DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14-17, 26, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”).
Claim 1. Cirik teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: - See Fig. 15
one or more memories; - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0209], (“memory”) and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0210], (“one or more processors”)
select information indicating a request or a notification that is independent of a request for an uplink grant; - in ¶ [0247], (“the wireless device may indicate the deactivating of the antenna panel, e.g., to the base station. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an uplink report (e.g., group-based beam reporting, periodic beam reporting, MAC CE, RRC, scheduling request...indicating the deactivating of the antenna panel.”, This shows that the UE selects information (antenna panel deactivation/activation indication). The information is a notification/indication, not a request for an uplink grant.) and
transmit the information in a message associated with a scheduling request. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel indicated by the downlink information…the SR may be a positive SR (e.g., pending SR). In an example, the SR may be a negative SR (e.g., no pending SR).”, This shows that the antenna panel indication is transmitted on an SR even when the SR is negative (no pending uplink data).)
Claim 2. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the message does not include any request for an uplink grant. - in ¶ [0247], (“the wireless device may indicate the deactivating of the antenna panel, e.g., to the base station. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an uplink report (e.g., group-based beam reporting, periodic beam reporting, MAC CE, RRC, scheduling request...indicating the deactivating of the antenna panel.”, This shows that the UE selects information (antenna panel deactivation/activation indication). The information is a notification/indication, not a request for an uplink grant.)
Claim 3. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 2, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the message is in a format used for requesting an uplink grant. - in ¶ [0199], (“Uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…The UE may transmit the uplink control signaling via a PUCCH using one of several PUCCH formats…¶ [0200], (“There may be five PUCCH formats…The UE may transmit UCI in a PUCCH resource using PUCCH format 0 if the transmission is over one or two symbols and the number of HARQ-ACK information bits with positive or negative SR (HARQ-ACK/SR bits) is one or two.”)
Claim 14. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik teaches:
wherein the information includes two or three bits. - in ¶ [0199], (“Uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…¶ [0200], (“There may be five PUCCH formats…PUCCH format 2…may include more than two bits.”)
Claim 15. Cirik teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: - See Fig. 15
one or more memories; - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0209], (“memory”) and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0210], (“one or more processors”)
receive a first message associated with a scheduling request, - in ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel indicated by the downlink information.”) the first message including information indicating a request or a notification that is independent of a request for an uplink grant; - in ¶ [0247], (“the wireless device may indicate the deactivating of the antenna panel, e.g., to the base station. In an example, the wireless device may transmit an uplink report (e.g., group-based beam reporting, periodic beam reporting, MAC CE, RRC, scheduling request...indicating the deactivating of the antenna panel.”); ¶ [0269], (“the wireless device may piggyback the uplink signal/message on a SR to indicate activating of the antenna panel indicated by the downlink information.”) and
perform an action in accordance with the information. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0248], (“The base station may be aware of the deactivating of the antenna panel based on receiving the uplink report (e.g., time T3 in FIG. 17).”)
Claims 16-17 are rejected under the same rationale as Claims 2-3 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 26 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 30 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 15 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of Cirik et al. (US 20240267866, hereinafter, “RefC”).
Claim 8. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates a request for a UE capability update.
However, RefC teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a UE capability update. - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0268], (“A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message…based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with RefC to include request for a UE capability update, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by RefC, reduce latency of a communication and reduce power consumption at the wireless device and/or the base station. - ¶ [0228]
Claim 9. Combination of Cirik and RefC teaches The apparatus of claim 8, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
RefC further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: receive a request for UE capability information; - in ¶ [0268], (“The base station may request, via/by the UE capability enquiry/request, from the wireless device to send/transmit the UE capability message.”) and transmit the UE capability information. - in ¶ [0268], (“A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message…based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with RefC to include UE capability information, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by RefC, reduce latency of a communication and reduce power consumption at the wireless device and/or the base station. - ¶ [0228]
Claim 10. Combination of Cirik and RefC teaches The apparatus of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
RefC further teaches:
wherein the UE capability information is associated with carrier aggregation or dual connectivity. - in ¶ [0269], (“The UE capability message may comprise carrier aggregation (CA) parameters…The supported number of TAGs may be applied, by the wireless device and/or the base station, to NR CA, NR-DC, (NG)EN-DC/NE-DC”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with RefC to include UE capability information is associated with carrier aggregation or dual connectivity, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by RefC, reduce latency of a communication and reduce power consumption at the wireless device. - ¶ [0228]
Claim 22. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
RefC further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a user equipment (UE) capability update, - See Fig. 17, ¶ [0268], (“A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message…based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request.”) and wherein to perform the action, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: transmit a request for UE capability information; - in ¶ [0268], (“The base station may request, via/by the UE capability enquiry/request, from the wireless device to send/transmit the UE capability message.”) and receive the UE capability information. - in ¶ [0268], (“A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message…based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with RefC to include UE capability information, as taught by RefC. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by RefC, reduce latency of a communication and reduce power consumption at the wireless device and/or the base station. - ¶ [0228]
Claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 10 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 4, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of MUKHERJEE et al. (US 20140036748, hereinafter, “MUKHERJEE”).
Claim 4. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE).
However, MUKHERJEE teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE). - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0131], (“the UE requests an earlier transition back to DRX Off by sending a UE DRX Preference Indication MAC CE indicated by an upward arrow”); ¶ [0137], (“The UE indication for a scheduling request and the UE DRX preference indication can be combined using PUCCH format `1b`…provides two bits of information.”); See Table 2, (“SR and UE DRX preference UE preference = UE preference = DRX Off DRX On…(SR) Scheduling Request 10 11 (SR)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with MUKHERJEE to include the information indicates a request for a DRX MAC CE, as taught by MUKHERJEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by MUKHERJEE, power saving techniques in communications systems and UEs have been, and continue to be, developed and implemented in order to at least partially offset the increased power demands required to achieve the higher data rates. - ¶ [0004]
Claim 18. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
MUKHERJEE further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a discontinuous reception (DRX) medium access control control element (MAC CE), - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0131], (“the UE requests an earlier transition back to DRX Off by sending a UE DRX Preference Indication MAC CE indicated by an upward arrow”); ¶ [0137], (“The UE indication for a scheduling request and the UE DRX preference indication can be combined using PUCCH format `1b`…provides two bits of information.”); See Table 2, (“SR and UE DRX preference UE preference = UE preference = DRX Off DRX On…(SR) Scheduling Request 10 11 (SR)”) and wherein performing the action includes transmitting a second message including the DRX MAC CE. - in ¶ [0153], (“MAC DRX On Command CE or a DRX Off Command CE is signalled from the eNB to indicate the choice of DRX state made by the eNB.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with MUKHERJEE to include the information indicates a request for a DRX MAC CE and transmitting a second message including the DRX MAC CE, as taught by MUKHERJEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by MUKHERJEE, power saving techniques in communications systems and UEs have been, and continue to be, developed and implemented in order to at least partially offset the increased power demands required to achieve the higher data rates. - ¶ [0004]
Claims 11-12, 24, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of KIM et al. (US 20220030659, hereinafter, “KIM”).
Claim 11. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates a secondary cell group release.
However, KIM teaches:
wherein the information indicates a secondary cell group release. - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0638], (“the UE may make a request for configuring, releasing…the cell group (for example, secondary cell group)…the base station may determine whether to configure, release...the cell group (for example, secondary cell group)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with KIM to include the information indicates a secondary cell group release, as taught by KIM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by KIM, a method of preventing processing latency that may be generated when carrier aggregation or dual connectivity is configured. - ¶ [0008]
Claim 12. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KIM further teaches:
wherein the information indicates release of one or more secondary cell carriers. - in ¶ [0638], (“the UE may make a request for configuring, releasing, activating, deactivating, resuming, or suspending the dual connectivity, the cell group (for example, secondary cell group)…the base station may determine whether to configure, release…the cell group (for example, secondary cell group”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with KIM to include the information indicates release of one or more secondary cell carriers, as taught by KIM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by KIM, a method of preventing processing latency that may be generated when carrier aggregation or dual connectivity is configured. - ¶ [0008]
Claim 24. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KIM further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a secondary cell group (SCG) release, and wherein performing the action includes releasing secondary carriers of the SCG. - in ¶ [0638], (“the UE may make a request for configuring, releasing, activating, deactivating, resuming, or suspending the dual connectivity, the cell group (for example, secondary cell group)…the base station may determine whether to configure, release…the cell group (for example, secondary cell group”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with KIM to include the information indicates a SCG release and performing the action includes releasing secondary carriers of the SCG, as taught by KIM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by KIM, a method of preventing processing latency that may be generated when carrier aggregation or dual connectivity is configured. - ¶ [0008]
Claim 29. Cirik teaches The method of claim 26, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KIM further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a secondary cell group release, release of one or more secondary cell carriers, or a local radio resource control connection release. - in ¶ [0638], (“the UE may make a request for configuring, releasing…the cell group (for example, secondary cell group)…the base station may determine whether to configure, release…the cell group (for example, secondary cell group”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with KIM to include the information indicates a secondary cell group release, as taught by KIM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by KIM, a method of preventing processing latency that may be generated when carrier aggregation or dual connectivity is configured. - ¶ [0008]
Claims 13, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20230345581, hereinafter, “Zhang”).
Claim 13. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates a local radio resource control connection release.
However, Zhang teaches:
wherein the information indicates a local radio resource control connection release. -See Fig. 3, ¶ [0121], (“When the terminal determines to release the first RRC connection, the terminal releases a local resource of the first RRC connection…the terminal determines…to release the first RRC connection”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with Zhang to include information indicates a local radio resource control connection release, as taught by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve synchronization, as suggested by Zhang, to complete RRC status synchronization between the terminal and the network device, and finally completes release of the RRC connection. This helps reduce power consumption of the terminal. - ¶ [0012]
Claim 25. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhang further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a local radio resource control (RRC) connection release, - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0121], (“When the terminal determines to release the first RRC connection, the terminal releases a local resource of the first RRC connection…the terminal determines…to release the first RRC connection”) and wherein performing the action includes releasing resources in accordance with the RRC connection release. - See Fig. 4, ¶ [0132], (“After receiving the registration message sent by the terminal, the network device…releases the local resource of the first RRC connection…the base station releases the residual resource”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with Zhang to include information indicates a local radio resource control connection release and releasing resources in accordance with the RRC connection release, as taught by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve synchronization, as suggested by Zhang, to complete RRC status synchronization between the terminal and the network device, and finally completes release of the RRC connection. This helps reduce power consumption of the terminal. - ¶ [0012]
Claims 6-7, 20-21, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of AWAD et al. (US 20250119906, hereinafter, “AWAD”).
Claim 6. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating.
However, AWAD teaches:
wherein the information indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating. - in ¶ [0088], (“while the UE is operating on the narrower BWP, if the UE suddenly notices that some large data is available for transmission…the UE may need to activate and switch back to the wider BWP…¶ [0090] This is because the UE needs first to inform gNB, for example via a scheduling request (SR), that there is a large data available…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with AWAD to include the information indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating, as taught by AWAD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by AWAD, the UE will switch to a narrower BWP (like the default BWP or initial BWP) in order to reduce the power consumption. - ¶ [0087]
Claim 7. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
AWAD further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch. - in ¶ [0088], (“while the UE is operating on the narrower BWP, if the UE suddenly notices that some large data is available for transmission…the UE may need to activate and switch back to the wider BWP…¶ [0090] This is because the UE needs first to inform gNB, for example via a scheduling request (SR), that there is a large data available…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with AWAD to include the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch, as taught by AWAD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by AWAD, the UE will switch to a narrower BWP (like the default BWP or initial BWP) in order to reduce the power consumption. - ¶ [0087]
Claim 20. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
AWAD further teaches:
wherein the information indicates in which bandwidth part (BWP) a user equipment (UE) is operating, - in ¶ [0088], (“while the UE is operating on the narrower BWP, if the UE suddenly notices that some large data is available for transmission…the UE may need to activate and switch back to the wider BWP…¶ [0090] This is because the UE needs first to inform gNB, for example via a scheduling request (SR), that there is a large data available…”) and
wherein to perform the action, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to transmit a second message in the BWP. - in ¶ [0090], (“…then the gNB needs to issue the activation/switching command via a further DCI indication for the UE to switch to the wider BWP.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with AWAD to include the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch and transmit a second message in the BWP, as taught by AWAD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by AWAD, the UE will switch to a narrower BWP (like the default BWP or initial BWP) in order to reduce the power consumption. - ¶ [0087]
Claim 21. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
AWAD further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, - in ¶ [0088], (“while the UE is operating on the narrower BWP, if the UE suddenly notices that some large data is available for transmission…the UE may need to activate and switch back to the wider BWP…¶ [0090] This is because the UE needs first to inform gNB, for example via a scheduling request (SR), that there is a large data available, and then the gNB needs to issue the activation/switching command…for the UE to switch to the wider BWP.”) and wherein to perform the action, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to transmit a second message indicating the BWP switch. - in ¶ [0090], (“…then the gNB needs to issue the activation/switching command via a further DCI indication for the UE to switch to the wider BWP.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with AWAD to include the information indicates a request for a BWP switch and transmit a second message indicating the BWP switch, as taught by AWAD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by AWAD, the UE will switch to a narrower BWP (like the default BWP or initial BWP) in order to reduce the power consumption. - ¶ [0087]
Claim 27. Cirik teaches The method of claim 26, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
AWAD further teaches:
wherein the information indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state or indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating. - in ¶ [0088], (“while the UE is operating on the narrower BWP, if the UE suddenly notices that some large data is available for transmission…the UE may need to activate and switch back to the wider BWP…¶ [0090] This is because the UE needs first to inform gNB, for example via a scheduling request (SR), that there is a large data available…”, Examiner Note: only one option needs to be satisfied)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with AWAD to include the information indicates in which bandwidth part the UE is operating, as taught by AWAD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by AWAD, the UE will switch to a narrower BWP (like the default BWP or initial BWP) in order to reduce the power consumption. - ¶ [0087]
Claim 28. Cirik teaches The method of claim 26, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
AWAD further teaches:
wherein the information indicates a request for a discontinuous reception medium access control control element (MAC CE), a request for a bandwidth part switch, or a request for a UE capability update. - in ¶ [0088], (“while the UE is operating on the narrower BWP, if the UE suddenly notices that some large data is available for transmission…the UE may need to activate and switch back to the wider BWP…¶ [0090] This is because the UE needs first to inform gNB, for example via a scheduling request (SR), that there is a large data available, and then the gNB needs to issue the activation/switching command…for the UE to switch to the wider BWP.”, Examiner Note: only one option needs to be satisfied.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with AWAD to include the information indicates a request for a bandwidth part switch, as taught by AWAD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by AWAD, the UE will switch to a narrower BWP (like the default BWP or initial BWP) in order to reduce the power consumption. - ¶ [0087]
Claims 5, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 20210050666, hereinafter, “Cirik”) in view of Maleki et al. (US 20220353809, hereinafter, “Maleki”).
Claim 5. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Cirik does not explicitly teach:
wherein the information indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state.
However, Maleki teaches:
wherein the information indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state. – See Fig. 1, ¶ [0020], (“DRX allows the UE to transition to a lower-power state, referred to herein as a “sleep mode,” for an interval of time during which the UE is not required to receive any transmission from the base station…If the inactivity timer expires, the UE can stop receiving transmissions from base station (e.g., performing no control monitoring) for an off interval…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with Maleki to include the information indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state, as taught by Maleki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki, techniques provide further opportunities for reducing power consumption by the UE, and may be used in conjunction with C-DRX or other DRX mechanisms. - ¶ [0028]
Claim 19. Cirik teaches The apparatus of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Maleki further teaches:
wherein the information indicates that a user equipment (UE) is entering an inactive state, – See Fig. 1, ¶ [0020], (“DRX allows the UE to transition to a lower-power state, referred to herein as a “sleep mode,” for an interval of time during which the UE is not required to receive any transmission from the base station…If the inactivity timer expires, the UE can stop receiving transmissions from base station (e.g., performing no control monitoring) for an off interval…”); ¶ [0026], (“the default assumption is that the UE moves to a deep sleep state…after the end of the inactivity time in DRX/C-DRX…The same assumption holds when the UE moves to RRC_Idle/Inactive modes.”) and wherein to perform the action, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to refrain from transmitting a communication to the UE in accordance with the inactive state of the UE. - in ¶ [0020], (“If the inactivity timer expires, the UE can stop receiving transmissions from base station (e.g., performing no control monitoring) for an off interval”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cirik with Maleki to include the information indicates that the UE is entering an inactive state and refrain from transmitting a communication to the UE, as taught by Maleki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by Maleki, reducing power consumption by the UE, and may be used in conjunction with C-DRX or other DRX mechanisms. - ¶ [0028]
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475