Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the remarks filed on 04 May 2026.
Status
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 3 and 7-12 are withdrawn (see “Response to Applicant Election” below). Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 04 May 2026. Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 13-19.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 18/478,684, filed 29 Sep 2023, as a Continuation of U.S. Patent Application #: 16/624,389, filed 19 Dec 2019, which is a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/US2018/038322, filed 19 Jun 2018, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application #: 62/521,872, filed 19 Jun 2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 18 Jul 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Response to Applicant Election
Applicant’s election of Invention I in the reply filed on 04 May 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of idodomethyl choline as the species of first or second agent and obesity as the species of disease or disorder in the reply filed on 04 Mar 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant did not provide the structure or location of the elected species in the remarks. Examiner is interpreting iodomethyl choline to have the following structure as found in the specification on pg. 17, Table 1:
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). A search for the elected species returned prior art.
Claims 2 and 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 May 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The chemical formulas in the specification are of low-resolution, verging on illegible. Examiner requests that the specification be amended by uploading high quality, black and white images in the following locations: pg. 3, line 22; pg. 4, line 1; pg. 4, line 11; pg. 6, line 14; pg. 8, line 6; pg. 14, line 25; pg. 15, lines 23-24; pg. 15, line 26; pg. 16, lines 3-4; pg. 16, line 6-8; pg. 16, lines 11-12; and pg. 17, Table 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation
, and the claim also recites
which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 6 to clarify the required features of the claim.
Further, claim 6 contains the limitation, “wherein n is an integer, or n is 0, indicating that CH2 is not present…” there is no further information in the specification which limits the definition of integer. There are an infinite number of integers and this results in a limitation where the person of ordinary skill in the art would not know what the end amount of “integer” means. Applicant may overcome this rejection by clarifying what is meant by “integer.”
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
Claim 1 states the limitation:
This list of diseases would not be familiar to the person of ordinary skill in the art as being able to be treated with a single method. For instance, the artisan would not be sure based on the art or the specification how the treatment of sleep apnea and colorectal cancer are related. There are no examples in the specification that would show the artisan how treating these separate diseases would be in the class of treatment.
Claim 2 states the limitation:
The above Markush group are not a recognized class and do not share a substantial structural feature or common use. For example, the fecal microbiota transplantation would not be recognized as sharing a class with acetylsalicylic acid. Claims 4-5 are rejected for not remedying the rejection of claim 1.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Front Physiol, 2017, 8:139), hereinafter Chen, further in view of US 2016/0089387 (provided in IDS 07/18/24), hereinafter ‘387, and Mistry et al. (J Med Chem, 1991, 34:2031-2036).
The instant claims are drawn towards a method of treating a disease or condition by administering an agent or procedure to a subject (claims 1-2 and 6). Applicant has elected obesity as the species of disease or condition and iodomethyl choline as the species of agent or procedure in the reply filed 04 May 2026. Claim 4 adds the step of determining levels of TMAO, TMA, FMO3 mRNA, and/or TMA-containing compound in a sample of the subject before and/or after the treatment. Claim 5 limits the subject to those who have elevated levels of TMA, TMAO, or FMO3 mRNA.
Chen teaches administering 3,3-dimethyl-1-butanol (DMB) in drinking water to western diet induced obese mice that mimic human obesity syndrome (Abstract; pg. 2, column 1). The obesity model mice had TMAO plasma levels taken after being fed DMB and the TMAO levels were increased after being fed the western diet (pg. 2, column 2; pg. 3, column 2). Chen teaches that for mice fed on a western diet, treating with DMB prevented cardiac dysfunction and interstitial fibrosis and inflammation in the heart compared to mice not treated with DMB (pg. 6, column 1). Chen did not find that body weight decreased in the obesity models (pg. 6, column 1). While Chen teaches administering DMB to obesity mouse models, Chen does not teach administering iodomethyl choline to obesity mouse models.
‘387 teaches treating cardiovascular disease by administering DMB or a DMB derivative represented by reference Formula I (paragraphs [0040]-[0041]):
‘387 further teaches that Formula I may be a halomethyl choline, including iodomethyl choline (paragraph [0049]).
Mistry teaches iodomethyl choline as Compound 4 and provides data showing iodomethyl choline has inhibitory activity against acetylcholinesterase, choline acetyl transferase, and high-affinity choline transport (Table 1; and Fig. 1).
Based on the teachings of Chen, ‘387, and Mistry, the person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the DMB derivatives would have activity in preventing cardiac dysfunction and interstitial fibrosis and inflammation in the heart in obesity mouse models, as taught by Chen and ‘387. The artisan would further understand that of the DMB derivatives, iodomethyl choline would have relevant biological activity for testing, as taught by Mistry, and administer the compound to obesity model mice. By teaching the same steps as the instant claims of administering a DMB derivative to a subject having obesity, the references of Chen, ‘387, and Mistry necessarily teach the outcomes of the instant claims.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,659. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference patent claims a method of treating a disease or condition or causing weight loss comprising treating a human subject who has elevated levels of TMA, TMAO, or FMO3 mRNA with a first agent or procedure that inhibits the TMA/FMO3/TMAO pathway to cause weight loss or treat a first or second disease or a second agent or second procedure that is a non-antibiotic that inhibits the TMA/FMO3/TMAO pathway to treat a second disease or condition where the reference diseases/conditions claimed are the same as those found in the instant claims and the reference agents or procedures to treat them are the same as those in the instant claims (reference claim 1). Thus the instant claims are anticipated by the reference.
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,331,280. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference patent claims a method of improving a disease or a condition associated with the conversion of choline to TMA by administering (2-hydroxyethyl) dimethylsulfoxonium to treat or prevent the disease or condition associated with choline-related TMA in the subject (reference claim 1). The reference further claims treatment of diseases which overlap with the instant claims (reference claims 2-3). The reference claims further limit the subject to an individual having elevated TMAO in the blood, plasma, serum, or urine.
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,694,020. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference claims are directed to treating a subject with symptoms of kidney and/or cardiovascular disease by treating a subject with a gut TMA lyase inhibitor selected from a halomethyl choline, a halomethyl betaine, a halomethyl betaine salt, a halomethyl betaine amide, and a halomethyl dimethyl amino alcohol (claim 1). The subject is also limited to having the levels of eGFR, eCrCl, Cystatin C, KIM1, elevated urine albumin/Creatinine ratio, TMAO, TMA, and/or a TMA-containing compound before or after treatment (claim 2). The artisan would use the specification to shed light on what is meant by “symptoms of kidney and/or cardiovascular disease” and would find that, at least for cardiovascular disease, the symptoms include cerebrovascular disease which overlaps with the instant claims (column 7, lines 35-51).
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,117,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference claims are directed to treating a subject with symptoms of kidney and/or cardiovascular disease by treating a subject with a gut TMA lyase inhibitor selected from the following structures (claim 1):
The subject is also limited to having the levels of eGFR, eCrCl, Cystatin C, KIM1, elevated urine albumin/Creatinine ratio, TMAO, TMA, and/or a TMA-containing compound before or after treatment (claim 2). The artisan would use the specification to shed light on what is meant by “symptoms of kidney and/or cardiovascular disease” and would find that, at least for cardiovascular disease, the symptoms include cerebrovascular disease which overlaps with the instant claims (column 7, lines 40-57).
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,933,072. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference patent claims a method of treating a subject with symptoms of kidney disease, progressive renal fibrosis, age related decline in kidney function, and/or cardiovascular disease by administering an agent that reduces the production of TMA or TMAO wherein the agent is a halomethyl choline (claim 3). The reference patent further claims assaying a sample from the subject to determine TMAO, TMA, or a TMA-containing compound prior to and/or after treatment (claim 4).
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/992,085 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference patent teaches a polyol compound, which is a DMB related compound, of formula (I):
And further teaches the treatment of diabetes mellitus and obesity by administering a compound of formula (I) (claim 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/992,082 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference patent teaches a compound, which is a DMB related compound, of formula (I):
And further teaches the treatment of diabetes mellitus and obesity by administering a compound of formula (I) (claim 16).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 12, 14-15, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/992,077 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference patent teaches a compound, which is a DMB related compound, of formula (I):
And further teaches the treatment of diabetes mellitus and obesity by administering a compound of formula (I) (claim 20).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2010/138899 is considered pertinent for teaching a method of treating diabetes mellitus, insulin resistance, metabolic syndrome, NAFLD, or NASH by administering a probiotic which reduces formation of TMA. WO 2016/049537 is considered pertinent for teaching the treatment of kidney disease by administering acetylsalicylic acid. WO 2016/049541 is considered pertinent for teaching the treatment of kidney and/or cardiovascular disease by administering to a subject DMB or a DMB derivative.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625