Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20210012202 A ("Shin") (for translation purposes US 20220258792 A1 will be used).
Claim 1: Shin teaches a vehicle steering device, comprising: an actuator rod (102) linearly reciprocating in an axial direction (para. 22, lines 1-4); a holder assembly (110) having a first holder (111a; in drawings its referred as 111a but in the specification its referred to as 100a, for consistency the first holder will be referred to as 111a through the rejection) and a second holder (111b) separated by being axially cut and disposed with their respective cut surfaces facing each other (Fig. 4) and coupled to the actuator rod to linearly reciprocate in the axial direction (Fig. 1); a rod housing (101) having the actuator rod embedded therein (para. 22, lines 1-4) and having an inner surface (106) where two opposite surfaces of the holder assembly are supported (Fig. 1; para. 21, lines 2-8); and an elastic member (112) coupled between the cut surfaces of the first holder and the second holder to support the first holder and the second holder toward the rod housing (Fig. 1; para. 22, lines 8-13). wherein a holder groove (431) recessed inward is provided in an outer surface of each of the first holder (111a) and the second holder (111b) (Fig. 6).
Claim 2: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, further comprising a magnet assembly (120) having a magnet (121) embedded therein and coupled to the holder assembly (110) to, together with the actuator rod, linearly reciprocate in the axial direction (para. 21, lines 13-16).
Claim 3: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, further comprising a sensor assembly (140) coupled to the rod housing to sense a change in a magnetic field of the magnet (121) when the actuator rod linearly reciprocates (para. 21, lines 13-18).
Claim 4: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the actuator rod (102) has a seating surface (412) where an outer circumferential surface is cut, and wherein the holder assembly (110) is seated on the seating surface and is coupled via a fastening member (113) (para. 38, line 1-para. 39, line 2) .
Claim 5: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 4 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein fastening holes (402) are provided being axially spaced apart from each other in the seating surface (412) to couple the fastening member (113) (Fig. 4).
Claim 6: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the holder assembly (110) has communication recesses (401) formed in the cut surfaces of the first holder and the second holder to communicate with the fastening hole (Figs. 4 and 6).
Claim 7: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 6 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein a ring-shaped member (head portion of 113) is provided by being penetrated by the fastening member (113) and being coupled to the communication recesses (401) of the first holder (111a) and the second holder (111b) (Fig. 7; para. 38, lines 1-6).
Claim 8: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 7 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the ring-shaped member (head portion of 113) has a stopping groove (601) recessed to be stepped from an outer circumferential surface, wherein a protrusion is provided on an inner circumferential surface of the communication recess (401), and wherein the protrusion is inserted into the stopping groove (Figs. 6 and 7).
Claim 9: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the cut surfaces of the first holder (111a) and the second holder (111b) have an elastic supporting groove (611) where the elastic member (112) is inserted and supported (para. 41, lines 1-5).
Claim 10: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 9 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the elastic supporting groove (611) is formed as an axially elongated recess (Fig. 6), and wherein the elastic member (112) includes a first convex portion protruding toward the first holder (111a) and a second convex portion protruding toward the second holder (111b) (Figs. 1 and 7).
Claim 11: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 10 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the elastic member (112) includes a plurality of first convex portions (part facing 111a) and a plurality of second convex portions (part facing 11b) continuously and alternately connected in the axial direction (Fig. 7).
Claim 12: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 9 as noted above. Shin further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein two or more elastic supporting grooves (611) axially spaced apart are provided (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20210012202 A ("Shin") in view of KR 20080107881 A (Yun).
Claim 13: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Shin does not teach the vehicle steering device, wherein the elastic member is a coil spring having two opposite ends respectively supported on the elastic supporting groove of the first holder and the elastic supporting groove of the second holder.
However, Yun teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the elastic member (86) is a coil spring having two opposite ends respectively supported (on 84; Fig. 5) on the elastic supporting groove (52 of left) of the first holder and the elastic supporting groove (52 of right) of the second holder. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shin with the features of Yun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Yun teaches “a coil spring that bring the fluid piece into close contact with the sliding hole, so that even if the fluid piece wears out while sliding for a long period of time, the fluid piece remains in close contact with the sliding hole, preventing a gap from occurring. Therefore, it is possible to maintain an excellent steering feel even when the vehicle is driven for a long period of time, and has the advantage of preventing malfunction and damage caused by a gap between parts.” (page. 10, lines 5-10)
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20210012202 A ("Shin") in view of KR 20180137747 A ("Chae").
Claim 15: Shin teaches the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Shin does not teach the vehicle steering device, wherein a plurality of holder grooves are provided being axially spaced apart.
However, Chae teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein a plurality of holder grooves (21, 22) are provided being axially spaced apart (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Shin with the features of Chae. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Chae teaches “the above space may be formed as a lubricant pocket (21) in which lubricant is received. Here, the lubricant is a liquid that lubricates the connection between” (para. 35, lines 1-3)
Claim 16: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 15 as noted above. Chae further teaches the vehicle steering device, wherein the holder groove (21, 22) is filled with a lubricant (Fig. 1; para. 35, lines 1-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendment to claim 1 incorporates the language from canceled claim 14. Applicant’s arguments against the rejection of original claim 14 are not persuasive, as the claim language under the broadest reasonable interpretation appears to be met by Shin. The outer surface of the parts that are the first holder and second holder each can be considered to have an outer surface that face each other. If the claim language were clarified to focus more on the surface relative to the axial cut, or if the claim specified the outer surface of the combined first and second holder, such amendments to the claims may overcome Shin, although further search and consideration would be required. Respectfully, it is the examiner's position that the arguments are interpreting the claims more narrowly than the breadth of the claims affords.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614