DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 27 April 2026, in which claims 1-6, 9, 11-13, 15, and 16 were amended, claims 7, 8, 14, and 17-20 were canceled, and claims 21-27 were added.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“coupled to working machine” be changed to --coupled to the working machine-- (claim 1, line 3), since this feature has already been claimed;
“regarding to” be changed to either --in regards to-- or --regarding-- (claim 11, line 5);
”the selectively-locatable accessory” be changed to --the selectively-locatable electric accessory-- (claim 13, lines 1-2), so as to maintain consistent phrasing of the component throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear which mechanical load support is being referenced by “the mechanical load support” (line 1) since both a first mechanical load support and a second mechanical load support have been previously presented. Clarification and rephrasing are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 21, 22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Livengood (US 10156260 B1). Livengood discloses a system (power take-off coupling system) comprising:
(claim 16) a selectively-locatable electric accessory (including second/implement component #200, 500) configured to operate as part of a transportation system of a working machine (such as, a tractor or other prime mover) or at least part of a powered implement (such as, a farm implement) operably associated with the working machine (Abstract; columns 1-3), the selectively-locatable electric accessory comprising a first body (support plate structure #202, 501) including a first fastener and a first mechanical load support (first fastener and first mechanical load support can be any of dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522; figures 3-7, 10-15; columns 3-8);
a power point (including first/tractor component #100, 400) configured to operate as part of a working vehicle, the power point comprising a second body (support plate structure #102, 401) including a second fastener and a second mechanical load support (second fastener and second mechanical load support can be any of dowels #106, 107, 404, 405, holes #104, 105, 108, 109, 118, 119, 402, 403, 406, 407, and latches #420; figures 1, 2, 5-9, 12-15; columns 3-8);
wherein the first fastener is configured to mate with the second fastener to attach the selectively-locatable electric accessory to the power point, and the first mechanical load support is configured to engage the second mechanical load support to support mechanical loads of the selectively-locatable electric accessory when mounted to the power point (dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522 can mate with dowels #106, 107, 404, 405, holes #104, 105, 108, 109, 118, 119, 402, 403, 406, 407, and latches #420 to attach first/tractor component #100, 400 with second/implement component #200, 500; figures 5-7, 12-15; columns 3-8);
(claim 21) wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory includes a first power connector (any portion of second/implement component #200, 500 can be considered part of a power connector, including dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522, as well as shaft section #211, 511 that connects to implement) and the power point includes a second power connector (any portion of first/tractor component #100, 400 can be considered part of a power connector, including dowels #106, 107, 404, 405, holes #104, 105, 108, 109, 118, 119, 402, 403, 406, 407, and latches #420, as well as shaft attachment means #116, 414 that connects to tractor PTO shaft) configured to mate with the first power connector and output power to the transportation system or the powered implement associated with the selectively-locatable electric accessory (columns 3-8);
(claim 22) wherein the first power connector (any portion of second/implement component #200, 500 can be considered part of a power connector, including dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522, as well as shaft section #211, 511 that connects to implement) is integral with the first mechanical load support (first fastener and first mechanical load support can be any of dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522; figures 3-7, 10-15; columns 3-8);
(claim 25) wherein the mechanical load support (including dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, slots #522, dowels #106, 107, 404, 405, holes #104, 105, 108, 109, 118, 119, 402, 403, 406, 407, and/or latches #420) is configured to transfer rotational torque (Abstract; column 1, line 58-column 2, line 2; column 3, lines 55-57; column 6, lines 17-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livengood (US 10156260 B1) in view of Downing, Jr. (US 4113045 A). Livengood discloses an apparatus (power take-off coupling system) comprising:
(claim 1) a working machine (such as, a tractor or other prime mover) including a frame assembly (including tractor body) and a transportation system (including wheels or other system that can move the tractor over the ground; Abstract; columns 1-3; claims);
one or more implements (such as, a farm implement) coupled to working machine (such as, a tractor or other prime mover) to perform one or more work tasks (Abstract; columns 1-3);
a selectively-locatable electric accessory (including second/implement component #200, 500) removably attached to the transportation system or a powered implement of the one or more implements, the selectively-locatable electric accessory comprising a first body (support plate structure #202, 501) including a first fastener and a first mechanical load support (first fastener and first mechanical load support can be any of dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522; figures 3-7, 10-15; columns 3-8);
a power point (including first/tractor component #100, 400) mounted to the frame assembly (including tractor body) of the working machine (such as, a tractor or other prime mover), the power point including a second body (support plate structure #102, 401) including a second fastener configured to mate with the first fastener to attach the selectively- locatable electric accessory to the power point and a second mechanical load support configured to engage the first mechanical load support to support mechanical loads of the selectively-locatable electric accessory when mounted to the power point (second fastener and second mechanical load support can be any of dowels #106, 107, 404, 405, holes #104, 105, 108, 109, 118, 119, 402, 403, 406, 407, and latches #420, which can mate with dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522 to attach first/tractor component #100, 400 with second/implement component #200, 500; figures 1-15; columns 3-8);
(claim 3) wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory (#200, 500) is configured to implement a power take off (PTO) system or other rotational power transfer system when mated with the power point (#100, 400; Abstract; columns 1-3);
(claim 4) wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory (#200, 500) is configured to implement a selective control valve (SCV) system or other linear, rotational, or fluid power transfer system (including rotational power transfer system) of the working machine (such as, a tractor or other prime mover) when mated with the power point (#100, 400; Abstract; columns 1-3);
(claim 26) wherein the first fastener and the first mechanical load support (first fastener and first mechanical load support can be any of dowels #203, 204, 502, 503, holes #206-209, 506-509, projections #214, 215, and slots #522) of the selectively-locatable electric accessory (#200, 500) are both defined on a common interface of the first body (#202, 501), and the second fastener and the second mechanical load support (second fastener and second mechanical load support can be any of dowels #106, 107, 404, 405, holes #104, 105, 108, 109, 118, 119, 402, 403, 406, 407, and latches #420) of the power point (#100, 400) are both defined on a common interface of the second body (#102, 401), the common interface of the first body being complementary to the common interface of the second body (figures 5-7, 12-15).
In regards to claims 1 and 2, Livengood discloses a power point (including first/tractor component #100, 400), but does not specifically disclose two or more power points. Downing, Jr. teaches an apparatus comprising a working machine (tractor #10) including a selectively-locatable electric accessory (including cable #74) and a frame assembly (frame of tractor #10) including two or more power points (power outlets/connectors #60 62, 64, 66) at two or more different locations on the frame assembly (figures 3a-4), wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory is operable in any of the two or more power points (figure 4), and wherein at least one of the two or more different locations on the frame assembly corresponds to a front section of the working machine, a rear section of the working machine, or section between the front and rear sections (figures 3a-4; column 2, line 60-column 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Livengood to include multiple power point connections, as taught by Downing, Jr., so as to provide a farm tractor which can serve as a primary mobile unit for operating any number of modular accessories, thereby reducing cost and facilitating agriculture operations (Downing, Jr.: column 3, lines 23-33).
In regards to claim 6, Livengood does not specifically disclose wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory comprises part of a drivetrain of the transportation system. Downing, Jr. teaches the apparatus comprising the working machine (tractor #10), as set forth above, wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory comprises part of a drivetrain of a transportation system (including cycloconverters #18, 32, 34 coupled to induction motors #22, 35, 36, 42, 44, which are coupled via shafts #24 to tractor wheels #26, 38, 40, 46, 48; figures 1, 2; column 1, line 61-column 2, line 59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Livengood to include the selectively-locatable electric accessory comprises part of the drivetrain of the transportation system, as taught by Downing, Jr., so as to provide an extremely efficient, less bulky, and less expensive transportation system in which electrical power flows to the motor having the greatest load (Downing, Jr.: column 2, lines 10-59).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livengood (US 10156260 B1) in view of Downing, Jr. (US 4113045 A), further in view of Perin (US 4090725 A). Livengood, as modified by Downing, Jr., discloses wherein the selectively-locatable electric accessory (#200, 500) is able to be used with a hitch (column 1, lines 37-39), but does not specifically disclose the selectively-locatable electric accessory is configured to actuate a power actuated hitch. Perin teaches an apparatus comprising a working machine (tractor) and a power actuated hitch (including hitching frame #13 and associated components; figures 1-12; column 2, line 23-column 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Livengood, as modified by Downing, Jr., for use with a power actuated hitch, as taught by Perin, so as to automatically couple implements to the vehicle without the need for manual intervention, and under the control of only one operator (Perin: column 1, lines 19-21; column 5, lines 1-4), thereby providing a safer and more efficient hitch connection.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livengood (US 10156260 B1) in view of Downing, Jr. (US 4113045 A), further in view of Tarasinski et al. (US 8256544 B2). Livengood, as modified by Downing, Jr., does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more implements (such as, farm implements) includes one or more additional power points. Tarasinski et al. teaches an apparatus comprising a working machine (agricultural utility vehicle shown as tractor #10) including a frame assembly (frame of tractor #10) and a transportation system (including wheels seen in figure 1), one or more implements (attachment #26) coupled to the working machine to perform one or more work tasks (such as, agricultural working functions; Abstract; column 7, line 57-column 8, line 14), a selectively-locatable electric accessory (including electrical line #32 and plug #34 of attachment #26; figure 1; column 7, lines 57-column 8, line 14), and a power point (including socket #36) mounted to the frame assembly (frame of tractor #10; figure 1; column 7, lines 57-column 8, line 14), wherein the one or more implements (#26) includes one or more additional power points (including sockets #46, 48; figures 1, 7; column 8, lines 15-31; column 10, lines 4-29), and further comprising a powered implement assist (including electrical distributor system #50) coupled to an additional power point (#46, 48) of the one or more additional power points (figures 1-7; column 8, line 15-column 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Livengood, as modified by Downing, Jr., to include wherein the one or more implements includes one or more additional power points, as taught by Tarasinski et al., so as to use the implement to provide additional power to other attached devices (Tarasinski et al.: column 10, lines 13-29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is allowed.
Claims 11-13, 15, 23, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The allowable subject matter of claim 11 is wherein the first body of the selectively-locatable electric accessory further includes a first communication connector having circuitry configured to communicate with the working machine regarding to operations of the transportation system or the powered implement associated with the selectively-locatable electric accessory, the working machine further comprising a hardware and software system to control the operations, in combination with other features of claim 11 and preceding claim 1. Livengood (US 10156260 B1), in combination with the above cited secondary references, does not disclose the first body of the selectively-locatable electric accessory including these features.
The allowable subject matter of claim 23 is wherein the first power connector and the second power connector are high voltage electrical power connectors, and each of the selectively-locatable electric accessory and the power point further includes a low voltage electrical power connector configured to mate with each other, in combination with other features of claim 23 and preceding claims 16 and 21. Livengood (US 10156260 B1), in combination with the above cited secondary references, does not disclose high and low voltage power connector details.
The allowable subject matter of claim 24 is the selectively-locatable electric accessory including circuitry configured for communication related to operation of the transportation system or the powered implement of which the selectively-locatable electric accessory forms a part, and the power point is configured to communicate with a hardware and software system of the working machine, in combination with other features of claim 24 and preceding claim 16. Livengood (US 10156260 B1), in combination with the above cited secondary references, does not disclose the claimed circuity, or communication with a hardware and software system.
The allowable subject matter of claim 27 is the first power connector is configured to mate with the second power connector to provide electrical power between the working machine and the modular electric accessory for operation of the implement in combination with other features of claim 27. Livengood (US 10156260 B1), in combination with the above cited secondary references, does not disclose the claimed electrical power connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 27 April 2026, with respect to claim(s) 1, 16, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Tarasinski et al. (US 8256544 B2) is relied upon to teach wherein the one or more implements includes one or more additional power points, which was not specifically addressed in the arguments. Perin (US 4090725 A) is relied upon to teach a power actuated hitch, which was not specifically addressed in the arguments. Downing, Jr. (US 4113045 A) is relied upon to teach two or more power points, which was not specifically addressed in the arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614