DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Invention II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/3/2026.
Claims 1-19 (drawn to Invention I) are under examination.
Drawings
Objection #1: The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1. The instant specification at [00119] discloses “Referring to FIGs. 2 and 3, an all-solid secondary battery 1 may include…” but none of the drawings comprise an element “1.” The written description offers sufficient support in numerous locations to add “1” to Figs. 2 and 3 without resulting in a 35 USC 112(a)/New Matter rejection.
Objection #2: The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 521b and 522b. The instant specification at [00176] discloses “the anode current collector 521b, 522b has the above structure,” but elements 521b and 522b are neither described in the specification nor shown in any of the drawings. Figs. 2 and 3 only show an anode current collector as element 21. Examiner cannot find sufficient support in the instant specification to revise the drawings without new matter issues. Examiner recommends Applicant amend [00176] to remove the recitations of 521b and 522b.
Objection #3: The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because Fig. 3 does not correspond to the anode structure described in the specification. The instant specification at [00172-00178] discloses “As shown in FIG. 3, if (e.g., when) the second anode active material layer 23 is positioned between the anode current collector 21 and the first anode active material layer 22 prior to assembly of the all-solid secondary battery 1, the second anode active material layer 23, due to being a metal layer containing lithium, may act as a lithium reservoir” ([00172]). However, in Fig. 3, there is an intervening, unidentified layer between the first and second anode active material layers 22 and 23:
18/478,688 – Fig. 3
Please identify the corresponding portion(s) of the specification that describe this unidentified layer. Applicant may also remove the unidentified layer and submit a Replacement Sheet for Fig. 3.
Claim Interpretation
CLAIM 3
A first metal oxide is defined in Claim 1 as “MaOb (0<a≤3 and 0<b<4, wherein when a is 1, 2, or 3, b is not an integer).” Claim 3, which depends upon Claim 1, recites “wherein the first metal oxide is at least one selected from among Al2Oz (0<z<3), NbOx (0<x<2.5), MgOx (0<x<1), Sc2Oz (0<z<3), TiOy (0<y<2), ZrOy (0<y<2), V2Oz (0<z<3), WOy (0<y<2), MnOy (0<y<2), Fe2Oz (0<z<3), Co3Ow (0<w<4), PdOx (0<x<1), CuOx (0<x<1), AgOx (0<x<1), ZnOx (0<x<1), Sb2Oz (0<z<3), SiOz (0<z<2), and SeOy (0<y<2).”
Examiner interprets “w, x, y, and z” to be further narrowing of “b.” Meaning, “w, x, y, and z” are values greater than zero but less than four, and “w, x, y, and z” must not be an integer when “a” in Claim 1 is 1, 2, or 3.
CLAIM 18
Claim 18 recites “after charging, the all-solid secondary battery further comprises a second anode active material layer between an anode current collector and a first anode active material layer, wherein the second anode active material layer is a metal layer, the metal layer comprising lithium or a lithium alloy.”
The instant specification discloses the second anode active material layer may be assembled in the anode during battery assembly, or alternatively, may be formed in-situ by the charging process (see [00170-00173]). Examiner notes Claim 18 only requires the battery comprise a second anode active material layer “after charging.” Claim 18, as written, does not exclude a second active material layer from being present before the charging process, as long as the second active material layer remains an anode component “after charging.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “The composite cathode active material of claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide comprises a metal and the metal is at least one metal selected from among Al, Nb, Mg, Sc, Ti, Zr, V, W, Mn, Fe, Co, Pd, Cu, Ag, Zn, Sb, Si, and Se.” Claim 2 can be interpreted two ways:
The metals of Claim 2 are possible selections of the metal “M” in the first metal oxide MaOb in Claim 1. If so, please correct “a metal” of Claim 2 to be “the at least one metal” of Claim 1 to ensure proper antecedent basis.
The first metal oxide further comprises the metals of Claim 2 (i.e., the metals of Claim 2 are a dopant/coating on the first metal oxide).
For the purpose of this action, the claim will be examined as the metals of Claim 2 are possible
selections for “M” in the metal oxide MaOb of Claim 1 (see instant spec at [0073]). Please clarify the relationship (if any) between the metals of Claim 2 and “M” in Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “the second metal oxide comprises a same metal as the first metal oxide” on line 4 of the claim. It is unclear whether “a same metal” is in reference to the “M” variable in the first and second metal oxide formulas (MaOb and MaOc), or if “a same metal” is an additional metal present as a dopant or coating. For the purpose of this action, the claim will be examined as the first and second metal oxide formulas (MaOb and MaOc) both comprise the same metal element “M.” Please ensure any relationship between “a same metal” and “M” is defined in Claim 4.
Claim 5 is also rejected, as it depends upon Claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites “The composite cathode active material of claim 4, wherein the second metal
oxide is selected from among Al2O3, NbO, NbO2, Nb2O5, MgO, Sc2O3, TiO2, ZrO2, V2O3, WO2, MnO2, Fe2O3, Co3O4, PdO, CuO, AgO, ZnO, Sb2O3, SiO2, and SeO2.” Claim 4 defines the second metal oxide as “MaOc (0<a≤3 and 0<c≤4, wherein when a is 1, 2, or 3, c is an integer).” The metal oxide Nb2O5 is not within the ranges cited by the second metal oxide formula. For Nb2O5, “c” in the formula would need to be 5, which is outside of the claimed range 0<c≤4. Please delete Nb2O5 from Claim 5, or provide support from the instant disclosure on how this compound would satisfy the formula for the second metal oxide.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al., CN 105609738 A, and further in view of Son et al., US 20210376309 A1 and Kim et al., “Long-lasting, reinforced electrical networking in a high-loading Li2S cathode for high-performance lithium sulfur batteries,” Carbon Energy, published 04 January 2023, pg. 1-14.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhong discloses a composite cathode active material ([0009]) comprising:
a core comprising a lithium-containing sulfide-based cathode active material (lithium sulfide, Li2S core [0006-0015] Examples 1-5); and
a shell covering a surface of the core (surface of Li2S particle includes a metal oxide dopant and a graphene and carbon “shell” [0009-0019]), wherein the shell comprises at least one first metal oxide (metal oxide dopants “can be one or more of magnesium oxide, manganese dioxide, copper oxide, aluminum oxide, and nickel oxide” [0011, 0015-0019], Examples 1-5);
a first carbon-based material (graphene [0009-0010], Examples 1-5), and
a second carbon-based material (carbon [0009-0010], Examples 1-5), and
wherein the first metal oxide is within a matrix of the first carbon based material (graphene is coated on the surface of the metal oxide doped Li2S particle [0009-0020]; metal oxide is covered by the graphene).
While Zhong discloses an embodiment using aluminum oxide/alumina as the metal oxide ([0045]), Zhong does not disclose the corresponding chemical formula. Therefore, Zhong cannot confirm whether or not the aluminum oxide is represented by the claimed formula “MaOb (0<a≤3 and 0<b<4, wherein when a is 1, 2, or 3, b is not an integer).” However, a particle shell comprising aluminum oxide in combination with a carbonaceous material is taught by Son et al.
Son teaches a positive electrode active material core particle having a shell, wherein the shell material comprises a carbonaceous material and a metal oxide ([0032-0053]). Son teaches if the metal oxide particles are placed in the carbonaceous material matrix, the metal oxide particles will be more uniformly deposited on the core surface, thereby more effectively exhibiting voltage resistance characteristics. Son also teaches this configuration improves the uniformity of the overall shell on the core particle ([0035-0044, 0144]). While Son teaches numerous metal oxides are suitable for the shell composition, Son specifically teaches excellent results are obtained using a shell comprising graphene embedded with a first aluminum oxide particle (Al2Ox , 0<x<3) and a second aluminum oxide particle (Al2O3, [0035-0037, 0119-0144]). Son teaches the first aluminum oxide particle is selected from the first metal oxide formula MaOb (0<a≤3, 0<b<4, when a is 1, 2, or 3, and b is not an integer) ([0033, 0114-0115]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the first and second aluminum oxide particles (Al2Ox , 0<x<3 and Al2O3) of Son, embedded within a matrix of the first carbon-based material of Zhong, as Son teaches this configuration will increase voltage resistance and improve the uniformity of the shell on the core particle.
Modified Zhong does not disclose the second carbon-based material (carbon) comprises “a fibrous carbon having an aspect ratio of 10 or more.” However, this limitation is taught by Kim.
Kim teaches a Li2S cathode active material particle comprising a first and second carbon-based material (“Gr/CNT composite matrix” of graphene/Gr and multiwalled carbon nanotubes/CNT; pg. 2-5, see Synthesis of the Gr/CNT composite). Kim teaches numerous benefits to adding CNTs to graphene, including increased conductivity (the CNTs form a conductive network in multiple directions within the cathode layer, pg. 5), increased cycle stability, and higher discharge capacities (pg. 8 and Conclusion). Regarding the “aspect ratio of 10 or more,” Kim discloses the CNTs are one-dimensional and have a diameter of ~15 nm (pg. 5-6). Kim also shows SEM and TEM images of the Li2S/Gr/CNT cathode material, wherein the lengths of some CNTs exceed 400 µm (Figs. 2-3). Using Applicant’s definition of an aspect ratio (“a ratio of length of the major axis passing through the center of the second carbon-based material to length of the minor axis that is perpendicular to the major axis,” [0043]), some, if not all, of Kim’s CNTs have an aspect ratio within the claimed range.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the CNTs of Kim to the shell of modified Zhong, with the graphene of Zhong as the first carbon-based material and the CNTs of Kim as the second carbon-based material, because Kim teaches addition of CNTs to graphene in a Li2S-based cathode will increase conductivity, cycle stability, and discharge capacity.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the first metal oxide comprises a metal and the metal is at least one metal selected from among Al, Nb, Mg, Sc, Ti, Zr, V, W, Mn, Fe, Co, Pd, Cu, Ag, Zn, Sb, Si, and Se” (see Zhong modified by Son in Claim 1: The first metal oxide is Al2Ox ).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses the first metal oxide is Al2Oz (0<z<3) (Son, Al2Ox , 0<x<3 [0141]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the shell further comprises a second metal oxide represented by formula MaOc (0<a≤3 and 0<c≤4, wherein when a is 1, 2, or 3, c is an integer)” (Son, the shell includes Al2O3 as the second metal oxide [0037, 0119-0127]).
Regarding the limitations “the second metal oxide comprises a same metal as the first metal oxide,” and “a ratio (c/a) of c to a in the second metal oxide is greater than a ratio (b/a) of b to a in the first metal oxide,” both metal oxides of modified Zhong comprise the same metal (Al) and satisfy the claimed ratios (Son, the first metal oxide has a lower oxygen content and a lower metal oxidation number than the second metal oxide [0037]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the second metal oxide is selected from among Al2O3, NbO, NbO2, Nb2O5, MgO, Sc2O3, TiO2, ZrO2, V2O3, WO2, MnO2, Fe2O3, Co3O4, PdO, CuO, AgO, ZnO, Sb2O3, SiO2, and SeO2” (Son, Al2O3).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong
discloses “the first metal oxide is a reduction product of the second metal oxide” (Son, the first metal oxide may be obtained by reducing a part or all of the second metal oxide, Al2O3 particles and Al2Oz (0<z<3) particles as a reduction product thereof [0037, 0120]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the first carbon-based material comprises a carbon-based nanostructure, the carbon-based nanostructure comprises a two-dimensional carbon-based nanostructure, and the two-dimensional carbon-based nanostructure comprises graphene” (Kim, the graphene “Gr” in the Gr/CNT composite “has a planar two-dimensional (2D) structure” and has a structure of “2D Gr sheets,” pg. 4-6).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the second carbon-based material comprises a carbon nanofiber, a carbon nanotube, or a combination thereof” (Kim, carbon nanotube “CNT,” pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the carbon nanotube comprises a primary carbon nanotube structure, a secondary carbon nanotube structure formed by agglomeration of a plurality of primary carbon nanotube particles, or a combination thereof, wherein the primary carbon nanotube structure is one carbon nanotube unit” (Kim, CNTs are multiwalled carbon nanotubes “MWCNT,” see dispersion in Figs. 2-3; instant spec at [0048-0049] teaches MWCNTs are classified as a primary carbon nanotube structure having a carbon nanotube unit).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “the lithium-containing sulfide-based cathode active material comprises Li2Sn (n≥1), a Li2Sn (n≥1)-containing composite, or a combination thereof” (Zhong, Li2S [0006-0015], Examples 1-5; n=1).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Regarding the limitation “wherein an amount of the second carbon-based material in the shell (CNTs) is about 5 wt% to about 20 wt% with respect to 100 wt% of the composite cathode active material,” modified Zhong teaches the first carbon-based material (graphene) is 1 wt% to 10 wt% of the carbon-coated lithium sulfide (Zhong, [0018]). See Zhong examples comprising 5 wt%, 7 wt%, and 10 wt% graphene (Zhong, [0030, 0042, 0054]).
Kim teaches the mass ratio of Gr to CNT in the Gr/CNT composite material ranges from 1:1 to 7:1 (Kim, pg. 2). Using Kim’s ratios of Gr to CNT, an amount of CNTs added to the composite cathode active material would be approximately 10 wt% or less, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses “a cathode comprising the composite cathode active material” (Zhong, see cathode/positive electrode preparation [0056]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhong as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al., “High-Performance All-Solid-State Lithium−Sulfur Battery Enabled by a Mixed-Conductive Li2S Nanocomposite,” Nano Lett. 2016, 16, pg. 4521−4527.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses the lithium-containing sulfide-based cathode active material comprises Li2Sn (Zhong, n=1). Modified Zhong does not disclose “the Li2Sn (n≥1)-containing composite comprises a Li2S-carbon composite, a Li2S-carbon-solid electrolyte composite, a Li2S-solid electrolyte composite, or a combination thereof.” However, this limitation is taught by Han et al.
Han teaches when a solid electrolyte is added to a Li2S-Carbon cathode active material, a battery will exhibit improved rate performance and a large reversible capacity (“Li2S−C” vs “Li2S−Li6PS5Cl−C” pg. 4525-4526, Table 1). Han also teaches “the higher capacity of Li2S−Li6PS5Cl−C than that of Li2S−C demonstrates that the high and mixed ionic/electronic conductivity can enhance the utilization of Li2S in the electrode” (pg. 4525).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the core particle of modified Zhong comprise the Li2S−Li6PS5Cl−C composite of Han, as Han teaches adding Li6PS5Cl solid electrolyte to Li2S will improve battery rate performance and reversible capacity.
Han et al. – Table 1
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhong as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Koshika et al., US 20150162614 A1.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong does not disclose the cathode further comprises “a solid electrolyte, wherein an amount of the solid electrolyte is about 80 parts by weight to about 120 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the composite cathode active material” (Claim 14). Modified Zhong also does not disclose the cathode layer is included in an all-solid secondary battery, and a solid electrolyte layer is between the cathode layer and an anode layer (Claim 15). However, these limitations are taught by Koshika et al.
Koshika teaches a positive electrode mix comprising equal parts by mass of a sulfur-based active material and a solid electrolyte ([0209-0212, 0227-0292] Example 1). Koshika teaches the sulfur-based active material is preferably Li2S and a conductive carbon material ([0048-0064]). Koshika uses the positive electrode mix in a positive electrode for an all-solid battery, wherein the all-solid battery further comprises a solid electrolyte and a negative electrode ([0016-0018, 0046, 0235-0265]). Koshika teaches “since a sulfur-based active material has a large theoretical capacity, a suitable positive electrode mix can be obtained by combining it with a sulfide-based solid electrolyte having a high ion conductivity” ([0047]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the composite cathode active material of modified Zhong as the sulfur-based active material in the all-solid battery of Koshika, with the cathode layer comprising equal parts by mass of the modified Zhong’s sulfur-based active material and Koshika’s solid electrolyte, since Koshika teaches this combination increases capacity and conductivity in the cathode layer.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses the solid electrolyte layer comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Koshika, [0238-0257], Examples: glass ceramic solid electrolyte 70Li2S−30P2S5 [0301-0312]).
Regarding the limitation “the solid electrolyte layer is impermeable to lithium polysulfides,” the solid electrolyte layer of modified Zhong satisfies all requirements of the claim, and is thus assumed to meet this limitation. It has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses the anode layer comprises an anode current collector and a first anode active material layer on one side of the anode current collector (Koshika, [0235, 0259-0264]), the first anode active material layer comprises an anode active material and a binder (Koshika, [0235, 0259-0264]),
the first anode active material layer comprises at least one selected from a carbon-based anode active material or a metal or metalloid anode active material, the carbon-based anode active material comprises amorphous carbon, crystalline carbon, porous carbon, or a combination thereof (Koshika, carbon materials [0261-0263] and conductive aids including porous carbon [0063-0079]), and
the metal or metalloid anode active material comprises gold (Au), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), silicon (Si), silver (Ag), aluminum (Al), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), indium (In), zinc (Zn), or a combination thereof (Koshika, metals such as In, Al, Si, Sn [0262]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhong as applied to Claims 1, 13, and 15 above, and further in view of Yun et al., US 20230021950 A1.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses the anode layer comprises an anode current collector (Koshika, [0235, 0259-0264]), but does not disclose “after charging, the all-solid secondary battery further comprises a second anode active material layer between an anode current collector and a first anode active material layer, wherein the second anode active material layer is a metal layer, the metal layer comprising lithium or a lithium alloy.”
Yun teaches a second anode active material layer (lithium metal layer [0049-0053]) located between an anode current collector ([0047-0048]) and a first anode active material layer (pre-lithiation layer [0054-0068]). Yun teaches the first and second active material layers provide additional lithium to the anode, while also improving the lifespan and lowering the internal resistance in the battery ([0014-0016, 0086, 0129-0130]). Yun teaches the second anode active material layer remains present after pre-lithiation, and functions as an active material layer ([0023, 0049-0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a second anode active material layer between the current collector and first active material layer, in the battery of modified Zhong, as Yun teaches the second active material layer (lithium metal layer) provides excess lithium to the anode, improves lifespan, and lowers internal resistance.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhong as applied to Claims 1, 13, and 15 above, and further in view of Yu, CN 108417841 A.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Zhong discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhong discloses the anode and cathode each comprise a current collector, wherein the current collector is a metal layer (Koshika, [0235, 0259-0264]). Modified Zhong does not disclose the metal layer is on one or both sides of a polymer base film.
Yu teaches a current collector for a positive or negative electrode, wherein the current collector comprises a first metal layer disposed on a base film ([0007-0011, 0053-0058]). Yu teaches the base film comprises PE, PET, PI, and/or PP ([0054]). Yu teaches by adding a base film to the metal layer, the tensile strength and toughness of the current collector can be improved, and the weight and thickness of the current collector can be reduced, thereby improving the energy density of the battery ([0012]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the base film of Yu to the metal current collector of modified Zhong, in order to improve toughness and strength, while also reducing the weight and thickness of the current collector.
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721