DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on March 5, 2026, is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration because they are drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haq et al. (US 2020/0056086) [hereinafter Haq].
With respect to claim 1, Haq discloses an oil recovery formulation (see paragraphs 0052-0053), having: a treatment agent comprising a material having an oxidized surface functionality, wherein the material is selected from the group consisting of pyrolyzed carbon, activated carbon, and combinations thereof (see paragraph 0053); and a carrier fluid (see paragraph 0053).
With respect to claim 2, Haq discloses wherein the carrier fluid is an aqueous fluid (see paragraph 0053).
With respect to claim 5, Haq discloses wherein the treatment agent is derived from at least one component of a date tree (see paragraphs 0054-0058).
With respect to claim 7, Haq discloses wherein the treatment agent is configured to adsorb one or more compounds from a water-based fluid (see paragraph 0132).
With respect to claim 9, Haq discloses from about 1 to about 20 wt. % (weight percent) of the treatment agent based on the total weight of the carrier fluid (see paragraph 0062).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gay (US 5,021,164).
With respect to claim 1, Gay discloses a process to reduce aromatic hydrocarbons from aqueous solutions (see abstract), having: a treatment agent comprising a material having an oxidized surface functionality, wherein the material is selected from the group consisting of pyrolyzed carbon, activated carbon, and combinations thereof (see col. 1, lines 58-60); and a carrier fluid (see col. 2, lines 3-9).
With respect to claim 2, Gay discloses wherein the carrier fluid is an aqueous fluid (see col. 2, lines 3-9).
With respect to claim 3, Gay discloses wherein the treatment agent has a surface area ranging from about 600 m2/g to about 1500 m2/g (see col. 1, lines 17-18).
With respect to claim 7, Gay discloses wherein the treatment agent is configured to adsorb one or more compounds from a water-based fluid (see abstract).
With respect to claim 8, Gay discloses wherein the one or more compounds are organic compounds selected from the group consisting of benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, o-xylene, m-xylene, p-xylene, methyl tert-butyl ether, and combinations thereof (see col. 2, lines 33-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gay (US 5,021,164).
With respect to claim 4, Gay lacks wherein the treatment agent has a density in a range of about 1.0 g/cc to about 1.8 g/cc. However, Gay teaches that any commercially available activated carbon can be employed in the novel process of the present invention (see col. 1, lines 56-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the treatment agent disclosed by Gay having a density in a range of about 1.0 g/cc to about 1.8 g/cc, as claimed by applicant, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize to choose a desired activated carbon having a desired density, according to a desired application, since Gay teaches that any commercially available activated carbon may be used (see col. 1, lines 56-57).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haq (US 2020/0056086).
With respect to claim 6, Haq teaches wherein the at least one component of the date tree comprises a fibrous component (see paragraphs 0054-0058). Haq lacks an average diameter in the range of about 50 nm to about 0.1 μm and an average length of about 0.5 mm to about 4.0 mm. However, Haq teaches that date leaves may be pulverized into particles having an average size of less than 50 µm (see paragraph 0058). The particles may be in the form of microparticles having an average particle size of 2-20 µm and the microparticles are composed of nanostructured subparticles having an average particle size of 50 to 500 nm (see paragraph 0069). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the fibrous component disclosed by Haq having the specific claimed size, i.e., average diameter in the range of about 50 nm to about 0.1 μm and an average length of about 0.5 mm to about 4.0 mm, since one of ordinary skill would recognize to choose a desired size according to a desired application.
Conclusion
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773