DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on page 10 of the response in essence that: It can thus be seen that the solution of Abe is essentially a machine-to-machine calibration data sharing process, and it does not disclose any control device at all.
In paragraph 27, the Applicant’s specification describes the control device as including, but is not limited to, a computer, a mobile phone, a tablet computer, an internal enterprise server, a cloud server and any other electronic device that can communicate with the image forming device 120. The second printing system of Abe is a control device because it is an electronic device that can communicate with the image forming device 120.
The Applicant argues on pages 10 and 11 of the response in essence that: There is no request from a control device and no logic for determining whether a communication connection has been established. Therefore, since the calibration data in Abe are primarily used within a cluster of printing devices, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation, based on the teachings of Abe, to consider determining the communication connection state between a printing device and another type of device (i.e., a control device). Accordingly, the above distinguishing features would not have been readily envisaged.
Abe discloses that the UI 422 can be used to specify the second printing system as a transmission destination of the calibration information (paragraph 68). The communication of the calibration information from the first to the second printing system must require that the first printing system determine there is communication before the calibration information can be transmitted.
The Applicant argues on pages 11 and 12 of the response in essence that: It can be seen that after the computer receives the correction values transmitted by the printer, it not only stores them in memory, but must further create tables of correction values in the computer. This creation process necessarily consumes computational resources.
Abe discloses wherein the TRC data is capable of being used directly by the control device without editing again (paragraph 41, The printing unit 411 controls an ejection of the ink and a sheet conveyance on the basis of the colorant color signal output via the image signal I/F 101 or the image data output via the calibration processing unit 107 to print the image on the sheet). Yoshida discloses that a control device uses the TRC data with a printer driver (paragraph 210, The printer driver stores the correction values transmitted by the printer 1 in the memory (S204)). In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. US Publication 2013/0135686 (hereafter “Abe”) and Yoshida US Publication 2007/0086025 (hereafter “Yoshida”).
Referring to claims 1, 7 and 13, Abe discloses a method for correcting image density, applied to an image forming device, comprising:
forming, in response to an image density correcting instruction triggered by a user, an image density pattern for image density correction (paragraph 66, Subsequently, the parameters used for the calibration processing are read out. Spectral light reception characteristic information of the reference sensor and spectral light reception characteristic information of the real machine sensor which are independent of the characteristic of the medium may be left as alone, but a calibration target density value and spectral reflection factor information of the medium which are dependent of the characteristic of the medium are to be newly obtained [S1202 of FIG. 11]);
collecting image density data corresponding to the image density pattern (paragraph 66, the reference density value in S1106 corresponding to "the conversion into the reference sensor value" is measured in S1103 [S1205 of FIG. 11]);
generating tone reproduction curve (TRC) data according to the image density data corresponding to the image density pattern (paragraph 63, Next, in S1005, the interpolation processing is carried out on the density output values of the reference sensor obtained in S1004 corresponding to the patch image the density of which is changed in units of 10% as described above, and real machine print density data is generated [S1207 of FIG. 11]);
sending the TRC data to a control device, wherein the control device is configured to correct image density based on the TRC data during the image forming process (paragraph 68, In S1209, a printing system or printing apparatus that is not provided with the colorimetric measurement device 415, does not perform the colorimetric measurement by the colorimetric measurement device 415, or does not have the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 is specified as a transmission destination by using the UI 402 or 422. Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information);
wherein the TRC data are saved locally by the image forming device after generation (paragraph 64, Next, in S1006, the real machine print density data generated in S1005 is stored in the sensor correction information storage unit 414 [S1205 of FIG. 11]);
wherein the TRC data are sent to the control device based on a request by the control device (paragraph 68, In S1209, a printing system or printing apparatus that is not provided with the colorimetric measurement device 415, does not perform the colorimetric measurement by the colorimetric measurement device 415, or does not have the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 is specified as a transmission destination by using the UI 402 or 422. Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information).
wherein the TRC data is capable of being used directly by the control device without editing again (paragraph 41, The printing unit 411 controls an ejection of the ink and a sheet conveyance on the basis of the colorant color signal output via the image signal I/F 101 or the image data output via the calibration processing unit 107 to print the image on the sheet); and
wherein said sending the TRC data to the control device comprises:
determining, by the image forming device, whether to establish a communication connection with the control device (paragraph 68, In S1209, a printing system or printing apparatus that is not provided with the colorimetric measurement device 415, does not perform the colorimetric measurement by the colorimetric measurement device 415, or does not have the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 is specified as a transmission destination by using the UI 402 or 422. Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information [the first printing system will determine to establish a communication to transmit the data if requested from the second printing system]); and
if the image forming device establishes a communication connection with the control device, the TRC data are sent to the control device (paragraph 68, Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information); and
if the image forming device does not establish a communication connection with the control device, the TRC data are locally saved (paragraph 64, Next, in S1006, the real machine print density data generated in S1005 is stored in the sensor correction information storage unit 414 [S1205 of FIG. 11]), and after the image forming device establishes a communication connection with the control device, the TRC data are sent to the control device (paragraph 68, Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information).
While Abe discloses wherein the TRC data is capable of being used directly by the control device without editing again, Abe does not disclose expressly that the control device uses the TRC data with a printer driver.
Yoshida discloses wherein the TRC data is capable of being used directly by a printer driver of the control device without editing again (paragraph 210, The printer driver stores the correction values transmitted by the printer 1 in the memory (S204)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to for a control device to use a printer driver. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the control device to better issue print commands to the printing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoshida with Abe to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1, 7 and 13.
Referring to claims 2, 8 and 14, Abe discloses wherein said sending the TRC data to the control device comprises:
sending, when the image forming device established a communication connection with the control device, the TRC data to the control device (paragraph 68, In S1209, a printing system or printing apparatus that is not provided with the colorimetric measurement device 415, does not perform the colorimetric measurement by the colorimetric measurement device 415, or does not have the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 is specified as a transmission destination by using the UI 402 or 422. Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information).
Referring to claims 3, 9 and 15, Abe discloses wherein said sending the TRC data to the control device comprises:
receiving a TRC data acquisition instruction sent by the control device, wherein the TRC data acquisition instruction is configured to instruct the image forming device to send the TRC data to the control device (paragraph 68, In S1209, a printing system or printing apparatus that is not provided with the colorimetric measurement device 415, does not perform the colorimetric measurement by the colorimetric measurement device 415, or does not have the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 is specified as a transmission destination by using the UI 402 or 422); and
sending the TRC data to the control device (paragraph 68, Subsequently, the calibration target value data of the colorant of an unidentified medium (added medium X) based on the colorimetric measurement result by the colorimetric measurement device 415 and the spectral reflection factor characteristic information are transmitted to the specified printing system (apparatus) as the calibration information).
Referring to claims 4, 10 and 16, Abe discloses wherein said sending the TRC data to the control device comprises:
sending the TRC data to at least two control devices, respectively (paragraph 71, As described above, according to the present exemplified embodiment, the information for the calibration obtained by conducting the colorimetric measurement on the patch image by the colorimetric measurement device provided to the single printing system (apparatus) can be transferred to another printing system (apparatus) or the other plural printing systems (apparatuses) to be utilized).
Referring to claims 5, 11 and 17, Oh discloses wherein the image density pattern comprises:
a yellow Y image density pattern, a magenta M image density pattern, a cyan C image density pattern and a black K image density pattern (paragraph 32, The relevant patch is printed by using the respective colorants of cyan, light cyan, magenta, yellow, and black, and density values of the colorant color signals of the respective colorants are changed, for example, in units of 10%).
Referring to claims 6, 12 and 18, Abe discloses outputting image density correcting prompt information, wherein the image density correcting prompt information is configured to prompt the user to trigger the image density correcting instruction (paragraph 58, Upon the execution of this flow chart, an input of an execution instruction of the calibration processing or parameters or the like used for the execution of the relevant processing is conducted from the UI 402 or 422).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682