DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 13-15, 17, 21-22, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sagong et al, WO 2022085949.
Regarding claim 1, Sagong et al disclose a wireless charging device and method comprising: a wearable ring device (610) comprising one or more of indentation features (631 ), an inductive charging component (conductive pattern, not shown, but implicitly assumed due to the antenna pattern 680 and the disclosure of the previous embodiments; see also par. 5), and one or more physiological sensors (670) configured to measure physiological data from a user by the wearable ring device (see par. 60); and a charger base configured to receive the wearable ring device (see fig. 6b, 6c and par. 62), wherein the charger base comprises: one or more of protruded alignment features (622, 632) configured to align with the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device to orient the wearable ring device in a single radial orientation relative to the charger base when the wearable ring device is positioned onto the charger base ( see par. 65); and an inductive charging component (680) of the charger base configured to charge the wearable ring device through inductive coupling with the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device when the wearable ring device is positioned onto the charger base and the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base align with the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device (see par. 58-65 wherein the charging of the wearable ring is disclosed accordingly).
Regarding claim 13, , Sagong et al disclose a wireless charging device and method comprising: a charger base configured to receive a wearable ring device (see fig. 6b, 6c and par. 62); one or more of protruded alignment features (622, 632) configured to align with one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device to orient the wearable ring device in a single radial orientation relative to the base when the wearable ring device is positioned onto the base (see par. 65); and an inductive charging component (680) of the base configured to charge the wearable ring device through inductive coupling with an inductive charging component of the wearable ring device when the wearable ring device is positioned onto the base and the one or more of protruded alignment features of the base align with the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device, wherein the single radial orientation is configured to position the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device against the inductive charging component of the base (see par. 58-65).
Regarding claim 21, , Sagong et al disclose a wireless charging device and method comprising: one or more physiological sensors (670) configured to measure physiological data from a user by the wearable ring device (see par. 60); a battery (1089) disposed within the wearable ring device and electrically coupled with the one or more physiological sensors (see par. 81 which applies also to the other embodiments of D1 ); an inductive charging component (conductive pattern, not shown, but implicitly assumed due to the antenna pattern 680 and the disclosure of the previous embodiments; see also par. 5) disposed within the wearable ring device and electrically coupled with the battery, the inductive charging component configured to inductively couple with an inductive charging component of a charger base; and one or more of indentation features (631) of the wearable ring device configured to receive one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base to orient the wearable ring device in a single radial orientation relative to the charger base so that the one or more of indentation features of wearable ring device align with the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base, wherein the single radial orientation is configured to position the wearable ring device in a charging position that facilitates current flow between the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device and the inductive charging component of the charger base (see par. 65).
Regarding claims 2-4 and 14-15, wherein the wearable ring device is configured to at least partially surround the charger base when the wearable ring device is positioned onto the charger base and the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base align with the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device, wherein the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base are configured to prevent the charger base from receiving the wearable ring device when the wearable ring device is oriented in a subset of radial orientations excluding the single radial orientation, and wherein the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base are positioned along an outer circumferential surface of the charger base.(Par. 64, fig. 6b, 6c).
Regarding claims 6 and 22, wherein the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device are positioned along an inner circumferential surface of the wearable ring device. (Par. 59, fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the one or more of protruded alignment features are sized to fit within the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device to secure the wearable ring device onto the charger base. (Par. 65).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base comprise a tapered portion configured to receive the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device and guide the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base to fit within the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device. (Fig. 6c, protrusion 632 can be considered tapered due to the oblique arrangement).
Regarding claim 17, wherein a height of the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base is less than a height of the charger base. (Fig. 6b, 6c).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring device extend less than a width of the wearable ring device. (Fig. 6a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10, 12, 16, 18, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagong et al. The teachings of Sagong et al have been discussed above.
Sagong et al fails to specifically disclose the position of the protrude alignment or the shape and size of the indentation features. However, these additional features in combination with the features of any claim to which they refer do not meet the requirements of inventive step. The subject-matter of these claims only relates to features that are already employed in similar devices and methods or that are obvious design options for the person skilled in the art, which he would therefore choose, without exercising inventive skill, in order to solve the respective problem. In particular, the number of protrusions/indentations and their exact shape and positioning with respect to the inductive charging components would be considered by the skilled person according to the circumstances, e.g. form, size, weight, etc. of the ring and the base portion. The same applies to the height of the protrusions and indentations in particular as the corresponding indentation or protrusions on the other device is not defined. The features are merely for meeting customer requirements. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagong et al in view of Yang et al, CN 20430943.
Sagong et al fails to disclose at least a spring for extending a force that pushes the alignment features against the indentations.
Yang et al disclose an intelligent charger that includes a spring for extending a force that pushes the alignment features against the indentation.
In view of the teachings of Yang et al, it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to modify the teachings of Sagong et al to include a spring force to make sure that the alignment feature is pushed against the indentations. Furthermore, increasing the fitting forces by spring-loading for example the protrusions would also be considered a well-known option. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagong et al in view of Feng et al, CN 219394441.
Sagong et al fail to disclose wherein the charger base further comprises: an indicator light configured to illuminate when the wearable ring device is positioned onto the charger base and the one or more of protruded alignment features of the charger base align with the one or more of indentation features of the wearable ring.
Feng et al disclose a charging device of intelligent Ring which includes indicator lights showing correct charging and thereby implicitly correct positioning are also a standard feature of all kinds of charging devices (see par. 35-36).
In view of the teachings of Feng et al, it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to modify the teachings of Sagong et al to include light indicators for indicating the charging status of the device. Such modification would allow a user or operator to verify the current charging status of the device. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sanchez, US Patent No. 11,462,107, discloses a light emitting diode array for smart ring visual output.
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876