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets; cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs; determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring; and perform at least one action based on the location of the fault.
Breierschmitt teaches a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receive, from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets, a fault detection signal indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets (the trip mechanism 132 may be a relay through which power flows when the relay is closed and interrupts power when the relay is open, see ¶ 0021; the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 may calculate the resulting circuit's impedance from the measured current and voltage from the current and voltage sensors 128 and 130. If the circuit impedance is too large, a series arc fault is present such as the series arc fault 202 [fault detection signal] in FIG. 2 and the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to open, see ¶ 0027; the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized, see ¶ 0028; The load control switching elements 148A-C may also provide user load control at the respective outlets 114, 116 or 118 since the power to the outlet may be interrupted by opening the respective load control switching elements 148A-C. The neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C and load control switching 148A-C may be controlled strictly off line by frequency timing and thus no control communication between the outlet controllers 144 of the outlets and master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 is necessary [in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets], see ¶ 0033; The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault [fault detection signal], the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [configure each of the outlets to be in the open state], see ¶ 0038);
cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs (The master controller 126 uses the detected current and voltage to determine whether an overcurrent condition exists and controls the trip controller 124 to trigger the trip mechanism 132 when an abnormal condition is detected, see para.0022; Under normal operation, the neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C are open and the load control switching elements 148A-C are closed and thus current flows through any loads connected to any of the outlets 114, 116 and 118, see para. 0025; The switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C are controlled to open and close by the specific outlet controller such as the outlet controller 144 of the outlet 114. Alternatively, the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized, see para. 0028; The system then checks each outlet 114, 116 and 118 for series arc faults. During these subsequent checks, the load control switching elements 148A-C remain open. The neutral shorting switching element 146A is closed while the other two neutral shorting switching elements 146B-C remain open in order to determine whether a series arc fault exists upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 exceeds a predetermined threshold value indicating a series arc fault upstream of the outlet 114. If such a fault is detected, the circuit breaker unit 112 trips the trip mechanism 132 [cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs], see ¶ 0030; If no current is detected, the algorithm proceeds to close the neutral shorting switching element 146A on a first outlet such as the outlet 114 (408), see ¶ 0038);
determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring (The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418), see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007); and
perform at least one action based on the location of the fault (The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418). If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream, see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007; informing customers of a voltage drop at end use devices and enhanced load control based on series arc fault detection at the specific outlet from the neutral shorting switching elements at each outlet. The system could also be used as a troubleshooting tool informing a user of arc fault locations [perform an action based on location of the fault], see ¶ 0035).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nelson with Beierschmitt to teach a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receive, from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets, a fault detection signal indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets; cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs; determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring; and perform at least one action based on the location of the fault. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform arc fault detection on branch wiring through switched elements at an outlet (see ¶ 0001).
As to Claim 4, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 3, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the fault detection signal is associated with a fault detector circuit in at least one of the plurality of outlets (system 100 to check for occurrences of arc faults on branch wiring. The algorithm may be run by the master controller 126 alone in the circuit breaker unit 112 or in conjunction with the controllers 144 in the outlets 114, 116 and 118. The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 [fault detector circuit] then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406), see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 5, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 3, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the at least one action comprises: determining a corrective state for each of the plurality of outlets; and causing each of the plurality of outlets to be in the corresponding corrective state (The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [corrective state is an open state]. If no current is detected, the algorithm proceeds to close the neutral shorting switching element 146A on a first outlet such as the outlet 114 (408) [corrective action is a closed state], see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 6, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 5, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the corrective state for the first outlet is the open state (The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [corrective state is an open state], see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 9, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 3, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the at least one action comprises transmitting a notification that indicates the location of the additional fault ((The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418). If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream, see ¶ 0039; informing customers of a voltage drop at end use devices and enhanced load control based on series arc fault detection at the specific outlet from the neutral shorting switching elements at each outlet. The system could also be used as a troubleshooting tool informing a user of arc fault locations [transmitting a notification indicating a location of the additional fault], see ¶ 0035).
As to Claim 12, Nelson teaches a method implemented by a system, the system comprising a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets, the plurality of outlets being configured to form a circuit that are configured to form a circuit (a controller is in electronic communication with the plurality of outlets, see Abstract), the method comprising:
Nelson does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receiving, from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets, a fault detection signal indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets; causing individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs; determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring; and performing at least one action based on the location of the fault.
Brierschmitt teaches a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets via communication signaling, receiving, from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets, a fault detection signal indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, causing each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets (the trip mechanism 132 may be a relay through which power flows when the relay is closed and interrupts power when the relay is open, see ¶ 0021; the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 may calculate the resulting circuit's impedance from the measured current and voltage from the current and voltage sensors 128 and 130. If the circuit impedance is too large, a series arc fault is present such as the series arc fault 202 [fault detection signal] in FIG. 2 and the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to open, see ¶ 0027; the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized, see ¶ 0028; The load control switching elements 148A-C may also provide user load control at the respective outlets 114, 116 or 118 since the power to the outlet may be interrupted by opening the respective load control switching elements 148A-C. The neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C and load control switching 148A-C may be controlled strictly off line by frequency timing and thus no control communication between the outlet controllers 144 of the outlets and master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 is necessary [in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets], see ¶ 0033; The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault [fault detection signal], the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [configure each of the outlets to be in the open state], see ¶ 0038);
causing individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs (The master controller 126 uses the detected current and voltage to determine whether an overcurrent condition exists and controls the trip controller 124 to trigger the trip mechanism 132 when an abnormal condition is detected, see para.0022; Under normal operation, the neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C are open and the load control switching elements 148A-C are closed and thus current flows through any loads connected to any of the outlets 114, 116 and 118, see para. 0025; The switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C are controlled to open and close by the specific outlet controller such as the outlet controller 144 of the outlet 114. Alternatively, the outlet controller 144 may be in communication with the master controller 126 of the circuit breaker unit 112 and thus the control of the switching elements 146A-C and 148A-C may be centralized, see para. 0028; The system then checks each outlet 114, 116 and 118 for series arc faults. During these subsequent checks, the load control switching elements 148A-C remain open. The neutral shorting switching element 146A is closed while the other two neutral shorting switching elements 146B-C remain open in order to determine whether a series arc fault exists upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 exceeds a predetermined threshold value indicating a series arc fault upstream of the outlet 114. If such a fault is detected, the circuit breaker unit 112 trips the trip mechanism 132 [cause individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs], see ¶ 0030; If no current is detected, the algorithm proceeds to close the neutral shorting switching element 146A on a first outlet such as the outlet 114 (408), see ¶ 0038);
determining a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring (The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418), see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007); and
performing at least one action based on the location of the fault (The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418). If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream, see ¶ 0039; When the neutral shorting switching element is connected between the line and neutral conductor, a low impedance path is formed and the circuit breaker can calculate the resulting circuit's impedance. If the impedance is too large, a series fault is present and the circuit breaker will open. In addition to providing series fault detection, the location of series faults can be approximated by comparing the impedance measurements of each outlet, see ¶ 0007; informing customers of a voltage drop at end use devices and enhanced load control based on series arc fault detection at the specific outlet from the neutral shorting switching elements at each outlet. The system could also be used as a troubleshooting tool informing a user of arc fault locations [perform an action based on location of the fault], see ¶ 0035).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nelson with Beierschmitt to teach a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of outlets via communication signaling, cause the at least one processor to: receiving, from at least one outlet of the plurality of outlets, a fault detection signal indicating a detection of a fault; in response to the fault detection signal, configure each of the plurality of outlets to be in the open state to disable communication signaling at the plurality of outlets; causing individual ones of the plurality of outlets to transition from the open state to the closed state one at a time to enable communication signaling at respective individual outlets until an additional fault occurs; determine a location of the additional fault in the circuit based on communication signaling and an identity associated with a first outlet that was configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault occurring; and performing at least one action based on the location of the fault. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform arc fault detection on branch wiring through switched elements at an outlet (see ¶ 0001).
As to Claim 13, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 12, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the fault detection signal is associated with a fault detector circuit in at least one of the plurality of outlets (system 100 to check for occurrences of arc faults on branch wiring. The algorithm may be run by the master controller 126 alone in the circuit breaker unit 112 or in conjunction with the controllers 144 in the outlets 114, 116 and 118. The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 [fault detector circuit] then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406), see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 14, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 12, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the at least one action comprises: determining a corrective state for each of the plurality of outlets; and causing each of the plurality of outlets to be in the corresponding corrective state (The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [corrective state is an open state]. If no current is detected, the algorithm proceeds to close the neutral shorting switching element 146A on a first outlet such as the outlet 114 (408) [corrective action is a closed state], see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 15, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 14, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the corrective state for the first outlet is the open state (The algorithm first opens the load control switching elements 148A-C of the outlets 114, 116 and 118 in FIG. 1 (400). The master controller 126 then measures the current from the current sensor 128 (402). If current is detected indicating a parallel arc fault, the controller 144 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406) [corrective state is an open state], see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 18, Nelson and Brierschmitt depending on Claim 12, Breierschmitt teaches wherein the at least one action comprises transmitting a notification that indicates the location of the additional fault ((The master controller 126 measures current from the current sensor 128 and voltage from the voltage sensor 130 (410). The master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage (412). The master controller 126 then determines whether the impedance is high enough to exceed a threshold value indicating a series arc fault (414) [a first outlet configured in the open state and transitioned to the closed state prior to the additional fault]. If the calculated impedance is high enough, the master controller 126 causes the trip mechanism 132 to be activated (406). If the impedance is low, the master controller 126 determines whether every outlet downstream from the circuit breaker unit 112 has been checked (418). If there are no outlets remaining, the algorithm finishes. If there are additional outlets, the master controller 126 opens the previous shorting switching element and opens the shorting switching element of the next outlet such as the outlet 116 (408). The master controller 126 then proceeds to determine the impedance and thereby checks for additional series arc faults for each outlet downstream, see ¶ 0039; informing customers of a voltage drop at end use devices and enhanced load control based on series arc fault detection at the specific outlet from the neutral shorting switching elements at each outlet. The system could also be used as a troubleshooting tool informing a user of arc fault locations [transmitting a notification indicating a location of the additional fault], see ¶ 0035).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10, 11, 19, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622