DETAILED ACTION
Accordingly claims 1 and 7-8 has been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No new claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-17 remains pending in this application. It also includes remarks and arguments.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In [0025], it recites “power circuit 30” which should be rewritten as “power circuit 130” to be consistent with the drawing figure 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites “redistribute, in response to the indication, at least a portion of a load of the first power circuit to a second power circuit of the plurality of power circuits”. In the specification of [see US 2025/0112470 and 0001], it discloses computing devices can have multiple power sources, such as battery, plugged in etc.…., and use other various voltage regulators and other power circuits for delivery power from the power sources to components as needed. In the specification [see 0023], it discloses that the power circuit 130 in Fig. 1, can correspond to any power delivery network and/or circuit thereof, such as one or more voltage regulators and in some implementations power circuit 130 can observe and communicate with control circuit 112, such as report on its own load condition, for instance to report when it enters a low efficiency state. In the specification [see 007], it discloses after detecting and indicating the power circuit is in a low efficiency state to the control circuit, that the control circuit can consolidate loads, such that the power circuit, in its low efficiency state is not used by selecting another power circuit that is appropriate to power the respective load. However, the claim does not recite that the device comprises any component (s) or load (s) receiving any power from any of the plurality power circuits. It is understood by the examiner that the plurality of power circuit can include any power delivering network and/or circuit thereof, such one or more voltage regulator (s) to deliver power from any power source to the component (s) or load (s) as needed. Therefore, it is unclear how the first power circuit including any power delivery network and/or circuit thereof, such as one or more voltage regulator that supplies power to the load has at least a portion of a load and/or reports on its own load condition to the control circuit 112? In other words, how does the plurality of power circuit include or have at least a portion of a load or does the at least a portion of the first power circuit corresponds to when the first power circuit enters a low efficient state or when the control circuit selects another power circuit that is appropriate for the respective load consuming power, e.g. disabling the first power circuit? Further, in the specification [see 0029], the power circuit can enter a low efficiency state as a total load of increases [e.g. load 236A and 236B] increases and an efficiency of the power circuit decreases, for example the loads exceeding an upper threshold. The control circuit can redistribute at least a portion of the load, e.g. 236B of power circuit 230A such that the load is below the upper load threshold. Further, it is not clear to the examiner what at least a portion of a load of the first power circuit is referring too? Does the portion of the load refer to limiting or reducing at least one of a current, voltage or power amount of the respective load? Does it refer to actually switching off or disabling the respective power circuit that has been detected in a low efficiency state and selecting another power circuit to provide power to the respective load? The claim recites in response to when the first power circuit has detected that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state, it redistribute at least a portion of a load of the first power circuit to a second power circuit of the plurality of power circuit so that would cause the first power circuit to remain in an even lower efficiency state than before when it detected the first a low efficiency state of the first power circuit? Therefore for the purpose of examination the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood to recite a control circuit, a plurality of power circuit (which may include) a load and redistributing at least a portion of the load to another load of some sort based on the load demand.
Claim 16, recites “switch the load of the first power circuit to the second power circuit”. In the specification [see 0023], it discloses that the power circuit 130 in Fig. 1, can correspond to any power delivery network and/or circuit thereof, such as one or more voltage regulators. It is understood by the examiner that the plurality of power circuit can include any power delivering network and/or circuit thereof, such one or more voltage regulator (s) to deliver power from any power source to the component (s) or load (s) as needed. Therefore, it is unclear how the first power circuit including any power delivery network and/or circuit thereof, such as one or more voltage regulator that supplies power to the load also includes a load. In other words, how does the first power circuit comprise a load? It is understood that the first power circuit is configured to supply power to a load, wherein the first power circuit is coupled to the load as recited in claim 8. Therefore, it’s unclear what the load of the first power circuit is referring too in the respective claim. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because the claims are dependent upon base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Farkas et al. (US 2005/0071092).
Regarding claim 1, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2, 3 and 4] discloses a device [see power system 100 in Fig. 1 corresponding to the device] comprising:
a control circuit [see load manager 160 corresponding to the control circuit, see 0021-0022] configured to:
receive, from a first power circuit of a plurality of power circuits, an indication that the first power circuit has detected that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state [such that the load manager 160 receives measurement data by one or more of the sensors 312 in Fig. 3 within the power system 100. The sensors 312 may include power measurement circuits, such as current and/or voltage measuring circuits. The measurement data includes the load demand on the power system components. The load manager 160 determines from the sensor data whether the load demands on one or more of the power system components need to be balanced based on the indication of failure or insufficient power provided within the respective power system component, see 0002, 0017, and 0031-0034. The power system components of the power system 100, includes utility grid 110, auxiliary batteries 114, generators, UPS130a-130d, PDU 140a-140f, the circuits 1-4, and sensors 312 in Fig. 3, all of which corresponds to the plurality of power circuits which includes a first and second power circuit, see 0017-0019, 0031. The indication of failure within one or more power system components or insufficient power provided by the one or more power system components corresponds to an indication that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state. The indication of failure or insufficient power provided by one or more power system components has been detected by the respective power system component (s) include sensors 312 in Fig. 3 which is included in the power system components that corresponds to the first power circuit for measuring the load demand on the power system components, for example the sensor data may include power measurement circuits such as current and/or voltage measuring circuits. The load manager 160 detects a failure of power system components which include sensor 312 in Fig. 3 of the power system 100, such that the failure detection may be based on the sensor data 314 received from the power system components 310 of the power system 100 shown in Fig. 2. The power system components 310 corresponding to the first power circuit includes sensors 312, see 0031 and 0041]; and
redistribute, in response to the indication, at least a portion of a load of the first power circuit to a second power circuit of the plurality of power circuits [such if the primary power source, for example power utility grid 110 within the power system 100 fails or sufficient power is not being provided by the primary source, the transfer switch 120 supplies power to the power system from the alternative energy source(s), such as generators 112 and/or batteries 114, so in other words if one of the redundant power system components fails or lacks sufficient power for the respective load, the other power system components can support the entire load (s) demand (s) by either reducing its loading or increasing its loading by either increasing or reducing current draw from the power system components, or switching power sources within the power system to support the entire load demand of the respective load(s), see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032 and Fig. 2A. This corresponds to the redistributing, in response to the indication, at least a portion of the first power circuit to a second power circuit of the plurality of power circuits.].
Regarding claim 2, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: the indication is in response to detecting the load exceeding an upper load threshold [see 0037 and 0044]; and the control circuit [see load manager 160] is configured to redistribute at least the portion of the load of the first power circuit by: selecting the second power circuit based on matching voltage rails [e.g. channel outputs of the respective PDS that distribute power to the respective loads] with the first power circuit [see 0017, 0020-0022,0024-0032]; enabling the second power circuit [such as switching the source of power to redundant power system component that supplies power to the respective load when the primary source of power or circuit has failed or insufficient power is provided by the primary source of power. Switching from one power source or circuit to an alternate power source or circuit corresponds to enabling the second power circuit, see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032]; and switching at least the portion of the load of the first power circuit to the second power circuit [such if the primary power source, for example power utility grid 110 within the power system 100 fails or sufficient power is not being provided by the primary source, the transfer switch 120 supplies power to the power system from the alternative energy source(s), such as generators 112 and/or batteries 114, so in other words if one of the redundant power system components fails or lacks sufficient power for the respective load, the other power system components can support the entire load (s) demand (s) by either reducing its loading or increasing its loading by either increasing or reducing current draw from the power system components, or switching power sources within the power system to support the entire load demand of the respective load(s), see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032, 0042-0044 and Fig. 2A. This corresponds to switching at least the portion of the load of the first power circuit to the second power circuit].
Regarding claim 3, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device
of claim 2, wherein the control circuit [see load manager 60 in Fig. 1] is further configured to select the second power circuit from disabled power circuits of the plurality of power circuits [such that the redundant power component or circuit in the power system is not connected to the respective load until the load manager switches the power source from the primary power source to the alternative power source via either the transfer switch or PUTS 340. After the switching, the redundant power component or circuit is used to provide to the respective load when the primary power source has failed or provides lack of sufficient power to the respective load, and see 0021-0025, 0030,0038-0039 and 0042-0044].
Regarding claim 4, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2, 4 and 7] discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the first power circuit corresponds to an always-on power circuit configured to communicate via network interface with the control circuit [see such that power may be drawn from the power utility grid 100 as needed, for example, if the alternative energy sources cannot meet the load demand. Therefore, the first power circuit which includes alternative energy sources corresponds to an always-on power circuit configured to communicate via network interface [see 724 in Fig. 7] with the load manager 160 in Fig. 1 [see 0017, 0031-0034, and 0052].
Regarding claim 5, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the upper load threshold is dynamically determined [see 0034 and 0037].
Regarding claim 6, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the upper load threshold is predetermined [see 0034 and 0037].
Regarding claim 7, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: the indication is in response to a current output of the first power circuit falling below a current threshold [see 0031, 0037 and 0043]; and the control circuit [see load manager 60 in Fig. 1] is configured to redistribute at least the portion of the load of the first power circuit by: switching the load via transfer switch 120 in Fig. 1 or PUTS 340 switch in Fig. 4 of the first power circuit to the second power circuit [such if the primary power source, for example power utility grid 110 within the power system 100 fails or sufficient power is not being provided by the primary source, the transfer switch 120 supplies power to the power system from the alternative energy source(s), such as generators 112 and/or batteries 114, so in other words if one of the redundant power system components fails or lacks sufficient power for the respective load, the other power system components can support the entire load (s) demand (s) by either reducing its loading or increasing its loading by either increasing or reducing current draw from the power system components, or switching power sources within the power system to support the entire load demand of the respective load(s), see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032, 0042-0044 and Fig. 2A. This corresponds to the control circuit is configured to redistribute at least the portion of the load of the first power circuit by switching the load of the first power circuit to the second power circuit, and disabling the first power circuit].
Regarding claim 8, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses a system [see power system 100 in Fig. 1 corresponding to system] comprising:
a plurality of power circuits configured to supply to supply power to a load, wherein at least a first power circuit of the plurality of power circuits is coupled to the load [such that power system components of the power system 100, includes utility grid 110, auxiliary batteries 114, generators, UPS130a-130d, PDU 140a-140f, and sensors 312 in Fig. 3 all of which corresponds to the plurality of power circuits is coupled to the respective computing systems 150a-150i which are loads in the power system 100, see 0017-0019] and is configured to: detect that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state; and send, in response to the detection, an indication that the first power circuit is in the low efficiency state [such that the load manager 160 receives measurement data by one or more of the sensors 312 in Fig. 3 within the power system 100. The measurement data includes the load demand on the power system components, such as current and/or voltage. The load manager 160 determines from the sensor data whether the load demands on one or more of the power system components need to be balanced based on the indication of failure or insufficient power provided within the respective power system component, see 0002, 0017, and 0031-0034. The indication of failure within one or more power system components or insufficient power provided by the one or more power system components corresponds to an indication that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state. The indication of failure or insufficient power provided by one or more power system components is detected within the respective power system component (s) which may include sensors 312 in Fig. 3 for measuring the load demand on the power system components, for example the sensor data may include power measurement circuits such as current and/or voltage measuring circuits. The load manager may detect failure of one of the power system components using the sensor data and perform load balancing, see 0002, 0017, 0031-0034.]; and
a control circuit [see load manager 160 corresponding to the control circuit, see 0021-0022] configured to: receive, from the first power circuit of a plurality of power circuits, an indication that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state; select, based on the indication, a second power circuit of the plurality of power circuits; and switch at least a portion of the load coupled to the first power circuit to the second power circuit [such that the load manager 160 receives measurement data by one or more of the sensors 312 in Fig. 3 within the power system 100. The measurement data includes the load demand on the power system components, such as current and/or voltage. The load manager 160 determines from the sensor data whether the load demands on one or more of the power system components need to be balanced based on the indication of failure or insufficient power provided within the respective power system component, see 0002, 0017, and 0031-0034. Further, if the primary power source, for example power utility grid 110 within the power system 100 fails or sufficient power is not being provided by the primary source, the transfer switch 120 supplies power to the power system from the alternative energy source(s), such as generators 112 and/or batteries 114, so in other words if one of the redundant power system components fails or lacks sufficient power for the respective load, the other power system components can support the entire load (s) demand (s) by either reducing its loading or increasing its loading by either increasing or reducing current draw from the power system components, or switching power sources within the power system to support the entire load demand of the respective load(s). These two load sharing techniques are performed by the load manager 160 in Fig. 1 to select or switch one or more redundant power components to support the load demand, see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032 and Fig. 2A. This corresponds to select, based on the indication, a second power circuit of the plurality of power circuits, and switch at least a portion of the load coupled to the first power circuit to the second power circuit, see 0022 and 0024].
Regarding claim 9, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the control circuit [see load manager 60 in Fig. 1] is configured to select the second power circuit based on matching voltage rails [e.g. channel outputs of the respective PDS that distribute power to the respective loads] of the first and second power circuits [such that the load manager 160 in Fig. 1 may perform two load sharing techniques which selects or switch one or more redundant power components to support the load demand, see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032 and Fig. 2A, see 0022 and 0024].
Regarding claim 10, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the system of claim 8, further comprising at least one switch [see transfer switch 120 in Fig. 1 and/or load transfer switch PUTS 340 in Fig. 4] for switching the load between the first and second power circuits [see 0017 and 0038-0039].
Regarding claim 12, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the first power circuit is configured to send the indication in response to detecting the load exceeding an upper load threshold [such that the load manager 160 receives measurement data by one or more of the sensors 312 in Fig. 3 within the power system 100. The measurement data includes the load demand on the power system components, such as current and/or voltage. The load manager 160 determines from the sensor data whether the load demands on one or more of the power system components need to be balanced based on the indication of failure or insufficient power provided within the respective power system component, see 0002, 0017, and 0031-0034. The power system components of the power system 100, includes utility grid 110, auxiliary batteries 114, generators, UPS130a-130d, PDU 140a-140f and sensors 312 in Fig. 3, see 0031-0034. Further, the load demand on the power system components may be associated a load exceeding an upper threshold, see 0037].
Regarding claim 13, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the system of claim 8, the system of claim 12, wherein the control circuit is configured to: select the second power circuit from disabled power circuits of the plurality of power circuits; and enable the second power circuit [see load manager 60 in Fig. 1] is further configured to select the second power circuit from disabled power circuits of the plurality of power circuits [such that the redundant power component or circuit in the power system is not connected to the respective load until the load manager switches the power source from the primary power source to the alternative power source via either the transfer switch or PUTS 340. After the switching, the redundant power component or circuit is used to provide to the respective load when the primary power source has failed or provides lack of sufficient power to the respective load, and see 0021-0025, 0030,0038-0039 and 0042-0044].
Regarding claim 14, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the upper load threshold is dynamically determined [see 0034 and 0037].
Regarding claim 15, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the upper load threshold is predetermined [see 0034 and 0037].
Regarding claim 16, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 8, wherein: the first power circuit is configured to send the indication is in response to detecting that a current output of the first power circuit is below a current threshold; and the control circuit [see load manager 60 in Fig. 1 and 0021-0022] is configured to redistribute at least the portion of the load of the first circuit by: switching the load via transfer switch 120 in Fig. 1 and/or PUTS 340 switch in Fig. 4 of the first power circuit to the second power circuit; and disabling the first power circuit [such if the primary power source, for example power utility grid 110 within the power system 100 fails or sufficient power is not being provided by the primary source, the transfer switch 120 supplies power to the power system from the alternative energy source(s), such as generators 112 and/or batteries 114, so in other words if one of the redundant power system components fails or lacks sufficient power for the respective load, the other power system components can support the entire load (s) demand (s) by either reducing its loading or increasing its loading by either increasing or reducing current draw from the power system components, or switching power sources within the power system to support the entire load demand of the respective load(s), see 0017, 0020-0022, 0024-0032, 0042-0044 and Fig. 2A. This corresponds to the control circuit is further configured to switch the load of the first power circuit to the second power circuit, and disabling the first power circuit].
Regarding claim 17, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the current threshold is dynamically determined or predetermined [see 0034 and 0037].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farkas et al. (US 2005/0071092).
Regarding claim 11, Farkas et al. in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses the system of claim 10, except for wherein the at least one switch [transfer switch 120 in Fig. 1 and/or PUTS 340 switch in Fig. 4 of and 0038-0039] corresponds to a multiplexer.
However, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to modify the switch as taught by Farkas et al. with an well-known multiplexer type switch in the prior art in order to provide a much faster digital control and system optimization that saves on cost, space and power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argues that Farkas does not disclose “receive, from a first power circuit of the plurality of power circuits, an indication that the first power circuit has detected that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state’ with respect to claim 1. However, the examiner does not agree with the Applicants assessment. Applicants cited para. [0023], which discloses that the power circuit 130 correspond to any power delivery network and/or circuit thereof, such as one or more voltage regulators. Further, the para. [0023] discloses that in some implementations, power circuit 130 can observe and communicate with control circuit 112, such as report on its own load conditions to control circuit, for instance to report when it enters a low efficiency state. Applicant’s also cited para. [0027] which discloses after detecting that the current output is below the threshold, power circuit can send an indication of being in the low efficiency state to the control circuit. However, it is not clearly stated or shown in these paragraphs cited or in other parts of the specification and drawing figures that the means for detecting the current output threshold for the power circuit which indicates the low efficiency state is part of the power circuit 130 itself. In other words, the sensor means for the current threshold indicating the low efficiently state could be a separate component that isn’t part of the power circuit so the power circuit wouldn’t actually detect and report its own low efficiently state to the control circuit. Further, the examiner will like to point out that its not novel having a power circuit detect its own condition, for example a low efficiency state. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to form integral structures in various elements, such as the power circuit and means for sensing the current output threshold, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Further, Farkas discloses that the load manager 160 corresponding to the control circuit receives measurement data by one or more of the sensors 312 in Fig. 3 within the power system 100. The load manager 160 determines from the sensor data whether the load demands on one or more of the power system components need to be balanced based on the indication of failure or insufficient power provided within the respective power system component, see 0002, 0017, and 0031-0034. The power system components of the power system 100, includes utility grid 110, auxiliary batteries 114, generators, UPS130a-130d, PDU 140a-140f, the circuits 1-4, and sensors 312 in Fig. 3, all of which corresponds to the plurality of power circuits which includes a first power circuit, see 0017-0019 and 0031. The indication of failure within one or more power system components or insufficient power provided by the one or more power system components corresponds to an indication that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state, see 0002, 0017, 0031-0034 and 0041. The indication of failure or insufficient power provided by one or more power system components has been detected by the respective power system component (s) include sensors 312 in Fig. 3 that corresponds to the first power circuit for measuring the load demand on the power system components. For example, the sensor data may include power measurement circuits such as current and/or voltage measuring circuits. The load manager 160 detects a failure of power system components which include sensor 312 in Fig. 3 of the power system 100, such that the failure detection may be based on the sensor data 314 received from the power system components 310 of the power system 100 shown in Fig. 2. The power system components 310 corresponding to the first power circuit includes sensors 312, see 0031 and 0041.
Applicants argues that Farkas does not disclose “at least a first power circuit of the plurality of power circuits is coupled to the load and is configured to detect that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state, and send, in response to the detection, an indication that the first power circuit is in the low efficiency state” with respect to claim 8. However, the examiner does not agree with the Applicants assessment. Farkas in [Figs. 1, 2A, 2 and 4] discloses a system [see power system 100 in Fig. 1 corresponding to system] comprising: power system components of the power system 100, includes utility grid 110, auxiliary batteries 114, generators, UPS130a-130d, PDU 140a-140f, and sensors 312 in Fig. 3 all of which corresponds to the plurality of power circuits is coupled to the respective computing systems 150a-150i which are loads in the power system 100, see 0017-0019]. Further, Farkas discloses that the load manager 160 corresponding to the control circuit receives measurement data by one or more of the sensors 312 in Fig. 3 within the power system 100. The measurement data includes the load demand on the power system components, such as current and/or voltage. The load manager 160 determines from the sensor data whether the load demands on one or more of the power system components need to be balanced based on the indication of failure or insufficient power provided within the respective power system component, see 0002, 0017, and 0031-0034. The indication of failure within one or more power system components or insufficient power provided by the one or more power system components corresponds to an indication that the first power circuit is in a low efficiency state. The indication of failure or insufficient power provided by one or more power system components is detected within the respective power system component (s) which may include sensors 312 in Fig. 3 for measuring the load demand on the power system components, for example the sensor data may include power measurement circuits such as current and/or voltage measuring circuits. The load manager may detect failure of one of the power system components using the sensor data and perform load balancing, see 0002, 0017, 0031-0034. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRENCE R WILLOUGHBY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 3/20/26
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836