Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruscio (US 2022/0225674 A1) in view of Ballesteros Gomez et al. (US 2024/0090565 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ruscio teaches a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation product (Fig. 1) comprising an electrical heating type device (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 200) and a non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 2) used together with the electrical heating type device. The electrical heating type device comprises an inductor (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 240) for electromagnetic induction heating, a power source (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 250) that supplies operation power to the inductor, and a heating chamber (Fig.1, Ref. Num. 220) into which the non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article can be inserted via an insertion slot. There are at least two protrusions (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 10) are provided on a side wall that forms a cavity of the chamber (Para. [0091]) and a height of the protrusions from the side wall is 0.1 to 1.5 mm (Para. [0051]), which overlaps the claimed range of 0.3 to 2 mm which is a prima facie case of obviousness. Finally, Ruscio teaches that the non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article includes a flavor-generating segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 24) that includes a flavor-generating-segment filler containing an aerosol-source material (Para. [0067]) and a plate-shaped susceptor (Para. [0089]) for electromagnetic induction heating of the flavor-generating-segment filler, and a mouthpiece segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 21, 22) for inhaling a flavor component. However, Ruscio does not teach the compression change rate of the segments.
In an analogous art, Ballesteros Gomez teaches an inhalation article (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 1) where the compression rate (hardness) (Para. [0086] – [0091]) is at least 70% (Para. [0085], [0102], [0112], [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ruscio with Ballesteros Gomez to have the compression rate of the segments be at least 70%. This modification will allow the segments to withstand compressive forces (Ballesteros Gomez; Para. [0084], [0112]).
Regarding claim 2, Ruscio teaches that the mouthpiece segment includes a cooling segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 22) and a filter segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 21) where the cooling segment is positioned upstream from the filter segment and a lining sheet including a first sheet material (Para. [0089]) that wraps all of the segments. However, Ruscio does not teach a second sheet.
In an analogous art, Ballesteros Gomez teaches an inhalation article (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 1) with a second sheet material (plug wrap) (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 13) disposed outside the first sheet material (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 11) wrapping the entire filter segment (Fig. 11, Ref. Num. 18) and the entire cooling segment (Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 16). The second sheet will come into contact with at least two of the protrusions when the non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article is inserted so as to reach a bottom surface that is the deepest portion of the cavity as it is the outermost layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ruscio with Ballesteros Gomez to add a second sheet to the mouthpiece. This modification will allow the segments to have the proper rigidity (Ballesteros Gomez; Para. [0103]).
Regarding claim 3, Ruscio teaches that there may be up to 12 protrusions (Para. [0013]), which means at least three will come into contact with the second sheet when the non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article is inserted so as to reach a bottom surface that is the deepest portion of the cavity.
Regarding claim 4, Ruscio teaches that flavor-generating-segment filler comprises a tobacco containing material (Para. [0067]), but does not specify the form tobacco. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the loose tobacco in form of sheets as Ballesteros Gomez shows that it is known in the art to provide the tobacco as sheets (Para. [0043]) for similar aerosol generating devices.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ruscio teaches that the mouthpiece includes a filter segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 21) with wrapping paper (Ballesteros Gomez; Fig. 1a, Ref. Num. 13) that has a thickness of 80 to 200 µm (Para. [0103]) and a basis weight of 70 to 120 GSM (Para. [0103]), both of which overlap the claimed ranges which are prima facie cases of obviousness.
Regarding claim 8, Ruscio teaches that the non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article includes an end segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 25) and a support segment (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 23), but does not teach that the segments are made out of cellulose acetate fibers.
In an analogous art, Ballesteros Gomez teaches that the segments of the non-combustion-heating-type flavor inhalation article contain cellulose acetate fibers (Para. [0074], [0081], [0105], [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ruscio with Ballesteros Gomez in order to have the end and support segments contain cellulose acetate fibers. This modification will help maintain the appropriate hardness (Ballesteros Gomez; Para. [0084]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ruscio teaches that the end, support, and filter segments are a solidified member containing cellulose acetate fibers and a plasticizer (Ballesteros Gomez; Para. [0058]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruscio (US 2022/0225674 A1) and Ballesteros Gomez et al. (US 2024/0090565 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Fursa (US 2019/0124981 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ruscio teaches that the filler comprises a tobacco sheet (Ballesteros Gomez; Para. [0043]), but does not teach that the sheet is gathered after being crimped. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to crimp and gather the tobacco sheets as it is known in the art and is a preferrable way to insert the tobacco as shown by Fursa (Para. [0037], [0078]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruscio (US 2022/0225674 A1) and Ballesteros Gomez et al. (US 2024/0090565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa et al. (US 2021/0045433 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ruscio does not teach the filling density of the tobacco.
In an analogous art, Osawa teaches that the filling density of the flavor-generating-segment filler tobacco is 0.25 g/cm3 to 0.52 g/cm3 (Para. [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Ruscio with Osawa to have the filling density be 0.25 g/cm3 to 0.52 g/cm3. This modification will secure performance and impart good smoke taste (Osawa; Para. [0086]).
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749