DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/377,594, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Provisional application 63/377,594 fails to disclose the subject matter of claims 9-12 and 17-18 regarding the tray storage mounts. Accordingly, claims 9-12 and 17-18 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyers et al. (2008/0053751) hereinafter Meyers.
Meyers discloses:
Claim 1: A ladder system comprising:
a ladder including a first ladder unit (Fig. 5; 11A), a second ladder unit (Fig. 5; 11B), and a mode-changing hinge (Fig. 5; 40) interconnecting the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit (Fig. 5; 11A and 11B are interconnected by 40), the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit each coupled to the mode-changing hinge for pivotable movement relative to one another about a hinge pivot axis to change the ladder from a step-ladder mode (Fig. 5; Para. [0036]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit extend upwardly away from underlying ground and toward one another to form an included angle therebetween, and a straight-ladder mode (Fig. 4; Para. [0036]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit are arranged along a substantially straight line such that one of the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit is supported above the underlying ground when the ladder is leaned against a structure (Fig. 4; Para. [0036]),
a tray (Fig. 1; 10) configured to be attached to the first ladder unit (Fig. 5; 10 is attached to 11A) or the second ladder unit (Fig. 4; 10 is attached to 11B), and
a mode-independent attachment unit (Fig. 7; 54) configured to provide mount means for detachably coupling the tray to a step (Fig. 1; 14, Para. [0029]) included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit to fix the tray relative to the ladder in a horizontal orientation substantially parallel to the underlying ground and along either of a forward side or a rearward side of the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit when the ladder is in the step-ladder mode or the straight-ladder mode so that the tray can be relocated along the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit and can extend forwardly or rearwardly to support items in a desired position for use when the ladder is in either of the step-ladder mode and the straight-ladder mode (Fig. 4-5; Para. [0029]).
Claim 2: The ladder system of claim 1, wherein the mode-independent attachment unit includes a hanger hook (Fig. 9; see detail) fixed to the tray and a retainer latch (Fig. 9; see detail) movable relative to the hanger hook and the tray between a normally locked position in which at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced from the hanger hook a first distance and configured to block movement of the tray relative to the ladder and a release position in which the at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced a second distance from the hanger hook in response to upward pivoting movement of the tray relative to the ladder (Fig. 9; Para. [0043]).
Claim 3: The ladder system of claim 2, wherein the mode-independent attachment unit further includes biasing means (Fig. 9; 64/66) configured to urge the retainer latch toward the hanger hook to the normally locked position (Fig. 9; 64/66, Para. [0043]).
Claim 4: The ladder system of claim 2, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a first catch (Fig. 9; see detail) and a second catch (Fig. 9; see detail, Para. [0043]), the first catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode and the second catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode (Fig. 8; Para. [0043]).
Claim 5: The ladder system of claim 4, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a third catch (Fig. 9; see detail) and a fourth catch (Fig. 9; see detail, once the second ladder unit is inverted, as shown in Fig. 4, 94 lower becomes the upper catch), the third catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode and the fourth catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode (Fig. 9; see detail).
Claim 6: The ladder system of claim 4, wherein the hanger hook includes a hanger mount (Fig. 9; see detail) coupled to the tray, a hanger body (Fig. 9; see detail) extending downwardly from the hanger mount and toward the retainer latch (Fig. 9; see detail), and a hanger point (Fig. 9; 78) coupled to a distal end of the hanger body that engages the first catch (Fig. 9; via the retainer latch) while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode.
Claim 7: The ladder system of claim 4, wherein the retainer latch includes a latch body (Fig. 9; see detail) extending downwardly from the tray and a retainer tip (Fig. 9; end portion of the latch body where the second cam surface is formed) extending from the latch body toward the hanger hook, the retainer tip having a first cam surface (Fig. 9; see detail) and a second cam surface (Fig. 9; see detail) that each engage the step (Fig. 9; 20) and a latch point (Fig. 9; 62) formed at a convergence of the first cam surface and the second cam surface (Fig. 9; see detail).
Claim 8: The ladder system of claim 7, wherein the first cam surface faces away from the tray (Fig. 9; the first cam surface is angled away from the tray) and the second cam surface faces toward the tray (Fig. 9; the second cam surface is angled toward the tray), the first cam surface engages the step during installation of the tray onto the step to cause the retainer latch to move away from the hanger hook in response to a downward movement of the tray and the second cam surface engages the step to block movement of the tray relative to the step once the tray is installed (Fig. 9; Para. [0039-0040]).
Claim 21: A ladder system comprising:
a ladder including a first ladder unit (Fig. 5; 11A), a second ladder unit (Fig. 5; 11B), and a mode-changing hinge (Fig. 5; 40) interconnecting the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit (Fig. 5; 11A and 11B are interconnected by 40), the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit each coupled to the mode-changing hinge for pivotable movement relative to one another about a hinge pivot axis to change the ladder from a step-ladder mode (Fig. 5; Para. [0036]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit extend upwardly away from underlying ground and toward one another to form an included angle therebetween, and a straight-ladder mode (Fig. 4; Para. [0036]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit are arranged along a substantially straight line such that one of the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit is supported above the underlying ground when the ladder is leaned against a structure (Fig. 4; Para. [0036]),
a tray (Fig. 1; 10) configured to be attached to the first ladder unit (Fig. 5; 10 is attached to 11A) or the second ladder unit (Fig. 4; 10 is attached to 11B), and
a mode-independent attachment unit (Fig. 7; 54) configured to detachably couple the tray to a step (Fig. 1; 14, Para. [0029]) included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit to fix the tray relative to the ladder in a horizontal orientation substantially parallel to the underlying ground when the ladder is in the step-ladder mode or the straight-ladder mode so that the tray can be relocated along the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit in a desired position for use when the ladder is in either of the step-ladder mode and the straight- ladder mode (Fig. 4-5; Para. [0029]), the mode-independent attachment unit including a hanger hook (Fig. 9; see detail) fixed to the tray and a retainer latch (Fig. 9; see detail) movable relative to the hanger hook and the tray between a normally locked position in which at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced from the hanger hook a first distance and configured to block movement of the tray relative to the ladder and a release position in which the at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced a second distance from the hanger hook in response to upward pivoting movement of the tray relative to the ladder (Fig. 9; Para. [0043]).
Claim 22: The ladder system of claim 21, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance such that the at least a portion of the retainer latch moves away from the hanger hook while the retainer latch is in the release position (Fig. 9; Para. [0043]).
Claim 23: The ladder system of claim 22, wherein the mode-independent attachment unit further includes biasing means (Fig. 9; 64/66) configured to urge the retainer latch toward the hanger hook to the normally locked position (Fig. 9; 64/66, Para. [0043]).
Claim 24: The ladder system of claim 21, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a first catch (Fig. 9; see detail) and a second catch (Fig. 9; see detail), the first catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode and the second catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode (Fig. 9; Para. [0043]).
Claim 25: The ladder system of claim 24, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a third catch (Fig. 9; see detail) and a fourth catch (Fig. 9; see detail, once the second ladder unit is inverted, as shown in Fig. 4, 94 lower becomes the upper catch), the third catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode and the fourth catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode (Fig. 9; see detail).
Claim 26: The ladder system of claim 21, wherein the hanger hook includes a hanger mount (Fig. 9; see detail) fixed to the tray, a hanger body (Fig. 9; see detail) extending downwardly from the hanger mount and toward the retainer latch (Fig. 9; see detail), and a hanger point (Fig. 9; 78) coupled to a distal end of the hanger body that engages the step.
Claim 27: The ladder system of claim 21, wherein the retainer latch includes a latch body (Fig. 9; see detail) extending downwardly from the tray and a retainer tip (Fig. 9; end portion of the latch body where the second cam surface is formed) extending from the latch body toward the hanger hook, the retainer tip having a first cam surface (Fig. 9; see detail) and a second cam surface (Fig. 9; see detail) that each engage the step (Fig. 9; 20) and a latch point (Fig. 9; 62) formed at a convergence of the first cam surface and the second cam surface (Fig. 9; see detail).
Claim 28: The ladder system of claim 27, wherein the first cam surface faces away from the tray (Fig. 9; the first cam surface is angled away from the tray) and the second cam surface faces toward the tray (Fig. 9; the second cam surface is angled toward the tray), the first cam surface engages the step during installation of the tray onto the step to cause the retainer latch to pivot away from the hanger hook about a latch-pivot axis in response to a downward movement of the tray and the second cam surface engages the step to block movement of the tray relative to the step once the tray is installed (Fig. 9; Para. [0039-0040]).
Claims 1-2, 4 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Russell et al. (2022/0243532) hereinafter Russell.
Russell discloses:
Claim 1: A ladder system comprising:
a ladder including a first ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102), a second ladder unit (Fig. 1; 114), and a mode-changing hinge (Fig. 1; 126) interconnecting the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102 and 114 are interconnected by 126), the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit each coupled to the mode-changing hinge for pivotable movement relative to one another about a hinge pivot axis to change the ladder from a step-ladder mode (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit extend upwardly away from underlying ground and toward one another to form an included angle therebetween, and a straight-ladder mode (Fig. 11; Para. [0050]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit are arranged along a substantially straight line such that one of the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit is supported above the underlying ground when the ladder is leaned against a structure (Fig. 11; Para. [0050]),
a tray (Fig. 5; 150) configured to be attached to the first ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102) or the second ladder unit (Fig. 1; 114), and
a mode-independent attachment unit (Fig. 5; 172 with 174) configured to provide mount means for detachably coupling the tray to a step (Fig. 5; 106, Para. [0058]) included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit to fix the tray relative to the ladder in a horizontal orientation substantially parallel to the underlying ground and along either of a forward side or a rearward side of the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit when the ladder is in the step-ladder mode or the straight-ladder mode so that the tray can be relocated along the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit and can extend forwardly or rearwardly to support items in a desired position for use when the ladder is in either of the step-ladder mode and the straight-ladder mode (Fig. 1 & 11; Para. [0060]).
Claim 2: The ladder system of claim 1, wherein the mode-independent attachment unit includes a hanger hook (Fig. 6; 174) fixed to the tray and a retainer latch (Fig. 6; 172) movable relative to the hanger hook and the tray between a normally locked position in which at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced from the hanger hook a first distance and configured to block movement of the tray relative to the ladder and a release position in which the at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced a second distance from the hanger hook in response to upward pivoting movement of the tray relative to the ladder (Fig. 6; by way of 172 elastically deflecting away from 106, Para. [0060]).
Claim 4: The ladder system of claim 2, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a first catch (Fig. 6; 164A) and a second catch (Fig. 6; 164B), the first catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode and the second catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode (Fig. 6; Para. [0061]).
Claim 13: A ladder system comprising:
a ladder including a first ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102), a second ladder unit (Fig. 1; 114), and a mode-changing hinge (Fig. 1; 126) interconnecting the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102 and 114 are interconnected by 126), the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit each coupled to the mode-changing hinge for pivotable movement relative to one another about a hinge pivot axis to change the ladder from a step-ladder mode (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit extend upwardly away from underlying ground and toward one another to form an included angle therebetween, and a straight-ladder mode (Fig. 11; Para. [0050]), in which the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit are arranged along a substantially straight line such that one of the first ladder unit and the second ladder unit is supported above the underlying ground when the ladder is leaned against a structure (Fig. 11; Para. [0050]),
a tray (Fig. 5; 150) configured to be attached to the first ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102) or the second ladder unit (Fig. 1; 114), and
a mode-independent attachment unit (Fig. 5; 172 with 174) configured to provide mount means for attaching the tray to a step (Fig. 5; 106, Para. [0058]) included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode and the step-ladder mode and for detaching the tray from the step using only one hand while a user is supported above the underlying ground by the ladder so that the user can grip the ladder with their other hand and reattach the tray to any other step of the ladder with only one hand and while maintaining grip with their other hand on the ladder (Fig. 1 & 11; Para. [0060]).
Claim 14: The ladder system of claim 13, wherein the mode-independent attachment unit includes a hanger hook (Fig. 6; 174) coupled to the tray and a retainer latch (Fig. 6; 172) movable relative to the hanger hook and the tray between a normally locked position in which at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced from the hanger hook a first distance and configured to block movement of the tray relative to the ladder and a release position in which the at least a portion of the retainer latch is spaced a second distance from the hanger hook in response to upward pivoting movement of the tray relative to the ladder (Fig. 6; by way of 172 elastically deflecting away from 106, Para. [0060]).
Claim 15: The ladder system of claim 14, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a first catch (Fig. 6; 164A) and a second catch (Fig. 6; 164B), the first catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode and the second catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the step-ladder mode (Fig. 6; Para. [0061]).
Claim 16: The ladder system of claim 15, wherein the step included in the first ladder unit or the second ladder unit includes a third catch (Fig. 6; see detail) and a fourth catch, the third catch engages the hanger hook while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode and the fourth catch engages the retainer latch while the ladder is in the straight-ladder mode (Fig. 6; see detail, once the second ladder unit is inverted, as shown in Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell et al. (2022/0243532) hereinafter Russell, in view of Wernberg et al. (2024/0151107).
Claim 9: Russell discloses the ladder system of claim 4, wherein the tray includes a tray base (Fig. 6; 176), a tray rim (Fig. 3; see detail) coupled to a perimeter of the tray base and extending upwardly from the tray base (Fig. 3; see detail),
Russell fails to disclose a tray storage mount coupled with the tray rim, the tray base being configured to lie in a horizontal orientation while attached to the step and supporting items in a tray- use mode and being configured to lie in a vertical orientation between two neighboring steps in a tray-storage mode.
However, Wernberg discloses a tray storage mount (Fig. 17; 230) allowing the tray base to be configured to lie in a horizontal orientation while attached to the step and supporting items in a tray- use mode (Fig. 18) and being configured to lie in a vertical orientation between two neighboring steps in a tray-storage mode (Fig. 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tray of Russell to include the tray storage mount, as taught by Wernberg, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the tray to be stowed away when not being used and prevent the tray from being lost.
Thus, in combination Russell and Wernberg disclose tray storage mount, of Wernberg, coupled with the tray rim, of Russell, the tray base, of Russell, being configured to lie in a horizontal orientation while attached to the step and supporting items in a tray- use mode and being configured to lie in a vertical orientation between two neighboring steps in a tray-storage mode, as disclosed by Wernberg.
Claim 10: Russell and Wernberg disclose the ladder system of claim 9, wherein the tray rim includes a first side wall (Russell - Fig. 3; see detail) and a second side wall opposite the first side wall (Russell - Fig. 8), and wherein the tray storage mount includes a first rung mount (Wernberg - Fig. 17; 230 upper) coupled with and extending away from the first side wall of the tray rim (Russell - Fig. 3; see detail) and a second rung mount (Wernberg - Fig. 17; 230 lower) coupled with and extending away from the second side wall of the tray rim (Russell - Fig. 3; see detail), at least one of the first rung mount and the second rung mount (Wernberg - Fig. 17; 230 upper/lower) engaging the first catch or the second catch (Russell - Fig. 6; 164A/B) to retain the tray to the ladder while the tray is in the tray-storage mode (once Russell is modified by Wernberg the rung mounts of Wernberg would engage the catches of Russell as shown in Fig. 17 of Wernberg) .
Claim 11: Russell discloses the ladder system of claim 9, wherein the first ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102) includes a first set of ladder supports (Fig. 1; 104 left and right) and corresponding first steps (Fig. 1; 106) interconnecting the first set of ladder supports and a second set of ladder supports (Fig. 2; 108 left and right) and corresponding second steps (Fig. 1; 110) interconnecting the second set of ladder supports, the second set of ladder supports coupled to the first set of ladder supports for slidable movement relative to the first set of ladder supports to change the first ladder unit from a retracted configuration (Fig. 1; Para. [0044]), in which first braces (Fig. 1; 132, Para. [0053]) of the first set of ladder supports and second braces (Fig. 1; 132, Para. [0053]) of the second set of ladder supports engage the underlying ground (Fig. 1; Para. [0053]), and an extended configuration, in which the second set of ladder supports slides downwardly relative to the first set of ladder supports such that the second braces of the second set of ladder supports engages the underlying ground and the first braces of the first set of ladder supports are above the underlying ground to increase a height of the first ladder unit (Fig. 1; Para. [0048]).
Claim 12: Russell and Wernberg disclose the ladder system of claim 11, wherein the second set of ladder supports (Russell - Fig. 2; 108 left and right) is slidable relative to the first set of ladder supports (Russell – Para. [0048]) while the tray is in the tray- storage mode (Wernberg - Fig. 17; Para. [0059]).
Claim 17: Russell discloses the ladder system of claim 13, wherein the tray includes a tray base (Fig. 6; 176), a tray rim (Fig. 3; see detail) coupled to a perimeter of the tray base and extending upwardly from the tray base (Fig. 3; see detail), but fails to disclose a tray storage mount coupled with the tray rim, the tray base being configured to lie in a horizontal orientation while attached to the step and supporting items in a tray-use mode and being configured to lie in a vertical orientation between two neighboring steps in a tray-storage mode.
However, Wernberg discloses a tray storage mount (Fig. 17; 230) allowing the tray base to be configured to lie in a horizontal orientation while attached to the step and supporting items in a tray- use mode (Fig. 18) and being configured to lie in a vertical orientation between two neighboring steps in a tray-storage mode (Fig. 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tray of Russell to include the tray storage mount, as taught by Wernberg, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the tray to be stowed away when not being used and prevent the tray from being lost.
Thus, in combination Russell and Wernberg disclose tray storage mount, of Wernberg, coupled with the tray rim, of Russell, the tray base, of Russell, being configured to lie in a horizontal orientation while attached to the step and supporting items in a tray- use mode and being configured to lie in a vertical orientation between two neighboring steps in a tray-storage mode, as disclosed by Wernberg.
Claim 18: Russell and Wernberg disclose the ladder system of claim 17, wherein the tray rim includes a first side wall (Russell - Fig. 3; see detail) and a second side wall opposite the first side wall (Russell - Fig. 8), and wherein the tray storage mount includes a first rung mount (Wernberg - Fig. 17; 230 upper) coupled with and extending away from the first side wall of the tray rim (Russell - Fig. 3; see detail) and a second rung mount (Wernberg - Fig. 17; 230 lower) coupled with and extending away from the second side wall of the tray rim (Russell - Fig. 3; see detail), at least one of the first rung mount and the second rung mount (Wernberg - Fig. 17; 230 upper/lower) being arranged to engage the step (Russell - Fig. 6; 106) to retain the tray to the ladder while the tray is in the tray-storage mode (once Russell is modified by Wernberg the rung mounts of Wernberg would engage the catches of Russell as shown in Fig. 17 of Wernberg).
Claim 19: Russell discloses the ladder system of claim 18, wherein the first ladder unit (Fig. 1; 102) includes a first set of ladder supports (Fig. 1; 104 left and right) and corresponding first steps (Fig. 1; 106) interconnecting the first set of ladder supports and a second set of ladder supports (Fig. 2; 108 left and right) and corresponding second steps (Fig. 1; 110) interconnecting the second set of ladder supports, the second set of ladder supports coupled to the first set of ladder supports for slidable movement relative to the first set of ladder supports to change the first ladder unit from a retracted configuration (Fig. 1; Para. [0044]), in which first braces (Fig. 1; 132, Para. [0053]) of the first set of ladder supports and second braces (Fig. 1; 132, Para. [0053]) of the second set of ladder supports engage the underlying ground (Fig. 1; Para. [0053]), and an extended configuration, in which the second set of ladder supports slides downwardly relative to the first set of ladder supports such that the second braces of the second set of ladder supports engages the underlying ground and the first braces of the first set of ladder supports are above the underlying ground to increase a height of the first ladder unit (Fig. 1; Para. [0048]).
Claim 20: Russell and Wernberg disclose the ladder system of claim 19, wherein the second set of ladder supports (Russell - Fig. 2; 108 left and right) is slidable relative to the first set of ladder supports (Russell – Para. [0048]) while the tray is attached to any step included in the first steps (Wernberg - Fig. 17; Para. [0059]).
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635