Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 20 were previously objected to. Applicant has successfully addressed these issues in the amendments filed on 11/24/2025. Accordingly, the objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20130133384 to Pickar.
Regarding claim 1, Pickar discloses:
A door handle assembly (fig 1), comprising: a single lock actuator (44/46) configured to actuate between an unlocked position (fig 9) and a locked position (fig 8); and one or more linkage bars (48/50) in mechanical communication with and extending from the single lock actuator (fig 3), the one or more linkage bars comprising: a first engagement (48) member configured to engage with a handle locking bolt (60) such that actuation of the lock actuator causes actuation of the handle locking bolt between an unlocked position (fig 9) and a locked position (fig 8), wherein, when in the locked position, the handle locking bolt is configured to prevent rotation of a handle (20/22) of the door handle assembly; and a second engagement member (50) configured to engage with a deadbolt (18) such that actuation of the single lock actuator causes actuation of the deadbolt between an unlocked position (fig 9) and a locked position (fig 8), wherein, when in the locked position, the deadbolt is configured to engage with a mortice to prevent opening of a door (not shown, see abstract) to which the door handle assembly is affixed.
Regarding claim 2, Pickar discloses:
The door handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the single lock actuator comprises a lock cam (44 is a loc cam) with one or more crank arms (56) connected to the lock cam.
Regarding claim 3, Pickar discloses:
The door handle assembly of claim 2, wherein the lock cam is actuatable by operation of a key cylinder (40), a thumb turn, or a motor system.
Regarding claim 4, Pickar discloses:
The door handle assembly of claim 3, wherein the door handle assembly comprises a single key cylinder (40 is a single key cylinder) accessible from an exterior face (12) of the door handle assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Pickar discloses:
The door handle assembly of claim 2, wherein the one or more linkage bars comprises a single linkage bar (70), and wherein the one or more crank arms comprises a single crank arm (56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 is allowed.
Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicants arguments that 44/46 are 2 separate actuators, Examiner respectfully disagrees. 44 and 46 are two components that act together to be a lock actuator. They do not individually function, and so the both of them together are a single lock actuator. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675