DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 03/25/2026.
Response to Arguments
In the instant Amendment, claims 1-4, 7-13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-28 and 30 have been amended. Applicant’s arguments on 03/25/2026 with respects to claims 1-30 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-13, 17-20, 23, 25-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar et al. (U.S 2024/0397408) in view of ZTE, "Discussion on Left Issues of AI Based Mobility Optimization", R3-233004, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #120, 12 May 2023, 4 Pages; hereinafter “ZTE- R3-233004”.
For claim 1:
Chandrashekar discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications at a source network node, comprising: one or more memories (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 5; memory, processor); and one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a handover request associated with a handover of a user equipment (UE) from a first cell associated with the apparatus to a second cell associated with a first target network node (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 4 and paragraph [0015]; [0056]; transmit a handover request , the handover request comprising
predicted information associated with the UE, the predicted information generated by a machine learning (ML) model (see Chandrashekar, at least paragraph [0044], [0053]-[0054]; an instance of AI/ML model information 128N includes at least one model generated through execution of one or more AI/ML algorithms on training data, e.g., MHI of UEs 112, including UE 112U in some embodiments. The at least one model includes an algorithm configured to generate a set of outputs consisting of predicted information and/or decision parameters, based on a set of inputs); and a first identifier (ID) assigned to the UE (see Chandrashekar, at least Figure 1-2; Transmit zone and UE identifiers from a first RAN node to a UE),
Chandrashekar does not explicitly discloses receive an information update message comprising: feedback information comprising feedback for the predicted information, the feedback information associated with refining the ML model.
ZTE- R3-233004, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Chandrashekar fails: if the predicted UE trajectory is transferred to the target NG-RAN node correct, then the target NG-RAN node then begins collecting subsequent UE trajectory information after the successful handover, and report the cell-level trajectory to the source NG-RAN node via AI/ML information update (see ZTE- R3-233004, at least section 2, 2.1, 2.2, proposal 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by ZTE- R3-233004. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system network where the source NG-RAN node can calculate the accuracy itself and improve the accuracy of its prediction model.
For claim 5:
In addition to rejection in claim 5, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein: to transmit the handover request (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 4; handover request), the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the handover request to the first target network node (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 4; transmit to first target node); and to receive the information update message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the information update message from the first target network node (see ZTE- R3-233004, at least section 2, 2.1, 2.2, proposal 6; if the predicted UE trajectory is transferred to the target NG-RAN node correct, then the target NG-RAN node then begins collecting subsequent UE trajectory information after the successful handover, and report the cell-level trajectory to the source NG-RAN node via AI/ML information update). The motivation for doing this is to provide a system network where the source NG-RAN node can calculate the accuracy itself and improve the accuracy of its prediction model.
For claim 6:
In addition to rejection in claim 6, Ali-Li- ZTE- R3-234381 further discloses wherein: to transmit the handover request, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the handover request to the first target network node; and to receive the information update message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the information update message from a second target network node (see ZTE- R3-233004, at least section 2, 2.1, 2.2, proposal 6; if the predicted UE trajectory is transferred to the target NG-RAN node correct, then the target NG-RAN node then begins collecting subsequent UE trajectory information after the successful handover, and report the cell-level trajectory to the source NG-RAN node via AI/ML information update). The motivation for doing this is to provide a system network where the source NG-RAN node can calculate the accuracy itself and improve the accuracy of its prediction model.
For claim 10:
In addition to rejection in claim 10, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the information update message further comprises information that the UE is operating in an idle mode or an inactive mode (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 3; UE Completes Session and Being Sent to RRC INACTIVE or IDLE, and update AI-ML Zone ID AI-ML UE ID if require).
For claim 11:
In addition to rejection in claim 11, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive information that the UE is operating in a connected mode with a second target network node (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 3; UE goes to inactive/idle and wants return to connected in a different gNB); and transmit the predicted information associated with the UE to the second target network node (see ZTE- R3-233004, at least section 2, 2.1, 2.2, proposal 6; if the predicted UE trajectory is transferred to the target NG-RAN node correct, then the target NG-RAN node then begins collecting subsequent UE trajectory information after the successful handover, and report the cell-level trajectory to the source NG-RAN node via AI/ML information update). Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by ZTE- R3-233004. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system network where the source NG-RAN node can calculate the accuracy itself and improve the accuracy of its prediction model.
For claim 12:
For claim 12, claim 12 is directed to an apparatus configured for wireless communications at a first target network node which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
For claim 13:
In addition to rejection in claim 13, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the handover request further comprises the first ID assigned to the UE (see Chandrashekar, at least Figure 1-2; transmit zone and UE identifiers from a first RAN node to a UE; paragraph [0059]; the received instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N is included in a RRC setup or resume request message. In some embodiments, the received instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N is included in a RRC reconfiguration complete message received as part of a handover operation).
For claim 17:
In addition to rejection in claim 17, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein, to receive the handover request, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the handover request from a second target network node (see Chandrashekar, at least Figure 4; Handover request/ handover acknowledge from a second target network node).
For claim 18:
In addition to rejection in claim 18, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to, prior to transmission of the information update message, transmit, to the source network node, information that the UE is operating in a connected mode with the apparatus (see ZTE- R3-233004, at least section 2, 2.1, 2.2, proposal 6; if the predicted UE trajectory is transferred to the target NG-RAN node correct, then the target NG-RAN node then begins collecting subsequent UE trajectory information after the successful handover, and report the cell-level trajectory to the source NG-RAN node via AI/ML information update). Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by ZTE- R3-233004. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system network where the source NG-RAN node can calculate the accuracy itself and improve the accuracy of its prediction model.
For claim 19:
In addition to rejection in claim 19, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, from a second UE, a radio resource control (RRC} connection request that requests to re-establish or resume an RRC connection with the second UE, the RRC connection request comprising the ID of the source network node; and re-establish or resume the RRC connection with the second UE based on receipt of the RRC connection request (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0072]- [0076]; [0059] and [0051]; mobility support 122N is configured to, in operation, transmit an instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N to a given UE 112U in response to receiving a transmission from the UE 112U. In some embodiments, the transmission from the UE 112U includes a RRC setup request message or a RRC resume request message received as part of establishing a session in which device 102N acts as a serving node to the UE 112U, e.g. , establishing a session resulting from the UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode. In some embodiments, the transmission includes an indication of the UE transitioning to inactive or idle mode from connected mode).
For claim 20:
In addition to rejection in claim 23, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the RRC connection request further comprises an indication of when an inactivity of the second UE was detected by the second target network node (see Chandrashekar, at least paragraph [0072]; [0074]; [0068]; receive the instance of zone and UE identifiers 126U included in a RRC setup or resume request message, e.g., as part of establishing a session in which the instance of device 102N acts as a serving node to UE 112U, e.g., establishing a session resulting from UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode).
For claim 23:
In addition to rejection in claim 23, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein, to receive the handover request, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive the handover request from the source network node (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, handover request from the source node).
For claim 25:
In addition to rejection in claim 25, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose detect inactivity of the UE; and transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) release message hat indicates that the UE is to transition from a connected mode to an idle mode or an inactive mode, the RRC release message comprising the ID of the source network node (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0072]- [0076]; [0059] and [0051]; mobility support 122N is configured to, in operation, transmit an instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N to a given UE 112U in response to receiving a transmission from the UE 112U. In some embodiments, the transmission from the UE 112U includes a RRC setup request message or a RRC resume request message received as part of establishing a session in which device 102N acts as a serving node to the UE 112U, e.g. , establishing a session resulting from the UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode. In some embodiments, the transmission includes an indication of the UE transitioning to inactive or idle mode from connected mode).
For claim 26:
In addition to rejection in claim 26, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the information update message further comprises information that indicates that the UE has transitioned from the connected mode to the idle mode or the inactive mode (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0072]- [0076]; [0059] and [0051]; mobility support 122N is configured to, in operation, transmit an instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N to a given UE 112U in response to receiving a transmission from the UE 112U. In some embodiments, the transmission from the UE 112U includes a RRC setup request message or a RRC resume request message received as part of establishing a session in which device 102N acts as a serving node to the UE 112U, e.g. , establishing a session resulting from the UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode. In some embodiments, the transmission includes an indication of the UE transitioning to inactive or idle mode from connected mode).
For claim 27:
In addition to rejection in claim 25, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 further disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, from a second target network node, a request for context associated with the UE and transmit, to the second target network node, the context associated with the UE, the context associated with the UE comprising the ID of the source network node see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, retrieve UE context request/response, associated with the UE comprising the ID of the source network node (AI0ML UE ID, UE context).
For claim 30:
For claim 30, claim 30 is directed to a method which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 30 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar et al. (U.S 2024/0397408) in view of ZTE, "Discussion on Left Issues of AI Based Mobility Optimization", R3-233004, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #120, 12 May 2023, 4 Pages; hereinafter “ZTE- R3-233004” further in view of NPL-ZTE, "Further Discussion on Remaining Issues on Procedures for Al", R3-233002, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #120, 12 May 2023, 4 Pages; hereinafter “ZTE-R3-233002”.
For claims 3 and 14:
In addition to rejection in claims 3 and 14, Chandrashekar- ZTE- R3-233004 does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is configured with one or more measurement IDs, each of the one or more measurement IDs being associated with measurement information relating to the ML model.
ZTE-R3-233002, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Ali-Li- ZTE- R3-234381 fails: US performance feedback is collected for those UEs that handover to the target node because AI/ML and shall add cells indicated in the cell to report list IE to the measurement initiated before the given measurement IDs (see ZTE-R3-233002, at least section 2, 2.3; proposal 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by ZTE-R3-233002. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system network where UE performance feedbacks is introduced into the AI/ML INFORMATION UPDATE message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Chandrashekar et al. (U.S 2024/0397408).
For claim 28:
Chandrashekar discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors (see Chandrashekar, at least figure 5; memory, processor) configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first target network node communication with the apparatus (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4; receive from target node), a radio resource control (RRC) release message that indicates that the apparatus is to transition from a connected mode to an idle mode or an inactive mode (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0049]-[0052]; In some embodiments, the transmission from the UE 112U includes a RRC setup request message or a RRC resume request message received as part of establishing a session in which device 102N acts as a serving node to the UE 112U), the RRC release message comprising an identifier (ID) of a source network node configured to generate predicted information for the apparatus via a machine learning (ML) model (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0049]-[0054], [0044]; Mobility support 122N is one or more sets of instructions configured to be executed on device 102N whereby zone and UE identifiers 126N are managed and transmitted to and from instances of UE 112, e.g., UE 112U, and whereby AI/ML model information 128N is managed and transmitted to and from instances of UE 112, each in accordance with an AI/ML model mobility support method); transition from the connected mode to the inactive mode or the idle mode based on receipt of the RRC release message (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0051]; mobility support 122N is configured to, in operation, transmit an instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N to a given UE 112U in response to receiving a transmission from the UE 112U. In some embodiments, the transmission from the UE 112U includes a RRC setup request message or a RRC resume request message received as part of establishing a session in which device 102N acts as a serving node to the UE 112U, e.g. , establishing a session resulting from the UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode. In some embodiments, the transmission includes an indication of the UE transitioning to inactive or idle mode from connected mode); and transmit, to a second target network node, an RRC connection request that requests to re-establish or resume a RRC connection with the second target network node, the RRC connection request comprising the ID of the source network node (see Chandrashekar, at least figures 3-4, paragraph [0072]- [0076]; [0059] and [0051]; mobility support 122N is configured to, in operation, transmit an instance of zone and UE identifiers 126N to a given UE 112U in response to receiving a transmission from the UE 112U. In some embodiments, the transmission from the UE 112U includes a RRC setup request message or a RRC resume request message received as part of establishing a session in which device 102N acts as a serving node to the UE 112U, e.g. , establishing a session resulting from the UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode. In some embodiments, the transmission includes an indication of the UE transitioning to inactive or idle mode from connected mode).
For claim 29:
In addition to rejection in claim 29, Chandrashekar further disclose wherein the RRC release message and the RRC connection request each comprise an indication of when an inactivity of the apparatus was detected by the first target network node (see Chandrashekar, at least paragraph [0072]; [0074]; [0068]; receive the instance of zone and UE identifiers 126U included in a RRC setup or resume request message, e.g., as part of establishing a session in which the instance of device 102N acts as a serving node to UE 112U, e.g., establishing a session resulting from UE 112U transitioning from inactive or idle mode to connected mode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7-9, 15, 16, 21, 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in all independents form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome any objection claims set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior arts made or record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosures. Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (U.S 2025/0267538A1), discloses a handover request comprising a transmitting an indication to at least one neighboring ran node that first ran node wants an estimation or prediction of the performance of at least one UE while being served by one or more neighboring/target cells.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAN-HUONG TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
06/13/2026