DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 06/22/2026, in which claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections:
Applicant argues on pages 15-16 of the remarks that the temporal requirement of “determination of whether the stress level correlates to vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress be made during vehicle operation” is not taught by Hong. Applicant argues on pages 16-17 of the remarks that Hong does not teach determining “whether the stress level correlates to vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress.” Applicant argues on page 17 of the remarks that Hong fails to teach the first and second remediation measure being implemented “based at least upon the stress level correlating to vehicle stress and the stress level not being within the pre-determined stress level threshold and being higher than the pre-determined stress level threshold.” Applicant further argues on page 17 of the remarks that the remaining cited references fail to cure the deficiencies of Hong.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the remaining cited references fail to cure the deficiencies of Hong, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Aarts teaches the first and second remediation measure are implemented “based at least upon the stress level correlating to vehicle stress and the stress level not being within the pre-determined stress level threshold and being higher than the pre-determined stress level threshold.” Applicant defines vehicle stress as “stress related to operating the vehicle.” Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, Aarts teaches the first and second remediation measures are implemented based on the stress level correlating to vehicle stress because Aarts teaches maintaining a person in the affective state is based on a user relaxation during a driving situation (Aarts [0024]). Aarts also teaches that the warnings provided to a driver to maintain the subject in the affective state are based on the traffic environment (Aarts [0004]). Furthermore, Aarts teaches the remediation measures are implemented based on the stress level not being within the pre-determined stress level threshold and being higher than the pre-determined stress level threshold because a user is maintained in a relaxation range using feedback through lights and a seat belt (Aarts [0054], [0015]). Therefore, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, Aarts teaches the first and second remediation measure are implemented “based at least upon the stress level correlating to vehicle stress and the stress level not being within the pre-determined stress level threshold and being higher than the pre-determined stress level threshold.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Hong have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Hong for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 4 and 16 are written in the form of Markush claims. Therefore, the claims are interpreted as requiring the prior art to teach selecting at least one element from the closed group of alternatives.
Claim 14 is interpreted as containing conditional limitations. For example, each limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including a specific condition. Since these conditions are not necessarily required to occur, the resulting step of determining a specific corresponding remediation measure also does not need to occur. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach the conditional limitations. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aarts et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0015468 A1 (hereinafter Aarts), in view of Hong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0039424 A1 (hereinafter Hong), and further in view of Rahal-Arabi et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0164108 A1 (hereinafter Rahal-Arabi).
Regarding claim 1, Aarts discloses a method of relieving stress for an operator of a vehicle, comprising (see at least Aarts [0008]: “According to a first aspect of the present invention there is provided a method of maintaining a state in a subject comprising:…and generating an output to the subject if the calculated value is determined to be below the lower threshold or above the upper threshold.”):
receiving, at the in-vehicle computing system, a second set of inputs from a second plurality of monitoring devices after the operator begins operation of the vehicle, wherein the second set of inputs comprises one or more physiological parameters (see at least Aarts [0023]: “FIG. 1 shows a system 10 for maintaining a state in a subject 12. The system 10 comprises sensors 14 which are arranged to measure one or more physiological parameters of the subject 12…The Fig. shows the subject 12 being monitored by three separate sensors 14. The sensor 14a is skin conductivity measuring device, the sensor 14b is a camera that is monitoring the facial expression and head position of the subject 12, and the sensor 14c is a wireless heart rate monitor held in place with a strap around the subject's chest.”; [0029]: “The system of the present invention is, in an exemplary embodiment based around a car or other vehicle.”);
processing the second set of inputs via the processor of the in-vehicle computing system to determine a stress level of the operator of the vehicle (see at least Aarts [0024]: “In the case of the upper threshold 22 the subject is perceived to be too stressed or angry once this limit is crossed to drive their vehicle in a safe manner. The scale 24 (which can be thought of as a relaxation scale) represents the perceived range of possible relaxation states of the subject 12 and the value 26 shows the current level that the subject 12 is calculated to have reached. This value 26 is calculated by the processor 16 using the data from the sensors 14.”),
comparing the stress level to a pre-determined stress level threshold (see at least Aarts [0024]: “In the case of the upper threshold 22 the subject is perceived to be too stressed or angry once this limit is crossed to drive their vehicle in a safe manner. The scale 24 (which can be thought of as a relaxation scale) represents the perceived range of possible relaxation states of the subject 12 and the value 26 shows the current level that the subject 12 is calculated to have reached. This value 26 is calculated by the processor 16 using the data from the sensors 14.”);
automatically implementing a first remediation measure by controlling a first vehicle system based at least upon the stress level correlating to vehicle stress and the stress level not being within the pre-determined stress level threshold and being higher than the pre-determined stress level threshold (see at least Aarts [0054]: “FIGS. 3 and 4 is one way in which an output can be provided to a subject 12 in order to control the relaxation level of the subject 12…In the opposite sense if the subject 12 is considered to be too stressed and their measured relaxation level is above the upper threshold then the lights 18 can be used to slow down the breathing of the subject 12.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”; [0004]: “In such a case of hypo-vigilance the system will provide an adequate warning to the driver with various levels of warnings, according to the estimated driver's hypo-vigilance state and also to the actual traffic environment. This system will operate reliably and effectively in all highway scenarios.”);
and automatically implementing a second remediation measure by controlling a second vehicle system based at least upon the stress level correlating to vehicle stress and the stress level not being within the pre-determined stress level threshold and being higher than the pre-determined stress level threshold, wherein the second remediation measure is different from the first remediation measure (see at least Aarts [0015]: “Preferably an output device is arranged to provide direct physical feedback to the subject. In many embodiments it is desirable to provide direct physical feedback to the subject's body in order to stimulate a rapid response from the subject. For example in the system provided to ensure that a driver remains alert but not stressed an output device can comprise a belt for engaging the subject's body and a tightening device arranged to control the tightness of the belt. This can be used to regulate the breathing of the subject using the tightening and the slackening of the seat belt under the control of the tightening device to regulate the in and out action of the subject's breathing.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”; [0004]: “In such a case of hypo-vigilance the system will provide an adequate warning to the driver with various levels of warnings, according to the estimated driver's hypo-vigilance state and also to the actual traffic environment. This system will operate reliably and effectively in all highway scenarios.”).
Aarts fails to expressly disclose comparing the set of inputs to a baseline stress level of the operator established before the operator entered the vehicle. However, Hong teaches
receiving, at an in-vehicle computing system, a first set of inputs from a first plurality of monitoring devices before the operator of the vehicle begins operating the vehicle (see at least Hong [0188]: “When a user (or a driver) is sensed as getting in a vehicle, the controller 180 determines a current driving index corresponding to the biological signal of the user that is sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, with a predetermined reference driving index serving as a reference (S440).”; [0208]: “As illustrated in FIG. 3B, when it is sensed that the user who wears the watch-type terminal 200 gets in a vehicle 50, before the user starts to drive, it is determined whether or not the current state of the user is suitable for the safety driving and thus feedback is output through the watch-type terminal 200.”);
processing the first set of inputs via a processor of the in-vehicle computing system to determine a baseline stress level of the operator of the vehicle, wherein the baseline stress level of the operator comprises an initial state of the operator when entering a cabin of the vehicle (see at least Hong [0196]: “Thus, the current state of the user can be determined with more precision by taking into consideration whether the stress index (or the drowsiness index), which is calculated based on the biological signals that are sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, is in the index ascending section or in the index recovering section.”; [0239]-[0240]: “An example in which information on an activity that is done before the user gets in the vehicle is recognized in the watch-type terminal 200 according to the present invention in order to determine the current driving index in more precision is described below referring to FIGS. 9A to 11. First, before the user gets in a vehicle, a personal index pattern is generated using the log information that is collected based on the biological signals of the user, for example, such as the ECG, the EMG, the EEG, the HRV, and the PPG, that are sensed for a reference period of time, and the reference driving index that is set using the index pattern is stored in advance in the watch-type terminal 200.”),
wherein processing the set of inputs comprises comparing the set of inputs to the baseline stress level of the operator established before the operator entered the vehicle (see at least Hong [0188]: “When a user (or a driver) is sensed as getting in a vehicle, the controller 180 determines a current driving index corresponding to the biological signal of the user that is sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, with a predetermined reference driving index serving as a reference (S440).”; [0238]: “As described above, the current driving index is determined based on the reference driving index that is set based on the usual physical index pattern and usual emotional index pattern for the user and on the biological signal that is sensed after the user gets in the vehicle. However, the stress index corresponding to the current driving index is measured at a higher level than in ordinary days, according to a user's movement and activity immediately before the user gets in the vehicle, such as when the user does strenuous exercise before the user gets in the vehicle or when the user runs to the vehicle.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aarts with Hong with reasonable expectation of success. Hong is directed towards the related field of a wearable device for sensing biological information and comparing to a reference driving index. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts with Hong to determine if a user is in a suitable state to begin safe driving (see at least Hong [0009]: “Another aspect of the detailed description is to provide a wearable device capable of determining whether a state of a user is suitable for allowing the user to drive a vehicle using biological information sensed, and of helping the user to return to a suitable state for safety driving, and a method of operating the wearable device.”).
Aarts in view of Hong fail to expressly disclose determining during vehicle operation whether the stress level correlates to vehicle stress related to operating the vehicle or non-vehicle stress unrelated to operating the vehicle based on historical information, location data, or environmental factors. However, Rahal-Arabi teaches
and determining during vehicle operation whether the stress level correlates to vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress based on at least one of historical information, location data, and environmental factors, wherein vehicle stress comprises stress related to operating the vehicle and non-vehicle stress comprises stress unrelated to operating the vehicle (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0027]-[0029]: “In some embodiments, potential stress factors that can be accessed from dynamic public databases 106 can include construction and/or traffic pattern changes…Data provided by vehicle sensors 108 can include potential stress factors such as conditions internal and external to the vehicle as well as potential stress indicators such as direct measurements associated with the driver's current stress level. Potential stress factors from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, audio captures such as audio recordings from inside the vehicle. For example, if children are crying or bickering in the back seat, an argument is occurring inside the vehicle, or a stressful phone call is being placed inside the vehicle, etc. Other potential stress indicators from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, vehicle camera data (for example, picking up driving hazards or conditions not reported in the above databases, such as the vehicle approaching a group of bicyclists).”; [0034]: “In some embodiments, current data output from vehicle sensors 108 is used by road stress level evaluator 114 to determine stress factors currently effecting the driver.”; Rahal-Arabi teaches determining vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress based on at least environmental factors)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aarts in view of Hong with Rahal-Arabi with reasonable expectation of success. Rahal-Arabi is directed towards the related field of stress-based navigation routing. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts in view of Hong with Rahal-Arabi to provide individualized routing with higher safety and lower stress (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0017]: “In some embodiments, higher safety and/or low stress routing can be individualized using current individual safety and/or stress information about the driver (and/or passengers) using sensors to detect information such as heart rate, blood pressure, etc., but additionally can be individualized to past experiences of the particular driver (and/or passenger).”).
Regarding claim 2, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 1 as explained above. Hong further teaches
wherein at least one of the implementation of the first remediation measure and the implementation of the second remediation measure is further based upon the second stress level being higher than the baseline stress level (see at least Hong [0204]: “In addition, for example, in a case where the stress index exceeds the reference driving index, in order to lower the excited state of the user, the controller 180 recommend that the user should listen to a record of the breathing rates of the user, a record of the pulse of the user, and the like that are stored in advance in the watch-type terminal 200.”).
Regarding claim 3, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 2 as explained above. Aarts further discloses
wherein the first plurality of monitoring devices is different than the second plurality of monitoring devices (see at least Aarts [0023]: “The Fig. shows the subject 12 being monitored by three separate sensors 14. The sensor 14a is skin conductivity measuring device, the sensor 14b is a camera that is monitoring the facial expression and head position of the subject 12, and the sensor 14c is a wireless heart rate monitor held in place with a strap around the subject's chest. The sensors 14a and 14c can be considered to be direct sensors that are directly measuring physiological parameters of the subject 12, and the sensor 14b is an indirect sensor that is measuring physiological parameters such as the facial expression of the subject 12. Other indirect physiological sensors may comprise the manner in which user interacts with a user interface, for example the pressure at which the user grips a steering wheel.”).
Regarding claim 4, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 2 as explained above. Aarts further discloses
wherein each of the first set of inputs and the second set of inputs includes a plurality of physiological parameters selected from outputs of: a heart rate sensor, a forehand temperature sensor, a blood pressure, a blood glucose sensor, a blood oxygenation sensor, a brain wave sensor, a perspiration level sensor, a camera for monitoring muscular activity, and a camera for monitoring pupil activity or pupil diameter (see at least Aarts [0023]: “The sensor 14a is skin conductivity measuring device, the sensor 14b is a camera that is monitoring the facial expression and head position of the subject 12, and the sensor 14c is a wireless heart rate monitor held in place with a strap around the subject's chest.”; this claim is written in the form of a Markush claim; therefore, the claim is interpreted as selecting at least one element from the closed group of alternatives; Aarts discloses at least a heart rate sensor).
Regarding claim 5, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 2 as explained above. Hong further teaches
wherein a mobile device of the operator includes the first plurality of monitoring devices (see at least Hong [0050]-[0051]: “A terminal in the present description may include a wearable device such as a portable phone, a smart phone, a notebook computer, a digital broadcasting terminal, Personal Digital Assistants (PDA), Portable Multimedia Player (PMP), a navigation system, a slate PC, a tablet PC, an ultra book, etc. Such wearable device may be implemented as a wearable device which can be worn on a human body, beyond the conventional concept held by a user's hand. The wearable device may include a smart watch, a smart glass, a head mounted display (HMD), etc.”).
Regarding claim 6, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 5 as explained above. Hong further teaches
wherein each of the first set of inputs is received from the mobile device of the operator via a wireless communication interface of the vehicle (see at least Hong [0272]: “In order to receive information relating to a state of the vehicle, the watch-type terminal 200 performs wireless communication with the vehicle system using Bluetooth, ZigBee, WiFi and the like, or performs wired communication with the vehicle using RS-232, RS-485, USB, CAN, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 7, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 1 as explained above. Hong further teaches
wherein the first vehicle system comprises at least one of: an infotainment system, a navigation system, an Advance Driver Assistance System (ADAS), and a Voice Personal Assistant (VPA) (see at least Hong [0278]: “For example, referring to FIGS. 13A to 13C, when the telematics system installed within the vehicle, for example, a navigation apparatus 100B is turned on (1302), the watch-type terminal 200 connected to the navigation apparatus 100B determines that the user gets in the vehicle, senses the biological signals of the user, and calculates the current driving index based on a predetermined reference driving index.”; [0210]: “On the other hand, as another example, the watch-type terminal 200 may perform control in such a manner that the information relating to the state of the user is output through the telematics system 200B, or may control operation (for example, “changing the current moving path to another (for example, a path along a forest). On the other hand, although not illustrated, after the user starts to drive, it is also continuously determined whether or not the state of the user is suitable for the safety driving.”; Hong teaches at least a navigation system).
wherein the second vehicle system comprises at least one of: an infotainment system, a navigation system, an Advance Driver Assistance System (ADAS), and a Voice Personal Assistant (VPA); and wherein the first vehicle system and the second vehicle system are different (see at least Hong [0282]: “In addition, although not illustrated, the vehicle system, which is connected to the watch-type terminal 200, operates apparatuses that are not directly associated with the driving of the vehicle, but are installed in the vehicle for providing the user with an environment suitable for driving, such as an air conditioner (for example, for decreasing temperature in a case of the drowsy state), a car audio player (for example, for reproducing pieces of classical music in a case of the stress index at a high level), lighting fixtures (for example, for lighting up the inside of the vehicle in the case of the drowsy state), and the like.”; Hong teaches at least an infotainment system because Hong teaches a car audio player).
Regarding claim 8, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 1 as explained above. Hong further teaches
wherein the controlling the first vehicle system comprises: adjusting a navigation system to suggest an alternate route based on current traffic conditions and/or weather conditions; providing early warnings for emergency medical systems activity along a current route; providing adaptive navigation instructions based on the stress level; or adjusting Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) sensitivity based on the stress level (see at least Hong [0279]-[0280]: “For example, in a case where in FIG. 13B, a destination that is set in the navigation apparatus 100B is “HOME” and the pieces of situational information that lower the stress index to the usual level, which are stored in the watch-type terminal 200, are “HUNGRY,” “EATING HAMBURGAR,” visual information 1303 that recommends a situation change for the user, for example, a message saying “Do you stop by ‘Burger King’ on your way to ‘home’?” is output to the touch screen 251 of the watch-type terminal 200. At this time, when the user selects “YES” 1303c, the watch-type terminal 200 transmits a control signal for re-setting the path, which causes “Burger King” to be included in the moving path that is set in the connected navigation apparatus 100B, to the navigation apparatus 100B.”; [0210]: “On the other hand, as another example, the watch-type terminal 200 may perform control in such a manner that the information relating to the state of the user is output through the telematics system 200B, or may control operation (for example, “changing the current moving path to another (for example, a path along a forest). On the other hand, although not illustrated, after the user starts to drive, it is also continuously determined whether or not the state of the user is suitable for the safety driving.”; Hong teaches at least providing adaptive navigation instructions based on the stress level).
Regarding claim 9, Aarts discloses a method of relieving stress for an operator of a vehicle, comprising (see at least Aarts [0008]: “According to a first aspect of the present invention there is provided a method of maintaining a state in a subject comprising:…and generating an output to the subject if the calculated value is determined to be below the lower threshold or above the upper threshold.”):
receiving, at the in-vehicle computing system, a second set of input values from a second plurality of monitoring devices after the operator begins operation of the vehicle (see at least Aarts [0023]: “The Fig. shows the subject 12 being monitored by three separate sensors 14. The sensor 14a is skin conductivity measuring device, the sensor 14b is a camera that is monitoring the facial expression and head position of the subject 12, and the sensor 14c is a wireless heart rate monitor held in place with a strap around the subject's chest.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”; [0029]: “The system of the present invention is, in an exemplary embodiment based around a car or other vehicle.”);
processing the second set of input values via the processor of the in-vehicle computing system to establish a current cognitive state of the operator (see at least Aarts [0024]: “In the case of the upper threshold 22 the subject is perceived to be too stressed or angry once this limit is crossed to drive their vehicle in a safe manner. The scale 24 (which can be thought of as a relaxation scale) represents the perceived range of possible relaxation states of the subject 12 and the value 26 shows the current level that the subject 12 is calculated to have reached. This value 26 is calculated by the processor 16 using the data from the sensors 14.”; [0029]: “The system of the present invention is, in an exemplary embodiment based around a car or other vehicle.”);
determining a remediation measure to reduce a stress level of the operator based at least in part upon a comparison of the current cognitive state to the baseline cognitive state; and automatically implementing the remediation measure (see at least Aarts [0054]: “In the opposite sense if the subject 12 is considered to be too stressed and their measured relaxation level is above the upper threshold then the lights 18 can be used to slow down the breathing of the subject 12.”; [0050]: “The feedback controller operates to maintain the affective state of the user within the pre-defined region, as shown in FIG. 2.”; under broadest reasonable interpretation a comparison of the current and baseline cognitive states includes comparing the current affective state to the pre-defined region).
Aarts fails to expressly disclose receiving a first set of inputs from a first plurality of monitoring devices before the operator of the vehicle begins operating the vehicle. However, Hong teaches
receiving, at an in-vehicle computing system, a first set of input values from a first plurality of monitoring devices before the operator begins operation of the vehicle (see at least Hong [0188]: “When a user (or a driver) is sensed as getting in a vehicle, the controller 180 determines a current driving index corresponding to the biological signal of the user that is sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, with a predetermined reference driving index serving as a reference (S440).”; [0208]: “As illustrated in FIG. 3B, when it is sensed that the user who wears the watch-type terminal 200 gets in a vehicle 50, before the user starts to drive, it is determined whether or not the current state of the user is suitable for the safety driving and thus feedback is output through the watch-type terminal 200.”; [0023]: “The wearable device may further include a wireless communication unit, connected to a vehicle-mounted control apparatus, that receives information relating to a state of the vehicle, in which the controller may sense that the user gets in the vehicle, based on the received information relating to the current state of the vehicle, and may control the wireless communication unit in such a manner that information on the state of the user that corresponds to the current driving index is provided to the vehicle-mounted control apparatus.”);
processing the first set of input values via a processor of the in-vehicle computing system to establish a baseline cognitive state of the operator, wherein the baseline cognitive state of the operator comprises an initial state of the operator when entering a cabin of the vehicle (see at least Hong [0239]-[0240]: “An example in which information on an activity that is done before the user gets in the vehicle is recognized in the watch-type terminal 200 according to the present invention in order to determine the current driving index in more precision is described below referring to FIGS. 9A to 11. First, before the user gets in a vehicle, a personal index pattern is generated using the log information that is collected based on the biological signals of the user, for example, such as the ECG, the EMG, the EEG, the HRV, and the PPG, that are sensed for a reference period of time, and the reference driving index that is set using the index pattern is stored in advance in the watch-type terminal 200.”; [0227]: “The controller 180 sets the reference driving index using that index pattern that is stored in this manner (S720). The “reference driving index” is updated each time the change in the state of the user is detected or the index pattern for the user is changed. In addition, the “reference driving index” is set to include multiple stages or levels in such a manner that a current state of the user is recognized with more precision.”);
wherein processing the second set of input values comprises: comparing the second set of input values to the baseline cognitive state established before the operator entered the vehicle (see at least Hong [0188]: “When a user (or a driver) is sensed as getting in a vehicle, the controller 180 determines a current driving index corresponding to the biological signal of the user that is sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, with a predetermined reference driving index serving as a reference (S440).”; [0238]: “As described above, the current driving index is determined based on the reference driving index that is set based on the usual physical index pattern and usual emotional index pattern for the user and on the biological signal that is sensed after the user gets in the vehicle. However, the stress index corresponding to the current driving index is measured at a higher level than in ordinary days, according to a user's movement and activity immediately before the user gets in the vehicle, such as when the user does strenuous exercise before the user gets in the vehicle or when the user runs to the vehicle.”);
wherein implementing the remediation measure comprises controlling at least one of: an infotainment system to adjust one or more settings, a navigation system to suggest an alternate route based on current traffic conditions and/or weather conditions, provide early warnings for emergency medical systems activity along a current route, or provide adaptive navigation instructions based on the stress level, an Advance Driver Assistance System (ADAS) to adjust a sensitivity of the ADAS based on the stress level, and a Voice Personal Assistant (VPA) to provide at least one of guided biofeedback exercises, venting sessions, positive psychology guidance, or guided meditation (see at least Hong [0279]-[0280]: “For example, in a case where in FIG. 13B, a destination that is set in the navigation apparatus 100B is “HOME” and the pieces of situational information that lower the stress index to the usual level, which are stored in the watch-type terminal 200, are “HUNGRY,” “EATING HAMBURGAR,” visual information 1303 that recommends a situation change for the user, for example, a message saying “Do you stop by ‘Burger King’ on your way to ‘home’?” is output to the touch screen 251 of the watch-type terminal 200. At this time, when the user selects “YES” 1303c, the watch-type terminal 200 transmits a control signal for re-setting the path, which causes “Burger King” to be included in the moving path that is set in the connected navigation apparatus 100B, to the navigation apparatus 100B.”; [0210]: “On the other hand, as another example, the watch-type terminal 200 may perform control in such a manner that the information relating to the state of the user is output through the telematics system 200B, or may control operation (for example, “changing the current moving path to another (for example, a path along a forest). On the other hand, although not illustrated, after the user starts to drive, it is also continuously determined whether or not the state of the user is suitable for the safety driving.”; Hong teaches at least a navigation system to provide adaptive navigation instructions based on the stress level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aarts with Hong with reasonable expectation of success. Hong is directed towards the related field of a wearable device for sensing biological information and comparing to a reference driving index. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts with Hong to determine if a user is in a suitable state to begin safe driving (see at least Hong [0009]: “Another aspect of the detailed description is to provide a wearable device capable of determining whether a state of a user is suitable for allowing the user to drive a vehicle using biological information sensed, and of helping the user to return to a suitable state for safety driving, and a method of operating the wearable device.”).
Aarts in view of Hong fail to expressly disclose the vehicle stress is related to road conditions, traffic, road construction, or detours. However, Rahal-Arabi teaches
determining, during vehicle operation, whether the current cognitive state correlates to vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress based on at least one of historical information, location data, and environmental factors (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0027]-[0029]: “In some embodiments, potential stress factors that can be accessed from dynamic public databases 106 can include construction and/or traffic pattern changes…Data provided by vehicle sensors 108 can include potential stress factors such as conditions internal and external to the vehicle as well as potential stress indicators such as direct measurements associated with the driver's current stress level. Potential stress factors from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, audio captures such as audio recordings from inside the vehicle. For example, if children are crying or bickering in the back seat, an argument is occurring inside the vehicle, or a stressful phone call is being placed inside the vehicle, etc. Other potential stress indicators from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, vehicle camera data (for example, picking up driving hazards or conditions not reported in the above databases, such as the vehicle approaching a group of bicyclists).”; [0034]: “In some embodiments, current data output from vehicle sensors 108 is used by road stress level evaluator 114 to determine stress factors currently effecting the driver.”; Rahal-Arabi teaches determining vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress based on at least environmental factors),
wherein vehicle stress is related to at least one of road conditions, traffic, road construction, and detours and wherein non-vehicle stress comprises stress unrelated to operating the vehicle (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0027]-[0029]: “In some embodiments, potential stress factors that can be accessed from dynamic public databases 106 can include construction and/or traffic pattern changes…Data provided by vehicle sensors 108 can include potential stress factors such as conditions internal and external to the vehicle as well as potential stress indicators such as direct measurements associated with the driver's current stress level. Potential stress factors from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, audio captures such as audio recordings from inside the vehicle. For example, if children are crying or bickering in the back seat, an argument is occurring inside the vehicle, or a stressful phone call is being placed inside the vehicle, etc. Other potential stress indicators from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, vehicle camera data (for example, picking up driving hazards or conditions not reported in the above databases, such as the vehicle approaching a group of bicyclists).”);
and determining, during vehicle operation, that the current cognitive state correlates to vehicle stress and not to non-vehicle stress based on the historical information, location data, or environmental factors (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0034]: “In some embodiments, current data output from vehicle sensors 108 is used by road stress level evaluator 114 to determine stress factors currently effecting the driver.”; [0056]: “In some embodiments, safety and/or stress scores are computed by a navigation system (for example, computed locally and/or remotely) based on road conditions (for example, based on traffic conditions, road hazard conditions such as, for example, construction roadwork, icy roads, snowy roads, wet roads, etc., and/or databases such as static databases and/or crime rate databases). In some embodiments, one or more of a navigation system such as navigation system 100, navigation system 200, and/or driver profile optimization 300 and/or driver stress profile updating 400 are used to compute safety and/or stress scores. In some embodiments, stress scores are computed using navigation system 100 and/or navigation system 200 based on road conditions and/or using driver stress profile optimization 400.”; Rahal-Arabi teaches determining based on at least environmental factors)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aarts in view of Hong with Rahal-Arabi with reasonable expectation of success. Rahal-Arabi is directed towards the related field of stress-based navigation routing. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts in view of Hong with Rahal-Arabi to provide individualized routing with higher safety and lower stress (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0017]: “In some embodiments, higher safety and/or low stress routing can be individualized using current individual safety and/or stress information about the driver (and/or passengers) using sensors to detect information such as heart rate, blood pressure, etc., but additionally can be individualized to past experiences of the particular driver (and/or passenger).”).
Regarding claim 10, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 9 as explained above. Aarts further discloses
wherein a set of physiological indicators of stress is correlated with the second set of inputs (see at least Aarts [0011]-[0012]: “The system can provide appropriate stimuli if the subject is becoming too tired and likewise if the subject is becoming too alert or stressed then a different stimuli can be used. Preferably the processor is arranged to map the one or more measured physiological parameters of the subject to a scale and wherein the calculated value comprises a value on the scale.”; [0023]: “The sensors 14a and 14c can be considered to be direct sensors that are directly measuring physiological parameters of the subject 12, and the sensor 14b is an indirect sensor that is measuring physiological parameters such as the facial expression of the subject 12.”);
and wherein the determination of the remediation measure to reduce the stress level of the operator is based additionally upon whether the set of physiological indicators exceeds a stress level threshold for the set of physiological indicators (see at least Aarts [0054]: “In the opposite sense if the subject 12 is considered to be too stressed and their measured relaxation level is above the upper threshold then the lights 18 can be used to slow down the breathing of the subject 12.”).
Regarding claim 11, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 10 as explained above. Hong further teaches
wherein the stress level threshold for the set of physiological indicators is based upon at least one of the first set of input values and the baseline cognitive state (see at least Hong [0188]: “When a user (or a driver) is sensed as getting in a vehicle, the controller 180 determines a current driving index corresponding to the biological signal of the user that is sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, with a predetermined reference driving index serving as a reference (S440).”; [0208]: “As illustrated in FIG. 3B, when it is sensed that the user who wears the watch-type terminal 200 gets in a vehicle 50, before the user starts to drive, it is determined whether or not the current state of the user is suitable for the safety driving and thus feedback is output through the watch-type terminal 200.”).
Regarding claim 12, this claim recites a method similar to the method of claim 3 as explained above, with a dependency on claim 9. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 9 as explained above. Aarts further discloses
wherein the one or more settings comprise one or more of audio settings and temperature settings (see at least Aarts [0025]: “For example if the user is listening to audio then the output that they receive when the system ascertains that a threshold has been crossed will be a change in volume of the audio.”).
Regarding claim 14, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the method of relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 13 as explained above. Aarts further discloses
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased heart rate, the determined remediation measure is to decrease heart rate (see at least Aarts [0052]: “FIG. 3 shows an example of a voluntary cardio-respiratory synchronization (VCRS) scheme which can be used to support a breathing level in a subject 12, in order to regulate the heart rate of the subject 12. The system of FIG. 3 can be used to maintain the heart rate (or the interpreted relaxation level) of the subject 12 within the upper and lower thresholds, as desired.”; [0053]: “This logic controls a light driver 34 which controls an output device 18 which is comprised of lights that illustrate to the subject 12 when the subject should inhale and exhale. The system shown in FIG. 2 need not be intrusive for the subject 12 for example if they are wearing a small wrist-mounted device that monitors their heart rate. The relaxation level of the subject 12 is detected, and when the level crosses either of the lower or upper thresholds, then output is provided to the subject 12 via the lights 18.”; This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased heart rate. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include reduced high-frequency components of heart rate variability, the determined remediation measure is to increase high-frequency components of heart rate variability (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including reduced high-frequency components of heart rate variability. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased blood pressure, the determined remediation measure is to decrease blood pressure (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased blood pressure. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include suppressed alpha waves of the brain, the determined remediation measure is to increase alpha waves of the brain (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including suppressed alpha waves of the brain. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased forehand temperature, the determined remediation measure is to decrease forehand temperature (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased forehand temperature. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include a decreased nose area temperature, the determined remediation measure is to increase nose area temperature (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including decreased nose area temperature. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increase in difference between forehand temperature and nose area temperature, the determined remediation measure is to decrease differences between forehand temperature and nose area temperature (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including an increase in forehand temperature and nose area temperature difference. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased muscular activity, the determined remediation measure is to decrease muscular activity (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased muscular activity. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased pupil diameter, the determined remediation measure is to decrease pupil diameter (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased pupil diameter. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include a decreased standard deviation of pupil diameter, the determined remediation measure is to increase standard deviation of pupil diameter (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including decreased pupil diameter standard deviation. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased blinking, the determined remediation measure is to decrease blinking (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased blinking. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include a later gaze disengagement, the determined remediation measure is to decrease later gaze disengagement (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including later gaze disengagement. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.);
and wherein, when the one or more physiological indicators of stress include an increased peak saccade velocity, the determined remediation measure is to decrease peak saccade velocity (This limitation is conditional on the physiological indicators of stress including increased peak saccade velocity. Therefore, the prior art is not required to teach this limitation.).
Regarding claim 15, Aarts discloses an in-vehicle computing system of relieving stress for an operator of a vehicle, comprising (see at least Aarts Fig. 1 and Fig. 6):
receive a second set of inputs from a second plurality of monitoring devices after the operator begins operation of the vehicle (see at least Aarts [0023]: “The Fig. shows the subject 12 being monitored by three separate sensors 14. The sensor 14a is skin conductivity measuring device, the sensor 14b is a camera that is monitoring the facial expression and head position of the subject 12, and the sensor 14c is a wireless heart rate monitor held in place with a strap around the subject's chest.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”);
process the second set of inputs to establish a current cognitive state of the operator (see at least Aarts [0024]: “In the case of the upper threshold 22 the subject is perceived to be too stressed or angry once this limit is crossed to drive their vehicle in a safe manner. The scale 24 (which can be thought of as a relaxation scale) represents the perceived range of possible relaxation states of the subject 12 and the value 26 shows the current level that the subject 12 is calculated to have reached. This value 26 is calculated by the processor 16 using the data from the sensors 14.”);
determine, during vehicle operation, whether the second set of inputs correlates to one or more physiological indicators of stress (see at least Aarts [0024]: “In the case of the upper threshold 22 the subject is perceived to be too stressed or angry once this limit is crossed to drive their vehicle in a safe manner. The scale 24 (which can be thought of as a relaxation scale) represents the perceived range of possible relaxation states of the subject 12 and the value 26 shows the current level that the subject 12 is calculated to have reached. This value 26 is calculated by the processor 16 using the data from the sensors 14.”; [0012]: “Preferably the processor is arranged to map the one or more measured physiological parameters of the subject to a scale and wherein the calculated value comprises a value on the scale.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”);
determine, during vehicle operation, whether a remediation measure will reduce a stress level of the operator by comparing the current cognitive state to the baseline cognitive state (see at least Aarts [0054]: “In the opposite sense if the subject 12 is considered to be too stressed and their measured relaxation level is above the upper threshold then the lights 18 can be used to slow down the breathing of the subject 12.”; [0050]: “The feedback controller operates to maintain the affective state of the user within the pre-defined region, as shown in FIG. 2…Alternatively, if the system notes that the driver is becoming too stressed it can slow down the breathing rate to increase relaxation.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”; under broadest reasonable interpretation a comparison of the current and baseline cognitive states includes comparing the current affective state to the pre-defined region);
automatically implement the remediation measure by controlling operation of at least one vehicle system of a plurality of vehicle systems when the second set of inputs correlates to one or more physiological indicators of stress that correlate to vehicle stress and the remediation measure will reduce the stress level of the operator (see at least Aarts [0054]: “FIG. 4 shows a VCRS timing diagram, with the output of the R wave discriminator 30 shown in the lower portion of the Fig., and the generation of a respiration signal at the top of the Fig. This respiration signal is used to control the lights 18 which signal to the subject 12 the information that the subject 12 needs in order to control their breathing. The scheme of FIGS. 3 and 4 is one way in which an output can be provided to a subject 12 in order to control the relaxation level of the subject 12…In the opposite sense if the subject 12 is considered to be too stressed and their measured relaxation level is above the upper threshold then the lights 18 can be used to slow down the breathing of the subject 12.”; [0052]: “FIG. 3 shows an example of a voluntary cardio-respiratory synchronization (VCRS) scheme which can be used to support a breathing level in a subject 12, in order to regulate the heart rate of the subject 12. The system of FIG. 3 can be used to maintain the heart rate (or the interpreted relaxation level) of the subject 12 within the upper and lower thresholds, as desired.”; [0024]: “In this particular example the affective state is presented in terms of the relaxation state of a user 12 whilst in a driving situation.”);
and refrain from implementing the remediation measure when the second set of inputs does not correlate to the one or more physiological indicators of stress that correlate to vehicle stress or the remediation measure will not reduce the stress level of the operator (see at least Aarts [0054]: “FIG. 4 shows a VCRS timing diagram, with the output of the R wave discriminator 30 shown in the lower portion of the Fig., and the generation of a respiration signal at the top of the Fig. This respiration signal is used to control the lights 18 which signal to the subject 12 the information that the subject 12 needs in order to control their breathing. The scheme of FIGS. 3 and 4 is one way in which an output can be provided to a subject 12 in order to control the relaxation level of the subject 12…In the opposite sense if the subject 12 is considered to be too stressed and their measured relaxation level is above the upper threshold then the lights 18 can be used to slow down the breathing of the subject 12.”; [0050]: “The feedback controller operates to maintain the affective state of the user within the pre-defined region, as shown in FIG. 2…If it appears that the driver relaxes too much and may fall in sleep the system can operate such that the driver gets more aroused by being encouraged to increase their breathing rate. Alternatively, if the system notes that the driver is becoming too stressed it can slow down the breathing rate to increase relaxation.”; Aarts discloses at least refraining from implementing the remediation measure when the inputs do not correlate to physiological indicators of stress because the lighting control to slow down breathing is only performed when the affective state of the user is no longer within the desired range and a stress threshold is exceeded).
Aarts fails to expressly disclose receiving a first set of inputs from a first plurality of monitoring devices before the operator of the vehicle begins operating the vehicle. However, Hong teaches
a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to (see at least Hong [0284]: “Various embodiments may be implemented using a machine-readable medium having instructions stored thereon for execution by a processor to perform various methods presented herein. Examples of possible machine-readable mediums include HDD (Hard Disk Drive), SSD (Solid State Disk), SDD (Silicon Disk Drive), ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, a magnetic tape, a floppy disk, an optical data storage device, the other types of storage mediums presented herein, and combinations thereof.”):
receive a first set of inputs from a first plurality of monitoring devices before the operator begins operation of the vehicle (see at least Hong [0188]: “When a user (or a driver) is sensed as getting in a vehicle, the controller 180 determines a current driving index corresponding to the biological signal of the user that is sensed before and after the user gets in the vehicle, with a predetermined reference driving index serving as a reference (S440).”; [0208]: “As illustrated in FIG. 3B, when it is sensed that the user who wears the watch-type terminal 200 gets in a vehicle 50, before the user starts to drive, it is determined whether or not the current state of the user is suitable for the safety driving and thus feedback is output through the watch-type terminal 200.”);
process the first set of inputs to establish a baseline cognitive state of the operator, wherein the baseline cognitive state of the operator comprises an initial state of the operator when entering a cabin of the vehicle (see at least Hong [0239]-[0240]: “An example in which information on an activity that is done before the user gets in the vehicle is recognized in the watch-type terminal 200 according to the present invention in order to determine the current driving index in more precision is described below referring to FIGS. 9A to 11. First, before the user gets in a vehicle, a personal index pattern is generated using the log information that is collected based on the biological signals of the user, for example, such as the ECG, the EMG, the EEG, the HRV, and the PPG, that are sensed for a reference period of time, and the reference driving index that is set using the index pattern is stored in advance in the watch-type terminal 200.”; [0227]: “The controller 180 sets the reference driving index using that index pattern that is stored in this manner (S720). The “reference driving index” is updated each time the change in the state of the user is detected or the index pattern for the user is changed. In addition, the “reference driving index” is set to include multiple stages or levels in such a manner that a current state of the user is recognized with more precision.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Aarts with Hong with reasonable expectation of success. Hong is directed towards the related field of a wearable device for sensing biological information and comparing to a reference driving index. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts with Hong to determine if a user is in a suitable state to begin safe driving (see at least Hong [0009]: “Another aspect of the detailed description is to provide a wearable device capable of determining whether a state of a user is suitable for allowing the user to drive a vehicle using biological information sensed, and of helping the user to return to a suitable state for safety driving, and a method of operating the wearable device.”).
Aarts in view of Hong fail to expressly disclose determining during vehicle operation whether the cognitive state correlates to vehicle stress related to operating the vehicle or non-vehicle stress unrelated to operating the vehicle based on historical information, location data, or environmental factors. However, Rahal-Arabi teaches
determine, during vehicle operation, whether the current cognitive state correlates to vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress based on at least one of historical information, location data, and environmental factors, wherein vehicle stress comprises stress related to operating the vehicle and non-vehicle stress comprises stress unrelated to operating the vehicle (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0027]-[0029]: “In some embodiments, potential stress factors that can be accessed from dynamic public databases 106 can include construction and/or traffic pattern changes…Data provided by vehicle sensors 108 can include potential stress factors such as conditions internal and external to the vehicle as well as potential stress indicators such as direct measurements associated with the driver's current stress level. Potential stress factors from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, audio captures such as audio recordings from inside the vehicle. For example, if children are crying or bickering in the back seat, an argument is occurring inside the vehicle, or a stressful phone call is being placed inside the vehicle, etc. Other potential stress indicators from dynamic sensor measurements from vehicle sensors 108 can include, for example, vehicle camera data (for example, picking up driving hazards or conditions not reported in the above databases, such as the vehicle approaching a group of bicyclists).”; [0034]: “In some embodiments, current data output from vehicle sensors 108 is used by road stress level evaluator 114 to determine stress factors currently effecting the driver.”; Rahal-Arabi teaches determining vehicle stress or non-vehicle stress based on at least environmental factors)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Aarts in view of Hong with Rahal-Arabi with reasonable expectation of success. Rahal-Arabi is directed towards the related field of stress-based navigation routing. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts in view of Hong with Rahal-Arabi to provide individualized routing with higher safety and lower stress (see at least Rahal-Arabi [0017]: “In some embodiments, higher safety and/or low stress routing can be individualized using current individual safety and/or stress information about the driver (and/or passengers) using sensors to detect information such as heart rate, blood pressure, etc., but additionally can be individualized to past experiences of the particular driver (and/or passenger).”).
Regarding claim 16, this claim recites a system that performs the method of claim 4 as explained above. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, this claim recites a system that performs the method of claim 3 as explained above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites a system that performs the method of claims 5 and 6 as explained above. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale as claims 5 and 6.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi, and further in view of Rao et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0114931 A1 (hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claim 17, Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi teach all elements of the system for relieving stress for the operator of the vehicle according to claim 15 as explained above. Hong further teaches wherein the plurality of vehicle systems comprises:
an infotainment system (see at least Hong [0282]: “In addition, although not illustrated, the vehicle system, which is connected to the watch-type terminal 200, operates apparatuses that are not directly associated with the driving of the vehicle, but are installed in the vehicle for providing the user with an environment suitable for driving, such as an air conditioner (for example, for decreasing temperature in a case of the drowsy state), a car audio player (for example, for reproducing pieces of classical music in a case of the stress index at a high level), lighting fixtures (for example, for lighting up the inside of the vehicle in the case of the drowsy state), and the like.”; Hong teaches at least an infotainment system because Hong teaches a car audio player),
a navigation system (see at least Hong [0278]: “For example, referring to FIGS. 13A to 13C, when the telematics system installed within the vehicle, for example, a navigation apparatus 100B is turned on (1302), the watch-type terminal 200 connected to the navigation apparatus 100B determines that the user gets in the vehicle, senses the biological signals of the user, and calculates the current driving index based on a predetermined reference driving index.”; [0210]: “On the other hand, as another example, the watch-type terminal 200 may perform control in such a manner that the information relating to the state of the user is output through the telematics system 200B, or may control operation (for example, “changing the current moving path to another (for example, a path along a forest). On the other hand, although not illustrated, after the user starts to drive, it is also continuously determined whether or not the state of the user is suitable for the safety driving.”)
Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi fail to expressly disclose the vehicle systems comprising an advance driver assistance system and voice personal assistant. However, Rao teaches
an Advance Driver Assistance System (ADAS) (see at least Rao [0069]: “Other examples of inputs 908 include vehicle status monitoring systems and environment monitoring system (e.g., both of which may be achieved using Advanced Driver-Assistance Systems (ADAS)), as well as consumer devices (e.g., smart home speakers, wearables, etc.).”),
and a Voice Personal Assistant (VPA) (see at least Rao [0065]: “In examples where the selected personal assistant is selected based on a context of the voice request (e.g., rather than based on the utterance of an associated wake word), the in-vehicle computing system may, in some examples, forward simulated voice data replicating a wake word associated with the selected personal assistant service to the selected personal assistant service in order to activate the selected personal assistant service. The selected personal assistant service may process the request, determine a response, and transmit the response (e.g., either a partial/keyword response including words to be filled into a natural language template at the in-vehicle computing system, or a full, already-formed natural language response) to the in-vehicle computing system. Accordingly, at 622, the method includes receiving and outputting the response to the voice request from the selected personal assistant service.”; [0075]: “An eleventh example of the in-vehicle computing system optionally includes one or more of the first through the tenth examples, and further includes the in-vehicle computing system, wherein the instructions are further executable to provide a conversational voice assistant configured to interact with the user via natural language audio input recognition and natural language audio output presentation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi with Rao with reasonable expectation of success. Rao is directed towards the related field of in-vehicle computing systems with a personalized interactive experience. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Aarts in view of Hong and Rahal-Arabi with Rao to improve transitioning content between vehicles and personal devices (see at least Rao [0003]: “The disclosure provides mechanisms to allow vehicles to participate in broader ecosystems for frictionless transition of content and control between home, vehicle, and personal devices.”).
Regarding claim 18, this claim recites a system that performs the method of claim 8 as explained above, with a dependency on claim 17. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 8.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J SLOWIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/Madison R. Inserra/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662