DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected battery species wherein the second current collector plate and the lower plate are connected to the lower end of the battery can by an interference fit, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 April 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of a battery species wherein the second current collector plate and the lower plate are connected to the lower end of the can by welding in the reply filed on 28 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0004446 A1) in view of Chung et al (US 2025/0079530 Al). These prior art references being cited to as Kim and Chung, respectively, hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery (“a secondary battery” [0043]; Fig. 3) comprising:
a can (200 Fig. 3; “a battery case 200” [0043]) having an upper end (the end of battery case 200 shown in Fig. 3 that the element labelled 100 is disposed in) and a lower end (the end of battery case 200 shown in Fig. 3 that element 320 is disposed in);
an upper plate coupled to the upper end of the can (120 shown in Fig. 3; “a safety vent 120” [0067]);
a lower plate coupled to the lower end of the can (220 Fig. 3; “a lower sealing member 220” [0046]); and
an electrode assembly inside the can (300 Fig. 3; “an electrode assembly 300” [0043]), and comprising a first electrode uncoated portion extending upwardly, and a second electrode uncoated portion extending downwardly (“A start tip and an end tip of the current corrector in the rolling direction of the electrode plates may have non-coating portions to which the slurry is not applied, and electrode leads corresponding to the electrode plates may be respectively attached to the non-coating portions.” [0044]).
Kim does not disclose a first current collector plate electrically connected to the first electrode uncoated portion; and
a second current collector plate electrically connected to the second electrode uncoated portion, and coupled between the lower end of the can and the lower plate.
However, Chung discloses a battery (190 Fig. 25a; “a cylindrical battery” [0239]) comprising a can (142 Fig. 25a; “a battery housing” [0240]) having an upper end (the end of the battery housing 142 shown in Fig. 25a that the element labelled 143 is disposed in) and a lower end (the end of the battery housing 142 shown in Fig. 25a that the elements labelled 145 and 146b are disposed in), an upper plate coupled to the upper end of the can (143 Fig. 25a; “a sealing body 143 for sealing an open end of the battery housing 142” [0240]), a lower plate coupled to the lower end of the can (“the lower surface of the battery housing 142” [0272]); and an electrode assembly inside the can (110 Fig. 25a; “an electrode assembly 110 having a positive electrode, a separator and a negative electrode wound in a jelly-roll form, a battery housing 142 for accommodating the electrode assembly 110” [0240]), and comprising a first electrode uncoated portion extending upwardly (146a Fig. 25a; “An uncoated portion 146 a of the positive electrode” [0245]), and a second electrode uncoated portion extending downwardly (146b Fig. 25a; “an uncoated portion 146 b of the negative electrode” [0245]).
Chung teaches a first current collector plate electrically connected to the first electrode uncoated portion (144 Fig. 25a; “a first current collecting plate 144” [0252]); and
a second current collector plate electrically connected to the second electrode uncoated portion (145 Fig. 25a; “a second current collecting plate 145” [0252]), and coupled between the lower end of the can and the lower plate (second current collecting plate 145 shown in Fig. 25a is disposed in the lower end of the can and above the lower surface of the battery housing 142).
Chung further teaches that the current collector plates are connected to external electrode terminals and a current path is formed with a large cross-sectional area along the winding axis direction of electrode assembly, which has an advantage of lowering the resistance of the battery because resistance is inversely proportional to the cross-sectional area of the path through which the current flows ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a first current collector plate and a second current collector plate to the battery of Kim, in view of Chung, wherein the first current collector plate is electrically connected to the first electrode uncoated portion; and
the second current collector plate is electrically connected to the second electrode uncoated portion, and coupled between the lower end of the can and the lower plate.
The person of ordinary skill would thus be able to achieve a battery of lowered resistance by the large cross-sectional area of the current collecting plates, which is the current path from the uncoated portions of the electrode assembly to the terminals of the battery.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising a terminal portion (comprising collectively of 110 and 140 in Kim Fig. 3; “a top cap 110” [0067] and “a current interruptive member 140” [0077]) comprising a base block electrically connected to the first current collector plate (“the lower portion thereof is connected to an electrode lead of the electrode assembly 300, for example a cathode lead 310” [0078]), a head extending above the base block and protruding above the upper plate (“The top cap 110 is disposed to protrude upwards at the uppermost portion of the cap assembly 100, thereby forming a cathode terminal.” Kim [0068]), and an insulating member between the upper plate and both the base block and the head (Kim 150 Fig. 3; “The gasket 150 is configured to surround rims of the top cap 110 and the safety vent 120.” [0071]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 11 above, and wherein the terminal portion further comprises a fusible link connecting the base block and the head (Kim “the lower end of the central protrusion of the safety vent 120” [0078], which is connected to current interruptive member 140 [0078] and “a contact between the safety vent 120 and the current interruptive member 140 is cut, or the current interruptive member 140 ruptures, thereby interrupting the electric connection between the safety vent 120 and the current interruptive member 140.” [0078]), and having a diameter that is less than a diameter of the head (the central portion of safety vent 120 shown in Kim Fig. 3 is a diameter that is less than the diameter of top cap 110).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein an inner surface of the upper end of the can defines an upper coupling groove at which the upper end of the can is coupled to the upper plate (Kim 211 Fig. 3; “the upper can 210 may have a bent portion 211 at its top” [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the battery comprises a cylindrical secondary battery (Kim [0007] “the cylindrical secondary battery”).
Claims 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0004446 A1) in view of Chung et al (US 2025/0079530 Al) and Hwang et al (CA 3238487 A1). The latter prior art reference being cited to as Hwang hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the second current collector plate comprises:
a flat portion electrically connected to the second electrode uncoated portion; and
an extension portion extending from the flat portion, and electrically connected to the can.
However, Hwang discloses a battery (100a and 100b Figs. 1-2; “secondary battery” [0009]) comprising a can (20 Figs. 1-2; “case” [0009]) having an upper end (the end of 100a and 100b in Figs. 1 and 2 that the elements labelled 40, 41 and 52 are disposed in) and a lower end (the end of 100a and 100b in Figs. 1 and 2 that the elements labelled 30 and 51 are disposed in), a lower plate coupled to the lower end of the can (30 Figs. 1-2; “vent” [0009]), an electrode assembly inside the can (10 Figs. 1-2; “electrode assembly” [0009]), a first current collector plate (52 Figs. 1-2; “second current collecting plate” [0009]), a second current collector plate (51 Figs. 1-2; “first current collecting plate” [0009]), and first and second uncoated portions constituent of the electrode assembly (“uncoated portions located at both ends of the electrode wound on the outermost part of the electrode assembly 10 … The uncoated portion may be located at one or more of both ends of one side of the current collector” [0013]).
Hwang teaches wherein the second current collector plate comprises:
a flat portion electrically connected to the second electrode uncoated portion (“The first current collecting plate 51 is welded to the uncoated portion of the electrode assembly 10” [0019]; Figs. 1-2 show that the majority of first current collecting plate 51 in its middle portion is where the uncoated portion of the bottom portion of the wound electrode assembly is connected); and
an extension portion extending from the flat portion (the end portions of first current collecting plate 51 that is not connected to the uncoated portion of the electrode assembly located at its bottom portion shown in Figs. 1-2 due to bending away and opposite from where the uncoated portion is located), and electrically connected to the can (“the first current collecting plate is welded and electrically connected to at least one of the case and the vent” [0003]).
Hwang further teaches that arranging the second current collector plate in this way provides a battery where a space in which the secondary battery realizes energy is maximized ([0003]) where a beaded portion or a crimped portion is not included ([0014]), which limits an internal space of the case where energy is realized by physically occupying space such as widths and heights of the beading part and the crimping part ([0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the second current collector plate of modified Kim in view of Hwang wherein the second current collector plate comprises:
a flat portion electrically connected to the second electrode uncoated portion; and
an extension portion extending from the flat portion, and electrically connected to the can, in order to achieve a battery that maximizes the internal space used for realizing energy by avoiding beaded and crimped portions, which physically takes up space in the battery that can be used to realize energy.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 2 above, but does not disclose wherein an inner surface of the lower end of the can defines a lower coupling groove at which the lower end of the can is coupled to the extension portion.
However, Hwang teaches wherein an inner surface of the lower end of the can defines a lower coupling groove (“The thickness of the case 20 may decrease in the direction of the opening. Specifically, the thickness of the case 20 may decrease by a certain length in the direction of gravity at the end of the case 20 where the opening is formed. Here, the certain length may correspond to a sum of the thicknesses of the vent 30 and the first current collecting plate 51 or may be greater than the sum of the thicknesses of the vent 30 and the first current collecting plate 51.” [0023]-[0024]) at which the lower end of the can is coupled to the extension portion (“The secondary battery 100a according to an exemplary embodiment may include a first weld portion 1 where a contact surface of the first current collecting plate 51 and the case 20 is welded” [0023] where Fig. 1 shows a decrease in thickness of case 20 that the first current end portion of the first current collecting plate 51 is welded to).
Hwang further teaches that there occurs problems when the thickness of the lower end of the can is too high in that electrical resistance heat cannot pass through the can and heat is not transferred to a contact surface of the lower end of the can and the second current collector plate and a contact surface of the can and the lower plate, resulting in a deterioration in the quality of the weld portions and an increase in the frequency of failure of the battery ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a lower coupling groove to an inner surface of the lower end of the can of modified Kim in further view of Hwang, at which the lower end of the can is coupled to the extension portion, in order to achieve a means to weld the lower end of the can to the second current collector plate and the lower plate characterized by low heat resistance and maximized heat transfer.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 3 above, but does not disclose wherein the lower plate comprises a protrusion protruding downwardly from an edge thereof, and coupled to the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove, and
wherein the extension portion is between the protrusion and the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove.
However, Hwang teaches wherein the lower plate comprises a protrusion protruding downwardly from an edge thereof (Fig. 1 shows the outer edges of vent 30 comprises of a groove that extends down from its upper surface, and “The vent 30 may decrease in thickness from the center toward the outer side. The vent 30 may include a first vent having a first vent thickness in an outward direction from the center and a second vent having a second vent thickness different from that of the first vent. The second vent may be located at an edge of the vent 30. Here, the edge includes a certain width in the direction toward the center from an outer surface of the vent 30. … Preferably, the first vent thickness may be 1.5 to 3 times greater than the second vent thickness.” [0026]), and coupled to the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove (the side edge of the protrusion described in the former citation is shown to be coupled to the case 20 in Fig. 1), and
wherein the extension portion is between the protrusion and the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove (Fig. 1 shows that the outer edges of the first current collecting plate 51 is disposed in the portion of the case 20 that has a lower thickness and the outer edge portion of vent 30 that also has lower thickness such that it is also disposed between the portion of the case 20 that has higher thickness and the outer edge of the vent 30 in the height direction).
Hwang further teaches that these features create a contact surface for the second current collector plate and the lower plate to be welded to increase fixing force of the second current collector plate, and thereby increase durability of the battery against external vibration ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a protrusion protruding downwardly from an edge thereof to the lower plate of modified Kim in further view of Hwang, wherein the lower plate is coupled to the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove, and
wherein the extension portion is between the protrusion and the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove.
The person of ordinary skill would thus be able to achieve a contact surface for the second current collector plate and the lower plate to be welded thar increases fixing force of the second current collector plate, and thereby increases durability of the battery against external vibration.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 3 above, and wherein a thickness of the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove is less than a thickness of other regions of the can (Hwang Fig. 1 shows that the lower end portion of case 20 has a thickness that is less than the other portions of the case).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 3 above, and wherein the extension portion comprises:
a first region bent from, and extending downwardly from, the flat portion (Hwang Fig. 1 where the current collecting plate 51 bends for a portion of it to extend down and away from the electrode assembly 10);
a second region bent from, and extending laterally from, the first region (Hwang Fig. 1 where the current collecting plate 51 bends after the portion that extends away and down from the electrode assembly 10 to then extend horizontally and make a longitudinal contact with vent 30); and
wherein the second region contacts the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove (Hwang Fig. 1 where the outer ends of current collecting plate 51 contact the inner surface of the lower end of the can 20 that has a lower thickness).
Modified Kim does not disclose wherein the extension portion comprises a third region bent from, and extending downwardly from, the second region, and
wherein the third region contacts the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove.
However, Hwang suggests adding a third region to the second region of the extension portion of modified Kim because Hwang teaches that the second current collector plate may be bent one or more times such that an end of the second current collector plate is located in the direction of the lower end of the can, and specifically may be located between the inner surface of the can and the outer surface of the vent, such that the weld portion where the second current collector plate and the can are welded and the weld portion where the second current collector plate and the lower plate are welded may be located along a circumference of an outer surface of the lower plate ([0028]). Furthermore, Hwang teaches an additional weld portion for welding the weld portion between the second current collector plate and the can and the weld portion between the second current collector plate and the lower plate to cover all the ends of the can, the lower plate, and the second current collector plate to prevent the second current collector plate from being exposed to the outside ([0029]), which lowers the performance of the battery due to increased resistance caused by damage to the second current collector plate ([0026]). Additionally, Hwang teaches the lower plate and the second current collector plate may be welded to increase fixing force of the second current collector plate to increase durability of the battery against external vibration ([0027]), and that the different weld portions between the can and the second current collector plate, between the can and the lower plate, and between the second current collector plate and the lower plate may be provided in plural and spaced apart from each other ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to add a third region to the extension portion bent from, and extending downwardly from, the second region of modified Kim in further view of Hwang, and
wherein the third region contacts the lower end of the can adjacent the lower coupling groove.
The person of ordinary skill would thus be able to achieve a battery that ensures durability against external vibration while preventing exposure of the second current collector plate from being exposed to the outside and being damaged, which increases battery resistance and lowers battery performance.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the second current collector plate and the lower plate are electrically connected to the lower end of the can by welding.
However, Hwang discloses a battery (100a and 100b Figs. 1-2; “secondary battery” [0009]) comprising a can (20 Figs. 1-2; “case” [0009]) having an upper end (the end of 100a and 100b in Figs. 1 and 2 that the elements labelled 40, 41 and 52 are disposed in) and a lower end (the end of 100a and 100b in Figs. 1 and 2 that the elements labelled 30 and 51 are disposed in), a lower plate coupled to the lower end of the can (30 Figs. 1-2; “vent” [0009]), an electrode assembly inside the can (10 Figs. 1-2; “electrode assembly” [0009]), a first current collector plate (52 Figs. 1-2; “second current collecting plate” [0009]), a second current collector plate (51 Figs. 1-2; “first current collecting plate” [0009]), and first and second uncoated portions constituent of the electrode assembly (“uncoated portions located at both ends of the electrode wound on the outermost part of the electrode assembly 10 … The uncoated portion may be located at one or more of both ends of one side of the current collector” [0013]).
Hwang teaches wherein the second current collector plate and the lower plate are electrically connected to the lower end of the can by welding (“The secondary battery 100a according to an exemplary embodiment may include a first weld portion 1 where a contact surface of the first current collecting plate 51 and the case 20 is welded and a second weld portion 2 where a contact surface of the case 20 and the vent 30 is welded.” [0023], collectively with “a third weld portion 3 where a contact surface of the first current collecting plate 51 and the vent 30 is welded” [0028] and “The secondary battery 100b according to another exemplary embodiment may further include an additional weld portion for welding the first weld portion 1 and the third
weld portion 3.” [0029]), and that this structure prevents the second current collector plate from being exposed to the outside ([0029]) that prevents the performance of the battery from being lowered due to increased resistance caused by damage to the second current collector plate ([0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add an electrical connection through means of welding between the second current collector plate and the lower plate to the lower end of the can of modified Kim in view of Hwang, in order to achieve a construction of the battery that prevents the second current collector plate from being exposed to the outside, which also prevents the performance of the battery from being lowered due to increased resistance caused by damage to the second current collector plate.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the lower plate defines a notch at an inner surface thereof.
However, Hwang discloses a battery (100a and 100b Figs. 1-2; “secondary battery” [0009]) comprising a can (20 Figs. 1-2; “case” [0009]) having an upper end (the end of 100a and 100b in Figs. 1 and 2 that the elements labelled 40, 41 and 52 are disposed in) and a lower end (the end of 100a and 100b in Figs. 1 and 2 that the elements labelled 30 and 51 are disposed in), a lower plate coupled to the lower end of the can (30 Figs. 1-2; “vent” [0009]), an electrode assembly inside the can (10 Figs. 1-2; “electrode assembly” [0009]), a first current collector plate (52 Figs. 1-2; “second current collecting plate” [0009]), a second current collector plate (51 Figs. 1-2; “first current collecting plate” [0009]), and first and second uncoated portions constituent of the electrode assembly (“uncoated portions located at both ends of the electrode wound on the outermost part of the electrode assembly 10 … The uncoated portion may be located at one or more of both ends of one side of the current collector” [0013]).
Hwang teaches wherein the lower plate defines a notch at an inner surface thereof (33 Figs. 1-2; “vent notch” [0009]), and that the notch bursts when a pressure inside the can exceeds a critical value ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a notch to an inner surface of the lower plate of modified Kim in view of Hwang, in order to achieve a venting means for the battery when a pressure inside the can exceeds a critical value.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0004446 A1) in view of Chung et al (US 2025/0079530 Al) and Jo et al (US 2024.0021958 A1). The latter prior art reference being cited to as Jo hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses the battery with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and the battery further comprising:
an upper insulator between the first current collector plate and the upper plate (Kim 150 Fig. 3; “a gasket 150” [0066]).
Modified Kim does not disclose the battery further comprising:
a spacer between the second current collector plate and the lower plate.
However, Jo discloses a battery (Figs. 8-9; “a battery 1” [0112]) comprising a can (20 Figs. 8-9; “a battery housing 20” [0112]) having an upper end (the end of the battery shown in Fig. 8 that the element labelled 50 is disposed in) and a lower end (the end of the battery shown in Figs. 8-9 that the elements labelled 80, 90 and 100 are disposed in), a lower plate coupled to the lower end of the can (90 Figs. 8-9; “The cap 90 covers the open portion (the open end) formed on the bottom of the battery housing 20. That is, the cap 90 forms the lower surface of the battery 1.” [0189]), and an electrode assembly inside the can (10 Figs. 8-9; “electrode assembly” [0179]), and comprising a first electrode uncoated portion extending upwardly, and a second electrode uncoated portion extending downwardly ([0119]).
Jo teaches the battery further comprising:
a spacer between the second current collector plate and the lower plate (110 Fig. 9; “lower spacer 110 may be interposed between the cap 90 and the second current collector 80” [0192]), and that the space prevents the movement of the electrode assembly thereby preventing damage to the electrical coupling part, when vibrations and external impact are applied to the battery ([0192]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a spacer between the second current collector plate and the lower plate of the battery of modified Kim in view of Jo, in order to prevent damage to the electrical coupling part of the battery when vibrations and external impact are applied.
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721