DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filling of the Response to Restriction filed on 01/19/2026. The applicant elects Species 3 (Figure 8; claims 1-3, 6, 10 and 14-27).
Drawings
Figures 1a, 1b, 2 and 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (see specification; paragraphs [0057], [0062], [0076] and [0077]). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: D1 in Figures 1a, 1b and 3 (see specification; paragraphs [0058] and [0077]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not meet with the require length (should be a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length). Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification should be revised carefully because it contains some typographical errors (Example: page 18; paragraph [0098]; first sentence recites “pred-discharged”, which should be “pre-discharged”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, lines 1-2 recites “a discharge path”, which should be –the discharge path -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16, line 5 recites “a predetermined time period”, which should be –the predetermined time period -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20, line 3 recites “a predetermined time period”, which should be –the predetermined time period -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 21, line 8 recites “the discharge enable signal”, which should be –a discharge enable signal -- because this term was not previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 23, first line recites “a second terminal”, which should be –the second terminal -- because this term was previously presented in the claim; Claim 23, third line recites “a second terminal”, which should be –the second terminal -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 26, line 4 recites “the turning-on signal”, which should be – the turning-off signal – based on the specification (paragraph [0092]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 27, lines 2-3 recites “a predetermined time period”, which should be –the predetermined time period -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 10, 14-21, 23, 24 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6, 10-15, 18, 20, 21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/478,897 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, the copending Application discloses a protection circuit of a flyback converter, wherein the flyback converter comprises a transformer, a first switch transistor and a second switch transistor located at a primary edge of the transformer and connected between an input terminal of the flyback converter and a reference ground, and a first capacitor and a first inductor forming a resonance circuit when the second switch transistor is turned on, and the protection circuit comprises: an active discharge module, connected to at least one terminal of the first capacitor to provide a discharge path, and controlling turning-on and turning-off of the discharge path according to a discharge enabling signal, wherein in a normal work state of the flyback converter, the discharge path in the active discharge module is disconnected, and the first capacitor works as a resonance circuit works; before the flyback converter is restarted, the discharge path in the active discharge module is turned on for a predetermined time period to release charges stored in the first capacitor, and reduces resonance current after the flyback converter is restarted to a safe work current of the second switch transistor (see claim 1);
Regarding claim 3, the copending Application discloses the active discharge module further comprises a first resistor, and the discharge transistor is a third switch transistor connected in series with the first resistor (see claim 2);
Regarding claim 10, the copending Application discloses the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the flyback converter and the reference ground, or wherein the second switch transistor and the first switch transistor are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the flyback converter and the reference ground (see claim 6);
Regarding claim 14, the copending Application discloses a discharge control circuit, connected to the active discharge module, and generating the discharge enabling signal of a corresponding effective state according to the work state of the flyback converter (see claim 10);
Regarding claim 15, the copending Application discloses the discharge control circuit comprises: a detection module, for detecting the work state of the flyback converter, and generating a turning-on signal and a turning-off signal before the flyback converter is restarted; and control logics, for generating the discharge enabling signal according to the turning-on signal and the turning-off signal (see claim 11);
Regarding claim 16, the copending Application discloses the discharge control circuit comprises: a detection module, for detecting the work state of the flyback converter, and generating a tuning-on signal before the flyback converter is restarted; a time delay module, for starting a delay when the turning-on signal is valid, and generating a turning-off signal when the delay arrives a predetermined time period; and control logics, for generating the discharge enabling signal according to the turning-on signal and the turning-off signal (see claim 12);
Regarding claim 17, the copending Application discloses the detection module receives a first switch control signal of the first switch transistor and a second switch control signal of the second switch transistor, and generates at least one of the turning-on signal and the turning-off signal according to the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal (see claim 13);
Regarding claim 18, the copending Application discloses the detection module generates the turning-on signal when a duration during which both the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal are in invalid state exceeds at least one switch cycle (see claim 14);
Regarding claim 19, the copending Application discloses the detection module generates the turning- off signal when it detects a complementary level state of the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal in at least one continues switch cycle (see claim 15);
Regarding claim 20, the copending Application discloses the detection module receives a system power- on signal or system error signal, and turns on the discharge path in the active discharge module for a predetermined time period before system restart event is finished (see claim 18);
Regarding claim 21, the copending Application discloses a control method of a flyback converter, wherein the flyback converter comprises a transformer, a first switch transistor and a second switch transistor located at a primary edge of the transformer and connected between an input terminal of the flyback converter and a reference ground, and a first capacitor and a first inductor forming a resonance circuit when the second switch transistor is turned on, and the control method comprises: providing a discharge path at least one end of a first capacitor; in a normal work state of the flyback converter, disconnecting the discharge path according to the discharge enable signal, to allow the first capacitor to work as a resonant capacitor; and before the flyback converter is restarted, releasing charges of the first capacitor through the discharge path for a predetermined time period, and reducing a resonance current after the flyback converter is restarted to a safe work current of the second switch transistor (see claim 20);
Regarding claim 23, the copending Application discloses a second terminal of the first capacitor is connected to an intermediate node of the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, and a second terminal of the first capacitor has floating ground voltage when the first switch transistor is in a turned-off state (see claim 21);
Regarding claim 24, the copending Application discloses converting the discharge enabling signal from a first level with respect to the reference ground to a second level with respect to the floating ground voltage (see claim 21);
Regarding claim 27, the copending Application discloses system restart event is confirmed according to a system power-on signal or a system error signal, and the discharge path is turned on for a predetermined time period before the system restart event is finished (see claim 23).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 14-16, 20, 21 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2011/0103098), hereinafter Wu, in view of Ausseresse et al (US 2018/0337606), hereinafter Ausseresse.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) a protection circuit (figure 1, part 107) of a converter (figure 1, part 101), wherein the converter (figure 1, part 101) (figure 8A, part 800) comprises a transformer (figure 8A, part T), a first switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q1) and a second switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q3) located at a primary edge of the transformer (figure 8A, part primary edge of T) and connected (figure 8A, part Q1/Q3) between an input terminal of the converter (figure 8A, part Vin terminal) and a reference ground (figure 8A, part ground), and a first capacitor (figure 8A, part Cr) and a first inductor (figure 8A, part Lr) forming a resonance circuit (figure 8A, part Cr/Lr) when the second switch transistor is turned on (figure 8A, part Q3; turn-on) (paragraph [0046]; FIG. 8A shows a circuit diagram of a resonant converter resetting system including a series resonant converter 800), and the protection circuit (figure 1, part 107) comprises: an active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs), connected to at least one terminal of the first capacitor (figure 8A, part right terminal of Cr; through Lm) to provide a discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R), and controlling turning-on and turning-off (figure 8A, part through on/off of Qs) of the discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R) according to a discharge enabling signal (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs), wherein in a normal work state (figure 2A, part normal work state) of the converter (figure 8A, part 800) (paragraph [0026]; FIG. 2B shows waveforms of the resonant converter 200 operating under a normal operation), the discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R) in the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs) is disconnected (figure 8A, part disconnected when Qs is turned-on and short R), and the first capacitor (figure 8A, part Cr) works as a resonance circuit works (figure 8A, part Cr/Lr; normal operation without R); before the converter (figure 8A, part 800) is restarted (figure 8B, part before restarted after t2), the discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R) in the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs) is turned on (figure 8A, part turned on when Qs is turned off) for a predetermined time period (figure 8B, part predetermined time period between t1-t2) to release charges stored in the first capacitor (figure 8A, part Cr; through R), and reduces resonance current after the converter (figure 8A, part 800) is restarted (figure 8B, part restarted after t2) to a safe work current of the second switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q3) (paragraph [0046]; the series resonant converter 800 includes a driver which includes a control module coupled to the resistor R and the switch Qs. During the interval t1-t2, either (1) Q3/Q4 are turned on while Q1/Q2 are turn off, or (2) Q1/Q2 are turned on while Q3/Q4 are turn off. Meanwhile, the switch Qs is turned off (i.e., open) by the control module, the resistor R thus consumes resonant tank energy while Q1-Q4 are in a normal operation. To restart the normal operation at t2 with a zero initial condition, Qs is turned on (i.e., close) by the control module to bypass the resistor R).
Wu does not expressly disclose a flyback converter.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) a flyback converter (figure 1C) (paragraph [0031]; APWM HB flyback converters), wherein the flyback converter (figure 1C) comprises a transformer (figure 1C, part T1), a first switch transistor (figure 1C, part 12) and a second switch transistor (figure 1C, part 11) located at a primary edge of the transformer (figure 1C, part 13) and connected between an input terminal (figure 1C, part Vin terminal) of the flyback converter (figure 1C) and a reference ground (figure 1C, part ground), and a first capacitor (figure 1C, part Cr) and a first inductor (figure 1C, part Lr) forming a resonance circuit (figure 1C, part Cr/Lr) when the second switch transistor is turned on (figure 1C, part 11; turned-on).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse and obtain a protection circuit of a flyback converter, wherein the flyback converter comprises a transformer, a first switch transistor and a second switch transistor located at a primary edge of the transformer and connected between an input terminal of the flyback converter and a reference ground, and a first capacitor and a first inductor forming a resonance circuit when the second switch transistor is turned on, and the protection circuit comprises: an active discharge module, connected to at least one terminal of the first capacitor to provide a discharge path, and controlling turning-on and turning-off of the discharge path according to a discharge enabling signal, wherein in a normal work state of the flyback converter, the discharge path in the active discharge module is disconnected, and the first capacitor works as a resonance circuit works; before the flyback converter is restarted, the discharge path in the active discharge module is turned on for a predetermined time period to release charges stored in the first capacitor, and reduces resonance current after the flyback converter is restarted to a safe work current of the second switch transistor, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Regarding claim 2, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs) comprises a discharge transistor (figure 8A, part Qs), and the discharge transistor (figure 8A, part Qs) works in linear region or saturation region (figure 8A, part Qs; linear region or saturation region).
Regarding claim 10, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the first switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q1) and the second switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q3) are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the converter (figure 8A, part Vin terminal) and the reference ground (figure 8A, part ground). However, Wu does not expressly disclose the flyback converter.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) the first switch transistor (figure 1B, part 11) and the second switch transistor (figure 1B, part 12) are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the flyback converter (figure 1B, part Vin terminal) and the reference ground (figure 1B, part ground), or wherein the second switch transistor (figure 1C, part 11) and the first switch transistor (figure 1C, part 12) are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the flyback converter (figure 1C, part Vin terminal) and the reference ground (figure 1C, part ground) (paragraph [0031]; APWM HB flyback converters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse and obtain the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the flyback converter and the reference ground, or wherein the second switch transistor and the first switch transistor are sequentially connected in series between the input terminal of the flyback converter and the reference ground, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Regarding claim 14, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) a discharge control circuit (figure 1, part discharge control circuit inside 107) (figure 8A, part discharge control circuit that control Qs), connected to the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs), and generating the discharge enabling signal (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs) of a corresponding effective state according to the work state (figure 8B, part according to work state) of the converter (figure 8A, part 800) (paragraph [0046]; the series resonant converter 800 includes a driver which includes a control module coupled to the resistor R and the switch Qs. During the interval t1-t2, either (1) Q3/Q4 are turned on while Q1/Q2 are turn off, or (2) Q1/Q2 are turned on while Q3/Q4 are turn off. Meanwhile, the switch Qs is turned off (i.e., open) by the control module, the resistor R thus consumes resonant tank energy while Q1-Q4 are in a normal operation. To restart the normal operation at t2 with a zero initial condition, Qs is turned on (i.e., close) by the control module to bypass the resistor R). However, Wu does not expressly disclose the flyback converter.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) the flyback converter (figure 1C) (paragraph [0031]; APWM HB flyback converters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Regarding claim 15, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the discharge control circuit (figure 1, part discharge control circuit inside 107) (figure 8A, part discharge control circuit that control Qs) comprises: a detection module (figure 4A, part 401), for detecting the work state (figure 8B, part work state) of the converter (figure 8A, part 800), and generating a turning-on signal (figure 4A, part turning-on signal Y; to consume the resonant energy) and a turning-off signal (figure 4A, part turning-off signal N) before the converter (figure 8A, part 800) is restarted (figure 8B, part before restarted after t2); and control logics (figure 4A, part 407), for generating the discharge enabling signal (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs) according to the turning-on signal (figure 4A, part turning-on signal Y) and the turning-off signal (figure 4A, part turning-off signal N) (paragraphs [0032] and [0046]; a driving process 400 of the energy resetting module 107 is introduced to reset the resonant network energy before restarting the resonant converter 200. FIG. 4A shows an operational diagram of the process 400, in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. In particular, the driving process 400 starts from a startup 401 and determines whether the resonant converter 200 is shutting down or not… the series resonant converter 800 includes a driver which includes a control module coupled to the resistor R and the switch Qs. During the interval t1-t2, either (1) Q3/Q4 are turned on while Q1/Q2 are turn off, or (2) Q1/Q2 are turned on while Q3/Q4 are turn off. Meanwhile, the switch Qs is turned off (i.e., open) by the control module, the resistor R thus consumes resonant tank energy while Q1-Q4 are in a normal operation. To restart the normal operation at t2 with a zero initial condition, Qs is turned on (i.e., close) by the control module to bypass the resistor R). However, Wu does not expressly disclose the flyback converter.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) the flyback converter (figure 1C) (paragraph [0031]; APWM HB flyback converters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Regarding claim 16, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the discharge control circuit (figure 1, part discharge control circuit inside 107) (figure 8A, part discharge control circuit that control Qs) comprises: a detection module (figure 4A, part 401), for detecting the work state (figure 8B, part work state) of the converter (figure 8A, part 800), and generating a tuning-on signal (figure 4A, part turning-on signal Y; to consume the resonant energy) before the converter (figure 8A, part 800) is restarted (figure 8B, part before restarted after t2); a time delay module (figure 4A, part time delay module at 403), for starting a delay (figure 8B, part delay between t1-t2) when the turning-on signal is valid (figure 4A, part turning-on signal Y; to consume the resonant energy), and generating a turning-off signal (figure 4A, part turning-off signal N) when the delay arrives a predetermined time period (figure 8B, part at t2); and control logics (figure 4A, part 407), for generating the discharge enabling signal (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs) according to the turning-on signal (figure 4A, part turning-on signal Y; to consume the resonant energy) and the turning-off signal (figure 4A, part turning-off signal N) (paragraphs [0032] and [0046]; a driving process 400 of the energy resetting module 107 is introduced to reset the resonant network energy before restarting the resonant converter 200. FIG. 4A shows an operational diagram of the process 400, in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. In particular, the driving process 400 starts from a startup 401 and determines whether the resonant converter 200 is shutting down or not… the series resonant converter 800 includes a driver which includes a control module coupled to the resistor R and the switch Qs. During the interval t1-t2, either (1) Q3/Q4 are turned on while Q1/Q2 are turn off, or (2) Q1/Q2 are turned on while Q3/Q4 are turn off. Meanwhile, the switch Qs is turned off (i.e., open) by the control module, the resistor R thus consumes resonant tank energy while Q1-Q4 are in a normal operation. To restart the normal operation at t2 with a zero initial condition, Qs is turned on (i.e., close) by the control module to bypass the resistor R). However, Wu does not expressly disclose the flyback converter.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) the flyback converter (figure 1C) (paragraph [0031]; APWM HB flyback converters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Regarding claim 20, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 4A, part 401) receives a system power-on signal (figure 4A, part startup signal), and turns on (figure 8A, part turned on when Qs is turned off) the discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R) in the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs) for a predetermined time period (figure 8B, part predetermined time period between t1-t2) before system restart event is finished (figure 8B, part before restarted after t2) (paragraph [0046]; the series resonant converter 800 includes a driver which includes a control module coupled to the resistor R and the switch Qs. During the interval t1-t2, either (1) Q3/Q4 are turned on while Q1/Q2 are turn off, or (2) Q1/Q2 are turned on while Q3/Q4 are turn off. Meanwhile, the switch Qs is turned off (i.e., open) by the control module, the resistor R thus consumes resonant tank energy while Q1-Q4 are in a normal operation. To restart the normal operation at t2 with a zero initial condition, Qs is turned on (i.e., close) by the control module to bypass the resistor R).
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 25, claim 15 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 26, claim 16 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 27, claim 20 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3, 6 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2011/0103098), hereinafter Wu, in view of Ausseresse et al (US 2018/0337606), hereinafter Ausseresse, and further in view of Katsumi (JPH02106164; rejection based on English translation), hereinafter Katsumi.
Regarding claim 3, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs) further comprises a first resistor (figure 8A, part R), and the discharge transistor (figure 8A, part Qs). However, Wu does not expressly disclose a third switch transistor connected in series with the first resistor.
Katsumi teaches (see figures 1-5) the active discharge module (figure 1, part active discharge module generated by 14 and 15) further comprises a first resistor (figure 1, part 14), and the discharge transistor (figure 1, part 15) is a third switch transistor (figure 1, part 15) connected in series with the first resistor (figure 1, part 14) (paragraph [0001]; DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENTS; second sentence; In FIG. 1, reference numeral 14 denotes a discharging resistor, which is connected in parallel to the resonance capacitor 8 via a switching element 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the active discharge module of Wu with the active discharge module features as taught Katsumi, because it provides more reliable and protected converter with more efficient and accurate discharge module that reduce the resonance current (Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Wu, Ausseresse and Katsumi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the active discharge module (figure 8A, part active discharge module generated by R and Qs) provides a discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R) of the first capacitor (figure 8A, part Cr). However, Wu does not expressly disclose a discharge path between the first terminal and a second terminal of the first capacitor, and the third switch transistor and the first resistor are connected in series between the first terminal and the second terminal of the first capacitor.
Katsumi teaches (see figures 1-5) the active discharge module (figure 1, part active discharge module generated by 14 and 15) provides a discharge path (figure 1, part discharge path generated by 14 and 15) between the first terminal and a second terminal of the first capacitor (figure 1, part 8), and the third switch transistor (figure 1, part 15) and the first resistor are connected in series (figure 1, part 14) between the first terminal and the second terminal of the first capacitor (figure 1, part 8) (paragraph [0001]; DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENTS; second sentence; In FIG. 1, reference numeral 14 denotes a discharging resistor, which is connected in parallel to the resonance capacitor 8 via a switching element 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the active discharge module of Wu with the active discharge module features as taught Katsumi, because it provides more reliable and protected converter with more efficient and accurate discharge module that reduce the resonance current (Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) wherein the discharge path (figure 8A, part discharge path through Cr, Lm and R). However, Wu does not expressly disclose the discharge path is located in a discharge path between the first terminal and the second terminal of the first capacitor.
Katsumi teaches (see figures 1-5) the discharge path (figure 1, part discharge path generated by 14 and 15) is located in a discharge path (figure 1, part discharge path generated by 14 and 15) between the first terminal and the second terminal of the first capacitor (figure 1, part 8) (paragraph [0001]; DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENTS; second sentence; In FIG. 1, reference numeral 14 denotes a discharging resistor, which is connected in parallel to the resonance capacitor 8 via a switching element 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the active discharge module of Wu with the active discharge module features as taught Katsumi, because it provides more reliable and protected converter with more efficient and accurate discharge module that reduce the resonance current (Abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Wu, Ausseresse and Katsumi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the first capacitor (figure 8A, part Cr), the first switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q1) and the second switch transistor (figure 8A, part Q3). However, Wu does not expressly disclose a second terminal of the first capacitor is connected to an intermediate node of the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, and a second terminal of the first capacitor has floating ground voltage when the first switch transistor is in a turned-off state.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) a second terminal of the first capacitor (figure 1C, part lower terminal of 15) is connected to an intermediate node of the first switch transistor (figure 1C, part 12) and the second switch transistor (figure 1C, part 11), and a second terminal of the first capacitor has floating ground voltage figure 1C, part lower terminal of 15) when the first switch transistor is in a turned-off state (figure 1C, part 12; turned-off).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse and obtain a second terminal of the first capacitor is connected to an intermediate node of the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, and a second terminal of the first capacitor has floating ground voltage when the first switch transistor is in a turned-off state, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Regarding claim 24, Wu, Ausseresse and Katsumi teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) converting the discharge enabling signal from a first level (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs; first level) with respect to the reference ground (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs; with respect to ground) to a second level (figure 8A, part discharge enabling signal that control Qs; second level). However, Wu does not expressly disclose with respect to the floating ground voltage.
Ausseresse teaches (see figures 1-14) the floating ground voltage (figure 1C, part floating ground voltage at lower terminal of 15 when 12 is turned-off).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the protection circuit of Wu to the flyback converter as taught by Ausseresse and obtain converting the discharge enabling signal from a first level with respect to the reference ground to a second level with respect to the floating ground voltage, because the combination result in more efficient and reliable power converter with more protection for the components.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2011/0103098), hereinafter Wu, in view of Ausseresse et al (US 2018/0337606), hereinafter Ausseresse, and further in view of Zeng et al. (US 2007/0285952), hereinafter Zeng.
Regarding claim 17, Wu and Ausseresse teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 4A, part 401). However, Wu does not expressly disclose receives a first switch control signal of the first switch transistor and a second switch control signal of the second switch transistor, and generates at least one of the turning-on signal and the turning-off signal according to the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal.
Zeng teaches (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 9, part 31) receives a first switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ1) of the first switch transistor (figure 9, part Q1) and a second switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ2) of the second switch transistor (figure 9, part Q2), and generates at least one of the turning-on signal (figure 9, part turn-on signal from 32) and the turning-off signal (figure 9, part turn-off signal from 32) according to the first switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ1) and the second switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the detection module of Wu with the detection module features as taught Zeng, because it provides more accurate detection of the work state of the circuit in order to obtain more efficient and stable operation (paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu, Ausseresse and Zeng teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 4A, part 401) generates the turning-on signal (figure 4A, part turning-on signal Y; to consume the resonant energy). However, Wu does not expressly disclose when a duration during which both the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal are in invalid state exceeds at least one switch cycle.
Zeng teaches (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 9, part 31) generates the turning-on signal (figure 9, part turn-on signal from 32) when a duration during which both the first switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ1) and the second switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ2) are in invalid state exceeds at least one switch cycle (figure 9, part gQ1 and gQ2 are invalid state exceeds at least one switch cycle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the detection module of Wu with the detection module features as taught Zeng, because it provides more accurate detection of the work state of the circuit in order to obtain more efficient and stable operation (paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu, Ausseresse and Zeng teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Wu discloses (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 4A, part 401) generates the turning-off signal (figure 4A, part turning-off signal N). However, Wu does not expressly disclose the detection module generates the turning-off signal when it detects a complementary level state of the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal in at least one continues switch cycle.
Zeng teaches (see figures 1-9) the detection module (figure 9, part 31) generates the turning-off signal (figure 9, part turn-off signal from 32) when it detects a complementary level state of the first switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ1) and the second switch control signal (figure 9, part gQ2) in at least one continues switch cycle (figure 9, part complementary level state of gQ1 and gQ2 ) in at least one continues switch cycle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the detection module of Wu with the detection module features as taught Zeng, because it provides more accurate detection of the work state of the circuit in order to obtain more efficient and stable operation (paragraph [0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 3 (Fig. 8) in the reply filed on 19 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no search and/or examination burden due to the generic limitation, since they share same technical features and relate to a single general inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because it would be a serious burden for searching the non-elected species as their variable configurations (as presented in the restriction regarding the different implementation of the active discharge module of Figures 6-10) require different search queries/strategies.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838