DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15, 18-22, and 24-30 have been amended.
Claims 1-6, 8-31 are presently pending.
1. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view
of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14-17, 21, 26, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of NAMBA et al. (US 20210298052, hereinafter, “NAMBA”).
Claim 1. Cirik teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: - See Fig. 15
one or more memories; - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0209], (“memory”) and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0210], (“one or more processors”)
select information indicating a request or a notification that is independent of a request for an uplink grant; - in ¶ [0247], (“the wireless device may indicate the deactivating of the antenna panel, e.g., to the base station. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an uplink report (e.g., group-based beam reporting…scheduling request...indicating the deactivating of the antenna panel.”, This shows that the UE selects information (antenna panel deactivation/activation indication). The information is a notification/indication, not a request for an uplink grant.) and
transmit, to a network entity, the information in a message associated with a scheduling request, wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch to request the network entity to perform the bandwidth part switch. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel…the SR may be a positive SR (e.g., pending SR)…the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”, information is transmitted on an SR even when the SR is negative (no pending uplink data).)
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
transmit, to a network entity, the information in a message associated with a scheduling request, wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch to request the network entity to perform the bandwidth part switch.
However, NAMBA teaches:
transmit, to a network entity, the information in a message associated with a scheduling request, wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch – See Fig. 7, ¶ [0179], (“the terminal apparatus generates an SR signal in the specified PUCCH format…Based on the SR configuration requesting BWP switching, the terminal apparatus transmits a signal of SR on the uplink control channel (S205)”); ¶ [0046], (“The uplink control information includes a Scheduling Request (SR)…The negative scheduling request indicates that the UL-SCH resource for the initial transmission is not requested.”) to request the network entity to perform the bandwidth part switch. – See Fig. 7, ¶ [0182], (“in a case of receiving the SR requesting BWP switching, the base station apparatus may notify BWP switching…¶ [0183] the terminal apparatus transmits an SR requesting BWP switching. As a result, the base station apparatus can determine whether the data held by the terminal apparatus is URLLC data, and can indicate BWP switching”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with NAMBA to include the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch to request the network entity to perform the bandwidth part switch, as taught by NAMBA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by NAMBA, a terminal apparatus, and a communication method that can provide data with low latency and high reliability. - ¶ [0012]
Claim 2. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the message does not include any request for an uplink grant. - in ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel…the SR may be a positive SR (e.g., pending SR)…the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”, information is transmitted on an SR even when the SR is negative (no pending uplink data))
Claim 3. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the message is in a format used for requesting an uplink grant. - in ¶ [0199], (“Uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…The UE may transmit the uplink control signaling via a PUCCH using one of several PUCCH formats…¶ [0200], (“There may be five PUCCH formats…The UE may transmit UCI in a PUCCH resource using PUCCH format 0 if the transmission is over one or two symbols and the number of HARQ-ACK information bits with positive or negative SR (HARQ-ACK/SR bits) is one or two.”)
Claim 14. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the information includes two or three bits. - in ¶ [0199], (“Uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…¶ [0200], (“There may be five PUCCH formats…PUCCH format 2…may include more than two bits.”)
Claim 15. Cirik teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: - See Fig. 15
one or more memories; - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0209], (“memory”) and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0210], (“one or more processors”)
receive a first message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel indicated by the downlink information.”) the first message including information indicating a request or a notification that is independent of a request for an uplink grant,- in ¶ [0247], (“the wireless device may indicate the deactivating of the antenna panel, e.g., to the base station. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an uplink report (e.g., group-based beam reporting, periodic beam reporting, MAC CE, RRC, scheduling request...indicating the deactivating of the antenna panel.”); ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel indicated by the downlink information.”)
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part (BWP) switch; and perform the BWP switch in accordance with the information.
However, NAMBA teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part (BWP) switch; and perform the BWP switch in accordance with the information. – in ¶ [0182], (“in a case of receiving the SR requesting BWP switching, the base station apparatus may notify BWP switching…¶ [0183] the terminal apparatus transmits an SR requesting BWP switching. As a result, the base station apparatus can determine whether the data held by the terminal apparatus is URLLC data, and can indicate BWP switching”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with NAMBA to include the information indicates a request for a BWP switch and perform the BWP switch, as taught by NAMBA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by NAMBA, a terminal apparatus, and a communication method that can provide data with low latency and high reliability. - ¶ [0012]
Claim 21. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
NAMBA further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: transmit a second message indicating the BWP switch. – in ¶ [0182], (“in a case of receiving the SR requesting BWP switching, the base station apparatus may notify BWP switching…¶ [0183] the terminal apparatus transmits an SR requesting BWP switching. As a result, the base station apparatus can determine whether the data held by the terminal apparatus is URLLC data, and can indicate BWP switching”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with NAMBA to include transmit a second message indicating the BWP switch, as taught by NAMBA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by NAMBA, a terminal apparatus, and a communication method that can provide data with low latency and high reliability. - ¶ [0012]
Claims 16-17 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 2-3 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 26 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 30 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 15 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 31 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 3 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 4, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of NAMBA et al. (US 20210298052, hereinafter, “NAMBA”), and further in view of MUKHERJEE et al. (US 20140036748, hereinafter, “MUKHERJEE”).
Claim 4. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE). - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”)
Combination of Cirik and NAMBA does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE).
However, MUKHERJEE teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE). - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0131], (“the UE requests an earlier transition back to DRX Off by sending a UE DRX Preference Indication MAC CE indicated by an upward arrow”); ¶ [0137], (“The UE indication for a scheduling request and the UE DRX preference indication can be combined using PUCCH format `1b`…provides two bits of information.”); See Table 2, (“SR and UE DRX preference UE preference = UE preference = DRX Off DRX On…(SR) Scheduling Request 10 11 (SR)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with MUKHERJEE to include the information indicates a request for a DRX MAC CE, as taught by MUKHERJEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by MUKHERJEE, power saving techniques in communications systems and UEs have been, and continue to be, developed and implemented in order to at least partially offset the increased power demands required to achieve the higher data rates. - ¶ [0004]
Claim 18. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a discontinuous reception (DRX) medium access control control element (MAC CE), and transmit a second message including the DRX MAC CE. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”)
MUKHERJEE further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a discontinuous reception (DRX) medium access control control element (MAC CE), - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0131], (“the UE requests an earlier transition back to DRX Off by sending a UE DRX Preference Indication MAC CE indicated by an upward arrow”); ¶ [0137], (“The UE indication for a scheduling request and the UE DRX preference indication can be combined using PUCCH format `1b`…provides two bits of information.”); See Table 2, (“SR and UE DRX preference UE preference = UE preference = DRX Off DRX On…(SR) Scheduling Request 10 11 (SR)”) and transmit a second message including the DRX MAC CE. - in ¶ [0153], (“MAC DRX On Command CE or a DRX Off Command CE is signalled from the eNB to indicate the choice of DRX state made by the eNB.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with MUKHERJEE to include the information indicates a request for a DRX MAC CE and transmitting a second message including the DRX MAC CE, as taught by MUKHERJEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by MUKHERJEE, power saving techniques in communications systems and UEs have been, and continue to be, developed and implemented in order to at least partially offset the increased power demands. - ¶ [0004]
Claims 5, 11-13, 19, 24-25, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of NAMBA et al. (US 20210298052, hereinafter, “NAMBA”), and further in view of Maleki et al. (US 20220132417, hereinafter, “Maleki’417”).
Claim 5. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Cirik and NAMBA does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state.
However, Maleki’417 teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - See Fig. 9, ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR). This approach is particularly beneficial if the assistance information payload has more than 2 bits, and thus needs to be sent through NPUCCH formats 2-4. As one example of piggybacking, the UE 30 may “borrow” bits allocated for one purpose to send the status indication similarly to the negative SR mentioned above.”) an information that indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state. – in ¶ [0046], (“release the RRC state of the UE 30 and send it to RRC_Inactive/Idle…there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling…¶ [0047] One aspect of the disclosure comprises assistance information and signaling schemes to help the network 10 in making decision regarding releasing the NR UE 30 from a specific state or operational mode”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…the network 10 may inappropriately send the UE 30 to Idle or Inactive state. Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 11. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates a secondary cell group release. – in ¶ [0047], (“Assistance information, also referred to herein as assistance information, is sent from the UE 30 to the network 10 to provide the network 10 information for releasing the UE 30 from the Connected state, releasing SCells that are not being scheduled”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates a secondary cell group release, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 12. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates release of one or more secondary cell carriers. – in ¶ [0047], (“Assistance information…is sent from the UE 30 to the network 10 to provide the network 10 information for releasing the UE 30 from the Connected state, releasing SCells that are not being scheduled”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates release of one or more secondary cell carriers, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 13. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates a local radio resource control connection release. – in ¶ [0046], (“…operational mode, e.g. to release the RRC state of the UE 30 and send it to RRC_Inactive/Idle…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling…¶ [0047] One aspect of the disclosure comprises assistance information and signaling schemes to help the network 10 in making decision regarding releasing the NR UE 30 from a specific state or operational mode”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates a local radio resource control connection release, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 19. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates that a user equipment (UE) is entering an inactive state, – in ¶ [0046], (“release the RRC state of the UE 30 and send it to RRC_Inactive/Idle… there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling…¶ [0047] One aspect of the disclosure comprises assistance information and signaling schemes to help the network 10 in making decision regarding releasing the NR UE 30 from a specific state or operational mode…”) and refrain from transmitting a communication to the UE in accordance with the inactive state of the UE. – in ¶ [0049], (“NR supports RRCRelease signaling to switch a UE 30 to an Idle or Inactive state from a Connected state…¶ [0050] assistance information signaling is used to indicate that no data is expected to be sent and/or received.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit information that UE is entering an inactive state and refrain from transmitting a communication to the UE, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…the network 10 may inappropriately send the UE 30 to Idle or Inactive state. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 24. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates a secondary cell group (SCG) release, and release secondary carriers of the SCG. – in ¶ [0004], (“The assistance information may be used, for example, to release the UE from a Connected state, release one or more component carriers (e.g., SCells) in a set of aggregated carriers”); ¶ [0047], (“Assistance information, also referred to herein as assistance information, is sent from the UE 30 to the network 10 to provide the network 10 information for releasing the UE 30 from the Connected state, releasing SCells that are not being scheduled”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates a secondary cell group release release secondary carriers of the SCG, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 25. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates a local radio resource control (RRC) connection release, and release resources in accordance with the RRC connection release. – in ¶ [0046], (“…operational mode, e.g. to release the RRC state of the UE 30 and send it to RRC_Inactive/Idle…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling…¶ [0047] One aspect of the disclosure comprises assistance information and signaling schemes to help the network 10 in making decision regarding releasing the NR UE 30 from a specific state or operational mode”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates a local radio resource control connection release, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, current solutions for UE power savings…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 27. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The method of claim 26, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state or indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating. – in ¶ [0046], (“…operational mode, e.g. to release the RRC state of the UE 30 and send it to RRC_Inactive/Idle…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling…¶ [0047] One aspect of the disclosure comprises assistance information and signaling schemes to help the network 10 in making decision regarding releasing the NR UE 30 from a specific state or operational mode”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, UE power savings…the network 10 may inappropriately send the UE 30 to Idle or Inactive state. - ¶ [0046]
Claim 29. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The method of claim 26, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki’417 further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting, in a message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0070], (“the assistance information signal can be multiplexed or piggybacked with the other information…scheduling requests (SR).”) an information that indicates a secondary cell group release, release of one or more secondary cell carriers, or a local radio resource control connection release. – in ¶ [0046], (“…operational mode, e.g. to release the RRC state of the UE 30 and send it to RRC_Inactive/Idle…Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling…¶ [0047] One aspect of the disclosure comprises assistance information and signaling schemes to help the network 10 in making decision regarding releasing the NR UE 30 from a specific state or operational mode”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with Maleki’417 to include transmit an information that indicates a local radio resource control connection release, as taught by Maleki’417. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki’417, Therefore, there is a need for additional release assistance information from the UE through explicit signaling. - ¶ [0046]
Claims 6, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of NAMBA et al. (US 20210298052, hereinafter, “NAMBA”), and further in view of LEE et al. (US 20230124671, hereinafter, “LEE”).
Claim 6. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”)
Combination of Cirik and NAMBA does not explicitly teach:
transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating.
However, LEE teaches:
transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating. – See Fig. 19, ¶ [0223], (“The electronic device 101 may transmit a message (e.g., UEAssistanceInformation message) including identification information about the identified BWP to the network 600.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with LEE to include transmit an information that indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating, as taught by LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by LEE, When the BWP is configured, the UE may monitor only the configured BWP without monitoring the entire bandwidth, thereby reducing power consumption. - ¶ [0003]
Claim 20. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates in which bandwidth part (BWP) a user equipment (UE) is operating, and transmit a second message in the BWP. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…the SR may be a positive SR (e.g., pending SR). In an example, the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”)
LEE further teaches:
receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates in which bandwidth part (BWP) a user equipment (UE) is operating, and transmit a second message in the BWP. – See Fig. 19, ¶ [0223], (“The electronic device 101 may transmit a message (e.g., UEAssistanceInformation message) including identification information about the identified BWP to the network 600. In operation 1911, the network 600 may identify the second BWP corresponding to the IE. In operation 1913, the network 600 may transmit a DCI for using the second BWP to the electronic device 101. In operation 1915, the electronic device 101 may perform communication with the network 600 using the second BWP.”); ¶ [0227], (“the electronic device 101 may transmit, to the network 600, a message including information about the previously used BWP”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with LEE to include transmit an information that indicates which BWP a UE is operating, and transmit a second message in the BWP, as taught by LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by LEE, the UE may monitor only the configured BWP without monitoring the entire bandwidth, thereby reducing power consumption. - ¶ [0003]
Claims 8, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of NAMBA et al. (US 20210298052, hereinafter, “NAMBA”), and further in view of ARAUJO et al. (US 20250294492, hereinafter, “ARAUJO”).
Claim 8. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a UE capability update. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…”)
Combination of Cirik and NAMBA does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a UE capability update.
However, ARAUJO teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: transmit, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a UE capability update. – in ¶ [0194], (“The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with ARAUJO to include information that indicates a request for a UE capability update, as taught by ARAUJO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by ARAUJO, latency may be reduced. - ¶ [0124]
Claim 28. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The method of claim 26, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE), a request for a bandwidth part switch, or a request for a UE capability update. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…”)
ARAUJO further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE), a request for a bandwidth part switch, or a request for a UE capability update. – in ¶ [0194], (“The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with ARAUJO to include information that indicates a request for a UE capability update, as taught by ARAUJO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by ARAUJO, latency may be reduced. - ¶ [0124]
Claims 9-10, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of NAMBA et al. (US 20210298052, hereinafter, “NAMBA”), and further in view of ARAUJO et al. (US 20250294492, hereinafter, “ARAUJO”) and Cirik et al. (US 20240267866, hereinafter, “Cirik’866”).
Claim 9. Combination of Cirik, NAMBA, and ARAUJO teaches The apparatus of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Cirik, NAMBA, and ARAUJO does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: receive a request for UE capability information; and transmit the UE capability information.
However, Cirik’866 teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the UE to: receive a request for UE capability information; - in ¶ [0268], (“The base station may request, via/by the UE capability enquiry/request, from the wireless device to send/transmit the UE capability message.”) and transmit the UE capability information. - in ¶ [0268], (“A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message…based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik, NAMBA, and ARAUJO with Cirik’866 to include a request for UE capability information, as taught by Cirik’866. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by Cirik’866, reduce latency of a communication and reduce power consumption. - ¶ [0228]
Claim 10. Combination of Cirik, NAMBA, ARAUJO, and Cirik’866 teaches The apparatus of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
ARAUJO further teaches:
wherein the UE capability information is associated with carrier aggregation or dual connectivity. – in ¶ [0074], (“information on full capabilities of the UE 102, may comprise…; i) one or more carrier aggregation related capabilities of the UE; and j) one or more dual connectivity related capabilities of the UE.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik and NAMBA with ARAUJO to include the UE capability information is associated with carrier aggregation or dual connectivity, as taught by ARAUJO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by ARAUJO, latency may be reduced. - ¶ [0124]
Claim 22. Combination of Cirik and NAMBA teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a user equipment (UE) capability update; transmit a request for UE capability information; and receive the UE capability information. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR…”)
ARAUJO further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a user equipment (UE) capability update; transmit a request for UE capability information; and receive the UE capability information. – in ¶ [0194], (“The UE 102 sends a request comprising, in this example, UE assistance information (“UEAssistanceInformation (NEW: reduce capability)”) to Network A, requesting that certain capabilities are (temporarily) disabled.”)
Cirik’866 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to further cause the network entity to: receive, in a message associated with a scheduling request, an information that indicates a request for a user equipment (UE) capability update; transmit a request for UE capability information; - in ¶ [0268], (“The base station may request, via/by the UE capability enquiry/request, from the wireless device to send/transmit the UE capability message.”) and receive the UE capability information. - in ¶ [0268], (“A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message…based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik, NAMBA, and ARAUJO with Cirik’866 to include receive a request for UE capability information, as taught by Cirik’866. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by Cirik’866, reduce latency of a communication and reduce power consumption at the wireless device and the base station. - ¶ [0228]
Claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 10 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475