DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communication received on 9/18/2026. Claims 1-5 and 7-21 have been examined in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 5, 7, 12-13, 15, and 18-20 are acknowledged. Applicant’s addition of new claim 21 is acknowledged. Applicant’s cancellation of claim 6 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
On Remarks pages 12-14, Applicant argues the 101 rejection. In particular Applicant argues Applicant’s amendments, this is not results and instead recite the steps by which the results are reached, and cites paragraphs 0029, 0033, 0091-0092 for support of this argument. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the claims are now 101 eligible.
The argued limitations are as follows:
Access actionable item data from a plurality of software development tools comprising at least a first software development tool and a second software development tool, wherein the actionable item data comprises candidate actionable items originating from at least the first software development tool and the second software development tool, the candidate actionable item comprising disparate data formats, the disparate data formats including at least a first data format of a first candidate actionable item originating from the first software development tool and a second data format, different from the first data format, of a second candidate actionable item originating from the second software development too, and the candidate actionable items including at least one software development work item to be completed;
Generate, from the candidate actionable items comprising the different data formats, a dissimilar aggregate data structure;
Determine, via a machine learning model trained to programmatically determine correlations of the disparate data formats by analyzing the dissimilar data structure, a prioritized actionable item suggestion set based at least in part on the actionable item data, the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprising at least one prioritized actionable item.
Here the above limitations receiving data from different tools in different (disparate) formats, aggregating the different formats by an aggregate data structure, and determining via a model (set of rules), trained (it is noted here trained is so broadly recited it merely recites generating a set of rules based on previous information) to programmatically determine correlations between different data formats by analyzing the aggregated dissimilar data structure, and determining a prioritized item suggestion based on the last one actionable item data. This is part of the abstract idea, as it recites mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities.
The only additional elements are that the tools are “software development” and that the model is “machine learning” merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers.
Specifically here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome in that the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Here the claim limitations attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, therefore does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words apply it. This is the case here the claims recite a result-oriented solution and lack details as to how the computer performs the modifications, which is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Further with respect to the additional elements of machine learning or software development, there are no details about how the machine learning model or software development operates to derive that information other than it being used. The machine learning and software development are used to generally apply the abstract idea without placing any limitation on how the machine or software development learning operates to derive the information. The claim omits any details as to how the machine learning or software development solves a technical problem and instead only recites the idea of a solution or outcome. The claim invokes a generic machine learning model or software development rather than purporting to improve the technology or computers. Further the limitations of software development and machine learning could be considered nothing more than generally linking it to the field of computers. Additionally see for reference USPTO Example 48.
As to Applicant’s arguments that the claims recite the steps by which the result is reached, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as detailed above the vast majority of the argued limitations recite the abstract idea, and the additional elements beyond the abstract idea that the tool is “software development” and the model is “machine learning” merely result in apply it and or generally linking it to the field of computers.
Therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
On Remarks pages 14-16 with respect to the prior art, Applicant argues Applicant’s amendments. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art of Chung is in the field of a collaboration tool to generate user specific natural language relevancy ranking and urgency rankings of notifications (see title and Figure 3B) from multiple sources (see paragraphs 0120-0121). Paragraphs 0120-0121 of Chung teaches a trained predictive model using all previous inputs stored in the collaboration tool which can include software development companies, user inputs associated with a particular product platform like “Apple iOS® software project or Google Android® software product”, different instances of different collaboration tools, which read on the amended first and second software development tools in different formats as broadly claimed. Further in paragraph 0118 Chung teaches this information can be “optionally, normalized, lemmatized, segmented, or otherwise preprocessed” which reads on the amended “dissimilar aggregate data structure” as claimed.
Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per independent claims 15 and 20, Applicant recites as amended trained to programmatically determine correlations of the disparate data formats by analyzing the dissimilar aggregate data structure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation, the dissimilar aggregate data structure, as dissimilar aggregate data structure is not previously recited in the claim. If Applicant were to amend claims 15 and 20 to recite amendments of those found in claim 1 of ”generate, from the candidate actionable items comprising he different data formats, a dissimilar aggregate data structure” before the limitation of trained to programmatically determine correlations of the disparate data formats by analyzing the dissimilar aggregate data structure, the 112 second/b rejection could be withdrawn.
Further claims 16-19 that depend off of claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 21 recite a machine as the claims recite an apparatus with a processor, memory, and computer code performing functions. Claims 15-19 recite a process as the claims recite a method. Claim 20 recites an article of manufacture as the claims recite a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) 1-5 and 7-21 recite(s) collecting data related to project management, analyzing it, displaying prioritized actions or results based on the collection and analysis and additional user actions, and updating that information over time based on feedback.
Collecting data related to project management, analyzing it, displaying prioritized actions or results based on the collection and analysis and additional user actions, and updating that information over time based on feedback as broadly recited in the claims include observations, evaluations, judgments and opinions that can be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper and accordingly the claims recite a mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Further collecting data related to project management, analyzing it, displaying prioritized actions or results based on the collection and analysis and additional user actions, and updating that information over time based on feedback include subject matter relating to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teachings, and following rules or instructions accordingly the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activities(see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activities are in the groupings of enumerated abstracts ideas, and hence the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely recite limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application in that the claims merely recite:
(1) Adding the words “apply it” ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), (2) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), and (3) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Specifically, as recited in the claims:
As per claim 1, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps, specifically of receive a request, access history data including items to be completed where the information is from different development tools and in different formats, aggregating the information in different formats via a dissimilar aggregate data structure, determine a suggestion based on the aggregated data from disparate formats according to a set of a rules (model), generate a prioritized list, output the list or suggestions in response to the request, and update future selections from a set of rules (model) based on feedback as broadly recited in the claims. It is noted it is a certain method of organizing human activity or mental process step to make a model (rules) based on learned or collected information (e.g. trained), as broadly recited in the claims (e.g. the level of abstraction recited). For example when X happens perform Y based on previous data. Or for example when A happens G is the result, based on previous learned data, as broadly recited in the claims. It is a human activity or mental process step to perform this with like or unlike (disparate) data. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that these limitations mental process or certain method of organizing human activities are instead being performed an apparatus of stored software running a processor “ at least one processor, and at least one memory including program code, the at least one memory and the program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least”, interfaces, “programmatically” and by a “computing device” merely results in apply it.
Specifically, here the additional elements invoke computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further the claim’s additional elements recite only the idea of a solution or outcome in that the claim’s additional elements fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Here the additional elements attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, therefore these additional elements do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words apply it. This is the case here as the claim’s additional elements recite a result-oriented solution and lack details as to how the computer performs the modifications, which is equivalent to the words "apply it". Further these additional elements merely result in generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers.
Further additionally, the additional elements that the model doing the calculations/determinations is a “a machine learning model” and that the development are “software development” merely results in further recitation of apply it.
Specifically, here the claim’s additional elements invoke computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further the claim’s additional elements recite only the idea of a solution or outcome in that the claim’s additional elements fail to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Here the claim’s additional elements limitations attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, therefore this does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words apply it. This is the case here the claim’s additional elements recite a result-oriented solution and lack details as to how the computer performs the modifications, which is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Further with respect to the additional elements of machine learning or software development, there are no details about how the machine learning model or software development operates to derive that information other than it generally being used. The claim omits any details as to how the machine learning or software development solves a technical problem and instead only recites the idea of a solution or outcome. The claim invokes a generic machine learning model or software development rather than purporting to improve the technology or computers. Further the limitations of software development and machine learning could be considered nothing more than generally linking it to the field of computers. Additionally see for reference USPTO Example 48.
As per claim 2, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps, specifically prioritizing suggestions based on a project identifier and a team member identifier. This is part of the abstract idea. There are no additional elements beyond those previously discussed above including interface (which results in the same analysis of apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers in claim 1) from which the claim depends.
As per claim 3, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps of specifically querying a repository based on a team member and project identifier, where the repository aggregates data and retrieving one or more candidate actionable items associated with the team and project identifier. For example, looking at records or files based on various identifiers, and then retrieving suggestions based on the query and various identifiers. This is part of the abstract idea. There are no additional elements beyond those previously discussed above including interface and software development (which results in the same analysis of apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers in claim 1) from which the claim depends.
As per claim 4, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps specifically determining suggestions based on results of the query and ranking when there are more than two suggestions and returning the information for display. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that this is done programmatically merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed previously in claim 1.
As per claim 5, given the broad recitation in the claims it is further a mental process or certain method of organizing human activity step to correlate disparate data formats (unlike) from different tools with different operations comprising two or more of build or deployment data, code review data, security vulnerability data, or issue tracking data, as broadly recited in the claims. There is no detail as to how this data is presented or correlated, this could therefore be mere correlation of lists, results, or rules, which is a mental process or certain method of organizing human activity given the broad result-based recitation in the claims. Therefore, this is part of the abstract idea.
The additional element that the tools are “software development” merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computer as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 7, the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes specifically of receiving selection of an element, finding related information according to rules, and outputting the related information with the selected information or more specifically as recited in the claims of receiving a request for information based on a selected prioritized actionable item from a set displayed, identify an action item identifier associated with the item corresponding to the interaction, generate information associated with the actionable item identifier, where the component comprises an actionable item relationship data associated with the action item identifier, where the item was selected for inclusion based one factor including an association of a team member, ownership by the team member of a service associated with the selected item, or a history of the team member having worked on a similar issue, and output the item in associated with the selected item. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that this is performed by software running on a computer and that the display is an interface was previously addressed above in claim 1.
The additional elements that the selection is a “hover” feature and providing information in real time merely results in apply it.
Specifically, here the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further, the claim’s additional elements recites only the idea of a solution or outcome in that the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Here the claim’s additional elements limitations attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, therefore this does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words apply it. This is the case here the claim’s additional elements recite a result-oriented solution and lacked details as to how the computer performs the modifications, which is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Further mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities that instead recite the additional element that the selection is performed by a hover feature and providing information in real time merely results in generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers.
Further this additional elements of a hover feature can be considered additionally or alternatively to be mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception).
As per claim 8, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities of specifically detecting a request in response to a user interaction or request. Specifically one user requesting information from another user. This is part of the abstract idea. The additional elements that this is instead done on an interfaces merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 9, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities of specifically displaying a selectable selection or recommendation on a display and enabling user control of the prioritized actionable item. For example a user can select by for example circling displayed information to request more information from another user like a secretary or employee. This is part of the abstract idea. The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software running on a computer and the display is an interface merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 10, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities of specifically a human could cross out content that they no longer want displayed to them and in the future information brought to them by for example employees or secretaries would no longer include that information. This is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claim.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software running on a computer and the display is an interface merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 11, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities steps of circling back to topics previously stopped or suppressed (for example not interest in at the time) or more specifically as recited in the claims of requesting additional information after deciding the information is no longer relevant and then asking employees or secretaries for example to provide them information on that topic. This is part of the abstract idea. The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software running on a computer and the display is an interface merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 12, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities steps of selecting with an item through interaction on a display and being provided access to information corresponding to the selected information like tool information. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software running on a computer and the display is an interface merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
Further the additional elements that the selection is a “embedded tool link” and that the tool information provided to a user is an access module providing access to a software development tool merely results in apply it. Specifically, here the claim’s additional elements invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g. to receive, store or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Further the claim’s additional elements recite only the idea of a solution or outcome in that the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Here the claim additional element limitations attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, therefore does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words apply it. This is the case here as the claim’s additional elements recite a result-oriented solution and lacked details as to how the computer performed the modifications, which is equivalent to the words "apply it".
Further that these mental process and certain methods of organizing human activities steps instead recite the limitations of the selection is a “embedded tool link” and that the tool information provided to a user is an access module providing access to a software development tool merely results in generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the field of computers.
As per claim 13, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps specifically a human could mark a task complete or finished and update a checklist or have a secretary or employee do such. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software running on a computer, the display is an interface, and the information is received from a “software development tool” merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 14, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps specifically a human could request to see additional information collected by another user like an employee or secretary. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that these limitations are being performed by software running on a computer and the display is an interface merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 15, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps, specifically of receive a request, access history data including items to be completed where the information is from different development tools and in different formats, determine a suggestion based on the aggregated data from disparate formats according to a set of a rules (model) and a dissimilar aggregate data structure, generate a prioritized list, output the list or suggestions in response to the request, and update future selections from a set of rules (model) based on feedback as broadly recited in the claims. It is noted it is a certain method of organizing human activity or mental process step to make a model (rules) based on learned or collected information (e.g. trained), as broadly recited in the claims (e.g. the level of abstraction recited). For example when X happens perform Y based on previous data. Or for example when A happens G is the result, based on previous learned data, as broadly recited in the claims. It is a human activity or mental process step to perform this with like or unlike (disparate) data. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that these mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity limitations instead include the displays being interfaces and being displayed/performed by “a computing device” (see software running on a computer) merely results in apply it and generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
The additional elements that the models that perform the calculations/determinations are a machine learning model and that the tools or environment that provide the information are “software development” merely results in apply and generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 16, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity limitations specifically querying a repository based on a team member and project identifier, where information is aggregated in the repository, and retrieving one or more candidate actionable items with the various identifiers (team member and project identifier). For example looking at records or files, and then retrieving suggestions based on the query and identifiers. This is part of the abstract idea. The additional element of the display being an interface and that information or tools information is software development is addressed above in claim 15 (as resulting in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computer).
As per claim 17, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity limitations specifically determining suggestions based on results of the query and ranking when there are more than two suggestions and returning the information for display. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that this is done programmatically merely results in apply it as previously addressed above in claim 1.
As per claim 18, the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes specifically of receiving selection, finding related information according to rules, and outputting the related information with the selected information or more specifically as recited in the claims of receiving a request for information based on a selected prioritized actionable item from a set displayed, identify an action item identifier associated with the item corresponding to the interaction, generate information associated with the actionable item identifier, where an actionable item relationship data associated with the action item identifier is selected for inclusion based one factor including an association of a team member, ownership by the team member of a service associated with the selected item, or a history of the team member having worked on a similar issue, and output the item in associated with the selected item. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that this is performed by software running on a computer, that the display is an interface and being performed in real time is addressed above in claim 7.
The additional elements that the selection is a “hover” feature and providing information in real time merely results in apply it, generally linking it to the field of computers, and data gathering as detailed above in claim 7.
As per claim 19, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity limitations specifically selecting information to be provided additional information and generating and transmitting information related to the selection where the information can be a tool. Further it is a mental process and certain method of organizing human activity to mark a task complete or finished and update a checklist or have a secretary or employee do such. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements in these limitations that the display is an interface and the tool is software development merely results in apply it or generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 12.
As per claim 20, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps, specifically of receive a request, access history data including items to be completed where the information is from different development tools and in different formats, determine a suggestion based on the aggregated data from disparate formats according to a set of a rules (model) and a dissimilar aggregate data structure, generate a prioritized list, output the list or suggestions in response to the request, and update future selections from a set of rules (model) based on feedback as broadly recited in the claims. It is noted it is a certain method of organizing human activity or mental process step to make a model (rules) based on learned or collected information (e.g. trained), as broadly recited in the claims (e.g. the level of abstraction recited). For example when X happens perform Y based on previous data. Or for example when A happens G is the result, based on previous learned data, as broadly recited in the claims. It is a human activity or mental process step to perform this with like or unlike (disparate) data. This is part of the abstract idea.
The additional elements that these limitations that could be performed by a human or humans are instead being performed by stored software running a processor “a computer program product for outputting a prioritized actionable item insight interface component to a project management user interface, the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code portions stored therein, the computer readable program code portions comprising an executable portion configured to”, the displays being interfaces, and being displayed/performed on “a computing device” merely results in and generally linking it to the field of computers as previously discussed above in claim 1.
The additional elements that the model that do the determinations/calculations is a machine learning model and that the tools “software development” merely results in apply it and generally linking it to the field of computers as discussed above in claim 1.
As per claim 21, the claims recite mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity steps of the prioritized actionable item suggestion set is determined based on at least one factor associated with the candidate actionable items, the one factor comprises at least one of a failure status associated with a build or a deployment, a security vulnerability indicator, a blocked status associated with a candidate actionable item, or a stale feature flag indicator. This is part of the abstract idea as broadly recited in the claims. There are no additional elements beyond those previously addressed above.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims merely recite limitations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (“significantly more”) in that the claims merely recite: (1) Adding the words “apply it” ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), (2) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), and (3) adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), as detailed above with respect to the practical application step.
Further with respect to the (3) adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or mere data gathering, when reconsidered this is merely
(1) Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(d) and Berkheimer Memo). Specifically:
(a) hovering on an interface for selection (See claims 7 and 18)
- Farnsworth et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2009/0287470) paragraph 0042 “accordingly, as is known in the art, the user interface routine 50 may present the original the subject line 92 in a tipstrip, or pop-up, when a user hovers a cursor, or other selection device, over the abbreviated text string 63”
- Baldwin et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0166220) paragraph 0068 “ For example, a clinician 216 may hover a pointer, cursor, or other selection device as is known in the art, over a listed quality measure 420, 426, 428 to reveal a popup window 438”
- Skomra et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2014/0357295) paragraph 0249 “By selecting any individual asset icon displayed on the map, for example, by using a user input selection device such as a mouse ( “clicking”, “hovering”, “double clicking”, etc., as known in the art), a label for the selected asset is shown, which label may be subsequently dismissed by selection of the “X” symbol within the label”
-Parker et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2015/0019569) paragraph 0148 “The user may indicate selection of segment 1807 by any means known to a person of ordinary skill in the art including clicking on segment 1807 using any kind of mouse, hovering over segment 1807 for a predetermined amount of time using any kind of cursor, touching segment 1807 as displayed using any kind of touch screen, gesturing over segment 1807, and the like. In response to receiving the indication that the user has selected segment 1807, visualization system 115 may visually highlight a prediction path from center segment 1801 to selected segment 1807.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 12, 15-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Chung (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2021/0081459)
As per claim 1, Chung teaches An apparatus for outputting a prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see abstract and Figures 3a-3b, Examiner’s note: collaboration tool for which should be acted on first).
to a project management user interface, (see paragraphs 0038-0039, Examiner’s note: project management).
In a multi-resource software development environment (see paragraphs 0078, 0093, 0107, and 0120, Examiner’s note: teaches using many different types of software environment interactions to determine information including click through, hovers, syntactically similar, metadata, dwell time, average scroll speed, time to interaction, number of interactions events with respect to specific content, specific types of companies like software companies, etc.).
the apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including program code, the at least one memory and the program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
detect a prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing prioritized actions to users when the user requests it or accordingly to a determined change).
access actionable item data from a plurality of software development tools, comprising at least a first software development tool and a second software development tool, wherein the actionable item data comprises candidate actionable items originating from at least the first software development tool and the second software development tool, (see paragraphs 0066, 0120, 0148-0150 and Figure 3A, Examiner’s note: Chung teaches this broad limitation as Chung clearly teaches through software aggregating information to provide suggested alerts on a user display of work to be completed for example like immediate attention required (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A), where paragraph 0066 teaches the alert or notification may be reporting a new bug in a software application to a manager of a team responsible for information security. It is further noted in paragraph 0120 the predictive system uses input from various sources including user inputs with a particular content like a software development company, user inputs associated with a particular group for example a particular software development group, or user inputs associated with a particular product like a software project or software product, all of which can be considered the first or second software development tool from which inputs are used in the predictive system).
The candidate actionable items comprising disparate data formats, the disparate data formats including at least a first data format of a first candidate actionable item originating from the first software development tool and a second data format, different from the first data format, of a second candidate actionable item originating from the second software development tool, and the candidate actionable item including at least one software development work item to be completed (see paragraphs 0078, 0093, 0107, and 0120-0121, Examiner’s note: teaches using many different types of software environment interactions to determine information including click through, hovers, syntactically similar, metadata, dwell time, average scroll speed, and time to interaction, These are all different disparate data, as they are not alike. Further teaches number of interactions events with respect to specific content, specific types of companies like software companies, a particular product platform (e.g., Apple iOS® software project or Google Android® software product), different instances of different collaboration tools etc., which would read on different software development tools. This is consistent with Applicant’s specification at paragraphs 0113-0114)).
and including at least one software development item to be completed; (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A, Examiner’s note: further software aggregating information to provide suggested alerts on a user display of work to be completed for example like immediate attention required which reads on the broad “software development work to be completed” (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A)).
Generate, from the candidate actionable items comprising the different data formats, a dissimilar aggregate data structure; (see paragraph 0118, Examiner’s note: teaches data consumed by the predictive model may be normalized, lemmatized, segmented or otherwise preprocessed to determine statistic inferences).
determine, via a machine learning model trained to programmatically determine correlations of the disparate data formats by analyzing the dissimilar aggregate data structure, (see paragraphs 0093, 0112-0114, and 0136, Examiner’s note: predictive model that is trained based on previously received user inputs to provide outputs to users).
a prioritized actionable item suggestion set based at least in part on the actionable item data, the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprising at least one prioritized actionable item; (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing prioritized actions to users when the user requests it or accordingly to a determined change).
generate a prioritized actionable item insight interface component comprising the prioritized actionable item suggestion set; (see paragraphs 0057, 0062, 0149-0150, and 0157, Examiner’s note: teaches ranking actions and providing content based on ranks)
output the prioritized actionable item insight interface component for rendering to a project management user interface of a computing device associated with the prioritized actionable item insight interface component request. (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 0083 and 0150, examiner’s note: can sort by score. Further teaches a client user uses a device).
And refine the machine leaning model based on one or more user feedback data objects received from the computing device, the user feedback data objects generated based on user interaction with the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see paragraph 0113-0117, Examiner’s note: predictive model that is updated or trained based on previous interactions).
As per claim 2, Chung teaches
wherein the prioritized actionable item insight interface component request is associated with a project identifier and a team member identifier (see paragraphs 0066-0067, 0070, 0077-0078, 0092-0093, and 0101, Examiner’s note: teaches providing different information for different users where they can be based on their role in an organization and the projects).
As per claim 3, Chung teaches
wherein accessing the actionable item data from the plurality of software development tools comprises: querying an insight component management repository based on at least the project identifier and the team member identifier, wherein the insight component management repository aggregates data from the plurality of software development tool; and retrieving one or more the candidate actionable items associated with the project identifier and the team member identifier (see paragraphs 0069-0070, 0092-0093, 0107, and 0113-0114, Examiner’s note: teaches querying a database to determine information).
As per claim 4, Chung teaches
wherein determining the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprises :programmatically determining the at least one prioritized actionable item based on an analysis of the one or more candidate actionable items returned by the query;
in an instance wherein the query returns two or more prioritized actionable items, ranking the two or more prioritized actionable items; (see paragraphs 0057, 0062, 0149-0150, and 0157, Examiner’s note: teaches ranking actions and providing content based on ranks)
and generating the prioritized actionable item suggestion set based on the ranked prioritized actionable items. (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 0083 and 0150, examiner’s note: can sort by score. Further teaches a client user uses a device).
As per claim 5, Chung teaches
Wherein the first software development tool is associated with a first software development operation and the second software development tool is associated with a second software development operation different from the first software development operation, and wherein the disparate data formats comprises two or more of built or deployment data ,code review, security vulnerability data, or issue tracking data (see paragraphs 0120 and 0066, Examiner’s note: in paragraph 0120 the predictive system uses input from various sources including user inputs with a particular content like a software development company, user inputs associated with a particular group for example a particular software development group, or user inputs associated with a particular product like a software project or software product, all of which can be considered the first or second software development tool from which inputs are used in the predictive system. Further paragraph 0066 teaches reporting a bug in a software application that relates to user privacy. The above data of software development and a bug in software being reported to a team manager responsible for information security in paragraphs 0120 and 0066 relate to issue tracking and building or deployment data, code review data, security vulnerability thereby meeting the claim as required by the limitation of “two or more of”).
As per claim 8, Chung teaches
wherein detecting the prioritized actionable item insight interface component request is in response to user interaction with the project management user interface (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing action items based on changes in content or user requests).
As per claim 9, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
cause rendering of a selectable insight interface control elements to the project management user interface, wherein the selectable insight interface control elements is configured for enabling user control of the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see paragraphs 0049 and 0148, Examiner’s note: hovering and buttons that if pressed by the users will be provide additional content or context to the user).
As per claim 12, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
detect user interaction with an embedded tool link associated with a selected prioritized actionable item; and generate and transmit an access module to the project management user interface, the access module providing access to a software development tool associated with the selected prioritized actionable item (see paragraph 0049, Examiner’s note: once a user clicks or otherwise interactions with the abbreviated message, additional content of the email message can be shown thereafter the user may interact with the complete content of the message by performing a task in another application or initiating a task in the collaboration tool)
As per claim 15, Chung teaches A method for outputting a prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see abstract and Figures 3a-3b, Examiner’s note: collaboration tool for which should be acted on first).
to a project management user interface (see paragraphs 0038-0039, Examiner’s note: project management).
In a multi-resource software development environment, the method comprising: (see paragraphs 0078, 0093, 0107, and 0120, Examiner’s note: teaches using many different types of software environment interactions to determine information including click through, hovers, syntactically similar, metadata, dwell time, average scroll speed, time to interaction, number of interactions events with respect to specific content, specific types of companies like software companies, etc.).
detecting a prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing prioritized actions to users when the user requests it or accordingly to a determined change).
accessing actionable item data from a plurality of software development tools, comprising at least a first software development tool and a second software development tool, wherein the actionable item data comprises candidate actionable items originating from at least the first software development tool and the second software development tool, (see paragraphs 0066, 0120, 0148-0150 and Figure 3A, Examiner’s note: Chung teaches this broad limitation as Chung clearly teaches through software aggregating information to provide suggested alerts on a user display of work to be completed for example like immediate attention required (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A), and paragraph 0066 teaches the alert or notification may be reporting a new bug in a software application to a manager of a team responsible for information security. It is further noted in paragraph 0120 the predictive system uses input from various sources including user inputs with a particular content like a software development company, user inputs associated with a particular group for example a particular software development group, or user inputs associated with a particular product like a software project or software product, all of which can be considered the first or second software development tool from which inputs are used in the predictive system).
The candidate actionable items comprising disparate data formats, the disparate data formats including at least a first data format of a first candidate actionable item originating from the first software development tool and a second data format, different from the first data format, of a second candidate actionable item originating from the second software development tool ; (see paragraphs 0078, 0093, 0107, and 0120-0121, Examiner’s note: teaches using many different types of software environment interactions to determine information including click through, hovers, syntactically similar, metadata, dwell time, average scroll speed, and time to interaction. These are all different disparate data, as they are not alike. Further teaches number of interactions events with respect to specific content, specific types of companies like software companies, a particular product platform (e.g., Apple iOS® software project or Google Android® software product), different instances of different collaboration tools etc., which would read on software development tools. This is consistent with Applicant’s specification at paragraphs 0113-0114)).
And the candidate actionable items including at least one software development item to be completed (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A, Examiner’s note: further software aggregating information to provide suggested alerts on a user display of work to be completed for example like immediate attention required which reads on the broad “software development work to be completed” (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A).
Determining, via a machine learning model trained to programmatically determine correlations of the disparate data formats by analyzing the dissimilar aggregate data structure (see paragraphs 0113, 0118 and 0136, Examiner’s note: paragraph 0136 teaches machine learning model running on a computer (See paragraph 0136). Paragraph 01118 data consumed by the predictive model may be normalized, lemmatized, segmented or otherwise preprocessed to determine statistic inferences, which reads on the dissimilar aggregate data structure. Further paragraph 0113 teaches the predictive model is trained).
a prioritized actionable item suggestion set based at least in part on the actionable item data, the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprising at least one prioritized actionable item; (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing prioritized actions to users when the user requests it or accordingly to a determined change).
generating a prioritized actionable item insight interface component comprising the prioritized actionable item suggestion set; (see paragraphs 0057, 0062, 0149-0150, and 0157, Examiner’s note: teaches ranking actions and providing content based on ranks)
outputting the prioritized actionable item insight interface component for rendering to a project management user interface of a computing device associated with the prioritized actionable item insight interface component request. (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 0083 and 0150, Examiner’s note: can sort by score. Further teaches a client uses a device).
And refining the machine leaning model based on one or more user feedback data objects received from the computing device, the user feedback data objects generated based on user interaction with the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see paragraph 0113-0117, Examiner’s note: predictive model that is updated or trained based on previous interactions).
As per claim 16, Chung teaches
wherein the prioritized actionable item insight interface component request is associated with a project identifier and a team member identifier, (see paragraphs 0066-0067, 0070, 0077-0078, 0092-0093, 0101, Examiner’s note: teaches providing different information for different users where they can be based on their role in an organization and the projects).
and wherein determining a prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprises: querying an insight component management repository based on at least the project identifier and the team member identifier, wherein the insight component management repository aggregates data from the plurality of software development tools; (see paragraphs 0057, 0062, 0149-0150, and 0157, Examiner’s note: teaches ranking actions and providing content based on ranks)
and retrieving one or more of the candidate actionable items associated with the project identifier and the team member identifier. (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 0083 and 0150, Examiner’s note: can sort by score. Further teaches a client user uses a device).
As per claim 17, Chung teaches
wherein determining the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprises: programmatically determining at least one prioritized actionable item based on an analysis of the one or more candidate actionable items returned by the query; in an instance wherein the query returns two or more prioritized actionable items, ranking the two or more prioritized actionable items; (see paragraphs 0057, 0062, 0149-0150, and 0157, Examiner’s note: teaches ranking actions and providing content based on ranks)
and generating the prioritized actionable item suggestion set based on the ranked prioritized actionable items. (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 0083 and 0150, examiner’s note: can sort by score. Further teaches a client user uses a device).
As per claim 20, Chung teaches A computer program product for outputting a prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see abstract and Figures 3a-3b, Examiner’s note: collaboration tool for which should be acted on first).
to a project management user interface, (see paragraphs 0038-0039, Examiner’s note: project management).
In a multi-resource software development environment (see paragraphs 0078, 0093, 0107, and 0120, Examiner’s note: teaches using many different types of software environment interactions to determine information including click through, hovers, syntactically similar, metadata, dwell time, average scroll speed, time to interaction, number of interactions events with respect to specific content, specific types of companies like software companies, etc.).
the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code portions stored therein, the computer-readable program code portions comprising an executable portion configured to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
Detect a prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing prioritized actions to users when the user requests it or accordingly to a determined change).
access actionable item data from a plurality of software development tools, comprising at least a first software development tool and a second software development tool, wherein the actionable item data comprises candidate actionable items originating from at least the first software development tool and the second software development tool, (see paragraphs 0066, 0120, 0148-0150 and Figure 3A, Examiner’s note: Chung teaches this broad limitation as Chung clearly teaches through software aggregating information to provide suggested alerts on a user display of work to be completed for example like immediate attention required (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A), and further paragraph 0066 teaches the alert or notification may be reporting a new bug in a software application to a manager of a team responsible for information security. It is further noted in paragraph 0120 the predictive system uses input from various sources including user inputs with a particular content like a software development company, user inputs associated with a particular group for example a particular software development group, or user inputs associated with a particular product like a software project or software product, all of which can be considered the first or second software development tool from which inputs are used in the predictive system).
The candidate actionable items comprising disparate data formats, the disparate data formats including at least a first data format of a first candidate actionable item originating from the first software development tool and a second data format, different from the first data format, of a second candidate actionable item originating from the second software development tool, and the candidate actionable items including at least one software development work item to be completed (see paragraphs 0078, 0093, 0107, and 0120-0121, Examiner’s note: teaches using many different types of software environment interactions to determine information including click through, hovers, syntactically similar, metadata, dwell time, average scroll speed, and time to interaction, These are all different disparate data, as they are not alike. Further teaches number of interactions events with respect to specific content, specific types of companies like software companies, a particular product platform (e.g., Apple iOS® software project or Google Android® software product), different instances of different collaboration tools etc, which would read on software development tools. This is consistent with Applicant’s specification at paragraphs 0113-0114)).
and including at least one software development item to be completed; (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A, Examiner’s note: Further software aggregating information to provide suggested alerts on a user display of work to be completed for example like immediate attention required which reads on the broad “software development work to be completed” (see paragraphs 0148-0150 and Figure 3A).
Determine, via a machine learning model, trained to programmatically determine correlations of the disparate data formats by analyzing the dissimilar aggregate data structure, a prioritized actionable item suggestion set based at least in part on the actionable item data, the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprising at least one prioritized actionable item(see paragraphs 0113, 0118 and 0136, Examiner’s note: paragraph 0136 teaches machine learning model running on a computer (See paragraph 0136). Paragraph 01118 teaches data consumed by the predictive model may be normalized, lemmatized, segmented or otherwise preprocessed to determine statistic inferences which reads on the aggregate data structure. Further paragraph 0113 teaches the predictive model is trained).
a prioritized actionable item suggestion set based at least in part on the actionable item data, the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprising at least one prioritized actionable item (see paragraphs 0110-0111, Examiner’s note: providing prioritized actions to users when the user requests it or accordingly to a determined change).
generate a prioritized actionable item insight interface component comprising the prioritized actionable item suggestion set; (see paragraphs 0057, 0062, 0149-0150, and 0157, Examiner’s note: teaches ranking actions and providing content based on ranks)
output the prioritized actionable item insight interface component for rendering to a project management user interface of a computing device associated with the detected prioritized actionable item insight interface component request. (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 0083 and 0150, examiner’s note: can sort by score. Further teaches a client user uses a device).
And refine the machine leaning model based on one or more user feedback data objects received from the computing device, the user feedback data objects generated based on user interaction with the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see paragraph 0113-0117, Examiner’s note: predictive model that is updated or trained based on previous interactions).
As per claim 21, Chung teaches
Wherein the prioritized actionable item suggestion set is determined based at least in part on at least one factor associated with the candidate actionable items, the at least one factor comprising at least one of a failure status associated with a build or a deployment, a security vulnerability indicator, a blocked status associated with the a candidate actionable item, or a stale feature flag indicator (see paragraphs 0067, Examiner’s note: low relevance as a user hasn’t interacted for a threshold period of time with a project (this would read on a blocked status associated with the candidate action item or a stale feature flag indicator, as broadly recited in the claim). It is noted only one of the above is required by the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2021/0081459) further in view of Degrazia (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2022/0020085).
As per claim 7, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: detect a hover user interaction corresponding to a selected prioritized actionable item of the prioritized actionable item suggestion set rendered to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component; (see paragraphs 0048-0049, Examiner’s note: embodiments show a message system where aggregated messages are shown and once the user clicks or otherwise interacts (for example a hover is an alternative option discussed) with the abbreviated message additional content may be shown).
identify an actionable item identifier associated with the selected prioritized actionable item corresponding to the detected hover user interaction; generate an informational interface component associated with the actionable item identifier, wherein the informational interface component comprises an actionable item relationship data object associated with the actionable item identifier, the actionable item relationship data object identifying at least one factor upon which the selected prioritized actionable item was selected for including in the prioritized actionable item suggestion set, the at least one factor comprising at least one of an association with an assigned issue of a team member, an ownership by the team member of a service associated with the selected prioritized actionable item, or a history of the team member having worked on a similar issue; and output the informational interface component for rendering to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component in association with the selected prioritized actionable item (see paragraphs 0148-0149 and Figure 3B, Examiner’s note: providing additional information like that shown in Figure 312 (Fig 3B) in response to a user selection of the abbreviated message, here it is discussed as a click but as described above in paragraphs 0048-0049 it can also be an alternative interaction like a hover. Further shows urgency based on interaction by user, team mgmt., or similarity of work by user, team management etc.).
While Chung clearly teaches providing a content in response to a hover, Chung does not expressly teach this happens in real time.
However, DeGrazia which is in the art of automated predictive information for a user interface (See abstract ) teaches this happens in real time (see paragraph 0074 and Figure 3B, Examiner’s note: teaches generating responses to hover in real time).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung with the aforementioned teachings from DeGrazia with the motivation of providing a common interface element of providing a response to a selection in real time (see DeGrazia paragraph 0074 and Figure 3B), when providing responses to selections on a user interface is known (see Chung paragraph 0047).
As per claim 18, Chung teaches
Further comprising detecting a hover user interaction corresponding to a selected prioritized actionable item of the prioritized actionable item suggestion set rendered to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component; (see paragraphs 0048-0049, Examiner’s note: embodiments show a message system where aggregated messages are shown and once the user clicks or otherwise interacts (for example a hover is an alternative option discussed) with the abbreviated message additional content may be shown).
identifying an actionable item identifier associated with the selected prioritized actionable item corresponding to the detected hover user interaction; generating an informational interface component associated with the actionable item identifier, wherein the informational interface component comprises an actionable item relationship data object associated with the actionable item identifier, the actionable item relationship data object identifying at least one factor upon which the selected prioritized actionable item was selected for including in the prioritized actionable item suggestion set, the at least one factor comprising at least one of an association with an assigned issue of a team member, an ownership by the team member of a service associated with the selected prioritized actionable item, or a history of the team member having worked on a similar issue; and outputting the informational interface component for rendering to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component in association with the selected prioritized actionable item (see paragraphs 0148-0149 and Figure 3B, Examiner’s note: providing additional information like that shown in Figure 312 (Fig 3B) in response to a user selection of the abbreviated message, here it is discussed as a click but as described above in paragraphs 0048-0049 it can also be an alternative interaction like a hover. Further shows urgency based on interaction by user, team mgmt., or similarity of work by user, team management etc.).
While Chung clearly teaches providing a content in response to a hover, Chung does not expressly teach this happens in real time.
However, DeGrazia which is in the art of automated predictive information for a user interface (See abstract ) teaches this happens in real time (see paragraph 0074 and Figure 3B, Examiner’s note: teaches generating responses to hover in real time).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung with the aforementioned teachings from DeGrazia with the motivation of providing a common interface element of providing a response to a selection in real time (see DeGrazia paragraph 0074 and Figure 3B), when providing responses to selections on a user interface is known (see Chung paragraph 0047).
Claim(s) 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2021/0081459) further in view of Singh et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2019/0102719).
As per claim 13, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
Chung does not expressly teach marking a task complete and updating the list based on the completion or more specifically as recited in the claims of receive, from the corresponding software development tool of the plurality of software development tools associated with the selected prioritized actionable item, a completion notification associated with the selected prioritized actionable item indicating that the selected prioritized actionable item has been addressed at the corresponding software development tool, update the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprises removing the selected prioritized actionable item, and cause rendering of the updated prioritized actionable item suggestion set to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component.
However, Singh et al. which is in the art of recommendations (See abstract) teaches marking a task complete and updating the list based on the completion or more specifically as recited in the claims of receive, from the corresponding software development tool of the plurality of software development tools associated with the selected prioritized actionable item, a completion notification associated with the selected prioritized actionable item indicating that the selected prioritized actionable item has been addressed at the corresponding software development tool, update the prioritized actionable item suggestion set comprises removing the selected prioritized actionable item, and cause rendering of the updated prioritized actionable item suggestion set to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see Figure 6D and paragraph 0121, 0145, 0161, Examiner’s note: selection of mark as implemented, or save or later and moving it to another tab (see paragraph 0161 and Figure 6D), further teaches a user can navigate to this software development tool from other tools based on selections (see paragraphs 0121 and 0145).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung with the aforementioned teachings from Singh et al. with the motivation of providing a common interface element of marking an element complete to move it off of a task list and update the list (see Singh et al. Figure 6D and paragraph 0161), when interacting with interface elements to provide information is known (see Chung paragraphs 0049 and 0148)
As per claim 19, Chung teaches
further comprising: detecting user interaction with an embedded tool link associated with a selected prioritized actionable item; generating and transmitting an access module to the project management user interface, the access module providing access to a corresponding software development tool of the plurality of software development tools associated with the selected prioritized actionable item; (see paragraph 0049, Examiner’s note: once a user clicks or otherwise interactions with the abbreviates message, additional content of the email message can be shown thereafter the user may interact with the complete content of the message by performing a task in another application or initiating a task in the collaboration tool)
Chung does not expressly teach marking a task complete and updating the list based on the completion or more specifically as recited in the claims of receiving from the corresponding software development tool of the plurality of software development tools associated with the selected prioritized actionable items, a completion notification associated with the selected prioritized actionable item indicating that the selected prioritized actionable item has been addressed at the corresponding software development tool; updating the prioritized actionable item suggestion set, wherein updating the prioritized actionable suggestion set comprises removing the selected prioritized actionable item; and rendering the updated prioritized actionable item suggestion set to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component.
However, Singh et al. which is in the art of recommendations (See abstract) teaches marking a task complete and updating the list based on the completion or more specifically as recited in the claims of receiving from the corresponding software development tool of the plurality of software development tools associated with the selected prioritized actionable items, a completion notification associated with the selected prioritized actionable item indicating that the selected prioritized actionable item has been addressed at the corresponding software development tool; updating the prioritized actionable item suggestion set, wherein updating the prioritized actionable suggestion set comprises removing the selected prioritized actionable item; and rendering the updated prioritized actionable item suggestion set to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see Figure 6D and paragraph 0121, 0145, 0161, Examiner’s note: selection of mark as implemented, or save or later and moving it to another tab (see paragraph 0161 and Figure 6D), further teaches a user can navigate to this software development tool from other tools based on selections (see paragraphs 0121 and 0145).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung with the aforementioned teachings from Singh et al. with the motivation of providing a common interface element of marking an element complete to move it off of a task list and update the list (see Singh et al. Figure 6D and paragraph 0161), when interacting with interface elements to provide information is known (see Chung paragraphs 0049 and 0148)
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2021/0081459) further in view of Olson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2011/0066955).
As per claim 10, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
Detect a prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; and perform corresponding actions (see paragraphs 0049 and 0148, Examiner’s note: hovering and buttons that if pressed by the users will be provide additional content or context to the user).
Chung does not expressly teach cancelling out or stopping a recommendation or more specifically as recited in the claims detect a suppress prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; and cause stopping of the rendering of the prioritized actionable item insight interface component.
However, Olsen et al. which is in the art of project management (see paragraphs 0016-0017) teaches detect a suppress prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; and cause stopping of the rendering of the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see paragraph 0053 and corresponding Figures 3-4, Examiner’s note: teaches using expand and collapse buttons to view parts of the project).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung with the aforementioned teachings from Olsen et al. with the motivation of using common interface elements to expand or collapse project management information from view (see Olsen paragraphs 0016-0014, 0053, and Figures 3-4), when allowing a user to interact with an interface to review additional information is known (see Chung paragraphs 0049 and 0148).
As per claim 11, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
detect an expand prioritized actionable item insight interface component request; and cause rendering of the prioritized actionable item insight interface component. (see paragraphs 0049 and 0148, Examiner’s note: hovering and buttons that if pressed by the users will be provide additional content or context to the user).
Chung does not expressly teach cancelling out or stopping recommended content element or more specifically as recited in the claims subsequent to causing stopping of the rendering of the prioritized actionable item insight interface component
However, Olsen et al. which is in the art of project management (see paragraphs 0016-0017) cancelling out or stopping recommended content element or more specifically as recited in the claims subsequent to causing stopping of the rendering of the prioritized actionable item insight interface component(see paragraph 0053 and corresponding Figures 3-4, Examiner’s note: teaches using expand and collapse buttons to view parts of the project).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung in view of Olsen et al. with the aforementioned teachings from Olsen et al. with the motivation of using common interface elements to expand or collapse project management information from view (see Olsen paragraphs 0016-0014, 0053, and Figures 3-4), when allowing a user to interact with an interface to review additional information is known (see Chung paragraphs 0049 and 0148).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2021/0081459) further in view of Cheng et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2019/0197364).
As per claim 14, Chung teaches
wherein the program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: (see paragraph 0017-0018, Examiner’s note: software stored in a medium running on a computer).
Chung does not expressly teach a show more feature by for example a button or more specifically as recited in the claims detect a show more prioritized actionable items request; and cause rendering of additional prioritized actionable items of the prioritized actionable item suggestion set to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component.
However, Cheng et al. which is in the art of interfaces and suggestions (see abstract and paragraphs 0122 and 0125) teaches a show more feature by for example a button or more specifically as recited in the claims detect a show more prioritized actionable items request; and cause rendering of additional prioritized actionable items of the prioritized actionable item suggestion set to the prioritized actionable item insight interface component (see paragraph 0125 and Figure 5, Examiner’s note: showing more information button).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chung with the aforementioned teachings from Cheng et al. with the motivation of providing a common interface element of providing additional information beyond the top suggestions (see Cheng et al. paragraphs 0125 and Figure 5), when allowing a user to interact with an interface is known (See Chung paragraphs 0147-0149)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wilde et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2022/0343258) teaches a system and interface for tracking and aggregating projects (see abstract)
Ansar et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2023/0289729) teaches a system for managing a mega project on an interface (see abstract and Figures 5-7)
Bezemer et al. (United States Patent Application Publication Number: US 2010/0153160) teaches providing a coherent view of a large set of disparate event related information for an organization related based on machine learning. This information can be from emails, meeting agenda and meeting minutes for example (see paragraph 0045 and Figures 11a-11b)
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIERSTEN V SUMMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626