DETAILED ACTION
It is noted that this is a supplemental Office Action to correct a typographical error in the labeling of elements in the figure associated with claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 12, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the substantially cylindrical chamber” found in line 4. It is noted that the claim previously recites a substantially cylindrical housing but fails to disclose the housing has a chamber. For examination purposes the limitation is being interpreted as referring to the substantially cylindrical housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 11-12, 14, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kandasamy (US 2022/0281005).
In reference to claim 1, Kandasamy discloses a die assembly configured for use in a forward extrusion stir extrusion system, the die assembly comprising
a die piece (1200) comprising
a first cylindrical portion (1280) having a first radius [see figure 22],
a second portion (1240) having a second radius, the second radius being larger than the first radius [see figure 22], and
a sloped portion (1260) extending from the first cylindrical portion to the second portion, wherein the sloped portion comprises a sloped surface extending from the first radius to the second radius,
wherein the first cylindrical portion, the second portion and the sloped portion area each coaxially disposed about a rotational axis, and
wherein at least a portion of the sloped surface is a textured surface [see figure 23 & paragraph 0150; it is noted that textured surface is being interpreted as a surface that is not smooth thus the fins, threads, steps, nubs, buttons and/or protrusions on the surface meets the limitation of being a textured surface].
In reference to claim 5, Kandasamy further discloses the textured surface comprises grooves (slots) and or spiral scroll engravements (i.e. threads) [see paragraph 0150].
In reference to claim 6, Kandasamy discloses a die assembly configured to use in a forward friction stir extrusion system, the die assembly comprising
a die piece (1400) comprising an interior wall defining a chamber disposed about a rotational axis [see figure 22],
wherein the die piece comprises:
a first end and a second end opposite and axially spaced apart from the first end,
a first opening having a first radius toward the first end, and
a second opening having a second radius towards the second end,
wherein the first radius is larger than the second radius [see figure below], and
wherein at least a portion of the interior wall defines a sloped surface within the chamber, the sloped surface extending inward from the first radius to the second radius, and wherein at least a portion of the sloped surface is a textured surface [see paragraph 0151; cavity (i.e. chamber) can having features such as fins, flutes, threads, steps, nubs, buttons and/or protrusions].
In reference to claim 7, Kandasamy further discloses an extrusion member (1200) configured to contact a feedstock material (1122, 1142, 1700), wherein the extrusion member is configured to axially move the feed material from the first end of the die piece towards the second end of the die piece [see paragraph 0112].
In reference to claim 8, Kandasamy further discloses the extrusion member (1200) is configured to rotate about the rotational axis, the extrusion member is configured to move axially relative to the die piece, and rotation of the extrusion member and axial displacement of the extrusion member relative to the die piece is configured to cause the feedstock material to extrude through the second opening [see figure 23].
In reference to claim 11, Kandasamy discloses a die assembly configured for use in a backward friction stir extrusion system, the die assembly comprising
a die piece (1200) comprising
a first end and a second end opposite and spaced apart from the first end,
a cylindrical portion disposed towards the first end, and
a sloped portion disposed proximal to the second end [see figure below],
wherein the cylindrical portion and the sloped portion are coaxially positioned about a rotational axis,
wherein the sloped portion defines a sloped surface extending from a first radius towards the first end to a second radius towards the second end,
wherein the first radius is larger than the second radius, and
wherein at least a portion of the sloped surface is a texture surface [see paragraph 0150; conical frustum shape can have geometrical and/or mechanical features such as fins, flutes, slots, threads, steps, nubs, buttons, and/or protrusions].
In reference to claim 12, Kandasamy further discloses an extrusion member (1400) defining a substantially cylindrical housing having an interior wall and an opening,
wherein the substantially cylindrical housing is configured to receive the die piece and a feedstock material, and
wherein the feedstock material is configured to be disposed between the die piece and the interior wall of the substantially cylindrical housing [see figure 13].
In reference to claim 14, Kandasamy further discloses the textured surface comprises grooves (slots) and or spiral scroll engravements (i.e. threads) [see paragraph 0150].
In reference to claim 16, Kandasamy discloses a die assembly configured for use in a backward friction stir extrusion system, the die assembly comprising
a die piece (1400) comprising
a first end and a second end opposite and spaced apart from the first end,
a hollow cylindrical portion disposed towards the first end, and
a funnel portion disposed proximal the second end [see figure below],
wherein the hollow cylindrical portion and the funnel portion are coaxially disposed about a rotational axis,
the funnel portion having a first opening having a first radius at the second end and a second opening having a second radius towards the first end,
wherein the first radius is larger than the second radius [see figure below],
wherein the funnel portion defines a sloped surface extending inwards from the first radius at the first opening to the second radius at the second opening, and
wherein at least a portion of the sloped surface is a textured surface [see paragraph 0151; cavity (i.e. chamber) can having features such as fins, flutes, threads, steps, nubs, buttons and/or protrusions]
In reference to claim 19, Kandasamy further discloses the textured surface comprises grooves (slots) and or spiral scroll engravements (i.e. threads) [see paragraph 0151].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandasamy in view of Eller et al (US 2021/0252632).
In reference to claim 13, Kandasamy further discloses the need to provide cooling cycles to the die piece (1200) and/or extrusion member (1400) in order to avoid excessive wear due to continuous exposure to high temperatures and/or contact forces.
Kandasamy discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein thermal channels are provided to remove thermal energy (i.e. cooling).
However, Eller et al teaches of an extrusion member is provided with thermal channels (136) for the purpose of removing heat from within the chamber [see paragraph 0050].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extrusion member of Kandasamy with cooling channels, as taught by Eller et al, to remove heat and thereby avoid excessive wear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9-10, 15, 17-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725