DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0136715 A1; hereinafter “Jeong”) in view of Yang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0137621 A1; hereinafter “YANG”).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches a network slice admission control method (see Jeong, fig. 3), comprising:
receiving, by an access and mobility management network element (see Jeong, fig. 3, RAN/AMF, S310, S311, para. [0095-96]), a registration request message from a terminal device (see Jeong, para. [0096], registration req), the registration request message carrying identification information of a network slice that the terminal device requests to access (see Jeong, fig. 3, registration request/requested NSSAI, para. [0098]); and
sending, by the access and mobility management network element to the terminal device, a registration accept message (see Jeong, fig. 3, S480, para. [0102], registration accept) carrying identification information of a first network slice when a quantity of terminal devices that access a network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 3, S316, para. [0101]), the terminal device being allowed to access the first network slice (see Jeong, fig. 3, S320, para. [0105]).
Jeong is silent to teaching that wherein the accept message of the first network slice that is not subject to admission control.
In the same field of endeavor, YANG teaches a method wherein the accept message of the first network slice that is not subject to admission control (see YANG, fig. 5, AC level 515, no admission control, para. [0055], fig. 7, 755, para. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong with the teaching of YANG in order to improve legacy wireless protocol and optimal uses of new wireless protocols (see YANG, para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first network slice is a default subscribed network slice of the terminal device (see Jeong, fig. 4, S470, para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the access and mobility management network element, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice (see Jeong, fig. 4, S430, para. [0111], whether fallback is allowed).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the access and mobility management network element, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice comprises:
configuring, by the access and mobility management network element, first information, the first information indicating to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 4, S470, para. [0115]); and
determining, by the access and mobility management network element, based on the first information, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 4, S480, para. [0116]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the access and mobility management network element, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice comprises:
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a first request message to a unified data management network element (see Jeong, fig. 4, S430, para. [0111], UDM);
receiving, by the access and mobility management network element, a first response message from the unified data management network element, the first response message carrying the identification information of the first network slice and first indication information, and the first indication information indicating to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, para. [0111]); and
determining, by the access and mobility management network element based on the first indication information, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 4, S470, S480, para. [0115-116]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the access and mobility management network element, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice comprises:
determining, by the access and mobility management network element, based on subscription information of the terminal device, to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice, wherein the subscription information of the terminal device comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates to allow the terminal device to access the default subscribed network slice when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, para. [0092], UDM, PCF).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
a memory storing instructions (see Jeong, para. [0167-8]); and
at least one processor in communication with the memory (see Jeong, para. [0167-8]), the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps:
receiving a registration request message from a terminal device (see Jeong, fig. 3, para. [0095-96]), registration req, RRC connection), the registration request message carrying identification information of a network slice that the terminal device requests to access (see Jeong, fig. 3, registration request/requested NSSAI, para. [0098]); and
sending to the terminal device (see Jeong, fig. 3, S317, registration response), a registration accept message (see Jeong, fig. 3, S480, para. [0102], registration accept) carrying identification information of a first network slice when a quantity of terminal devices that access a network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 3, S316, para. [0101]), the terminal device being allowed to access the first network slice (see Jeong, fig. 3, S320, para. [0105]).
Jeong is silent to teaching that wherein the accept message of the first network slice that is not subject to admission control.
In the same field of endeavor, YANG teaches a method wherein the accept message of the first network slice that is not subject to admission control (see YANG, fig. 5, AC level 515, no admission control, para. [0055], fig. 7, 755, para. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong with the teaching of YANG in order to improve legacy wireless protocol and optimal uses of new wireless protocols (see YANG, para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer instructions that configure at least one processor, upon execution of the instructions (see Jeong, para. [0167-8]), to perform the following steps:
receiving a registration request message from a terminal device (see Jeong, fig. 3, para. [0095-96]), registration req, RRC connection), the registration request message carrying identification information of a network slice that the terminal device requests to access (see Jeong, fig. 3, registration request/requested NSSAI, para. [0098]); and
sending to the terminal device (see Jeong, fig. 3, S317, registration response), a registration accept message (see Jeong, fig. 3, S480, para. [0102], registration accept) carrying identification information of a first network slice when a quantity of terminal devices that access a network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 3, S316, para. [0101]), the terminal device being allowed to access the first network slice (see Jeong, fig. 3, S320, para. [0105]).
Jeong is silent to teaching that wherein the accept message of the first network slice that is not subject to admission control.
In the same field of endeavor, YANG teaches a method wherein the accept message of the first network slice that is not subject to admission control (see YANG, fig. 5, AC level 515, no admission control, para. [0055], fig. 7, 755, para. [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong with the teaching of YANG in order to improve legacy wireless protocol and optimal uses of new wireless protocols (see YANG, para. [0001]).
Claim(s) 7-10, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong and YANG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rajput et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0247779 A1; hereinafter “Rajput”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Jeong and YANG is silent to teaching that wherein a quantity of terminal devices that access the first network slice is less than a second threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Rajput teaches a method wherein a quantity of terminal devices that access the first network slice is less than a second threshold. (see Rajput, fig. 5, 500, para. [0050-51], subscription threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong and YANG with the teaching of Rajput in order to balance network capacity and demands (see Rajput, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jeong, YANG and Rajput teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a second request message to a first network element, the second request message carrying the identification information of the first network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access, and carrying identification information of the default subscribed network slice (see Jeong, fig. 5, S540, para. [0124], request from AMF to NSSF); and
receiving, by the access and mobility management network element, a second response message from the first network element, the second response message carrying second indication information and third indication information, the second indication information indicating that the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, fig. 5, S560, para. [0126]), and the third indication information indicating that a quantity of terminal devices that access the default subscribed network slice is less than the second threshold (see Rajput, fig. 5, 500, para. [0050-51], subscription threshold).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jeong, YANG and Rajput teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the second request message further comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information indicating to trigger admission control on the default subscribed network slice when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal requests to access is greater than or equal to the first threshold (see Jeong, fig. S570,580,590, para. [0128-130], triggering RAT fallback).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jeong, YANG and Rajput teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the second request message further comprises fifth indication information, the fifth indication information indicating the first network element to determine the first network slice from a plurality of default subscribed network slices, or the fifth indication information indicating the first network element to perform terminal device counting on only the first network slice in the plurality of default subscribed network slices (see Jeong, fig. 4, S430, para. [0111], whether fallback is allowed).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a third request message to a first network element when the quantity of terminal devices that access the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is greater than or equal to the first threshold, the third request message carrying identification information of the default subscribed network slice (see Jeong, fig. 5, S540, para. [0124]); and
receiving, by the access and mobility management network element, a third response message from the first network element, the third response message carrying third indication information (see Jeong, fig. 5, S560, para. [0125-126]).
The combination of Jeong and YANG is silent to teaching that wherein the third indication information indicating that a quantity of terminal devices that access the default subscribed network slice is less than a second threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Rajput teaches a method wherein the third indication information indicating that a quantity of terminal devices that access the default subscribed network slice is less than a second threshold (see Rajput, fig. 5, 500, para. [0050-51], subscription threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong and YANG with the teaching of Rajput in order to balance network capacity and demands (see Rajput, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Jeong and YANG teaches the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Jeong and YANG is silent to teaching that wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a subscription request message to the first network element, the subscription request message carrying the identification information of the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access, and carrying identification information of the terminal device;
receiving, by the access and mobility management network element, a first notification message from the first network element, the first notification message carrying seventh indication information, the seventh indication information indicating that a quantity of terminal devices that access a second network slice in the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is less than the first threshold; and
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a second notification message to the terminal device, the second notification message carrying identification information of the second network slice.
In the same field of endeavor, Rajput teaches a method comprising
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a subscription request message to the first network element, the subscription request message carrying the identification information of the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access, and carrying identification information of the terminal device (see Rajput, fig. 5, step 1, para. [0050]);
receiving, by the access and mobility management network element, a first notification message from the first network element, the first notification message carrying seventh indication information, the seventh indication information indicating that a quantity of terminal devices that access a second network slice in the network slice subject to admission control in the network slice that the terminal device requests to access is less than the first threshold (see Rajput, fig. 5, step 3, 500, para. [0050]); and
sending, by the access and mobility management network element, a second notification message to the terminal device, the second notification message carrying identification information of the second network slice (see Rajput, fig. 5, 4a, para. [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong and YANG with the teaching of Rajput in order to balance network capacity and demands (see Rajput, para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, YANG and Rajput as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0195511 A1; hereinafter “Yang 511”)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jeong, YANG and Rajput teaches the method according to claim 10.
The combination of Jeong, YANG and Rajput is silent to teaching that wherein the first network slice is in the plurality of default subscribed network slices that is accessed by a smallest quantity of terminal devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang 511 teaches a method wherein the first network slice is in the plurality of default subscribed network slices that is accessed by a smallest quantity of terminal devices (see Yang 511, para. [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jeong, YANG and Rajput with the teaching of Yang 511in order to provide network slice selection functions (see Yang 511, para. [0003])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648