DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of species I corresponding to figure 12 and directed to claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 10/03/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that there is no patentably distinct species present in the claims 1-20. The examiner acknowledge the claims 1-20 read on the elected species illustrated in figure 12 and examine these claims on the merits.
However, the examiner maintains that the species illustrated in figures 1-2, 4, 8 and 12 are patentably distinct for the following reasons.
Each figure represents a structural and/or functionally distinct configuration of the drift sense circuit and/or driver calibration controller, For example:
Figures 1-2 depict a configuration where the drift sense circuit includes a different arrangement or type of reference component (e.g., switch controller, test circuit, driver circuit and load).
Figure 4 illustrate a current sensing circuit is integral (130B) to the drift sense and a feedback loop or calibration path not present in Figure 12.
Figure 8 include additional circuitry and a current sensing circuit (130C) that are absent in the elected species.
Figure 12 as elected appears to implement a specific calibration resistor arrangement that’s not present in the other figures.
These differences are not mere design choices but reflect distinct technical implementations that would not be obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the species are not considered obvious variants of each other and are patentably distinct under MPEP §806.04(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson et al. (US 2020/0393529 and Larson hereinafter) in view of Cesaretti (US 10107873).
Regarding claim 1, Larson discloses a system [fig. 4] comprising: a drift sense circuit [HALL sensor 210] having an input terminal [internal input 210], an output terminal [terminal 228/224], and a ground terminal [internal ground in 210]; and a drift calibration controller [460] coupled to the output terminal of the drift sense circuit, the drift calibration controller configured to: obtain a sense signal [224/228] responsive to an input voltage [voltage input to 210] applied to the input terminal; determine a drift result [using 470] of the resistor responsive to the sense signal [par. 0030-0035]; and update a control operation [using 440] responsive to the drift result [par. 0040-0046]. Larson does not explicitly disclose the drift sense circuit including: a resistor having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the resistor coupled to the input terminal; and a reference component having a first terminal and a second terminal, the second terminal of the reference component coupled to the ground terminal.
However, Cesaretti disclose a drift sense circuit [Hall sensor/100, fig. 1] including: a resistor [104] having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the resistor coupled to an input terminal [102]; and a reference component [106] having a first terminal and a second terminal, the second terminal of the reference component coupled to the ground terminal [112]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Larson by resistor in the sensor as taught in Cesaretti in order to use well known drift Hall sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Larson in view of Cesaretti [fig. 1] discloses wherein the second terminal of the resistor is coupled to the output terminal [114, fig. 1] and to the first terminal of the reference component.
Regarding claim 3, Larson in view of Cesaretti discloses wherein the reference component is a metal resistor [resistor formed in a metal layer [col. 10, ln. 1, ref. Cesaretti].
Regarding claim 8, Larson in view of Cesaretti discloses [fig. 4] wherein the output terminal is a first output terminal [output terminal to signal 228], and the drift sense circuit includes a ratiometric measurement circuit [Hall sensors 210] having the input terminal, the first output terminal, a second output terminal, and the ground terminal, the ratiometric measurement circuit including a first sense path [path through signal 228] and a second sense path [path through 224], the resistor and the reference component being part of the first sense path.
Regarding claim 10, Larson in view of Cesaretti discloses [fig. 1] wherein the resistor is a first resistor [104], and the second sense path includes: a second resistor [108] having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the second resistor coupled to the input terminal [102]; and a third resistor [110] having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the third resistor coupled to the second terminal of the second resistor, and the second terminal of the third resistor coupled to the ground terminal [112].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrott et al. (US 2022/0224348 and Perrott hereinafter) in view of Chen et al. (US 8421556 and Chen hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Perrott discloses a circuit (fig. 7A) comprising: a first switch [switch between right and left R2/2’s] having a first terminal [terminal connected to left R2/2], a second terminal [terminal connected to right R2/2], and a control terminal [terminal connected to MID(t)]; a capacitor [C2] having a first terminal [terminal connected to right R2/2] and a second terminal [terminal connected to ground], the first terminal of the capacitor coupled to the second terminal of the first switch; a second switch [switch between right and left R3/2’s] having a first terminal [terminal connected to left R3/2], a second terminal [terminal connected to right R3/2], and a control terminal [terminal connected to LAST(t)], the first terminal of the second switch coupled to the second terminal of the first switch and to the first terminal of the metal capacitor; a first resistor [right R3/2] having a first terminal [terminal connected to the switch] and a second terminal [terminal connected to C3], the first terminal of the first resistor coupled to the second terminal of the second switch; a second resistor [R1] having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal of the second resistor coupled to the first terminal of the first switch; and a third resistor [left R2/2] having a first terminal [terminal connected to R1] and a second terminal [terminal connected to switch between R2/2’s], the first terminal of the third resistor coupled to the second terminal of the second resistor. Perrott does not explicitly disclose metal capacitor.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses metal capacitor used interchangeably. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Perrott by metal capacitor as taught in Chen in order to use well known metal capacitor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claims 4-7, 9, 11-14 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842