DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ataei et al. (US 2025/0028882 A1) in view of Deluca et al. (US 9,626,627 B1).
As to claim 1, Ataei teaches a method (a method; abstract), comprising:
receiving a plain language request from a user (natural-language requests from the user; paragraph [0043], [0065]);
with a zero shot classification model, determining, and selecting, applications/tools needed to fulfill the plain language request (Given the natural language request(s) and/or response(s), the intent can be determined by mapping the user request one of a number of classes of problems to solve, such as using a zero-shot classification technique or using a prompt asking language model 128 to determine the class of the problem, as discussed in greater detail below. At operation 304, simulation engine 124 of simulation application 120 determines one or more appropriate simulation tools, such as solvers and/or simulation models, based on user input. In some embodiments, simulation engine 124 can determine the appropriate simulation tools based on an initial user request, and/or simulation engine 124 can iteratively prompt the user for additional information that is required. Then, simulation engine 124 can select one or more simulation tools based on the initial user request and/or the additional information; paragraphs [0043]-[0044], [0066], [0094]);
with a large language model (LLM), processing the tools to generate a preliminary plan
to fulfill the plain language request (“For each simulation tool in the set of simulation tools, simulation engine 124 determines information necessary for execution of the simulation tool”; paragraph [0068] and “Planner 1040 generates, using a language model (e., language model 128), a goal for analyzing simulation data 1010 based on the determined class of the user request. The generated goal can include, e.g., a statistical review of simulation data 1010 or specific plots of simulation data 1010. If planner 1040 determines that the class of user request is exploratory, the generated goal can include data exploration, cluster analysis, outlier detection, and/or pattern recognition. If planner 1040 determines that the user request necessitates a definitive analysis, the generated goal can include specific statistical tests to validate a hypothesis, predictive modeling to forecast future trends, and/or the generation of custom plots to illustrate particular aspects of simulation data 1010. Planner 1040 transmits the generated goal to tool collector 1050 and tool generator 1045”; paragraph [0095], and “the language model can determine which functions to use based on in-context learning, leveraging the provided context to make accurate selections. As a further example, in some embodiments, tool collector 150 can employ heuristic techniques or rule-based approaches to identify and/or generate required analysis functions based on specific criteria or rules; paragraph [0096] and paragraphs [0044]-[0046]);
for each of the tools in the preliminary plan, determining respective parameters (For each simulation tool in the set of simulation tools, simulation engine 124 determines information necessary for execution of the simulation tool. In some embodiments, simulation configuration module 620 can request a function schema associated with the simulation tool from function schema generator 700. A function schema includes a template that specifies, e.g., parameters for the simulation tool, necessary inputs for the simulation tool, and/or default values for variables included in the simulation tool; paragraph [0068]-[0069], [0081]); and
combining the parameters with the tools to generate a final plan (“Simulation engine 124 monitors the execution of the test run and analyzes the execution to detect errors such as syntax errors, runtime errors, a rapidly diverging solution, an excessive consumption of system resources, and/or the like. If simulation engine 124 detects one or more errors, simulation engine 124 can attempt to diagnose and correct the error automatically, or simulation engine 124 can prompt the user to modify one or more parameters of the simulation to correct the error”; paragraph [0089] and “At operation 916, simulation engine 124 displays a finalized simulation configuration to the user and requests user approval for a full execution of the simulation”; paragraph [0090]), which, when executed, fulfills the plain language request (Assuming that user approval is received, then at operation 918, simulation engine 124 executes the full simulation and generates simulation data. Simulation engine 124 stores the simulation data and transmits the simulation data to an analysis engine; paragraph [0091]).
Ataet does not teach application program interfaces (APIs), and the preliminary plan which comprises an order in which the APIs must be called.
However, Ataet teaches simulation engine 124 configures the one or more simulation tools for execution (paragraph [0045]), and simulation engine 124 executes the simulation tool(s) (paragraph [0046]). Thus, although Ataet does not teach the preliminary plan comprises an order in which the tools must be called, Ataet teaches the simulation engine executes the simulation tools to derive the result. Implicitly, the simulation engine includes logic to call the tools in order.
Deluca teaches selecting and processing the APIs to generate a preliminary plan which comprises an order in which the APIs must be called in order to fulfill the plain language request from a user (“API program 112 receives a request (step 205). In an embodiment, API program 112 may receive a request to perform a task from user via a user interface, discussed previously. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a user may request, via the user interface, that the user would like to know “How can I add checkout to my current web application?” 302. API program 112 performs natural language processing on the request to determine the task or a problem to be solved by the request.”; col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 6 and “API program 112 determines API(s) (step 210). In other words, API program 112 determines a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously. In an embodiment, API program 112 may use a machine learning model, discussed previously, to determine a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously. API program 112, via the machine learning model, will determine a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously using one or more of the following: preset storyboards created by users to perform specific tasks, information about storyboards and API(s) that are found in existing applications that have been analyzed by the machine learning model to determine what tasks are performed by the storyboards and API(s), orders of storyboards and API(s) based on storyboards and API(s) found in existing applications analyzed by the machine learning model, information about links between APIs, and how data is passed between API(s)”; col. 5, lines 26-43 and col. 5, line 56 – col. 6, line 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Deluca to the system of Ataei because Deluca teaches a method for determining a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously, allowing for filtering the group of storyboards or API(s), and allowing for presenting a modified group of storyboards or API(s) based on the filtering requested, which give a user an option to modify the API(s) as needed.
As to claim 2, Ataei as modified by Deluca teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the plain language request cannot be fulfilled by only a single API (see Ataei: “For each simulation tool in the set of simulation tools, simulation engine 124 determines information necessary for execution of the simulation tool”; paragraph [0068]) and (see Deluca: col. 5, lines 26-43 and col. 5, line 56 – col. 6, line 13).
As to claim 4, Ataei as modified by Deluca teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the order of the APIs accounts for any dependencies between, or among, the APIs (see Ataei: Analysis engine 126 then executes function calls associated with the functions and/or toolsets to process the simulation data; paragraph [0042]).
As to claim 6, Ataei as modified by Deluca teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising executing the final plan (see Ataei: Assuming that user approval is received, then at operation 918, simulation engine 124 executes the full simulation and generates simulation data. Simulation engine 124 stores the simulation data and transmits the simulation data to an analysis engine; paragraph [0091]).
As to claim 7, Ataei as modified by Deluca teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein a user prompt is defined by combining the plain language request with a description of the selected APIs and any built-in operators respectively associated with the selected APIs (see Deluca: as shown in user interface 300, API program 112 returns two possible storyboards in response to the question “How can I add checkout to my current web application?” 302, discussed previously. The first storyboard, Retail checkout APIs 310 includes a Product 1—Commerce storyboard 312, Product 2—Tax storyboard 314, and Product 3—Address verify storyboard 316. Product 1—Commerce storyboard 312 includes a plurality of APIs: AddToCart API, CheckInventory API, UpdateCartPrice API, AddCouponPromotion API, GetShippingCarriers API, SetShippingCarriers API, SetShippingAdress API, and GetPaymentMethods API. Product 2—Tax storyboard 314 includes a single API: CalculateTax API (vendor1). Product 3—Address verify storyboard 316 includes a single API: VerifyAddress API. The second storyboard, Electronic Goods checkout APIs 320 includes a Product 1—Commerce storyboard 322, Product 2—Payment storyboard 324, and Product 3—Address verify storyboard 326. Product 1—Commerce storyboard 322 includes a plurality of APIs: AddToCart API, CheckInventory API, UpdateCartPrice API, AddCouponPromotion API, GetShippingCarriers API, SetShippingCarriers API, and SetShippingAdress API. Product 2—Payment storyboard 324 includes a single API: capturePaymentAPI (vendor1). Product 3—Address verify storyboard 326 includes a single API: VerifyAddress API. In an embodiment, user interface 300 includes explore 317 and explore 327 which allow a user to explore Retail checkout APIs 310 and Electronic Goods checkout APIs 320, respectively; col. 5, line 56 – col. 6, line 17).
As to claim 9, Ataei as modified by Deluca teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein an output of one of the APIs serves as an input to another of the APIs (see Deluca: the storytelling mapping for perform an eCommerce checkout flow (i.e., a checkout process integrated with a sales application) may include an AddToCart API, CheckInventor API, UpdateCartPrice API, AddCoupon API, etc. and each of these APIs perform specific functions; col. 2, line 67 – col. 3, line 4).
As to claim 11, Ataei teaches a non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising (One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform; claim 11):
receiving a plain language request from a user (natural-language requests from the user; paragraph [0043], [0065]);
with a zero shot classification model, determining, and selecting, applications/tools needed to fulfill the plain language request (Given the natural language request(s) and/or response(s), the intent can be determined by mapping the user request one of a number of classes of problems to solve, such as using a zero-shot classification technique or using a prompt asking language model 128 to determine the class of the problem, as discussed in greater detail below. At operation 304, simulation engine 124 of simulation application 120 determines one or more appropriate simulation tools, such as solvers and/or simulation models, based on user input. In some embodiments, simulation engine 124 can determine the appropriate simulation tools based on an initial user request, and/or simulation engine 124 can iteratively prompt the user for additional information that is required. Then, simulation engine 124 can select one or more simulation tools based on the initial user request and/or the additional information; paragraphs [0043]-[0044], [0066], [0094]);
with a large language model (LLM), processing the tools to generate a preliminary plan
to fulfill the plain language request (“For each simulation tool in the set of simulation tools, simulation engine 124 determines information necessary for execution of the simulation tool”; paragraph [0068] and “Planner 1040 generates, using a language model (e., language model 128), a goal for analyzing simulation data 1010 based on the determined class of the user request. The generated goal can include, e.g., a statistical review of simulation data 1010 or specific plots of simulation data 1010. If planner 1040 determines that the class of user request is exploratory, the generated goal can include data exploration, cluster analysis, outlier detection, and/or pattern recognition. If planner 1040 determines that the user request necessitates a definitive analysis, the generated goal can include specific statistical tests to validate a hypothesis, predictive modeling to forecast future trends, and/or the generation of custom plots to illustrate particular aspects of simulation data 1010. Planner 1040 transmits the generated goal to tool collector 1050 and tool generator 1045”; paragraph [0095], and “the language model can determine which functions to use based on in-context learning, leveraging the provided context to make accurate selections. As a further example, in some embodiments, tool collector 150 can employ heuristic techniques or rule-based approaches to identify and/or generate required analysis functions based on specific criteria or rules; paragraph [0096]);
for each of the tools in the preliminary plan, determining respective parameters (For each simulation tool in the set of simulation tools, simulation engine 124 determines information necessary for execution of the simulation tool. In some embodiments, simulation configuration module 620 can request a function schema associated with the simulation tool from function schema generator 700. A function schema includes a template that specifies, e.g., parameters for the simulation tool, necessary inputs for the simulation tool, and/or default values for variables included in the simulation tool; paragraph [0068]-[0069], [0081]); and
combining the parameters with the tools to generate a final plan (“Simulation engine 124 monitors the execution of the test run and analyzes the execution to detect errors such as syntax errors, runtime errors, a rapidly diverging solution, an excessive consumption of system resources, and/or the like. If simulation engine 124 detects one or more errors, simulation engine 124 can attempt to diagnose and correct the error automatically, or simulation engine 124 can prompt the user to modify one or more parameters of the simulation to correct the error”; paragraph [0089] and “At operation 916, simulation engine 124 displays a finalized simulation configuration to the user and requests user approval for a full execution of the simulation”; paragraph [0090]), which, when executed, fulfills the plain language request (Assuming that user approval is received, then at operation 918, simulation engine 124 executes the full simulation and generates simulation data. Simulation engine 124 stores the simulation data and transmits the simulation data to an analysis engine; paragraph [0091]).
Ataet does not teach application program interfaces (APIs), and the preliminary plan which comprises an order in which the APIs must be called.
However, Ataet teaches simulation engine 124 configures the one or more simulation tools for execution (paragraph [0045]), and simulation engine 124 executes the simulation tool(s) (paragraph [0046]). Thus, although Ataet does not teach the preliminary plan comprises an order in which the tools must be called, Ataet teaches the simulation engine executes the simulation tools to derive the result. Implicitly, the simulation engine includes logic to call the tools in order.
Deluca teaches selecting and processing the APIs to generate a preliminary plan which comprises an order in which the APIs must be called in order to fulfill the plain language request from a user (“API program 112 receives a request (step 205). In an embodiment, API program 112 may receive a request to perform a task from user via a user interface, discussed previously. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a user may request, via the user interface, that the user would like to know “How can I add checkout to my current web application?” 302. API program 112 performs natural language processing on the request to determine the task or a problem to be solved by the request.”; col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 6 and “API program 112 determines API(s) (step 210). In other words, API program 112 determines a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously. In an embodiment, API program 112 may use a machine learning model, discussed previously, to determine a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously. API program 112, via the machine learning model, will determine a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously using one or more of the following: preset storyboards created by users to perform specific tasks, information about storyboards and API(s) that are found in existing applications that have been analyzed by the machine learning model to determine what tasks are performed by the storyboards and API(s), orders of storyboards and API(s) based on storyboards and API(s) found in existing applications analyzed by the machine learning model, information about links between APIs, and how data is passed between API(s)”; col. 5, lines 26-43 and col. 5, line 56 – col. 6, line 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Deluca to the system of Ataei because Deluca teaches a method for determining a group of storyboards or API(s) that will solve the request received previously, allowing for filtering the group of storyboards or API(s), and allowing for presenting a modified group of storyboards or API(s) based on the filtering requested, which give a user an option to modify the API(s) as needed.
As to claim 12, see rejection of claim 2 above.
As to claim 14, see rejection of claim 4 above.
As to claim 16, see rejection of claim 6 above.
As to claim 17, see rejection of claim 7 above.
As to claim 19, see rejection of claim 9 above.
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ataei et al. (US 2025/0028882 A1) in view of Deluca et al. (US 9,626,627 B1) further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2020/0320407 A1).
As to claim 3, Ataei as modified by Deluca does not teach wherein API specifications are parsed to obtain information used to select the APIs.
However, Xiao teaches API specifications are parsed to obtain information used to select the APIs (the NL based processing system (module) 138 is configured to perform intent recommendation, which parses the intent-API meta database 136 for corresponding APIs 106. The intent recommendation is to compute the likelihood of API matches based on the intent-based feature matrix (e.g., depicted in FIG. 6) against the intent-API meta database 136 to recommend the most likely APIs 106. For example, candidate intents are matched to descriptions (including parameters) for the APIs described in the intent-API meta database 136 in order to pass/recommend matches. Further, a concept has previously been determined for the intent, and the concept can be utilized to parse the intent-API meta database 136 to find the corresponding APIs 106. The APIs 106 are associated with concepts; paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Xiao to the system of Ataei as modified by Deluca because Xiao teaches a method that allows the system/method to select the most likely APIs among a plurality of candidate APIs to service the NL request, which would perform the user NL request most correctly.
As to claim 5, Ataei as modified by Deluca and Xiao teaches wherein the parameters for one of the APIs are obtained using a user prompt (see Xiao: At block 228, the NL based processing system (module) 138 is configured to perform parameter completion. Parameter completion is configured to interact (optionally) with user to complete missing parameters (e.g., by asking the user to confirm the selected parameter(s) is correct), validate relations among the supplied parameter values based on KB, and generate a structured data consumable by a machine API (in the APIs 106) At block 228, the NL based processing system (module) 138 is configured to perform parameter completion. Parameter completion is configured to interact (optionally) with user to complete missing parameters (e.g., by asking the user to confirm the selected parameter(s) is correct), validate relations among the supplied parameter values based on KB, and generate a structured data consumable by a machine API (in the APIs 106); paragraph [0044]), and output from another of the APIs that is upstream of that API (see Deluca: col. 5, line 56 – col. 6, line 13).
As to claim 13, see rejection of claim 3 above.
As to claim 15, see rejection of claim 5 above.
Claims 8, 10, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ataei et al. (US 2025/0028882 A1) in view of Deluca et al. (US 9,626,627 B1) further in view of Grecco et al. (US 2023/0214284 A1).
As to claim 8, Ataei as modified by Deluca does not teach wherein one of the selected APIs is associated with an operator that is operable to manipulate an input to, and/or an output from, that API
However, Grecco teaches one of the selected APIs is associated with an operator that is operable to manipulate an input to, and/or an output from, that API (At block 630, the executer is caused to execute the function based on the values of the input variable arguments. For example, the service scheduler may examine the function descriptor and determine the name/ID of the function to invoke. Immediate data may be passed to the executer unmodified. For reference arguments, the service scheduler may pass the values obtained in block 620. Upon conclusion of execution a function descriptor, output data represented as references will be stored via the memory manager in block 640. Following block 630, service scheduling processing may loop back to decision block 610 to process the next event; paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Grecco to the system of Ataei as modified by Deluca because Grecco teaches a method to improving performance of a transactional application programming interface (API) protocol by scheduling function calls based on data dependencies (e.g., argument dependencies), for example, to change the order and/or concurrency of function execution.
As to claim 10, Ataei as modified by Deluca and Grecco teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the order in which the APIs are arranged comprises any one or more of a sequential order, a parallel order, and a hierarchical order (see Grecco: processing of a sequence of function calls according to some embodiments. For purposes of comparison, in the context of the present example, it is assumed the same ordered sequence of function calls (F.sub.1, F.sub.2, F.sub.3, and F.sub.4) as described above with reference to FIG. 1B is originated by an application (e.g., application 811, which may be analogous to application 211) and sent via an interconnect (e.g., interconnect 220) to an executer (e.g., executer 831, which may be analogous to executer 231); paragraph [0079]).
As to claim 18, see rejection of claim 8 above.
As to claim 20, see rejection of claim 10 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DIEM K CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196
DC
September 1, 2026