Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 19 May, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claim objection regarding claim(s) 9 and 16 previously set forth have been overcome in view of the amendment to the claim(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed 19 May, 2025 has been fully considered but is moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment to the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 6,545,633 B1 “JENSEN”), in view of Chen (US 2006/0202885 A1 “CHEN”), and further in view of Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1 “BRUEMMER”).
Regarding claim 1, JENSEN discloses (Examiner’s note: What JENSEN does not disclose is ) a method comprising:
transmitting, from a first each independent radar unit 102, 104 operates monostatically, transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy pulse and receiving a return signal from the transmitted RF pulse [col. 4, lines 26-29])
switching the first each independent radar unit 102, 104 operates monostatically, transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy pulse and receiving a return signal from the transmitted RF pulse [col. 4, lines 26-29]); (the monostatic return signal indicates a range from the particular radar unit 102, 104 of any target in the transmission path [col. 4, lines 29-31])
calculating, by the first the monostatic return signal indicates a range from the particular radar unit 102, 104 of any target in the transmission path [col. 4, lines 29-31])
receiving, by a second sensing signal, wherein the second reflected sensing signal is associated with the sensing signal reflecting off the object located proximate to the vehicle in a second direction (each radar unit can simultaneously receive and process reflected target/clutter energy from the other radar's transmission pulses [col. 5, lines 37-39]); (the two units operate simultaneously in monostatic and bistatic modes [col. 5, lines 41-42]); (the monostatic return signal indicates a range from the particular radar unit 102, 104 of any target in the transmission path [col. 4, lines 29-31])
calculating, by the second the monostatic return signal indicates a range from the particular radar unit 102, 104 of any target in the transmission path [col. 4, lines 29-31])
and performing, in the bistatic operation the target range dimension corresponds to the sum of range vectors from the target to the transmitter and to the receiver. Thus, for the bistatic operation the isorange locus 110 is spheroidal with the transmitter 102 and receiver 104 locating the two foci of ellipse 110 [col. 4, lines 37-42])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CHEN teaches that radar receiver (103) receives the encoded radar signal reflected from target 105 along the indirect path on a first channel, and also has a second channel for receiving the encoded radar signal from radar transmitter (101) along the direct path [0028]. Radar receiver 103 combines the direct path information and the indirect path information in compute target data 618. In computing target data (618) for imaging or detection, the radar performs coherent bistatic signal processing from data in the direct and indirect path [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of CHEN, because doing so would improve and maintain pulse coherency in radar signal processing, as recognized by CHEN.
JENSEN, as modified by CHEN, discloses the invention as set forth above, but does not disclose a plurality of ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors, wherein the plurality of UWB sensors is dispersed around a vehicle.
In a same or similar field of endeavor, BRUEMMER teaches that one embodiment of the present invention captures coherent returns from one or more UWB Radars affixed to an object such as a vehicle. In one embodiment of the present invention, the UWB radar transmits an ultra-wideband signal at a skewed angle from the path of the object, and processes the received signal reflections from topologically-contiguous features such as curbs, railings and buildings as well as prominent topographies such as poles and other prominent features [0009 & FIG. 2B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of BRUEMMER, because doing so would enable the system to reliably and consistently determine an object's position and pose. UWB Radar signals possess the ability to capture edge and contour features even in obscurant-dense conditions caused by dust, fog, rain, snow, sleet and other particulates, as recognized by BRUEMMER.
Regarding claim 5, JENSEN/ CHEN/ BRUEMMER discloses the method of claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CHEN teaches that the direct path signal is used to update B dynamically. After decoding the bistatic waveform of FIGS. 3 and 4, t0 is now available at receiver 103. Also, receiver 103 knows the arrival time of the direct signal, or detection time, tdet [0044]. The direct pulse will always arrive before the indirect path pulse [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of CHEN, because doing so would improve and maintain pulse coherency in radar signal processing, as recognized by CHEN.
Regarding claim 16, JENSEN discloses a processing device to perform operations, the operations comprising:
transmitting, by a first each independent radar unit 102, 104 operates monostatically, transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy pulse and receiving a return signal from the transmitted RF pulse [col. 4, lines 26-29])
receiving, from the first each independent radar unit 102, 104 operates monostatically, transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy pulse and receiving a return signal from the transmitted RF pulse [col. 4, lines 26-29])
receiving, from a second signal received directly from the first the monostatic return signal indicates a range from the particular radar unit 102, 104 of any target in the transmission path [col. 4, lines 29-31]); (in the bistatic operation the target range dimension corresponds to the sum of range vectors from the target to the transmitter and to the receiver. Thus, for the bistatic operation the isorange locus 110 is spheroidal with the transmitter 102 and receiver 104 locating the two foci of ellipse 110 [col. 4, lines 37-42])
determining, in the bistatic operation the target range dimension corresponds to the sum of range vectors from the target to the transmitter and to the receiver. Thus, for the bistatic operation the isorange locus 110 is spheroidal with the transmitter 102 and receiver 104 locating the two foci of ellipse 110 [col. 4, lines 37-42])
and performing, in the bistatic operation the target range dimension corresponds to the sum of range vectors from the target to the transmitter and to the receiver. Thus, for the bistatic operation the isorange locus 110 is spheroidal with the transmitter 102 and receiver 104 locating the two foci of ellipse 110 [col. 4, lines 37-42])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CHEN teaches that radar receiver (103) receives the encoded radar signal reflected from target 105 along the indirect path on a first channel, and also has a second channel for receiving the encoded radar signal from radar transmitter (101) along the direct path [0028]. Radar receiver 103 combines the direct path information and the indirect path information in compute target data 618. In computing target data (618) for imaging or detection, the radar performs coherent bistatic signal processing from data in the direct and indirect path [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of CHEN, because doing so would improve and maintain pulse coherency in radar signal processing, as recognized by CHEN.
JENSEN, as modified by CHEN, discloses the invention as set forth above, but does not disclose a plurality of ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors.
In a same or similar field of endeavor, BRUEMMER teaches that one embodiment of the present invention captures coherent returns from one or more UWB Radars affixed to an object such as a vehicle. In one embodiment of the present invention, the UWB radar transmits an ultra-wideband signal at a skewed angle from the path of the object, and processes the received signal reflections from topologically-contiguous features such as curbs, railings and buildings as well as prominent topographies such as poles and other prominent features [0009 & FIG. 2B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of BRUEMMER, because doing so would enable the system to reliably and consistently determine an object's position and pose. UWB Radar signals possess the ability to capture edge and contour features even in obscurant-dense conditions caused by dust, fog, rain, snow, sleet and other particulates, as recognized by BRUEMMER.
Regarding claim 17, JENSEN/ CHEN/ BRUEMMER discloses the processing device of claim 16, wherein receiving the first estimated distance comprises: switching the first UWB sensor from transmitting to receiving (each independent radar unit 102, 104 operates monostatically, transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy pulse and receiving a return signal from the transmitted RF pulse [JENSEN col. 4, lines 26-29], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); receiving, by the first UWB sensor, the first reflected signal (each independent radar unit 102, 104 operates monostatically, transmitting a radio frequency (RF) energy pulse and receiving a return signal from the transmitted RF pulse [JENSEN col. 4, lines 26-29], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); (one embodiment of the present invention captures coherent returns from one or more UWB Radars affixed to an object such as a vehicle. In one embodiment of the present invention, the UWB radar transmits an ultra-wideband signal at a skewed angle from the path of the object, and processes the received signal reflections from topologically-contiguous features such as curbs, railings and buildings as well as prominent topographies such as poles and other prominent features [BRUEMMER 0009 & FIG. 2B], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1);
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CHEN teaches that the indirect signal 505 arrives at receiver 103 at time (R1+R2)/c [0049]. The direct pulse will always arrive before the indirect path pulse [0046]. Receiver 103 is a distance R2 away from target 105 [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of CHEN, because doing so would improve and maintain pulse coherency in radar signal processing, as recognized by CHEN.
Regarding claim 18, JENSEN/ CHEN/ BRUEMMER discloses the processing device of claim 16,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CHEN teaches that the direct path signal is used to update B dynamically. After decoding the bistatic waveform of FIGS. 3 and 4, t0 is now available at receiver 103. Also, receiver 103 knows the arrival time of the direct signal, or detection time, tdet [0044]. The direct pulse will always arrive before the indirect path pulse [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of CHEN, because doing so would improve and maintain pulse coherency in radar signal processing, as recognized by CHEN.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JENSEN, in view of CHEN, and BRUEMMER, and further in view of Xin et al. (US 2021/0278518 A1 “XIN”).
Regarding claim 4, JENSEN/ CHEN/ BRUEMMER discloses the method of claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, XIN teaches that the signal strength of a signal processed by a given processing element exceeds the first predetermined threshold when the signal interacts with one or more objects of interest. In this way, sensing of objects in the environment is accomplished [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of XIN, because doing so would improve detection for object(s) of interest and filter out fake targets, as recognized by XIN.
Regarding claim 20, JENSEN/ CHEN/ BRUEMMER discloses the processing device of claim 18,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, XIN teaches that the signal strength of a signal processed by a given processing element exceeds the first predetermined threshold when the signal interacts with one or more objects of interest. In this way, sensing of objects in the environment is accomplished [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of XIN, because doing so would improve detection for object(s) of interest and filter out fake targets, as recognized by XIN.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azarko (US 2021/0122333 A1 “AZARKO”), in view of Trainin et al. (US 2023/0236303 A1 “TRAININ”), and further in view of BRUEMMER.
Regarding claim 7, AZARKO discloses an apparatus comprising:
a plurality of ECU 7, key fob or tag 12 [0043]); (radar unit 9 [0052])
and a processing device (an electronic control unit (ECU) 7 [0041]) coupled to the plurality of sensors, wherein the processing device is to perform operations comprising:
in response to initiating keyless entry (KLE), an LF transmitter in the ECU and sent as a monitoring frequency to detect such approaches and wake-up the tag when it enters the mutual recognition zone. The tag has an LF receiver for receiving the LF signal from the ECU when the tag is within the recognition zone [0043])
in response to identifying a first switch event, initiating blind spot detection (BSD) (enable a logic decision of when to activate radar unit 9, which also may be a physical part of electronics base station 10 or a separate unit [0052])
and in response to initiating BSD, when the radar 9 wakes up, it scans for patterns of movement by any object in its field. The second side of the system activates a radar transmitter and receiver 14 installed in the car [0052])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, TRAININ teaches that each set of radar setup information 702 and 704 may identify which of the STAs 710 or 720 is to perform its radar ranging operation first and which of the STAs 710 or 720 is to perform its radar ranging operation second [0083]. The STAs 510 and 520 may be examples of the radar devices 410 and 420 [0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of AZARKO to include the teachings of TRAININ, because doing so would verify the location of objects in the LOS of multiple radar STAs as well as improve detection of presence and movement of objects that may be “hidden” from the LOS of one or more radar STAs, as recognized by TRAININ.
AZARKO, as modified by TRAININ, discloses the invention as set forth above, but does not disclose a plurality of ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors.
In a same or similar field of endeavor, BRUEMMER teaches that one embodiment of the present invention captures coherent returns from one or more UWB Radars affixed to an object such as a vehicle. In one embodiment of the present invention, the UWB radar transmits an ultra-wideband signal at a skewed angle from the path of the object, and processes the received signal reflections from topologically-contiguous features such as curbs, railings and buildings as well as prominent topographies such as poles and other prominent features [0009 & FIG. 2B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of BRUEMMER, because doing so would enable the system to reliably and consistently determine an object's position and pose. UWB Radar signals possess the ability to capture edge and contour features even in obscurant-dense conditions caused by dust, fog, rain, snow, sleet and other particulates, as recognized by BRUEMMER.
Regarding claim 8, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: in response to receiving the signal from the remote access device by the first UWB sensor, transmitting, from the first UWB sensor, a signal indicating that the remote access device is within range (use of a wake-up function and broadcast of LF frequency to determine distance in a mutual recognition zone [AZARKO 0061]).
Regarding claim 9, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: in response to receiving a set of signals derived from the sensing signal transmitted by the second UWB sensor by a UWB sensor of the plurality of UWB sensors, obtaining, from the third UWB sensor, a distance to the object (each set of radar setup information 702 and 704 may identify which of the STAs 710 or 720 is to perform its radar ranging operation first and which of the STAs 710 or 720 is to perform its radar ranging operation second [TRAININ 0083]. The STAs 510 and 520 may be examples of the radar devices 410 and 420 [TRAININ 0067]); (the radar device 410 may determine, obtain calculate, or otherwise ascertain a distance (L2) of the object 401 based on a round-trip-time (RTT) or time-of-flight (ToF) of the radar pulse 414 [TRAININ 0063]).
Regarding claim 10, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the distance to the object is determined by determining a reception time for each signal of the set of signals, calculating, for each reflected sensing signal of the set of signals, a difference between the reception time of a respective reflected sensing signal and the reception time of a non-reflected sensing signal of the set of signals, and converting each difference associated with a reflected sensing signal of the set of signals to the distance (the radar device 410 may determine, obtain calculate, or otherwise ascertain a distance (L2) of the object 401 based on a round-trip-time (RTT) or time-of-flight (ToF) of the radar pulse 414 [TRAININ 0063], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 9).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZARKO, in view of TRAININ, and BRUEMMER, and further in view of Jungmaier (US 2020/0132808 A1 “JUNGMAIER”).
Regarding claim 11, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 7,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, JUNGMAIER teaches that when the timer expires (e.g., when counter 410 reaches a predetermined threshold), a timer flag is asserted. When the timer flag is asserted, FSM 402 moves into transition state 504. During transition state 504, many blocks of millimeter-wave radar 102 are turned on, such as crystal oscillator 112. FSM 402 selects, using MUX 408, crystal oscillator 112 to clock counter 410. After transition state 504, FSM 402 moves into active mode, repeating the sequence [0041-0042]. Once millimeter-wave radar 102 finishes transmitting and receiving the radiation pulses, a sleep flag is asserted (e.g., transition from an inactive state, e.g., low, into an active state, e.g., high) to signal that millimeter-wave radar 102 is idle. The sleep flag may be a bit in a register, a signal, or some other flag [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of JUNGMAIER, because doing so would adapt the radar system for dynamic performance and power consumption, as recognized by JUNGMAIER.
Regarding claim 12, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 7,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, JUNGMAIER teaches that when the timer expires (e.g., when counter 410 reaches a predetermined threshold), a timer flag is asserted. When the timer flag is asserted, FSM 402 moves into transition state 504. During transition state 504, many blocks of millimeter-wave radar 102 are turned on, such as crystal oscillator 112. FSM 402 selects, using MUX 408, crystal oscillator 112 to clock counter 410. After transition state 504, FSM 402 moves into active mode, repeating the sequence [0041-0042]. Once millimeter-wave radar 102 finishes transmitting and receiving the radiation pulses, a sleep flag is asserted (e.g., transition from an inactive state, e.g., low, into an active state, e.g., high) to signal that millimeter-wave radar 102 is idle. The sleep flag may be a bit in a register, a signal, or some other flag [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of JUNGMAIER, because doing so would adapt the radar system for dynamic performance and power consumption, as recognized by JUNGMAIER.
Regarding claim 13, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 7,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, JUNGMAIER teaches that when the timer expires (e.g., when counter 410 reaches a predetermined threshold), a timer flag is asserted. When the timer flag is asserted, FSM 402 moves into transition state 504. During transition state 504, many blocks of millimeter-wave radar 102 are turned on, such as crystal oscillator 112. FSM 402 selects, using MUX 408, crystal oscillator 112 to clock counter 410. After transition state 504, FSM 402 moves into active mode, repeating the sequence [0041-0042]. Once millimeter-wave radar 102 finishes transmitting and receiving the radiation pulses, a sleep flag is asserted (e.g., transition from an inactive state, e.g., low, into an active state, e.g., high) to signal that millimeter-wave radar 102 is idle. The sleep flag may be a bit in a register, a signal, or some other flag [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of JUNGMAIER, because doing so would adapt the radar system for dynamic performance and power consumption, as recognized by JUNGMAIER.
Regarding claim 14, AZARKO/ TRAININ/ BRUEMMER discloses the apparatus of claim 7,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, JUNGMAIER teaches that when the timer expires (e.g., when counter 410 reaches a predetermined threshold), a timer flag is asserted. When the timer flag is asserted, FSM 402 moves into transition state 504. During transition state 504, many blocks of millimeter-wave radar 102 are turned on, such as crystal oscillator 112. FSM 402 selects, using MUX 408, crystal oscillator 112 to clock counter 410. After transition state 504, FSM 402 moves into active mode, repeating the sequence [0041-0042]. Once millimeter-wave radar 102 finishes transmitting and receiving the radiation pulses, a sleep flag is asserted (e.g., transition from an inactive state, e.g., low, into an active state, e.g., high) to signal that millimeter-wave radar 102 is idle. The sleep flag may be a bit in a register, a signal, or some other flag [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of JENSEN to include the teachings of JUNGMAIER, because doing so would adapt the radar system for dynamic performance and power consumption, as recognized by JUNGMAIER.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chakam (US 2022/0335830 A1) is cited as pertinent art for the disclosure of a collision warning unit configured to emit a detection signal into a surrounding area and to receive at least one signal component reflected at an object in the surrounding area, and, depending on the received signal component, to output a collision warning signal. The collision warning unit has a UWB (ultra-wideband) radar for transmitting the detection signal and receiving the reflected signal component.
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 August 2, 2026