DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final office action in merits. Claims 1-28, after amendment, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/7/2023 and 4/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7, 10-21, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0222623 A1, Ke et al. (hereinafter Ke).
As to claim 1, Ke discloses a processor-implemented method of processing image data, the method comprising:
dividing an input image into a first set of tokens having a first resolution and a second set of tokens having a second resolution (Figs 4B; pars 0009-0011, 0030, 0040, input image being partitioned into patches and/or tokens with different resolutions);
generating a first set of token representations for one or more tokens from the first set of tokens corresponding to a first region of the input image (Figs 6, 10; pars 0002-0005, 0009, 0024, 0028-0030, 068-0069, 0078, a set of token representations being generated with a native resolution for each patch/region);
generating a second set of token representations for one or more tokens from the second set of tokens corresponding to the first region of the input image (Figs 6, 10; pars 0002-0005, 0009, 0024, 0028-0030, 068-0069, 0078, a set of token representations being generated with a scaled or resized resolution for each patch/region);
processing, using a neural network model, the first set of token representations and the second set of token representations (Figs 3-4, 6, 10; pars 0002-0005, 0009, 0024, 0028-0030, 0034, 068-0069, 0078, resolutions of patches in a region of the input image being identified using a transformer encoder);
selecting the first resolution or the second resolution as a scale for the first region of the input image based on the processing of the first set of token representations and the second set of token representations (Figs 3-4, 6, 10; pars 0002-0005, 0009, 0024, 0028-0030, 0034-0035, 068-0069, 0078, resolutions of individual patches or regions in the input image being identified and selected related to multi-scale patches/regions and corresponding to sequence of encoded input tokens (e.g. token representation)) and
processing, using a transformer neural network model, the first region of the input image using at least one of the first set of token representations or the second set of token representations according to the selected scale for the first region (Figs 3-4; pars 0003, 0008-0009, 0024-0030, 0034-0035, 068-0069, 0078, a multi-scale transformer being used to process patches and regions of the input image with selected resolutions resulting corresponding set of token representation). Although Ke discloses or teaches above functions and features in different examples/embodiments, consider Ke’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to combine Ke’s teachings in different examples to utilize a multi-scale transformer for providing multiscale representation of tokens, patches, and regions in an input image.
As to claim 2, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: generating the first set of token representations comprises processing the first set of tokens using a linear neural network layer to generate a first set of embedding vectors (pars 0034, 0066, liner encoder and a convolutional neural network are linear operations); and generating the second set of token representations comprises processing the second set of tokens using the linear neural network layer to generate a second set of embedding vectors (Fig 10; pars 0002-0003, 0009-0010, 0030, 0034, 0055, 0066).
As to claim 3, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first set of token representations includes a single token representation according to the first resolution, and wherein the second set of token representations includes a plurality of token representations according to the second resolution (see citations and rejection in claim 1).
As to claim 4, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: concatenating the first set of token representations and the second set of token representations to generate a set of concatenated token representations (pars 0031, 0035, 0056, token representations being aggregated or concatenated); wherein processing the first set of token representations and the second set of token representations comprises processing, using the neural network model, the set of concatenated token representations to determine the first resolution or the second resolution as the scale for the first region of the input image (pars 0031, 0035, 0056, also see citations and rejection in claim 1).
As to claim 5, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a respective scale for each respective region of the input image (Fig 10; pars 0003-0004, 0009-0010, 0078).
As to claim 6, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 5, further comprising: determining a respective positional encoding for each region of the input image (pars 038, 0063, positional embedding being applied to each feature block, which corresponds to each region after image segmentation).
As to claim 7, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 6, wherein, for a region of the input image determined to have a scale corresponding to the second resolution (see rejection in claim 1).
As to claim 8, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a mask for the input image, the mask indicating a respective scale determined for each respective region of the input image as the first resolution or the second resolution (pars 0036, 0057-0058).
As to claim 9, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the transformer neural network model is configured to process adaptive mixed-resolution data based on the mask (pars ).
As to claim 10, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the neural network model is shared across regions of the input image (par 0034, shared across all the input patches).
As to claim 11, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the neural network model includes a Softmax layer configured to determine a distribution over the first resolution and the second resolution (pars 0055-0057, Softmax layer for resolution distribution).
As to claim 12, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first resolution or the second resolution is determined as the scale for the first region of the input image based on one or more characteristics of the input image (Figs 6, 10; pars 0005, 0031, 0025, 0079).
As to claim 13, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 12, wherein the one or more characteristics of the input image include a smoothness value associated with the first region of the input image, a complexity value associated with the first region of the input image, how many colors are associated with the input image (pars 0005, 0031), or a contrast value associated with the first region of the input image (pars 0025, 0079).
As to claim 14, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the input image includes an image patch of an image (Fig 3, 10; pars 0008, 0010-0011, 0069, image patches).
As to claim 15, it is an apparatus claim encompassed claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claims 16-21, 24-28, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 1-7, 10-14, respectively.
Claims 8-9, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke in view of US 2002/0131507 A1, Orhand et al. (hereinafter Orhand).
As to claim 8, Ke discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a mask for the input image, the mask indicating a respective scale determined for each respective region of the input image as the first resolution or the second resolution (pars 0036, 0057-0058).
Orhand, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches a mask being generated and utilized to reshape and segment a zones or regions of the input image with a pixel scale precise resolution (pars 0034, 0051, 0053, 0060, 0094-0095, 0103).
Therefore, consider Ke and Orhand’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Orhand’s teachings in Ke’s method to identify and structure regions with corresponding resolutions.
As to claim 9, Ke as modified discloses the processor-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the transformer neural network model is configured to process adaptive mixed-resolution data based on the mask (Orhand: pars 0034, 0051, 0053, 0060, 0094, 0100, note such mixed resolution regions are adjusted through masking operation and it is adaptive or updatable in nature).
As to claims 22-23, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 8-9, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. As indicated in merit rejection above and taught in Ke, in a multi-scale patches or regions in an image, more than one resolutions are being utilized and/or selected corresponding to multi-scale nature of patches and regions. Such multi-scale patches and regions with selected corresponding resolutions are transformed to a sequence of tokens with corresponding token representations. Applicant is encouraged to further clarify and distinguish of claimed invention from prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662