DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received July 7, 2026:
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending. Claim 16 has been cancelled as per applicant’s request.
The core of the previous rejection is maintained with slight changes made in light of the amendment. All changes to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voli (US 2020/0257864).
Regarding Claim 1, Voli teaches a battery (i.e. a device) (Para. [0026]) comprising movable latches (Fig. 7, #616-1, #616-2) (i.e. a first actuatable hook and a second actuatable hook) movable between an extended position and a retracted position (Para. [0026]) configured to engage first and second latch stops (i.e. receiving catches) (Fig. 4, #420, #424) in the extended position to prevent withdrawal of the battery and disengaged in the retracted position (Para. [0027]) wherein the receiving catches are on a battery compartment (Fig. 4, #300) of a mobile device (i.e. receiving device) powered by the battery (Para. [0019], [0020]) (i.e. the first actuatable hook configured to move between a first engaged position and a first disengaged position, the second actuatable hook configured to move between a second engaged position and a second disengaged position, wherein the two actuatable hooks are each configured to engaged with one corresponding receiving catch on a receiving device in the first engaged position and the second engaged position, respectively) wherein the first latch (Fig. 7, #616-1) (i.e. actuatable hook) is actuatable in a different direction than the second latch (Fig. 7, #616-2) (i.e. actuatable hook) (see Fig. 7) . As the battery (i.e. the device) is free-standing (see Fig. 6) before engaging with battery compartment of a mobile device, it is inherently capable of being configured to rotate into an engagement with the receiving device such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position (see also Fig. 8, which demonstrates an engagement with the receiving device such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position). An inherent feature does not need to be recognized by the art at the time of the invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP §2112(II).
Regarding Claim 2, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli teaches the latches are rotatable relative to the battery housing about joints such as pins (Fig. 7, #700-1, #700-2 and Para. [0029]) (i.e. wherein the two actuatable hooks are rotatable about respective pin axes).
Regarding Claim 3, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 2 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the joints such as pins are parallel to each other (see Fig. 7, #700-1, #700-2).
Regarding Claim 4, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli further teaches each latch includes an actuator surface configured receive pressure from the operator and move to the retracted position (i.e. wherein each of the two actuatable hooks comprise an actuator configured to be depressed by a user) (Fig. 7, #620-1, #620-2 and Para. [0028]) wherein the latches move by rotating about the joints such as pins (Para. [0029]) (i.e. wherein the actuatable hooks are each configured to rotate about a respective pin axis in response to the actuation of the respective actuators) (see also Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the battery inserted into the battery compartment (Fig. 4, #300) (Para. [0021]) wherein the battery compartment is on a mobile device (Para. [0020]) powered by the battery (Para. [0019]) (i.e. wherein the device is a battery, and the receiving device is a battery-powered electronic device).
Regarding Claim 6, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the latches are biased towards the extended position by biasing members such as coil springs (Fig. 7, #704-1, #704-2) (Para. [0029]) (i.e. wherein at least one of the two actuatable hooks comprises a spring configured to urge the at least one of the two actuatable hooks towards the respective engaged portions) (see also Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli further teaches wherein the first and second latch (i.e. two actuatable hooks) (Fig. 7, #616-1, #616-2) are oriented such that the first and second latches are configured to in inverse directions between the respective engaged positions and respective disengaged portions (see Fig. 7A and 7B) (i.e. wherein the two actuatable hooks are oriented such that the two actuatable hooks are configured to move in inverse directions between the respective engaged positions and the respective disengaged positions).
Regarding Claim 8, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli further teaches wherein the first and second latch (i.e. two actuatable hooks) (Fig. 7, #616-1, #616-2) are disposed on opposite sides of the battery (see Fig. 7) (i.e. wherein the two actuatable hooks are disposed on opposite sides of an engagement portion of the device).
Regarding Claim 9, Voli teaches an assembly (see Fig. 2) comprising a battery (i.e. a first device) (Para. [0026]) comprising movable latches (Fig. 7, #616-1, #616-2) (i.e. comprising two actuatable hooks including a first actuatable hook and a second actuatable hook) movable between an extended position and a retracted position (Para. [0026]) configured to engage first latch stops (i.e. two receiving catches) (Fig. 4, #420-1, #420-2) in the extended position to prevent withdrawal of the battery and disengaged in the retracted position (Para. [0027]) wherein the receiving catches are on a battery compartment (Fig. 4, #300) of a mobile device (i.e. a second device) powered by the battery (Para. [0019], [0020]) (i.e. the first actuatable hook configured to move between a first engaged position and a first disengaged position, the second actuatable hook configured to move between a second engaged position and a second disengaged position, a second device comprising two receiving catches including a first receiving catch configured to engaged with the first actuatable hook and a second receiving catch configured to engaged the second actuatable hook) wherein the first latch (Fig. 7, #616-1) (i.e. actuatable hook) is actuatable in a different direction than the second latch (Fig. 7, #616-2) (i.e. actuatable hook) (see Fig. 7). As the battery (i.e. the first device) is free-standing (see Fig. 6) before engaging with battery compartment of a mobile device, it is inherently capable of being configured to rotate into an engagement with the receiving device such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position (see also Fig. 8, which demonstrates an engagement with the receiving device such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position). An inherent feature does not need to be recognized by the art at the time of the invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP §2112(II).
Regarding Claim 10, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 9 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the battery is inserted into the battery compartment of the mobile device (Para. [0021]) wherein the latches are configured to engage the first and second latch stops (Para. [0027]) (i.e. wherein the first device is configured to engage the second device by engaging the first actuatable hook with the first receiving catch and engaging the second actuatable hook with the second receiving catch).
Regarding Claim 11, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 10 as explained above.
Voli further teaches as the battery travels into the compartment (i.e. wherein the first device is configured to translate into engagement with the second device), the latches move to the retracted position against each of the second and first latch stops, so as to permit travel to the latches towards the inserted position (Para. [0033]) wherein in the inserted position the latches are in the extended position and therefore engaged the latch stops (Para. [0030]) (i.e. wherein during the translation both the first actuatable hook and the second actuatable hook are configured to deflect from the respective engaged positions temporarily towards the respective disengaged positions before the first actuatable hook engages the first receiving catch and the second actuatable hook engages the second receiving catch).
Regarding Claim 14, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 9 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the battery inserted into the battery compartment (Fig. 4, #300) (Para. [0021]) wherein the battery compartment is on a mobile device (Para. [0020]) powered by the battery (Para. [0019]) (i.e. wherein the first device is a battery, and the second device is a battery-powered electronic device).
Regarding Claim 15, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 14 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the mobile device comprises a grip (Fig. 3, #108) (Para. [0018]) and the battery is configured to be removed (Para. [0031]) and inserted (Para. [0026])
(i.e. wherein the battery-powered electronic device is configured to attach to a user’s appendage, and wherein the battery is configured to engage and disengaged from the battery powered electronic device while the battery-powered electronic device is attached to the user’s appendage).
Regarding Claim 17, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 9 as explained above.
Voli further teaches each latch includes an actuator surface configured receive pressure from the operator and move to the retracted position (i.e. wherein each of the two actuatable hooks comprise an actuator configured to be depressed by a user) (Fig. 7, #620-1, #620-2 and Para. [0028]) wherein the latches move by rotating about the joints such as pins (Para. [0029]) (i.e. wherein the two actuatable hooks are each configured to rotate about a respective pin axis in response to the actuation of the respective actuators) (see also Fig. 7), the joints such as pins are parallel to each other (see Fig. 7, #700-1, #700-2) (i.e. wherein the respective pin axes are parallel to each other) and wherein the latches move by rotating about the joints such as pins (Para. [0029]) (i.e. wherein the actuatable hooks are each configured to rotate in inverse directions between respective engaged portions and the respective disengaged portions) (see also Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 18, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 9 as explained above.
Voli further teaches the latches are biased towards the extended position by biasing members such as coil springs (Fig. 7, #704-1, #704-2) (Para. [0029]) (i.e. further comprising springs associated with the two actuatable hooks, and wherein the springs are configured to urge the two actuatable hooks towards the respective engaged portions) (see also Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 19, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 9 as explained above.
Voli further teaches wherein the first and second latch (i.e. two actuatable hooks) (Fig. 7, #616-1, #616-2) are disposed on opposite sides of the battery (see Fig. 7) (i.e. wherein the two actuatable hooks are disposed on opposite sides of an engagement portion of the first device) and the two first latch stops (i.e. two receiving catches) (Fig. 4, #420-1, #420-2) are disposed on opposite sides of an engagement portion of the battery compartment of the mobile device (i.e. wherein the two receiving catches are disposed on opposite sides of an engagement portion of the second device).
Regarding Claim 20, Voli teaches removing a battery from the inserted position (Para. [0031]) wherein the battery (i.e. first device) is removable from a mobile device (Para. [0019]) (i.e. a method of decoupling two devices, the two devices comprising a first device) wherein the battery comprising movable latches (Fig. 7, #616-1, #616-2) (i.e. comprising two actuatable hooks including a first actuatable hook and a second actuatable hook) movable between an extended position and a retracted position (Para. [0026]) configured to engage first latch stops (i.e. two receiving catches) (Fig. 4, #420-1, #420-2) in the extended position to prevent withdrawal of the battery and disengaged in the retracted position (Para. [0027]) wherein the receiving catches are on a battery compartment (Fig. 4, #300) of a mobile device (i.e. a second device) powered by the battery (Para. [0019], [0020]) (i.e. the first actuatable hook configured to move between a first engaged position and a first disengaged position, the second actuatable hook configured to move between a second engaged position and a second disengaged position, a second device comprising two receiving catches including a first receiving catch configured to engaged with the first actuatable hook and a second receiving catch configured to engaged the second actuatable hook) wherein the first latch (Fig. 7, #616-1) (i.e. actuatable hook) is actuatable in a different direction than the second latch (Fig. 7, #616-2) (i.e. actuatable hook) (see Fig. 7) , the removal method comprising application of pressure to the primary actuators moving the primary actuators into the battery compartment and displacing the latches from the first latch stops (i.e. depressing at least one of the two actuatable hooks) (Para. [0031]) and the battery can be fully withdrawn from the compartment (Para. [0032]) (i.e. decoupling the two devices). As the battery (i.e. the first device) is free-standing (see Fig. 6) before engaging with battery compartment of a mobile device, it is inherently capable of being configured to rotate into an engagement with the receiving device such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position (see also Fig. 8, which demonstrates an engagement with the receiving device such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position). An inherent feature does not need to be recognized by the art at the time of the invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP §2112(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voli (US 2020/0257864) in view of Bausch et al. (US 8,586,225).
Regarding Claim 12, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 11 as explained above.
Voli further teaches as the battery travels into the compartment the latches move to the retracted position against each of the second and first latch stops, so as to permit travel to the latches towards the inserted position (Para. [0033]) wherein in the inserted position the latches are in the extended position and therefore engaged the latch stops (Para. [0030]) (i.e. wherein during the rotation of the first engagement, the first actuatable hook is configured to deflect from the first engaged position temporarily towards the first disengaged position before the first actuatable hook engages the first receiving catch).
Voli does not teach wherein the first device is configured to rotate into a first engagement with the second device without rotating the second actuatable hook from the second engaged position.
However, Bausch et al. teaches attaching a battery assembly (i.e. first device) to an electronic device wherein the at least two bottom latches of battery assembly are inserted into the respective ones of at least two cavities formed in a main body of the electronic device and a step 1206 wherein the battery assembly is rotated towards the main body of the electronic device such that the bottom latches latchingly engaged with curved latch surfaces of cavities (col. 8, lines 11-26), and thereafter, step 1212 is performed for latching top latches of the battery assembly snappingly engage with respective latch surfaces of the main body of the electronic device (col. 8, lines 27-34) (i.e. wherein the first device is configured to rotate into a first engagement with the second device without rotating the second actuatable hook from the second engaged position).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Voli to incorporate the teaching of wherein the first device is configured to rotate into a first engagement with the second device without rotating the second actuatable hook from the second engaged position, wherein during the rotation of the first engagement as taught by Bausch et al., as such an attachment mechanism provides easy attachment and activation (col. 8, lines 6-10).
Regarding Claim 13, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 12 as explained above.
Voli further teaches as the battery travels into the compartment the latches move to the retracted position against each of the latch stops, so as to permit travel to the latches towards the inserted position (Para. [0033]) wherein in the inserted position the latches are in the extended position and therefore engaged the latch stops (Para. [0030]) (i.e. wherein during the rotation of the second engagement, the second actuatable hook is configured to deflect from the second engaged position temporarily towards the second disengaged position before the first second hook engages the second receiving catch).
Voli does not teach wherein the first device is configured to rotate into a second engagement with the second device without rotating the first actuatable hook from the first engaged position.
However, Bausch et al. teaches attaching a battery assembly (i.e. first device) to an electronic device wherein the at least two bottom latches of battery assembly are inserted into the respective ones of at least two cavities formed in a main body of the electronic device and a step 1206 wherein the battery assembly is rotated towards the main body of the electronic device such that the bottom latches latchingly engaged with curved latch surfaces of cavities (col. 8, lines 11-26), and thereafter, step 1212 is performed for latching top latches of the battery assembly snappingly engage with respective latch surfaces of the main body of the electronic device (col. 8, lines 27-34) (i.e. wherein the first device is configured to rotate into a second engagement with the second device without rotating the first actuatable hook from first engaged position)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Voli to incorporate the teaching of wherein the first device is configured to rotate into a second engagement with the second device without rotating the first actuatable hook from first engaged position as taught by Bausch et al., as such an attachment mechanism provides easy attachment and activation (col. 8, lines 6-10).
Regarding Claim 21, Voli teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Voli does not teach wherein depressing only the first or second actuatable hook permits the device to rotate out of engagement with the receiving device, wherein the other of the first or second actuatable hook disengaged from a corresponding receiving catch without being depressed.
However, Bausch et al. teaches detaching a battery assembly from an electronic device by actuation of buttons (#110a, #110b) (i.e. depressing only the first or second actuatable hook), pushing and rotation so as to unlatch the top latches (i.e. permits the device to rotate out of engagement with the receiving device) and manual lifting and rotation of the battery assembly so as to unlatch the bottom latches (#206a, #206b) which are rotation hooks (i.e. wherein the other of the first or second actuatable hook disengages from a corresponding receiving catch without being depressed) (col. 7, lines 45-65).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Voli to incorporate the teaching of wherein the disengagement configuration with rotation hooks as taught by Bausch et al., as such a detachment mechanism provides robust retention features and preventing battery contact chatter as a result of vibration or mechanical shock (col. 7, lines 57-65) and easy removal of the battery assembly from an electronic device (col. 8, lines 4-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Voli does not teach or suggest rotational engagement where one actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other actuatable hook remains in its engaged position as there is no disclosure of rotating the battery engagement such that one latch engages before the other while the second latch remains in its engaged position.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Rotating the battery engagement such that one latch engages before the other while the second latch remains in its engaged position is directed towards the order of a method of attaching while the instant claim is a structural claim. Furthermore, the claim language is broader than Applicant is interpreting. The functional feature of the device claimed would be necessarily present as the free-standing device is capable of rotating (i.e. configured to rotate), into engagement position with the receiving device, such that one of the first or second actuatable hook engages a corresponding receiving catch while the other one of the first or second actuatable hook remains in the second engaged position (as the hooks are simultaneously engaging a corresponding receiving catch and remaining in the second engaged position). Thus, the argument is not persuasive and the rejection of record is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729