The amendment filed 2/9/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claims 1-23 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240357652 A1) in view of Xue et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210195637 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Chen and Xue.
In regard to Claim 1, Chen teaches A method comprising: transmitting, by a first wireless device and to a second wireless device, a first control signal (As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6) indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing (The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset. The time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT associated with the LBT attempt of the UE, Para. 58, FIGS. 6, 7); and a request for COT assistance information (As shown by reference number 410, the first UE may transmit, to the second UE, a COT sharing request, Para. 45, FIG. 4. As shown by reference number 420, during the time window, the first UE may monitor for a COT structure indication (COT-SI), Para. 46, FIG. 4. As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches receiving, from the second wireless device, a second control signal (As shown by reference number 640, the second UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6) comprising the COT assistance information (the response may include a COT-SI, Para. 62, FIG. 6) and indicating one or more resources within the COT (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches determining, based on the one or more resources, to share the COT with the second wireless device (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Chen fails to teach transmitting, to the second wireless device, a third control signal indicating information for the COT sharing.
Xue teaches transmitting, to the second wireless device, a third control signal indicating information for the COT sharing (sidelink UE A may transmit a COT indication signal 430 before the start of the sidelink frame 404b. The COT indication signal 430 may indicate timing information and/or frequency information associated with the COT 402 to allow other sidelink UEs to share the COT 402. For instance, the COT indication signal 430 may indicate a starting time and/or an ending time of the COT 402, the number of sidelink frames 404 within the COT 402, the sidelink resource(s) 306 and/or the subbands 302 within the COT 402 that are available for sharing by other sidelink UEs, Para. 87, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 2, Chen teaches the transmitting the first control signal comprises transmitting the first control signal to a plurality of candidate wireless devices, wherein the plurality of candidate wireless devices comprises the second wireless device (As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE and the third UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches the receiving the second control signal comprises receiving the second control signal from each of the plurality of candidate wireless devices (As shown by reference number 640, in some aspects, one or more of the second UE or the third UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6).
Chen fails to teach the transmitting the third control signal comprises transmitting the third control signal to each of the one or more candidate wireless devices.
Xue teaches the transmitting the third control signal comprises transmitting the third control signal to each of the one or more candidate wireless devices (The COT indication signal 430 may indicate timing information and/or frequency information associated with the COT 402 to allow other sidelink UEs to share the COT 402, Para. 87, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 3, Chen teaches the determining further comprises determining a portion of the COT as a shared COT (A UE may request COT sharing, in which a COT of a first UE can be shared with a COT of a second UE, Para. 24, FIG. 6), and wherein the shared COT comprises at least one of the one or more resources (Once the first UE has secured the channel (meaning that other UEs will not utilize the channel during the COT), the second UE can also transmit during the COT, thereby improving channel access of the second UE, Para. 24, FIG. 6. In example 600, the first UE is a requesting UE (that requests COT sharing), and the second UE and the third UE may perform channel access based at least in part on a COT sharing request from the first UE, Para. 56, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Chen teaches the COT.
Chen fails to teach the determining further comprises determining a portion of the COT as a shared COT, and wherein the shared COT excludes the one or more resources.
Xue teaches the determining further comprises determining a portion of the COT as a shared COT (Upon detecting the COT indication signal 430, the sidelink UE B may share the COT 402 of the sidelink UE A and transmit in the sidelink resource 306b2 located at the frequency subband 302S1 during the sidelink frame 404b, Para. 90, FIG. 4), and wherein the shared COT excludes the one or more resources (not all sidelink resources 306 within the COT 402 may be utilized by another sidelink UE. For instance, the sidelink resource 306b3 may not be utilized by any sidelink UE as shown by the empty-filled PSCCH 310 and PSSCH 320, Para. 90, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 5, Chen teaches at least one of the first control signal (the COT sharing request, Para. 59, FIG. 6), the second control signal, and the third control signal comprises sidelink control information (SCI) (the COT sharing request may be transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI), Para. 45. The first UE may transmit, via SCI with the COT sharing request, Para. 59, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 6, Chen teaches the first control signal comprises at least one of: sidelink control information (SCI) (the COT sharing request may be transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI), Para. 45. The first UE may transmit, via SCI with the COT sharing request, Para. 59, FIG. 6); downlink control information (DCI); a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE); or radio resource control (RRC) information.
In regard to Claim 7, Chen teaches the first control signal indicates at least one of: a time interval of the COT; a starting time of the time interval (The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset. The time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT associated with the LBT attempt of the UE, Para. 58, FIGS. 6, 7); an ending time of the time interval; a duration of the time interval; or one or more time domain resources within the COT.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Chen teaches the COT.
Chen fails to teach the information for the COT sharing comprises at least one of: a time interval of shared COT; a starting time of the time interval; an ending time of the time interval; or a duration of the time interval.
Xue teaches the information for the COT sharing comprises at least one of: a time interval of shared COT; a starting time of the time interval (the COT indication signal 430 may indicate a starting time and/or an ending time of the COT 402, Para. 87, FIG. 4); an ending time of the time interval (the COT indication signal 430 may indicate an ending time of the COT 402, Para. 87, FIG. 4); or a duration of the time interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 9, Chen teaches A method comprising: transmitting, by a first wireless device and to a plurality of candidate wireless devices, a first control signal (As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE and the third UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6) indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing (The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset, and the COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a second time offset. The time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT associated with the LBT attempt of the UE, Para. 58, FIGS. 6, 7); and a request for COT assistance information (As shown by reference number 410, the first UE may transmit, to the second UE, a COT sharing request, Para. 45, FIG. 4. As shown by reference number 420, during the time window, the first UE may monitor for a COT structure indication (COT-SI), Para. 46, FIG. 4. As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE and the third UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches receiving, from each of the plurality of candidate wireless devices, a second control signal (As shown by reference number 640, in some aspects, one or more of the second UE or the third UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6) comprising the COT assistance information (the response may include a COT-SI, Para. 62, FIG. 6) and indicating one or more resources within the COT (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches determining, based on the second control signal, to share the COT with one or more candidate wireless devices of the plurality of candidate wireless devices (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Chen fails to teach transmitting, to each of the one or more candidate wireless devices, a third control signal indicating information for the COT sharing.
Xue teaches transmitting, to each of the one or more candidate wireless devices, a third control signal indicating information for the COT sharing (sidelink UE A may transmit a COT indication signal 430 before the start of the sidelink frame 404b. The COT indication signal 430 may indicate timing information and/or frequency information associated with the COT 402 to allow other sidelink UEs to share the COT 402. For instance, the COT indication signal 430 may indicate a starting time and/or an ending time of the COT 402, the number of sidelink frames 404 within the COT 402, the sidelink resource(s) 306 and/or the subbands 302 within the COT 402 that are available for sharing by other sidelink UEs, Para. 87, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 10, Chen teaches the determining further comprises determining a first portion of the COT as a first shared COT to be shared with a first candidate wireless device of the plurality of candidate wireless devices (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6), and wherein the first shared COT comprises at least one of the one or more resources indicated by the second control signal (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6) received from the first candidate wireless device (As shown by reference number 640, the second UE may provide a response. The response may include a COT-SI, Para. 62, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 11, Chen teaches the determining further comprises determining a second portion of the COT as a second shared COT (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6) to be shared with a second candidate wireless device of the plurality of candidate wireless devices (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches the one or more resources indicated by the second control signal received from the second candidate wireless device (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Although Chen teaches the one or more resources indicated by the second control signal received from the second candidate wireless device, Chen fails to teach the second shared COT excludes the one or more resources.
Xue teaches the second shared COT (the sidelink UE C may transmit SCI and sidelink data 1220c in the sidelink resource 306c3, Para. 147, FIG. 12) excludes the one or more resources (the sidelink UE B may transmit SCI and sidelink data 1220b in the sidelink resources 306b2 and 306c1, Para. 148, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 12, Chen teaches determining: a first portion of the COT as a first shared COT to be shared (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6) with a first candidate wireless device (the second UE, Para. 62, FIG. 6) of the plurality of candidate wireless devices (As shown by reference number 640, in some aspects, one or more of the second UE or the third UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6), and a second portion of the COT as a second shared COT to be shared (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6) with a second candidate wireless device (the third UE, Para. 62, FIG. 6) of the plurality of candidate wireless devices (As shown by reference number 640, in some aspects, one or more of the second UE or the third UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6).
Chen fails to teach the first shared COT and the second shared COT do not overlap with each other.
Xue teaches the first shared COT (the sidelink UE B may transmit SCI and sidelink data 1220b in the sidelink resources 306b2 and 306c1, Para. 148, FIG. 12) and the second shared COT do not overlap with each other (the sidelink UE C may transmit SCI and sidelink data 1220c in the sidelink resource 306c3, Para. 147, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 13, Chen teaches the first control signal comprises at least one of: sidelink control information (SCI) (the COT sharing request may be transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI), Para. 45. The first UE may transmit, via SCI with the COT sharing request, Para. 59, FIG. 6); downlink control information (DCI); a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE); or radio resource control (RRC) information.
In regard to Claim 14, Chen teaches the first control signal indicates at least one of: a time interval of the COT; a starting time of the time interval (The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset. The time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT associated with the LBT attempt of the UE, Para. 58, FIGS. 6, 7); an ending time of the time interval; a duration of the time interval; or one or more time domain resources within the COT.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Chen teaches the COT.
Chen fails to teach the information for the COT sharing comprises at least one of: a time interval of shared COT; a starting time of the time interval; an ending time of the time interval; or a duration of the time interval.
Xue teaches the information for the COT sharing comprises at least one of: a time interval of shared COT; a starting time of the time interval (the COT indication signal 430 may indicate a starting time and/or an ending time of the COT 402, Para. 87, FIG. 4); an ending time of the time interval (the COT indication signal 430 may indicate an ending time of the COT 402, Para. 87, FIG. 4); or a duration of the time interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 16, Chen teaches A method comprising: receiving, by a second wireless device and from a first wireless device, a first control signal (As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6) indicating: a candidate channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing (The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset. The time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT associated with the LBT attempt of the UE, Para. 58, FIGS. 6, 7); and a request for COT assistance information based on the candidate COT (As shown by reference number 410, the first UE may transmit, to the second UE, a COT sharing request, Para. 45, FIG. 4. As shown by reference number 420, during the time window, the first UE may monitor for a COT structure indication (COT-SI), Para. 46, FIG. 4. As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6).
Chen teaches transmitting, to the first wireless device, a second control signal (As shown by reference number 640, the second UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6) comprising the COT assistance information (the response may include a COT-SI, Para. 62, FIG. 6) and indicating one or more resources within the candidate COT (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6), wherein the COT assistance information is for the first wireless device to determine COT sharing (if the first UE receives multiple positive responses concurrently (e.g., associated with the same slot boundary), then the first UE may determine a combined COT using resources (e.g., frequency resources and time resources), Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Chen fails to teach receiving, from the first wireless device, a third control signal indicating information for the COT sharing.
Xue teaches receiving, from the first wireless device, a third control signal indicating information for the COT sharing (sidelink UE A may transmit a COT indication signal 430 before the start of the sidelink frame 404b. The COT indication signal 430 may indicate timing information and/or frequency information associated with the COT 402 to allow other sidelink UEs to share the COT 402. For instance, the COT indication signal 430 may indicate a starting time and/or an ending time of the COT 402, the number of sidelink frames 404 within the COT 402, the sidelink resource(s) 306 and/or the subbands 302 within the COT 402 that are available for sharing by other sidelink UEs, Para. 87, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Chen teaches the COT.
Chen fails to teach at least one of the one or more resources is included in the information for the COT sharing.
Xue teaches at least one of the one or more resources is included in the information for the COT sharing (sidelink UE A may transmit a COT indication signal 430 before the start of the sidelink frame 404b. The COT indication signal 430 may indicate timing information and/or frequency information associated with the COT 402 to allow other sidelink UEs to share the COT 402. For instance, the COT indication signal 430 may indicate a starting time and/or an ending time of the COT 402, the number of sidelink frames 404 within the COT 402, the sidelink resource(s) 306 and/or the subbands 302 within the COT 402 that are available for sharing by other sidelink UEs, Para. 87, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Chen teaches the COT.
Chen fails to teach the one or more resources are excluded from the information for the COT sharing.
Xue teaches the one or more resources are excluded from the information for the COT sharing (not all sidelink resources 306 within the COT 402 may be utilized by another sidelink UE. For instance, the sidelink resource 306b3 may not be utilized by any sidelink UE as shown by the empty-filled PSCCH 310 and PSSCH 320, Para. 90, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Chen teaches the second control signal.
Chen fails to teach the second control signal comprises at least one of: sidelink control information (SCI); a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE); or radio resource control (RRC) information.
Xue teaches the second control signal comprises at least one of: sidelink control information (SCI); a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE); or radio resource control (RRC) information (configure the sidelink UE with a resource pool configuration (e.g., via an RRC configuration) indicating the sidelink resources 306, Para. 94, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue with the teachings of Chen since Xue provides a technique for a UE to transmit an indicator of resources for sharing channel occupancy time with other UE, which can be introduced into the system of Chen to permit a UE to inform other UE of the resources for combined channel occupancy time for sharing with those other UE after receiving positive response from those other UE.
In regard to Claim 21, Chen teaches the COT assistance information indicates the one or more resources within the COT (a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 22, Chen teaches the first wireless device is a COT initiator wireless device (As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6), and wherein the second wireless device is a COT sharing wireless device (As shown by reference number 640, the second UE may provide a response, Para. 62, FIG. 6. The response may include a COT-SI, Para. 62, FIG. 6. A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 23, Chen teaches the COT is of the first wireless device for COT sharing with the second wireless device (As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE, Para. 58, FIG. 6), and wherein the COT assistant information is associated with the COT (A COT-SI may indicate that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT. In some aspects, a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, Para. 46, FIGS. 4, 6. The first UE may receive multiple COT-SIs corresponding to non-overlapped bands, Para. 63, FIG. 6).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xue, and further in view of Wei et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220353761 A1), hereafter referred to as Wei.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Chen in view of Xue teaches the COT.
Chen in view of Xue fails to teach the first control signal indicates a plurality of resources within the time, and wherein the plurality of resources indicated by the first control signal comprises the one or more resources indicated by the second control signal.
Wei teaches the first control signal indicates a plurality of resources within the time (in response to receiving a handover command comprising an indication of a plurality of sets of radio resources, Para. 196, FIG. 7), and wherein the plurality of resources indicated by the first control signal comprises the one or more resources indicated by the second control signal (the second communications device (such as the second communications device 712) may select preferred set of radio resources in accordance with measurements, preferences, capability and the like, and transmit an indication of the selected resources to the first communications device 711, Para. 196, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wei with the teachings of Chen in view of Xue since Wei provides a technique for a device to select and indicate certain resources to a device that indicated sets of resources, which can be introduced into the system of Chen in view of Xue to permit a second UE or a third UE to select and indicate certain resources of resources indicated by a first UE.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 7 of the Remarks presents the argument that First, the cited references at least fail to disclose or suggest, "transmitting, by a first wireless device and to a second wireless device, a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing" of claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Chen teaches in Para. 58 and FIG. 6: “As shown by reference number 610, the first UE may transmit, using groupcast signaling, a COT sharing request to the second UE” (emphasis added). A first UE of Chen transmitting, to second UE, a COT sharing request, is substantively the same as transmitting, by a first wireless device and to a second wireless device, a first control signal of Claim 1.
Chen teaches in Para. 58 and FIG. 6: “The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset, and the COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a second time offset. In some aspects, the time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT” (emphasis added). This shows that a COT sharing request of Chen provides an association of a time offset, where the time offset may indicate a start of a COT. As a result, a COT sharing request of Chen providing an association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT, is substantively the same as a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1.
Therefore, a first UE of Chen transmitting, to second UE, a COT sharing request providing an association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT, is substantively the same as transmitting, by a first wireless device and to a second wireless device, a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1.
Page 7 of the Remarks presents the argument that In particular, the Office Action alleges that the "first UE" of Chen is equivalent to the "first wireless device" of claim 1 and that the "COT sharing request" that Chen's "first UE [transmits], using groupcast signaling ... to the second UE" corresponds to the "first control signal" of claim 1 (Office Action, p. 3). Applicant disagrees because Chen's "COT sharing request" does not indicate "a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing" as claim 1 recites. This argument is not persuasive. Chen teaches in Para. 58 and FIG. 6: “The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset, and the COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a second time offset. In some aspects, the time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT” (emphasis added). This shows that a COT sharing request of Chen provides an association of a time offset, where the time offset may indicate a start of a COT. As a result, a COT sharing request of Chen providing an association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT, is substantively the same as a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1. If there are clarifying features in the Specification of the Application concerning how a first control signal is indicating a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing, which are not taught by Chen, these clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Chen states that "[t]he COT sharing request may be associated with a time window" and that "the time window may be indicated by the COT sharing request" (Chen, paragraph [0045]), but Chen is silent about this time window being a COT. This argument is not persuasive. Chen teaches in Para. 58 that a COT sharing request provides an association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT. Claim 1 does not exclude a COT sharing request’s association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT, from teaching a type of first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1. Claim 1 does not exclude an indication of a start of a COT, from teaching a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) of Claim 1. If there are clarifying features in the Specification of the Application clearly excluding a COT sharing request’s association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT of Chen, these clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1. The examiner notes that Claim 1 does not require indicating a value of a length of a channel occupancy time (COT), and does not require indicating a value of a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT). Claim 1 only requires an “indicating” a channel occupancy time (COT).
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Rather, Chen explains that the time is a "monitoring window" during which "the first UE may monitor for a COT structure indication (COT-SI)" (Chen, paragraphs [0045]-[0046]). This argument is not persuasive. Although Chen teaches a monitoring window, this does not negate the fact that Chen teaches in Para. 58 of a COT sharing request’s association of a time offset indicates a start of a COT, and is substantively the same as a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Moreover, since Chen's first UE is the "requesting UE (that requests COT sharing)" (Chen, paragraph [0044]) and the purpose of the first UE's sending of the "COT sharing request" to use (e.g., share) the COT of a different UE (e.g., the "second UE" of Chen), it would not make sense for the first UE's "COT sharing request" to indicate a COT. This argument is not persuasive. Chen teaches in Para. 58 and FIG. 6: “The COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a first time offset, and the COT sharing request transmitted to the second UE may be associated with a second time offset. In some aspects, the time offset may indicate a length of time between an end of an LBT attempt of a UE (e.g., a second UE or a third UE) and a start of a COT” (emphasis added). This shows that a COT sharing request of Chen provides an association of a time offset that may indicate a start of a COT. A COT sharing request of Chen providing an association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT, is substantively the same as a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1. If there are clarifying features in the Specification of the Application concerning how a first control signal is indicating a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing, which are not taught by Chen, these clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that The Office Action alleges that the "COT structure indication (SI)" that Chen's second UE transmits to the first UE corresponds to the "second control signal" of claim 1 (Office Action, pp. 3-4). However, Chen's COT-SI does not "indicat[e] one or more resources within the COT" that was indicated by the "first control signal" of claim 1 at least because, as noted above, Chen's second UE never receives, from the first UE, a "first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT)," as claim 1 recites. This argument is not persuasive. A first UE of Chen transmitting, to second UE, a COT sharing request providing an association of a time offset indicating a start of a COT, is substantively the same as transmitting, by a first wireless device and to a second wireless device, a first control signal indicating: a channel occupancy time (COT) for COT sharing of Claim 1.
Chen teaches in Para. 46: “a COT-SI may indicate a COT duration, a COT end symbol, a slot format indication for one or more slots, a COT pause indication, or the like” (emphasis added). Each of a duration of a COT, an end symbol of a COT, and one or more slots of a COT, are substantively the same as one or more resources within the COT of Claim 1.
As a result, a COT-SI of Chen indicating a duration of a COT, an end symbol of a COT, and one or more slots of a COT, is substantively the same as a second control comprising the COT assistance information and indicating one or more resources within the COT of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Instead, Chen explains that its COT-SI "indicate[s] that a UE (e.g., the second UE or the third UE) has secured a COT" (Chen, paragraph [0046]). This argument is not persuasive. Although a COT-SI may indicate that a UE has secured a slot, this does not preclude the fact that a COT-SI of Chen indicates a duration of a COT, an end symbol of a COT, and one or more slots of a COT, and is substantively the same as a second control comprising the COT assistance information and indicating one or more resources within the COT of Claim 1.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Thus, even assuming (without conceding) that Chen's COT-SI could somehow be equated with the "second control signal" of claim 1, any resources that might be indicated by Chen's COT-SI are resources within a COT that the second UE itself has secured rather than, as claim 1 recites, the COT that is indicated in the "first control signal" transmitted by the first wireless device. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 does not recite that a “first control signal” indicates any resources. Claim 1 recites only a “second control signal” is “indicating one or more resources within the COT”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
4-4-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477