Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “template module” “deployment manager module” and “deployment verification module” in claim 14 and “processing unit” in claim 15.
“template module” – para. 0060, 0064
“deployment manager module” – para. 0031, 0056
“deployment verification module” – para. 0031, 0052
“processing unit” – para. 0011, 0033, Fig. 1 134, 144, and 154
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed towards “software artifact” which appears to be software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nixon et al. US 2020/0387144 A1.
Nixon teaches:
1. A method of managing virtual control units in an industrial automation facility, wherein the industrial automation facility comprises a plurality of machines, each machine of the plurality of machines being configured to perform one or more steps of at least one industrial process, the method comprising:
generating one or more templates comprising one or more deployment criteria for the virtual control units, each of the virtual control units being capable of controlling at least one machine of the plurality of machines; [para. 0114, “In an embodiment, during the configuration and/or commissioning of the virtual environment 12 and components thereof, the VMN 300 accesses the system configuration database of the plant (e.g., the VMN 300 accesses the configuration database(s) 172b of the plant 100 via the data highway 108), and based on the obtained configuration, the VMN 300 determines the types and numbers of virtual nodes, virtual templates and/or subsystems, I/O switches, and/or other virtual components that would best support (or, that are desired to support) the plant configuration.”]
mapping the virtual control units to one or more compute nodes based on the one or more deployment criteria, wherein the virtual control units are instantiated on the mapped compute nodes when the controlled machines are in operation; [para. 0108, virtual controllers mapped to physical nodes] and
validating that the instantiation of the virtual control units is in accordance with the one or more templates using an attestation, wherein the attestation confirms one or more determined deployment parameters after deployment of the virtual control units, [para. 0013, “The MPDSC platform may additionally or alternatively support a simulation environment or space which may be utilized for control and/or safety system and/or component testing, validation, verification, and/or check out, operator training, case studies, on-going process improvements, etc.” (emphasis added.)]
wherein the plurality of machines are configured to perform the at least one industrial process, according to control commands received from at least one of the virtual control units, when the virtual control units are validly instantiated. [paras. 0108-0109]
Nixon teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: balancing load on the mapped compute nodes based on the one or more deployment criteria provided by the template. [para. 0116, “For instance, the VMN 300 may perform auto-leveling at a process data level in response to the amount of virtual network traffic on the virtual communication network 45, and/or the VMN 300 may perform auto-leveling at a physical computing device level so that CPU and/or physical network utilization is balanced across the physical computing devices, physical data links, and/or physical networks on which the virtual environment 12 is implemented.]
Nixon teaches:
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining from the one or more deployment criteria whether the virtual control units are to be instantiated on local compute nodes in a local network within the industrial automation facility, external compute nodes in an external network mapping the virtual control units to the local compute nodes, external compute nodes based on the determination, or any combination thereof. [para. 0092-0093; external engines mapped]
Nixon teaches:
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating an integrated deployment template for the industrial process, the generating of the integrated deployment template for the industrial process comprising merging the templates of two or more of the virtual control units, wherein the integrated deployment template specifies a global deployment criterion for the virtual control units on a common compute infrastructure, and wherein the common compute infrastructure comprises at least one of the local compute nodes and the external compute nodes. [para. 0121; integrates simulators on one node based on group of other “devices, components, or nodes.”]
Nixon teaches:
6. The method of claim 5, wherein generating an integrated deployment template for the industrial process comprises:
simulating the templates of the virtual control units, the simulating of the templates of the virtual control units comprising testing the deployment criteria of each of the templates; [para. 0127; simulation for testing purposes]
determining the global deployment criteria using the simulation results; and merging the templates according to the global deployment criteria, wherein the global deployment criteria ensures fulfillment of the deployment criteria in each of the templates. [para. 0121; simulated nodes]
Nixon teaches:
7. The method of claim 1, wherein validating that the instantiation of the virtual control units is in accordance with the one or more templates comprises:
determining data flows between the virtual control units by a network monitoring module; [para. 0097, I/O Switch 25 monitors data flows] and
detecting at least one deviation in the data flows in comparison with template data flows provided in at least one of the templates and the integrated deployment template. [para. 0116, “As an example, the VMN 300 may analyze performance bottlenecks and perform auto-leveling operations to mitigate any detected bottlenecks.”]
Nixon teaches:
9. The method of claim 1, wherein validating that the instantiation of the virtual control units is in accordance with the one or more templates comprises: determining that a machine of the plurality of machines is not permitted to operate when a virtual control unit controlling the machine is not instantiated in accordance with the template. [para. 0013]
Nixon teaches:
10. The method of claim 1, wherein validating that the instantiation of the virtual control units is in accordance with the one or more templates comprises: generating a production planning schedule for the plurality of machines based on the attestation of the instantiation of the virtual control units. [para. 0092; “production scheduling system”]
Regarding CRM claim 11, system claim 14 and machine claim 15, these claims recite “modules” for executing and storing the method steps recited above in claim 1 and are rejected on the same grounds and rationale as claim 1 above. Machine claim 15 further recites a processing unit for generating the control signals as taught in the Nixon reference, para. 0144.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nixon et al. US 2020/0387144 A1 in view of Amaro, JR. et al. US 2022/0404790 A1.
Nixon does not teach the following limitations, however, Amaro, JR teaches:
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising: balancing the load on the mapped compute nodes based on prioritization criteria provided in the template, wherein the load is adjusted between the local compute nodes and the external compute nodes based on the prioritization criteria. [para. 0157-0158; “priority containers”]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Amaro, JR with those of Nixon. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Amaro, JR teaches that quality of service can be maintained for specific loads based on priority and using a load balancing service 258 to free up resources to guarantee performance needs. (See para. 0158).
Amaro, JR teaches:
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising: generating an emergency halt signal to stop the plurality of machines from performing the industrial process in the industrial automation facility when the deviation is detected. [para. 0242, controller service stops execution to wait before beginning next stage so as to “lockstep” when safety is concerned]
Conclusion
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115