DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed July 10, 2026 wherein claims 1-12 and 14-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 11 and 12 depend on claim 10 and, therefore, are also rejected.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the curable composition of claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second monomer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou et al (2014, J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 10, 41203, 1-7).
With regards to claim 1, Zou teaches the following monomer:
(page 2).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (CN 113105599).
With regards to claims 1 and 2, Zhou teaches the following monomer:
(page 3) wherein R7 and R8 are hydrogen atoms (page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-12, and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumner et al (2004, Polymer, 45, 5199-5206) in view of Zhou et al (CN 113105599).
With regards to claims 1 and 2, Sumner teaches the following compound:
(page 5202) reading on figure (I).
Sumner does not teach the claimed monomer wherein the variable “n” is 2 to 4.
The disclosure of Zhou is adequately set forth in paragraph 7 above and is herein incorporated by reference. Sumner teaches the motivation for using the monomer to be because it has a wide curing window and self-catalyzing curing behavior and has short curing time (abstract). Sumner and Zhou are analogous in the art of monomers used in curable compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the monomer of Zhou in the composition of Sumner, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claims 4-5 and 21-23, Sumner teaches the above compound to be combined with other monomers and benzoyl peroxide (reading on an initiator) (page 5203) and to have a viscosity of below 1,000 cps (page 5204).
Sumner does not teach the claimed monomer wherein the variable “n” is 2 to 4.
The disclosure of Zhou is adequately set forth in paragraph 7 above and is herein incorporated by reference. Sumner teaches the motivation for using the monomer to be because it has a wide curing window and self-catalyzing curing behavior and has short curing time (abstract). Sumner and Zhou are analogous in the art of monomers used in curable compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the monomer of Zhou in the composition of Sumner, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claim 7, Sumner teaches the amount of the phthalonitrile compound to be 20, 30, or 40% (page 5202).
With regards to claim 8, Sumner teaches the amount of the phthalonitrile compound to be 20% (page 5202).
With regards to claim 9, Sumner teaches the following compound to be added to the phthalonitrile compound:
(page 5203) reading on not containing a phthalonitrile group.
With regards to claims 10 and 11, Sumner teaches the following compound to be added to the phthalonitrile compound:
(page 5203) reading on an aromatic multifunctional vinyl monomer.
With regards to claim 12, Sumner teaches the amount of monomer to be 70% (page 5201).
With regards to claim 13, Sumner teaches the viscosity of the resin to be less than about 1000 cps (reading on less than 1000 mPa·s) (page 5204).
With regards to claim 14, Sumner teaches the phthalonitrile to be 20%, the amount of multifunctional monomer is 70% (page 5201) reading on 90% of polymerizable monomer.
With regards to claim 15, Sumner teaches the amount of carbon atoms to be 52 in a composition having 10 non carbon atoms (page 5203) reading on 83.9%.
With regards to claim 16, Sumner is silent on the use of the composition for a laminate. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the claimed tests are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claims 17 and 19, Sumner is silent on the composition’s thermal degradation temperature. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the thermal degradation temperature are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claims 18 and 20, Sumner teaches the composition to be polymerized with heat (page 5203) however does not teach the use of an imprint template or superstrate in order to impart a pattern to the polymerization. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add an imprint template or superstrate in order to achieve a polymerization pattern or localize the polymerization to specific locations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The art on record does not teach the specifically claimed compounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-12, and 14-23 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) with respect to Sumner et al (2004, 45, 5199-5206) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhou et al (2014, J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 10, 41203, 1-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references also teach the compound Zou et al: Zou et al (2017, Polymer Composites, 1591-1599), Wang et al (10/10/2022, ACS Omega, 7, 37170-37179), Zou et al (2016, J. POlym. Res, 23: 2, 1-9), Jiang et al (2017, High Performance Polymers, Vol 29(9), 1016-1026), and Liu et al (CN 103664699).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763