Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 8, and 17 recite “a body having distal region.” This is missing an (indefinite) article.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The “midpoint” is taken to be that point which is halfway along an axis between a proximal most point and distal most point of the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “substantially square.” It is unclear what the bounds of the claim are and how close it must be to be “substantially” square. The specification does not provide guidance.
Claim 15 recites the body is formed as “one piece.” It is unclear what this means in manufacturing terms, nor does the specification provide guidance. Would two pieces welded together constitute “one piece,” for example?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Kock et al. [US 2020/0222685 A1, hereinafter “De Kock”].
Re. claim 1, De Kock discloses a tool [200, Figs. 4-8] for implanting a medical lead [Par. 0002], the tool comprising:
a body [202, 204, 206, and 248, together] having a distal region including a distal end, a proximal region including a proximal end, a central axis extending from the distal end to the proximal end, and a midpoint between the distal end and the proximal end [see Annotated Fig. 5];
the distal region including a rounded tip, and a distal lip surrounding a distal opening [Annotated Fig. 5] leading to a distal cavity [212, the portion inside of 208] dimensioned to receive and frictionally engage a connector component of the implantable lead [Par. 0068];
the proximal region including a proximal lip surrounding a proximal opening [Annotated Fig. 6] leading to a proximal cavity [256]
a chamber [Annotated Fig. 6; inside 204] located between the distal cavity and the proximal cavity [Fig. 6];
a first window [234A]; and
a pair of resilient arms [246 A-B, described as resilient in Par. 0072] defining at least a portion of the chamber [Fig. 6] and configured to frictionally engage a terminal pin of the implantable lead [Par. 0072;
wherein the first window, chamber, and pair of resilient arms are located distal of the midpoint [see Annotated Fig. 6 below].
Re. claim 8, De Kock discloses the apparatus as set forth with respect to claim 1 above. De Kock further discloses a second window [234B or C] and wherein the second window is also distal of the midpoint [see Annotated Fig. 6 indicating midpoint, claim 1 above]
Re. claim 17, De Kock discloses the apparatus as set forth with respect to claim 1 above. De Kock further discloses the distal opening has a diameter smaller than the proximal opening [Fig. 6 shows the relative sizes of the openings].
Re. claim 2, De Kock discloses The tool of claim 1, further comprising one or more indicia [indicator arrows 218] located on a surface of the body.
Re. claim 3, De Kock discloses the body includes a reduced diameter portion [see annotated Fig. 5], the reduced diameter portion being located proximal of the midpoint.
Re. claim 4, De Kock discloses The tool of claim 1, wherein the distal cavity includes a cylindrical portion and a tapered portion.
Re. claims 9 and 18, De Kock discloses the first and second windows as set forth with respect to claim 8 above. As shown in Fig. 4, at least one of 234 B or C is located at a position opposite the first window (at least in part, because a line can be formed that extends from one side to the other through the two windows). De Kock discloses The first window and the second window allow for viewing of the chamber [when 244 Is removed. See Fig. 4]
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5-7, 10-16, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and in the case of claims 12-16 to overcome the 112(b) rejection.
The closest prior art of record (De Kock) fails to teach or suggest the chamber tapering from the opening toward a shoulder as in claim 5, or the first and second window reducing in cross-section towards a central axis, as in claims 10 and 19. Nor is there a clear reason to modify the apparatus of De Kock to possess either of these claimed features.
Conclusion
/ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771