Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, recites the limitation "the phase compensation circuit" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, “a phase compensation circuit” is claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, recited “wherein an input end of the phase compensation circuit (304/405) is connected with the output end of the adder (302/402) and an output end of the phase compensation circuit (304/405) is connected with the amplifier (303/404) to output the phase-compensated first signal.” It is noted that submitted drawings (Figs. 3 and 4) disclose an input end of the phase compensation circuit (304/405) is connected to/with the amplifier (303/404) to output the phase compensated signal. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 4, recites the limitation "the phase compensation circuit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, “a phase compensation circuit” is claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, recites the limitation "the phase compensation circuit" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, “a phase compensation circuit” is claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, recites the limitation "the phase compensation circuit " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, “a phase compensation circuit” is claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, recites the limitation "the amplifier" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, “an amplifier” is claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, recited “wherein the first control signal is used for controlling an adder, and the second control signal is used for controlling an amplification circuit; vector-synthesizing an orthogonal signal generated by an orthogonal signal generator through controlling the adder based on the first control signal”. Applicant’s submitting drawings (Figs. 1 and 11) disclose Control Signal has two controlling signal paths for controlling path selecting unit (1031/1103’) and variable gain amplifier (1032/1103), respectively. However, there is no showing of an adder (1033/1103’’) being controlled by either control signals as claimed. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, also rejected because they depends on rejected claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyashita (6,288,610).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Miyashita (Fig. 17) discloses an amplifier circuit/assembly comprising: a DSP7A, D/A converter (24/25) and multiplier (72) formed an orthogonal signal generator, an adder (73), and an amplification circuit (10); an output end of the orthogonal signal generator being connected with an input end of the adder, and the orthogonal signal generator being configured to generate an orthogonal signal; an output end of the adder (73) being connected with an input end of the amplification circuit (10), and the adder being configured to vector-synthesize the orthogonal signal to output a first signal; and the amplification circuit being configured to amplify a power of the first signal and compensate a phase of the first signal to output a second signal to an antenna (A) or to demodulator (93), see col. 34 ,line 28 to col. 35, line 2.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the amplification circuit comprises an amplifier (10) and a phase compensation circuit (2B); the amplifier is configured to amplify the power of the first signal; the phase compensation circuit is configured to compensate the phase of the first signal.
Regarding claim 4, wherein an input end of the amplifier (10) is connected with the output end of the adder (73) and an output end of the amplifier is connected with an input end of the phase compensation circuit (2B) to output the amplified first signal.
Regarding claim 5, wherein a compensation phase of the phase compensation circuit (2B) is adjustable based on an output power of the amplifier (10) via detecting unit (2A).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, wherein the amplifier circuit further comprises demodulator (93), A/D (94) and detecting unit (2A) formed a first isolation circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the amplification circuit, and being configured to isolate the output end of the amplification circuit to isolate an interference of a downstream circuit of the amplification circuit to the amplification circuit.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the amplification circuit comprises an amplifier (10) and a phase compensation circuit (2B); correspondingly, the amplifying a power of the first signal and compensating a phase of the first signal by an amplification circuit to output a second signal comprises amplifying the power of the first signal by the amplifier; and compensating the phase of the power-amplified first signal by the phase compensation circuit to output the second signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita.
Regarding claim 11, recited the amplifier is a differential amplifier. Miyashita discloses a single-ended amplifier and not differential amplifier as claimed. However, single-ended/differential amplifier is well-known in the art and utilizing one of known amplifiers is considered a matter of design engineering for specific intended use of the invention. Note, applicant also acknowledged that amplifier can be a single-ended amplifier depend on the number of output(s) from the adder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 8-10, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, prior art(s) does not disclose the phase compensation circuit has a compensation structure of at least one of “pi (π) type”, “T type” and “L type”.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, prior art(s) does not disclose the amplifier assembly further comprises a second isolation circuit (306/407), an input end of the second isolation circuit is connected with the output end of the adder, and an output end of the second isolation circuit is connected with the input end of the amplification circuit; and the second isolation circuit is configured to isolate the output of the adder.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, prior art(s) does not disclose the amplification circuit further comprises an impedance matching circuit; the impedance matching circuit is configured to impedance-match an input impedance and/or an output impedance and/or an inter-stage impedance of the amplifier.
Regarding claim 10, prior art(s) does not disclose the phase compensation circuit comprises at least one of an inductor, a capacitor and a switching tube.
Claims 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional reference(s) cited in PTO-892 show further analogous prior art circuitry having orthogonal signal.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843