DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 08/25/2026.
Status of Rejections
The objections to the abstract are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 USC 112(b) is/are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
All previous rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-14 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a second separator" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As there is no recitation of a first separator in the claim, it is unclear what the claimed separator is “second” to or whether there must be at least two separators in the claimed apparatus. For examination purposes, the claimed “second separator” is interpreted as the only separator required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide (WO 9738815 A1) in view of Lambert et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,325,916), and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 111704214 A, citations based on translation).
Regarding claim 1, Eide teaches an upflow electrochemical coagulation reactor (see e.g. Page 1, lines 2-3 and 9-14, and Page 6, lines 10-15 and 28-29, electrolytic apparatus for removing contaminants by electrocoagulation, wherein an inlet may extend through a base of the apparatus, thereby forming an “upflow” cell, as defined on page 4, lines 20-21 of the instant specification) comprising:
a cathode fixed inside the reactor (see e.g. Fig. 11, centrally fixed inner second metal electrode 705, which may be a cathode; Page 6, lines 19-20, Page 12, lines 8-11, and Page 19, lines 29-30 and 36);
at least one movable anode positioned at a predetermined distance from the cathode (see e.g. Fig. 11, movable sides of first metal electrode 702 which may be anodes creating a gap with second electrode; Page 6, lines 17-18 and 20-22, Page 12, lines 8-11, and Page 20, lines 2-9);
a sensor configured to sense a change in the distance between the cathode and the at least one movable anode (see e.g. Page 5, lines 31-32, and Page 6, lines 5-7, sensing means measuring operating parameter of apparatus such as electrode gap);
a controller configured to make the distance between the cathode and the at least one movable anode constant while adapting to a change in the distance between the cathode and the at least one movable anode sensed by the sensor (see e.g. Page 5, line 32-Page 6, line 3, Page 19, lines 27-28, and Page 20, lines 6-9 and 24-27, controller receiving operating parameter input from sensing means and communicating with an urging means for movement of the electrodes, such as a drive shaft or hydraulic pistons moving the sliding electrodes 702 of Fig. 11, to adjust the electrode gap to obtain a predetermined value of, i.e. make constant, the operating parameter).
Eide does not teach first separator and a second separator, the first separator being positioned above the second separator, the second separator being configured to collect sludge thereabove between the first and second separators. Eide does however teach the electrocoagulation reactor precipitating out or floccing dissolved or suspended solids to separate them from water (see e.g. Page 1, lines 9-14, and Page 21, lines 2-5).
Lambert teaches an apparatus for separating contaminants from an aqueous source using electrocoagulation (see e.g. Abstract) comprising an electrocoagulation cell including a plurality of electrodes disposed in a reservoir (see e.g. Figs. 4-5, electrocoagulation/electro-flocculation cell 42 comprising electrodes 54 in reservoir 14; Col. 8, lines 27-30 and 35-38, and Col. 9, lines 23-28), wherein first and second debris traps, i.e. separators, may be provided respectively above and below the electrodes adjacent the inlet and outlet of each cell, the lower of the two therefore capable of collecting debris thereabove (see e.g. Figs. 7A and 7B, debris traps 72 near inlets 20 and outlets 22 of each cell 42/43, and thus above and below the electrodes therebetween; Col. 10, lines 12-14 and 51-52), the debris traps capturing and retaining debris while allowing passage of fluid, thereby maintaining cleanliness in each cell and, therefore, optimum performance (see e.g. Col. 10, lines 14-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor of Eide to comprise a first and second debris traps, i.e. separators, respectively above and below the electrodes that capture and retain debris while allowing passage of fluid, the lower second trap thereby collecting generated sludge thereabove, as taught by Lambert to maintain cleanliness in each reactor and, therefore, optimum performance.
Modified Eide does not explicitly teach a sludge outlet being in fluid communication with the second separator for sludge delivery therebetween.
Liu teaches an electrochemical wastewater treatment system (see e.g. Abstract) in which an inclined filter screen is provided in a lower part of a treatment box for intercepting falling particles of condensate (see e.g. Fig. 1, filter screen 15 at the bottom of treatment box 2; Paragraph 0038, lines 1-4) and a solid slag opening is provided on a wall of the treatment box at the bottom edge of the filter screen, and thereby in fluid communication therewith, such that the collected solids can be cleaned out via the opening (see e.g. Fig. 1, solid slag opening at bottom of filter screen; Paragraph 0038, lines 2-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor of modified Eide to comprise a solid slag opening at a bottom edge of the second separator in fluid communication therewith as taught by Liu to enable collected solids to be cleaned out.
Regarding claim 2, modified Eide teaches each of two anodes being an equal distance to the cathode (see e.g. Eide Fig. 11, sliding electrode plates 702 maintained at same constant gap from sides of fixed electrode 705; Page 6, lines 17-22, and Page 19, lines 23-28).
Regarding claim 3, Eide as modified above does not explicitly teach the cathode comprising stainless steel (SS) or Ti, but does teach it comprising a metal material that is sacrificially consumed for the electrocoagulation (see e.g. Eide Page 2, lines 3-7, Page 6, lines 17-19, Page 19, lines 23-24), with specific examples of iron and aluminum (see e.g. Eide Page 6, lines 4-5, and Page 17, lines 4-7, exemplified concentric tube electrode material).
Lambert further teaches electrode plates for dissolution into the solution for wastewater treatment being made of materials such as titanium that are useful for certain target pollutants as an alternative to aluminum (see e.g. Lambert Col. 11, lines 40-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode of modified Eide to comprise titanium as taught by Lambert as an alternate suitable electrode material for sacrificial dissolution/consumption in electrocoagulation that is useful for certain target pollutants. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious. Further, MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Regarding claim 4, modified Eide teaches the at least one movable anode comprising Fe or Al (see e.g. Eide Page 6, lines 4-5, and Page 17, lines 4-7, exemplified concentric tube electrode material).
Regarding claim 5, Eide as modified by Lambert teaches the first separator and the second separator each comprising a porous ceramic (see e.g. Lambert Col. 10, lines 14-17, porous ceramic balls).
Regarding claim 7, Eide as modified by Lambert teaches the cathode and the at least one movable anode being disposed between the first separator and the second separator (see e.g. Lambert Figs. 5, 7A and 7B, debris traps 72 near inlets 20 and outlets 22 of each cell 42/43, and thus above and below the electrodes therebetween; Col. 10, lines 12-14 and 51-52).
Regarding claim 8, Eide as modified above does not explicitly teach the reactor further comprising a floating matter outlet.
Liu further teaches a scum outlet provided in an upper part of the treatment tank provided with a corresponding scum collection box (see e.g. Liu Fig. 1, scum outlet 13 with collection box 14; Paragraph 0037), wherein lighter flocs formed during the electrocoagulation float up and can be scooped out through the scum outlet and placed in the scum collection box (see e.g. Liu Paragraph 0047, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor of modified Eide to further comprise a scum outlet in an upper part of the reactor as taught by Liu to allow lighter flocs formed during the electrocoagulation to be scooped out and collected.
Regarding claim 9, Eide as modified above does not explicitly teach the reactor further comprising a gas outlet.
Lambert further teaches a gas vent tube being provided on the cell to vent excess gases and regulate a wastewater level in the cell (see e.g. Lambert Fig. 9, gas vent tube 30; Col. 10, lines 36-38), as gases may be generated in the cell by electrolysis during the electrocoagulation (see e.g. Lambert Col. 13, lines 36-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor of modified Eide to comprise a gas vent tube as taught by Lambert to enable venting of excess gases in the cell that may be generated by electrolysis and regulate a wastewater level in the cell.
Regarding claim 10, modified Eide teaches the electric power applied to the reactor being monopolar (see e.g. Eide Page 11, lines 19-22, DC voltage applied directly to the anode and cathode, thereby forming a monopolar circuit).
Regarding claim 11, modified Eide teaches a method of removing contaminants from wastewater using the upflow electrochemical coagulation reactor of claim 1 (see e.g. Eide Page 1, lines 2-3 and 9-14).
Regarding claim 12, Eide as modified above does not explicitly teach the contaminants comprising phosphorous, heavy metals, organic matter, or a combination thereof. Eide does however teach that the method can be used for various contaminant removal targets in a variety of liquid waste streams (see e.g. Eide Page 14, lines 27-30, and Page 20, lines 31-33).
Liu further teaches organic pollutants and heavy metals as exemplary substances to be removed from wastewater by electrocoagulation (see e.g. Liu Paragraph 0004, lines 8-11, and Paragraph 0047, lines 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Eide to comprise organic contaminants or heavy metals as the target contaminants to be removed as taught by Liu as exemplary contaminants that may be removed from wastewater via electrocoagulation. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Eide as modified by Lambert teaches the cathode and the at least one movable anode being spaced from each other in a direction perpendicular to the direction between the first and second separators (see e.g. Eide Fig. 11, gap between electrodes 705 and 702 shown in the horizontal plane with respect to cover 710 and base 706; Page 19, lines 23-29; see e.g. Lambert Figs. 7A and 7B, debris traps 72 at the top and bottom of each cell 42/43 in the vertical plane; Col. 10, lines 12-14).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide, Lambert and Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 101445250 B1, citations based on translation).
Regarding claim 6, modified Eide teaches all the elements of the reactor of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Eide does not teach the second separator being conical, but does teach the second separator comprising a fine mesh filter (see e.g. Lambert Col. 10, lines 14-16).
Kim teaches a treatment device for removing contaminants from water using electrocoagulation (see e.g. Page 1, lines 1-4, and Page 6, lines 1-10), wherein a filter in the form of a conical metal mesh may be provided at a water inlet of the device (see e.g. Fig. 10, microfilter 13b, Page 8, lines 3-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second separator of modified Eide to have a conical shape as taught by Kim as a suitable form for a filter mesh to be used in a wastewater treatment device utilizing electrocoagulation. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide in view of Cole (U.S. Patent No. 5,531,865), and further in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 13, Eide teaches an electrochemical coagulation reactor (see e.g. Page 1, lines 2-3 and 9-14, electrolytic apparatus for removing contaminants by electrocoagulation) comprising:
a cathode fixed centrally inside the reactor (see e.g. Fig. 11, centrally fixed inner second metal electrode 705, which may be a cathode; Page 6, lines 19-20, Page 12, lines 8-11, and Page 19, lines 29-30 and 36),
at least one movable anode positioned at a side of the cathode and at a distance from the cathode (see e.g. Fig. 11, movable sides of first metal electrode 702 which may be anodes surrounding and creating a gap with second electrode 705; Page 6, lines 17-18 and 20-22, Page 12, lines 8-11, and Page 20, lines 2-9);
a sensor configured to measure the distance between the cathode and the at least one movable anode (see e.g. Page 5, lines 31-32, and Page 6, lines 5-7, sensing means measuring operating parameter of apparatus such as electrode gap) and to communicate the measured distance to a controller; the controller configured to move the at least one movable anode when the measured distance differs from a predetermined distance to make the distance between the cathode and the at least one movable anode equal to the predetermined distance (see e.g. Page 5, line 32-Page 6, line 3, Page 19, lines 27-28, and Page 20, lines 6-9 and 24-27, controller receiving operating parameter input from sensing means and communicating with an urging means for movement of the electrodes, such as a drive shaft or hydraulic pistons moving the sliding electrodes 702 of Fig. 11, to adjust the electrode gap to obtain a predetermined value of, i.e. make constant, the operating parameter).
Eide does not teach the cathode being inside an upper portion of the reactor.
Cole teaches a method and apparatus for removing contaminants from wastewater with electrochemical flocculation, i.e. coagulation, (see e.g. Abstract and Col. 3, lines 26-42), the apparatus comprising a central cathode fixed to the near the top of the reactor and surrounded radially, i.e. at its sides, by a plurality of anodes spaced in parallel from the cathode (see e.g. Fig. 2, central cathode 46 and surrounding anodes 50; Col. 6, lines 29-43), this electrode arrangement providing excellent results from the standpoint of water purification and being highly resistant to plugging (see e.g. Col. 6, lines 51-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor of Eide to comprise the cathode fixed centrally near the top of the reactor with the anodes parallel at its sides as taught by Cole as an electrode arrangement suitable for electrochemical coagulation that provides excellent results from the standpoint of water purification and is highly resistant to plugging.
Modified Eide does not explicitly teach reactor comprising a sludge outlet in fluid communication with a second separator for sludge delivery therebetween, wherein the cathode and the at least one movable anode are positioned between the upper portion and the second separator and closer to the upper portion, wherein the second separator is positioned above a bottom portion of the reactor and configured to collect sludge therebetween the second separator and the upper portion. Cole does however teach the cathode and anodes being positioned closer to the upper portion of the reactor than to a bottom portion of the reactor (see e.g. Cole Fig. 2, cathode 46 and anodes 50 fixed near top of reactor 26; Col. 6, lines 29-35). Eide also teaches the electrocoagulation reactor precipitating out or floccing dissolved or suspended solids to separate them from water (see e.g. Page 1, lines 9-14, and Page 21, lines 2-5).
Liu teaches an electrochemical wastewater treatment system (see e.g. Abstract) in which an inclined filter screen is provided in a lower part of a treatment box for intercepting falling particles of condensate (see e.g. Fig. 1, filter screen 15 near bottom of treatment box 2; Paragraph 0038, lines 1-4) and a solid slag opening is provided on a wall of the treatment box at the bottom edge of the filter screen, and thereby in fluid communication therewith, such that the collected solids can be cleaned out via the opening (see e.g. Fig. 1, solid slag opening at bottom of filter screen; Paragraph 0038, lines 2-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor of modified Eide to comprise a filter screen, i.e. separator, provided near the bottom of the reactor with a solid slag opening at its bottom edge in fluid communication therewith as taught by Liu to enable interception of falling particles of condensate and cleaning out of the collected solids.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 08/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 over Stephenson in view of Taylor, particularly regarding the second separator being configured to collect sludge thereabove, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eide, Lambert and Liu.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 08/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 13 under 35 USC 103 over Stephenson in view of Cole and Taylor, particularly regarding the second separator being configured to collect sludge thereabove, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eide, Cole and Liu.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795