CTNF 18/478,311 CTNF 95678 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023 and 03/14/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 109148744 A-as cited in the IDS) . Regarding claim 1 , Guan discloses a battery module, comprising: A battery unit comprising a least one cell, wherein each cell comprises a first tab and a second tab having opposite polarities (Figure 1; battery 1 having a positive and negative lug 10/20); and A conductive unit comprising a first conductive member wherein the first conductive member is electrically connected with one of the first tab (Figure 1; conductive block 40 that is connected to the tab by the electrode conductor 4), Wherein the first conductive member are configured to be in conductive contact with the second tab through the swelling of the at least one tab (Figure 6; [56] pouch swelling to bring the battery shell in contact with the conductive block). Guan is silent with respect to wherein the conductive unit has a second conductive block that is connected to the second tab and wherein the second conductive block is spaced apart from the first conductive member, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to duplicate the battery cells and conductive block 40 such that a second conductive block 40 is provided and connected to the other electrode tab as a simple duplication of parts. The resulting structure has a stack of battery having multiple conductive blocks in which the conductive blocks are connected to one of the electrode tabs and when swelling occurs the conductive members are electrically contacted within one another to cause shorting of the battery cell. Thus all the claim limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious through the modification of claim 1. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza , 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Regarding claim 2 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Guan further discloses wherein a resistance of the first conductive member is R1, a resistance of the second conductive member is R2, and 10 m Ohm ≤ R1+ R2 ≤ 10 Ohms ([54] resistance between the lugs and connection to the wires of 4/5 is between 0.1-100 ohms and thus through the modification of claim 1 both conductive members can have the same resistance and thus can be between 0.2-200 ohms). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Regarding claim 3 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Guan further discloses wherein the first conductive member comprises a first resistance part and a first connection part, and the first resistance part is connected with the one of the first tab through the first connection part (Figure 1; conductive block read as the resistance part; positive and negative connection wires 4/5 are read as the connection part that connects the conductive blocks to the tabs). Regarding claim 4 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 3. Guan further discloses wherein the second conductive member comprises a second resistance part and a second connection part, and the second resistance part is connected with the one of the second tab through the second connection part (Figure 1; conductive block read as the resistance part; positive and negative connection wires 4/5 are read as the connection part that connects the conductive blocks to the tabs). Regarding claim 5 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Guan further discloses wherein the at least one cell comprises at least two cells (see modification of claim 1 as a plurality of battery cells can be provided), the conductive unit is arranged between two adjacent cells (through the modification of claim 1 and 5 multiple cells and conductive blocks are provided and thus can be provided between adjacent cells). Guan is silent with respect to wherein a projection of the first conductive member in the thickness direction and a projection of the second conductive member in the thickness direction at least partially overlap. It would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the connection wires 4/5 of Guan such that a projection of the connection wires partially overlap in a thickness direction. The modification is a simple rearrangement of the connection wires to overlap in a thickness direction while being connected to the conductive block and electrode terminals. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 5. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Regarding claim 6 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Modified Guan further discloses wherein the at least one cell comprises a first cell, a second cell and a third cell, the first cell is arranged adjacent to the second cell and the third cell is arranged adjacent to the second cell (see modification of claim 1 as multiple cells can be used to form an electrode stack); Guan is silent with respect to wherein the battery module comprises a third connection part and a fourth connection part electrically connected to the third connection part; and the specific configuration of the first and second conductive member and the third and fourth connection parts. The number and location of connection parts can be adjusted based on the number of battery cells in order to electrically connect stacked battery cells to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to duplication the connection parts to obtain a third and fourth connection parts and further to rearrange the connection parts such that the connection parts can be arranged between different layers of the stacked electrode as a simple duplication and rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza , 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The resulting structure would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 6. Regarding claim 7 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Guan further discloses a housing accommodating the battery unit (Figure 1-2; shell 2 reading as the housing). Regarding claim 8 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 7. Guan is silent with respect to wherein the battery module comprises a third connection part and a fourth connection part electrically connected to the third connection part; and the specific configuration of the first and second conductive member and the third and fourth connection parts. The number and location of connection parts can be adjusted based on the number of battery cells in order to electrically connect stacked battery cells to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to duplication the connection parts to obtain a third and fourth connection parts and further to rearrange the connection parts such that the connection parts can be arranged between different layers of the stacked electrode as a simple duplication and rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza , 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The resulting structure would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 8. Regarding claim 9 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 7. Modified Guan further discloses wherein the at least one cell comprises at least two cells (see modification of claim 1 as multiple cells can be used to form an electrode stack); Guan is silent with respect to wherein the battery module comprises a third connection part and a fourth connection part electrically connected to the third connection part; and the specific configuration of the first and second conductive member and the third and fourth connection parts. The number and location of connection parts can be adjusted based on the number of battery cells in order to electrically connect stacked battery cells to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to duplication the connection parts to obtain a third and fourth connection parts and further to rearrange the connection parts such that the connection parts can be arranged between different layers of the stacked electrode as a simple duplication and rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza , 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The resulting structure would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 9. Regarding claim 10 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 6. Modified Guan further discloses wherein the third connection part and the fourth connection parts are integrally formed (Claim 3 wherein the connection wires and the conductive blocks can be integrally formed; thus through the combination the third and fourth connection parts can be integrally formed with each other, see modification of claim 1). Regarding claim 11 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 7. Modified Guan further discloses wherein the first conductive member and the second conductive member are arranged between the battery unit and the housing and stacked along the thickness direction (see modification of claims 1 and 7 as the first and second conductive blocks can be located between the battery unit and housing in the thickness direction and can be rearranged to be between different layers within the battery housing). Regarding claim 14 , Guan discloses an electronic device comprising a battery module, wherein the battery module comprises ([4] portable electronic device such as a phone): A battery unit comprising a least one cell, wherein each cell comprises a first tab and a second tab having opposite polarities (Figure 1; battery 1 having a positive and negative lug 10/20); and A conductive unit comprising a first conductive member wherein the first conductive member is electrically connected with one of the first tab (Figure 1; conductive block 40 that is connected to the tab by the electrode conductor 4), Wherein the first conductive member are configured to be in conductive contact with the second tab through the swelling of the at least one tab (Figure 6; [56] pouch swelling to bring the battery shell in contact with the conductive block). Guan is silent with respect to wherein the conductive unit has a second conductive block that is connected to the second tab and wherein the second conductive block is spaced apart from the first conductive member, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to duplicate the battery cells and conductive block 40 such that a second conductive block 40 is provided and connected to the other electrode tab as a simple duplication of parts. The resulting structure has a stack of battery having multiple conductive blocks in which the conductive blocks are connected to one of the electrode tabs and when swelling occurs the conductive members are electrically contacted within one another to cause shorting of the battery cell. Thus all the claim limitations of claim 14 are rendered obvious through the modification of claim 14. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza , 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Regarding claim 15 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Guan further discloses wherein a resistance of the first conductive member is R1, a resistance of the second conductive member is R2, and 10 m Ohm ≤ R1+ R2 ≤ 10 Ohms ([54] resistance between the lugs and connection to the wires of 4/5 is between 0.1-100 ohms and thus through the modification of claim 14 both conductive members can have the same resistance and thus can be between 0.2-200 ohms). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Regarding claim 16 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Guan further discloses wherein the first conductive member comprises a first resistance part and a first connection part, and the first resistance part is connected with the one of the first tab through the first connection part (Figure 1; conductive block read as the resistance part; positive and negative connection wires 4/5 are read as the connection part that connects the conductive blocks to the tabs). Regarding claim 17 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 16. Guan further discloses wherein the second conductive member comprises a second resistance part and a second connection part, and the second resistance part is connected with the one of the second tab through the second connection part (Figure 1; conductive block read as the resistance part; positive and negative connection wires 4/5 are read as the connection part that connects the conductive blocks to the tabs). Regarding claim 18 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Guan further discloses wherein the at least one cell comprises at least two cells (see modification of claim 14 as a plurality of battery cells can be provided), the conductive unit is arranged between two adjacent cells (through the modification of claim 14 and 18 multiple cells and conductive blocks are provided and thus can be provided between adjacent cells). Guan is silent with respect to wherein a projection of the first conductive member in the thickness direction and a projection of the second conductive member in the thickness direction at least partially overlap. It would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the connection wires 4/5 of Guan such that a projection of the connection wires partially overlap in a thickness direction. The modification is a simple rearrangement of the connection wires to overlap in a thickness direction while being connected to the conductive block and electrode terminals. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 18. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Regarding claim 19 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Modified Guan further discloses wherein the at least one cell comprises a first cell, a second cell and a third cell, the first cell is arranged adjacent to the second cell and the third cell is arranged adjacent to the second cell (see modification of claim 14 as multiple cells can be used to form an electrode stack); Guan is silent with respect to wherein the battery module comprises a third connection part and a fourth connection part electrically connected to the third connection part; and the specific configuration of the first and second conductive member and the third and fourth connection parts. The number and location of connection parts can be adjusted based on the number of battery cells in order to electrically connect stacked battery cells to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to duplication the connection parts to obtain a third and fourth connection parts and further to rearrange the connection parts such that the connection parts can be arranged between different layers of the stacked electrode as a simple duplication and rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza , 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The resulting structure would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 19 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 109148744 A-as cited in the IDS) as applied to claim s 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Meintschel (US 2011/0035934 A1) . Regarding claim 12 and 20, modified Guan teaches all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 14. Guan is silent with respect to wherein a projection of the first conductive member in the thickness direction and a projection of the second conductive member in the thickness direction at least partially overlap. It would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the connection wires 4/5 of Guan such that a projection of the connection wires partially overlap in a thickness direction. The modification is a simple rearrangement of the connection wires to overlap in a thickness direction while being connected to the conductive block and electrode terminals. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Additionally, Guan is silent with respect to a support member wherein the support member has an annular projection that at least contains a part of the first and second projections. Meintschel discloses a method for producing an individual cell for a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Meintschel discloses wherein the electrode stack has a peripheral frame 4 that surrounds the electrode stack in order to connect the elements together and achieve a high stability of connection between the battery housing and frame and electrode assembly (Figure 1; [0034-0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the frame member of Meintschel within the battery stack of Guan such that the conductive blocks and electrode are stacked and held within the frame of Meintschel for forming a secured connection that will connect the battery components together as taught by Meintschel. The resulting structure would read on the claim limitations of claims 12 and 20 as the support member has an annular projection that would contain at least part of the projection of the first and second conductive members. Thus claims 12 and 20 are rendered obvious through the combination of Guan and Meintschel. Regarding claim 13 , modified Guan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 12. Guan further discloses wherein the first conductive member and the second conductive member is connected with a surface of one of the two adjacent cells (Figure 1; see modification of claim 1 as a plurality of stacked cells can be obtained with the conductive members between adjacent cells) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shen (CN 203085696 U-as cited in the IDS) - discloses a lithium ion battery having protection components within the stacked battery. Wu (CN 2727978 Y-as cited in the IDS)- discloses a lithium ion battery having conductive strips with resistance that are provided to sauce shorting of the cell when the cell is deformed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Adam J Francis whose telephone number is (571)272-1021. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th: 7 am-4 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Martin can be reached at (571)270-7871. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 2 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 3 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 4 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 5 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 6 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 7 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 8 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 9 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 10 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 11 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 12 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 13 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/478,311 Page 14 Art Unit: 1728