DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16 and 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 2016/0073302 A1) in view of DI GOROLAMO et al. (US 2023/0388866 A1) and further in view of HONG SUNG-PYO (EP-4207936-A1 – Priority: 19.10.2020 KR 20200135363).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, YANG et al. teach a method for service continuity of a multicast broadcast service ("MBS") by a user equipment ("UE") in a wireless network ([0074]:"Mobility procedures for MBMS reception allow the UE to start or continue receiving MBMS service(s) via MBSFN when the UE changes cell(s). E-UTRAN procedures provide support for service continuity with respect to mobility of the UE within the same MBSFN area."), comprising: receiving control information, the control information comprising a service area information, a frequency information, a cell information, and an association between the service area information, the frequency information, and the cell information; and determining a service availability for the MBS based on the control information (see pars. 0075-0076: To avoid a need to read MBMS-related system information and/or MCCH on neighbor frequencies of neighboring cells, the UE may be provided with MBMS assistance information such as a user service description (USD) such that the UE can be made aware of which frequency provides which MBMS services via MBSFN. Generally, the BM-SC 126 of the EPC 110 provides the USD to the UE. In the USD (as described in 3GPP TS 26.346, version 11.08), for each MBMS service, the application/service layer provides the TMGI for the MBMS service, a session schedule that includes one or more session start times, and corresponding session end times, frequencies and MBMS service area identities (SAls) (as described in section 15.3 of 83GPP TS 23.003, version 11.08) belonging to the MBMS service area."; ([0076]:"The USD allows the mapping of services to TMGI bearers to be activated to receive the data broadcast for the service. The USD also indicates to the UE the list of SAls identifying the service areas offering the bearers (TMGIs) associated with the service." and "...this mapping allows the network infrastructure to determine which content must be carried on each cell based on the SAI lists
provided by the operator for each service. Each MBMS service is also associated with a list of frequencies for the service based on the frequencies of the cells configured with the SAls that identify the service areas for the service").
YANG et al. do not mention receiving, when the UE has reselected a cell which provides a UE interested MBS service, the MBS service based on a last valid MBS resource allocation configuration received before the cell reselection, wherein the UE continues using the last valid MBS resource allocation configuration to receive the MBS service without receiving a new MBS resource allocation configuration from the reselected cell; and avoiding performing packet data convergence protocol ("PDCP") re-establishment at cell change.
DI GOROLAMO et al. teach receiving, when the UE has reselected a cell which provides a UE interested MBS service, the MBS service based on a last valid MBS resource allocation configuration received before the cell reselection (see fig. 6 and par. 0187: UE1 gets the MBSmeasurement configuration. In Step 2, UE1 performs the configured measurements. In Step 3, UE1 is triggered to send a measurement report (say for event M1). In Step 4a, UE1 is reconfigured for the MBS service (either a modified PTM bearer or a dedicated PTP bearer). In Step 4b, the source gNB decides to handover UE1 to another cell. UE1 is reconfigured for MBS service in target cell. And par. 0204: As a further enhancement to the cell reselection procedure, it is proposed that after a cell reselection decision, the UE will wait until after any ongoing MBS reception for the source cell is finished, before camping on the reselected cell. This allows a UE to finish any ongoing MBS reception); and avoiding performing packet data convergence protocol ("PDCP") re-establishment at cell change (see par. 0209: If the PDCP in the source cell is maintained in the reselected cell, the UE may use the PDCP PDU SN to detect duplicate MBS PDUs and discard these. If the PDCP is re-established in the re-selected cell, then it is proposed that the UE keep track of the last received PDCP PDU SN in the source cell. It may then detect if a PDCP PDU received in the reselected cell is a duplicate by comparing the PDCP PDU SN to
the saved value from the source cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation receiving, when the UE has reselected a cell which provides a UE interested MBS service, the MBS service based on a last valid MBS resource allocation configuration received before the cell reselection; and avoiding performing packet data convergence protocol ("PDCP") re-establishment at cell change of DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order to allow for lossless MBS transmissions and to deal with duplicate reception of MBS PDUs.
HONG SUNG-PYO teaches the UE continues using the last valid MBS resource allocation configuration to receive the MBS service without receiving a new MBS resource allocation configuration from the reselected cell (see pars. 0142-0144: For some services provided in broadcast mode, such as broadband broadcast, MBS data may be transmitted for a specific area for a predetermined time. In such a case, although the LTE reselects a cell, data may be received using the same MBS configuration for the same MBS if the cell is in a predesignated area. If a cell, where the MBS configuration information applied to the previous cell is applicable as it is, is reselected when performing cell reselection as the RRC idle/inactive UE moves, it is possible to continuously receive a service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation the UE continues using the last valid MBS resource allocation configuration to receive the MBS service without receiving a new MBS resource allocation configuration from the reselected cell of HONG SUNG-PYO to the method of YANG et al. in order for controlling MBS data based on NR and providing an MBS even in various UE RRC states.
Regarding claim 8, YANG et al. teach a method for service continuity of a multicast broadcast service ("MBS") by a network element in a wireless network, comprising: providing control information over an access layer, wherein the control information comprises a service area information, a frequency information, a cell information, and an association between the service area information, the frequency information, and the cell information (see [0075] discloses that the BM-SC 126 of the EPC 110 provides the USD to the UE. In the USD (as described in 3GPP TS 26.346, version 11.08), for each MBMS service, the application/service layer provides the TMGI for the MBMS service, a session schedule that includes one or more session start times, and corresponding session end times, frequencies and MBMS service area identities (SAls) (as described in section 15.3 of 3GPP TS 23.003, version 11.08) belonging to the MBMS service area").
YANG et al. do not mention wherein the control information is used by a user equipment (UE) to determine a service availability for the MBS; and sending, when the UE has reselected a cell which provides a UE interested MBS service, the MBS service based on a last valid MBS resource allocation configuration sent before the cell reselection, wherein the UE is configured to
avoid performing data convergence protocol ("PDCP") re-establishment at cell change, and the UE continues using the last valid MBS resource allocation configuration to receive the MBS service without receiving a new MBS resource allocation configuration from the reselected cell.
DI GOROLAMO et al. teach the control information is used by a user equipment (UE) to determine a service availability for the MBS; and sending, when the UE has reselected a cell which provides a UE interested MBS service, the MBS service based on a last valid MBS resource allocation configuration sent before the cell reselection (see fig. 6 and par. 0187: UE1 gets the MBS measurement configuration. In Step 2, UE1 performs the configured measurements. In Step 3, UE1 is triggered to send a measurement report (say for event M1). In Step 4a, UE1 is reconfigured for the MBS service (either a modified PTM bearer or a dedicated PTP bearer). In Step 4b, the source gNB decides to handover UE1 to another cell. UE1 is reconfigured for MBS service in target cell. And par. 0204: As a further enhancement to the cell reselection procedure, it is proposed that after a cell reselection decision, the UE will wait until after any ongoing MBS reception for the source cell is finished, before camping on the reselected cell. This allows a UE to finish any ongoing MBS reception), wherein the UE is configured to avoid performing data convergence protocol ("PDCP") re-establishment at cell change (see par. 0209: If the PDCP in the source cell is maintained in the reselected cell, the UE may use the PDCP PDU SN to detect duplicate MBS PDUs and discard these. If the PDCP is re -established in the re-selected cell, then it is proposed that the UE keep track of the last received PDCP PDU SN in the source cell. It may then detect if a PDCP PDU received in the reselected cell is a duplicate by comparing the PDCP PDU SN to the saved value from the source cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation the control information is used by a user equipment (UE) to determine a service availability for the MBS; and sending, when the UE has reselected a cell which provides a UE interested MBS service, the MBS service based on a last valid MBS resource allocation configuration sent before the cell reselection, wherein the UE is configured to avoid performing data convergence protocol ("PDCP") re-establishment at cell change of DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order to allow for lossless MBS transmissions and to deal with duplicate reception of MBS PDUs.
HONG SUNG-PYO teaches the UE continues using the last valid MBS resource allocation configuration to receive the MBS service without receiving a new MBS resource allocation configuration from the reselected cell (see pars. 0142-0144: For some services provided in broadcast mode, such as broadband broadcast, MBS data may be transmitted for a specific area for a predetermined time. In such a case, although the LTE reselects a cell, data may be received using the same MBS configuration for the same MBS if the cell is in a predesignated area. If a cell, where the MBS configuration information applied to the previous cell is applicable as it is, is reselected when performing cell reselection as the RRC idle/inactive UE moves, it is possible to continuously receive a service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation the UE continues using the last valid MBS resource allocation configuration to receive the MBS service without receiving a new MBS resource allocation configuration from the reselected cell of HONG SUNG-PYO to the method of YANG et al. in order for controlling MBS data based on NR and providing an MBS even in various UE RRC states.
Regarding claim 2, YANG et al. also teach wherein the service area information is a service area identity ("SAI") list, the cell information is a physical cell identification ("PCI") list, the frequency information is an absolute radio frequency channel number, and the association indicates that cells identified by the PCI list on the associated frequency belong to the associated SA (see par. 0096: a bit-mapping mechanism may be used to map SAI information to neighboring cells. In the bit-mapping mechanism one or both of an intra-frequency physical cell identifier (PCI) parameter, and an inter-frequency PCI parameter may be added to SIB15. The intra-frequency parameter may include one or more intra-frequency PCIs).
Regarding claim 3, YANG et al. also teach receiving a user service description ("USD") from a service layer; determining whether a service is available in specific cells on specific frequencies based on whether the SAI associated with the UE interested MBS services indicated in the USD is also indicated in the access layer control information; and considering whether the interested MBS service is available in the cells on a frequency associated with the SAI (see pars. 0075-0076; and 0079: FIG. 8 is a diagram 800 illustrating an example of information provided in the USD and the SIB in a simple two cell example. According to the example, the USD 810 is provided to the UE 820 via the MBMS and includes TMGI1, TMGI2, and TMGI3. The USD 810 may be provided via unicast or broadcast. TMGI1 is available in both Service Area Identity 1 (SAI1) on frequency 1 (F1) and Service Area Identity 2 (SAI2) on frequency 2 (F2). TMGI2 is
available in SAI2 on F2. TMGI3 is available in SAI1 on F1).
Regarding claim 4, DI GOROLAMO et al. also teach selecting, during a priority handling in cell reselection, a cell from a plurality of cells based on awareness of the service availability for MBS in the cells on specific frequencies, wherein the frequency on which the UE interested MBS service is available is considered to be a highest frequency (see par. 0006: The MBS assistance information may include serving cell information such as priority of the MBS traffic, priority thresholds for MBS traffic, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer for each service. For the serving cell, the MBS assistance information may include priority threshold for unicast traffic, interfrequency measurement thresholds, serving cell ranking offset for cell reselection evaluation, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation selecting, during a priority handling in cell reselection, a cell from a plurality of cells based on awareness of the service availability for MBS in the cells on specific frequencies, wherein the frequency on which the UE interested MBS service is available is considered to be a highest frequency of DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order to allow for lossless MBS transmissions and to deal with duplicate reception of MBS PDUs.
Regarding claim 5, DI GOROLAMO et al. teach wherein the cell reselection is based on a cell ranking that includes an offset for MBS that is added to the cell-ranking criterion for cells on which the MBS service is available (see pars. 0006-0007: The MBS assistance information may include serving cell information such as priority of the MBS traffic, priority thresholds for MBS traffic, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer for each service. For the serving cell, the MBS assistance information may include priority threshold for unicast traffic,
interfrequency measurement thresholds, serving cell ranking offset for cell reselection evaluation, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation the cell reselection is based on a cell ranking that includes an offset for MBS that is added to the cell-ranking criterion for cells on which the MBS service is available of DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order to allow for lossless MBS transmissions and to deal with duplicate reception of MBS PDUs.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, YANG et al. also teach wherein the control information is received from one or more system information blocks ("SIB") and part of the control information is in the one or more SIBs, and part of the control information is in a multicast control channel ("MCCH") (see pars. 0074-0076 and par. 0078).
Regarding claim 10, DI GOROLAMO et al. teach wherein the selecting is based on a cell ranking that includes an offset for MBS (see pars. 0006-0007: The MBS assistance information may include serving cell information such as priority of the MBS traffic, priority thresholds for MBS traffic, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer for each service. For the serving cell, the MBS assistance information may include priority threshold for unicast traffic, interfrequency measurement thresholds, serving cell ranking offset for cell reselection evaluation, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation the selecting is based on a cell ranking that includes an offset for MBS of DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order to allow for lossless MBS transmissions and to deal with duplicate reception of MBS PDUs.
Regarding claim 11, YANG et al. teaches wherein the offset is configured to the UE with
the control information, or in a separate system information blocks ("SIB"), further wherein the service area information is received on an Radio Resource Control ("RRC") release signaling or on a multicast control channel ("MCCH") (see pars. 0074-0076 and par. 0078).
Regarding claim 13, YANG et al. also teach wherein the service area information of the MBS is a physical cell identification (“PCI”) list with frequency information associated with each PCI, which indicates that MBS service is available on such cell on the associated frequency (see par. 0096: a bit-mapping mechanism may be used to map SAI information to neighboring cells. In the bit-mapping mechanism one or both of an intra-frequency physical cell identifier (PCI) parameter, and an inter-frequency PCI parameter may be added to SIB15. The intra-frequency parameter may include one or more intra-frequency PCIs).
Regarding claim 20, DI GOROLAMO et al. teach initiating Radio Resource Control ("RRC") resume with a cause value indicating a failure of MBS service continuity (see par. 0015: The UE may then receive an RRC reconfiguration from the network with an MBS configuration for a target cell. If the target cell MBS transmission progress is ahead of the source cell MBS transmission progress, the UE may recover the lost/missing MBS PDUs. If the target cell MBS transmission progress is behind that of the source cell MBS transmission progress, the UE may determine and delete the duplicate received MBS PDUs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation initiating Radio Resource Control ("RRC") resume with a cause value indicating a failure of MBS service continuity DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order to allow for lossless MBS transmissions and to deal with duplicate reception of MBS PDUs.
Regarding claims 14-16, DI GOROLAMO et al. also teach wherein the UE handles a cell
reselection procedure for selecting from a plurality of cells based on the MBS service availability in the cells on the associated frequency; considering, during a priority handling in cell reselection, a frequency on which the UE interested MBS service is available to be a highest frequency; wherein the cell reselection is based on a cell ranking that includes an offset for MBS that is added to the cell-ranking criterion for cells on which the MBS service is available (see pars. 0006-0007: The MBS assistance information may include serving cell information such as priority of the MBS traffic, priority thresholds for MBS traffic, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer for each service. For the serving cell, the MBS assistance information may include priority threshold for unicast traffic, interfrequency measurement thresholds, serving cell ranking offset for cell reselection evaluation, and/or information for maximum reselection delay timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation the UE handles a cell reselection procedure for selecting from a plurality of cells based on the MBS service availability in the cells on the associated frequency; considering, during a priority handling in cell reselection, a frequency on which the UE interested MBS service is available to be a highest frequency; wherein the cell reselection is based on a cell ranking that includes an offset for MBS
that is added to the cell-ranking criterion for cells on which the MBS service is available of DI GOROLAMO et al. to the method of YANG et al. in order for improvement in allowing MBS provided on a per zone basis to be efficiently received.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 2016/0073302 A1) in view of DI GOROLAMOet al. (US 2023/0388866 A1), further in view of HONG SUNG-PYO (EP-4207936-A1 – Priority: 19.10.2020 KR 20200135363) and still further in view of FUJISHIRO (US 2023/0180064 A1).
Regarding claim 17, YANG et al. does not mention checking whether a reselected cell belongs to service area information based on the information provided in the re selected cell. FUJISHIRO teaches checking whether a reselected cell belongs to service area information based on the information provided in the re-selected cell (see claim 3: the performing the operation of the cell reselection comprises configuring the second cell or a frequency to which the second cell belongs to be a highest priority in the cell reselection when the user equipment moves to the zone and receives the MBS data transmitted to the zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the limitation considering, during a priority handling in cell reselection, the frequency on which the UE interested MBS service is available to be a highest frequency of FUJISHIRO to the method of YANG et al. in order for improvement in allowing MBS provided on a per zone basis to be efficiently received.
Regarding claim 18, YANG et al. teach wherein MBS service area identification that can identify an MBS area in RAN (“MAIR’’) is broadcast in the reselected cell in one or more system information blocks (“SIB”’) or in a multicast control channel (“MCCH’”) (see pars.
0074-0076 and par. 0078).
Conclusion
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643