DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, and 15-18 are examined
Claims 3, 5, and 13-14 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims have overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 and 112(b) rejections; therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “material guide” has been interpreted as any structure that can hold and guide the flow of material.
The limitation “physical transition point” has been interpreted as a location where the at least partial liquefication of the print material occurs.
Regarding claim 2, the term “radial” has been interpreted as having equal distance from a center point.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 7, line 1 – “actuating” should read “energizing” for clarity in reciting to “energize the secondary heater” in claim 1
claim 18, line 1 – “actuates” should read “energizes” for clarity in reciting to “energize the secondary heater” in claim 1
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-12, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (US 2018/0333915 A1 used in rejection, equivalent to WO 2018/213559 A1) in view of Crump (US 5340433), Burnham (WO 2017/152142 A1), Fuller (US 2016/0339634 A1), and Tu (CN 110228190 A, an English machine translation was provided in a previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Montgomery discloses a system 119 for additive manufacturing to clear a print head (¶ [0045] - three-dimensional printer 119), the system comprising:
a material guide 104 (¶ [0046] - feed tube 104) suitable to receive the extruded print material 110 (¶ [0046] - for receiving a forwardly driven filament 110) outwardly to a nozzle 103 (¶ [0059] – a nozzle 103 communicating with the outlet 127)
at least one heater element 102 (¶ [0047] - heater 102) that provides a physical transition point along the material guideleast one heater element 102 (¶ [0047] - 102 for heating 110) to allow for printing of the at least partially liquefied print material filament;
at least one secondary heater (¶ [0048] – cooler 101; claim 52 – cooled by Peltier device, see below for evidentiary analysis) partially wrapped around a portion of the material guide (Fig. 1 depicts the cooler 101 is partially wrapped around 104)
a thermal mass 106 interposed between the at least one heater element 102 (¶ [0058] – bushing 106 secured to 104 and engaged with 102) and the at least one secondary heater (Fig. 1 depicts 106 between 101 and 102) and capable of retaining heat (¶ [0077] – 106 made of heat conductive materials)
The limitation “to clear a print head” is recited in the preamble. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02 (II).
As the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention and the limitation “to clear a print head” is not recited within the body of the claim, the limitation recites purpose or intended use of the invention.
Montgomery does not disclose the at least one secondary heater comprises a stack of radial heater devices, each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide.
Fuller discloses printer 100 (¶ [0155], Fig. 2A) comprising an extrusion core 300 that liquifies filament 9001 (¶ [0170]; Fig. 3). A first-temperature-controlled block 314 (at least a first heater) in the hot-end 310 generates temperature to liquefy filament 9001 and is a resistive type heating block (¶ [0176], Fig. 3). Transition-section 330 comprise a second-temperature-controlled block 334 and first-insulator 332 and the second-temperature-controlled block 334 is a resistive type heating block (at least a secondary heater) (¶ [0177]).
Fuller depicts the at least one secondary heater 300 comprises a stack of radial heater devices (Figure 3 shows the transition-section 330 comprising a second-temperature-controlled-block 334 is placed directly over the hot-end 310 comprising the first-temperature-controlled-block 334 and are “stacked”; the distance between the filament pathway to the edges of the extrusion core are of equal distance; therefore, 310 and 330 are “radial devices”), each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide (Figure 3 depicts the filament pathway 304 through 300 and each of 310 and 330). The transition-section 330 may prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament in elongate-volume 302 by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament 9001 (in transition-section 330) and may maintain a temperature, via second-temperature-controlled-block 334, such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament 9001 is high (¶ [0177]).
FIG. 3 of Fuller
Montgomery and Fuller disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the extrusion core with a transition section comprising second-temperature-controlled-block and the first-temperature-controlled-block in the “stacked” arrangement above in Fuller to the cooler in modified Montgomery to prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament and may maintain a temperature such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament is high (¶ [0177]).
Montgomery does not disclose at least two hobs suitable to receive and extrude therebetween a print material filament for the additive manufacturing and the at least one heater element distally from the at least two hobs.
Analogous art Crump (referenced in Montgomery in ¶ [0004-0007]) teaches an apparatus for making three-dimensional objects comprising a dispensing head (c 3, L 15), a heater to heat material above its solidification temperature (c 3, L. 65-67), and a flexible strand of solid material (c 3, L. 61-62).
Crump further discloses at least two hobs 210, 212 (c 12, L. 11-12; Fig. 13 - pair of feed rollers 210 and 212 are driven by a servo motor 213) suitable to receive and extrude therebetween a print material filament for the additive manufacturing (c 10, L. 55 - c 11, L. 1 - feed rollers are used to induce the flexible strand of supply material into and through dispensing head) and the at least one heater element distally from the at least two hobs (Fig. 13 depicts the heating coil 238 is “distally” from the feed rollers 210). Aided by the gripping and frictional contact features of the feed rollers (c 10, L. 68; c 11, L. 1), a driving movement of strand feed rollers 210, 212 against the strand 204 can be achieved (c 14, L. 45-46) and a "pumping" action in which the strand acts as a piston can be used to force melted liquid in the lower end of liquefier nozzle 226 (c 14, L. 47-49).
Montgomery and Crump disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the feed rollers driven by a servo motor in Crump to drive the filament through the feed tube in Montgomery because the feed rollers maintain gripping and fiction contact with the solid filament (c 10, L. 55 - c 11, L. 1) and the driving movement of the servo motor allows “pumping” action on the solid filament in which the solid filament acts as a piston that helps drive or push the melted print filament out of the extrusion head (c 14, L. 45-49).
Regarding “at least one secondary heater”, the cooler as applied in modified Montgomery is “at least partially wrapped around a portion of” 104 “closer” to the feed rollers of Crump.
Montgomery and Crump do not explicitly disclose cooler 101 is at least one secondary heater. However, as evidenced by Burnham, the cooler 101 cooled by a Peltier device is also able to heat.
Analogous art Burnham discloses a printer 101 that fabricates an object from a computerized model using a fused filament fabrication process (¶ [0100]). The printer 101 includes build material 102 that is propelled by a drive system 104 and heated to an extrudable state by a heating system 106, and then extruded through one or more nozzles 110 (¶ [0100]). The nozzle can include a resistive heating element, or similar components to directly control the temperature of the nozzle 110 (¶ [0126]).
Burnham further discloses a temperature control system of the heating system 106 may include one or more active devices such as resistive elements that convert electrical current into heat or Peltier effect devices that heat or cool in response to an applied current (¶ [0144]). The temperature control systems may include a heater that provides active heating to the components of the printer 101, a cooling element that provides active cooling to the components of the printer 101, or a combination (¶ [0144]).
As evidenced by Burnham, the thermoelectric cooler cooled by a Pelter device in modified Montgomery is able to heat or cool in response to an applied current (Burnham ¶ [0144]) and is considered “at least one secondary heater”
Regarding the limitation “a controller”. Crump discloses a temperature controller and temperature sensors are used on the dispensing head to closely control the temperature of the supply material just above its solidification temperature (c 4, L. 10-14). Controlling temperature ensures consistent flow and that the material will solidify substantially instantly upon cooling (c 4, L. 14-16).
Montgomery and Crump do not disclose a controller comprising: a processor, and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations, wherein the controller is further configured to energize the secondary heater based on detecting the inlet clog; and wherein the controller is further configured to de-energize the secondary heater when the inlet clog is no longer detected.
Burnham further discloses a controller (¶ [0100] - control system 118 manages operation of the printer 110) comprising: a processor (¶ [0149] - a processor and memory), and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations (¶ [0148-0149] - providing instructions to control operation of the printer; computer executable code to control the heating system 106 and the drive system 104), wherein the controller is further configured to energize the secondary heater (¶ [0126] - resistive heating element may also be used for specific functions, such as de-clogging a print head) based on detecting the inlet clog (¶ [0055] – control loop measure a force required, and uses this sensed parameter to estimate temperature, and account for other possible conditions such as nozzle clogging or onset of crystallization); and wherein the controller is further configured to de-energize the secondary heater when the inlet clog is no longer detected (¶ [0322] - pausing a fabrication process, initiating a nozzle cleaning operation; after the nozzle cleaning operation, the fabrication process would resume).
The approach advantageously uses drive speed to control heating in a manner that can adjust heat more quickly than resistive heating elements or the like for improved control of the temperature during extrusion (¶ [0118]). A force sensor is configured to measure a force resisting advancement of the build material 102 along a feedpath through the nozzle 110 (¶ [0118]). The resistive heating element may also be used for specific functions, such as de-clogging a print head by heating the build material 102 above Tm to melt the build material into a liquid state and can provide a convenient technique to reset the nozzle 110 without more severe physical intervention such as removing vacuum from a build chamber to disassemble, clean, and replace affected components (¶ [0126]). The temperature control systems are coupled in a communicating relationship with the control system 118 to controllably impart heat to or remove heat from the components of the printer (¶ [0144]).
Montgomery and Burnham disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the controller programed with computer executable code to control a temperature control system of a heating system comprising of one or more active resistive elements and force sensor in Burnham to the printer in modified Montgomery to de-clog a print head by heating the build material to melt the build material into a liquid state to provide a convenient technique to reset the nozzle without more severe physical intervention (Burnham ¶ [0126]) and to controllably impart heat to or remove heat from the components of the printer (Burnham ¶ [0144]).
Burnham discloses a rotary force sensor for a drive motor or a sensor that detects an electrical load on the drive motor may also be employed to obtain a suitable control input (¶ [0219]). Initiating a remedial action in response to error conditions may include pausing a fabrication process, initiating a nozzle cleaning operation, notifying a user, or the like (¶ [0322]).
Montgomery, Crump, and Burnham do not disclose wherein the controller is configured to detect an inlet clog based on motor current exceeding a motor current threshold.
Tu discloses the controller is configured to detect an inlet clog (¶ [0020] – material blockage) based on motor current (¶ [0016] - stepper motor connected to a current detection module) exceeding a motor current threshold (¶ [0016] - operation control is provided with a current threshold, and when the real-time current exceeds the current threshold, the operation control module generates and sends a warning signal). The current detection module is connected to the driving mechanism and the operation control module, so that the current detection module can detect real-time current and feed it back to the operation control module to determine whether material blockage occur, which is simpler and more efficient (¶ [0032]).
Montgomery and Tu disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the current detection module with operation control provided with a current threshold to generate a warning signal when the real-time current exceeds the current threshold to the controller in communication with force sensor in modified Montgomery to detect real-time current and feed it back to the operation control module to determine whether material blockage occur, which is simpler and more efficient (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses 101 has a first thermally conductive portion 128, a second thermally conductive portion 129, and thermally conductive flange portion 130 generally radially spaced from the upstream portion 113 of the feed tube 104 (¶ [0060]; Fig 1-3, 5, 7, 9). As 101 is cooled by a Peltier device and the thermally conductive flange portions 130 are generally radially spaced from the upstream portion 113 of the feed tube 104, Montgomery teaches cooler comprising the thermally conductive flange portions are “a radial shape" and the feed tube “passes through a port approximately centered through” 101.
Regarding claim 4, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses wherein the material guide comprises, and is generally disposed between, a hot side and a cold side of the physical transition point (Fig. 1 depicts a cold side and a hot side from the point where 102 is thermally coupled to 104 to provide softened material), and wherein the at least one secondary heater is generally disposed along the cold side of the material guide (Fig. 1 depicts 101 is along the cold side)
Montgomery Fig. 1
Regarding claim 6, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses the motor current drawn by a drive motor (Burnham ¶ [0219] - an electrical load (i.e., current) on the drive motor; Tu ¶ [0008] – working current of the driving mechanism)
Regarding claim 7, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses energizing the at least one second heater to heat the closer aspect of the physical transition point based upon an occurrence of a trigger related to detecting the inlet clog (Burnham ¶ [0055] – control loop measure a force required, and uses this sensed parameter to estimate temperature, and account for nozzle clogging or onset of crystallization).
Regarding claim 8, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 7. Modified Montgomery further discloses the trigger is pre-stored in the computer program associated with the processor (Burnham ¶ [0148]-[0149] - controller 118 is configured by computer executable code to control the heating system 106 and the drive system 104 to fabricate the object; therefore, control loop for measuring force and account for nozzle clogging or onset of crystallization is in the computer executable code).
Regarding claim 9, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 7. Modified Montgomery further discloses the trigger is a temperature (Burnham ¶ [0055] – sensed parameter to estimate temperature account for nozzle clogging or onset of crystallization; ¶ [0163] - sensors 170 may include a temperature sensor)
Regarding claim 10, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses the operations further comprising executing a print plan (¶ [0148-0149] - computer executable code to control the heating system 106 and the drive system 104 to fabricate the object).
Regarding claim 11, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Montgomery does not disclose a plurality of sensors communicative with the controller for sensing the additive manufacturing.
Burnham discloses a plurality of sensors communicative with the controller for sensing the additive manufacturing (¶ [0162] - one or more sensors 170 may communicate with the control system 118 to detect progress of fabrication of the object and to send a signal to the control system 118 where the signal includes data characterizing progress of fabrication of the object). The heating system maintains a corresponding working temperature range in the build material 102 to drive the build material 102 (¶ [0115]).
Montgomery and Burnham disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the controller coupled to sensors, including temperature sensors in Burnham to the controller and printer in modified Montgomery to adjust at least one parameter of the printer 100 in response to the detected progress of fabrication of the object (Burnham ¶ [0162]) and to maintain a corresponding working temperature range in the build material needed to drive the build material (Burnham ¶ [0115]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 11. Modified Montgomery discloses the at least one secondary heater heats the transition point responsive to the sensing (Burnham ¶ [0162] - control system receives the signal, and adjusts at least one parameter of the additive manufacturing system 100 in response to the detected progress of fabrication of the object 112).
Regarding claim 15, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses wherein the nozzle comprises a print nozzle 103 suitable to print the at least partially liquefied print material (Montgomery ¶ [0059] – a nozzle 103 secured to the heater block 102 and communicating with the outlet 127; as the heater 102 provides softened deposition material, the nozzle communicating with the heater is suitable to print the at least partially liquefied print material).
Regarding claim 18, modified Montgomery discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Montgomery further discloses the controller energizes the secondary heater to selectively melt the inlet clog (Burnham ¶ [0126] - resistive heating element may also be used for specific functions, such as de-clogging a print head by heating the build material 102 above Tm to melt the build material into a liquid state; ¶ [0144] - Peltier effect devices that heat or cool in response to an applied current) prior to the physical transition point (Montgomery Fig. 1 depicts cooler 101 cooled by a Peltier device is prior to the transition point).
Regarding claim 17, Montgomery discloses a system 119 for additive manufacturing (¶ [0045] - three-dimensional printer 119), the system comprising:
a material guide 104 (¶ [0046] - feed tube 104) suitable to extrude the extruded print material 110 (¶ [0046] - for receiving a forwardly driven filament 110) outwardly to a nozzle 103 (¶ [0059] – a nozzle 103 communicating with the outlet 127) wherein the material guide comprises, and is generally between, a hot side and a cold side of a physical transition point (Fig. 1 depict a hot side and a cold side along 104),
Montgomery Fig. 1
at least one heater element 102 (¶ [0047] - heater 102) that provides the physical transition point along the material guide(¶ [0047] - 102 for heating a filament 110), wherein the physical transition point comprises a physical location along the material guide (the point where 102 is thermally coupled to 104 to provide softened deposition material is a “physical transition point”) at which occurs an at least partial liquefication of the print material filament 110 (¶ [0047] - to provide softened deposition material 115) within the material guide 104 by the at least one heater element 102 (¶ [0047] - 102 for heating 110) to allow for printing of the at least partially liquefied print material filament;
at least one secondary heater (¶ [0048] - a cooler 101; claim 52 – cooled by Peltier device, see below for evidentiary analysis)
The limitation “to clear a print head” is recited in the preamble. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02 (II).
As the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention and the limitation “to clear a print head” is not recited within the body of the claim, the limitation recites purpose or intended use of the invention.
Montgomery does not disclose at least two hobs suitable to receive and extrude therebetween a print material filament for the additive manufacturing and the at least one heater element distally from the at least two hobs.
Analogous art Crump (referenced in Montgomery in ¶ [0004-0007]) teaches an apparatus for making three-dimensional objects comprising a dispensing head (c 3, L 15), a heater to heat material above its solidification temperature (c 3, L. 65-67), and a flexible strand of solid material (c 3, L. 61-62).
Crump further discloses at least two hobs 210, 212 (c 12, L. 11-12; Fig. 13 - pair of feed rollers 210 and 212 are driven by a servo motor 213) suitable to receive and extrude therebetween a print material filament for the additive manufacturing (c 10, L. 55 - c 11, L. 1 - feed rollers are used to induce the flexible strand of supply material into and through dispensing head) and the at least one heater element distally from the at least two hobs (Fig. 13 depicts the heating coil 238 is “distally” from the feed rollers 210). Aided by the gripping and frictional contact features of the feed rollers (c 10, L. 68; c 11, L. 1), a driving movement of strand feed rollers 210, 212 against the strand 204 can be achieved (c 14, L. 45-46) and a "pumping" action in which the strand acts as a piston can be used to force melted liquid in the lower end of liquefier nozzle 226 (c 14, L. 47-49).
Montgomery and Crump disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the feed rollers driven by a servo motor in Crump to drive the filament through the feed tube in Montgomery because the feed rollers maintain gripping and fiction contact with the solid filament (c 10, L. 55 - c 11, L. 1) and the driving movement of the servo motor allows “pumping” action on the solid filament in which the solid filament acts as a piston that helps drive or push the melted print filament out of the extrusion head (c 14, L. 45-49).
Montgomery does not disclose the at least one heater comprises a coil.
Crump discloses heater 128 contains an electric resistance heater coil 130 positioned around the discharge nozzle 122 for heating the supply strand in passage 124 (c 10, 47-49). In another embodiment, a heating element in the form of an electric-resistance coil 238 is provided around the body of liquefier nozzle 226 (c 12, L. 31-33). This is for the purpose of the liquefier nozzle 226 having an elongated, central passage 228, through which the strand material is melted or fluidized to a flowable state (c 12, L. 28-33).
Montgomery and Crump disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied heating element around a liquefier nozzle in the form of a coil in Crump to heater that secures a nozzle in Montgomery to melt or fluidize strand material to a flowable state in an elongated passage (c 12, L. 28-33).
Regarding “at least one secondary heater”, the cooler as applied in modified Montgomery is “at least partially wrapped around a portion of the transition point closer” to the feed rollers of Crump.
Montgomery and Crump do not explicitly disclose cooler 101 is at least one secondary heater. However, as evidenced by Burnham, the cooler 101 cooled by a Peltier device is also able to heat.
Analogous art Burnham discloses a printer 101 that fabricates an object from a computerized model using a fused filament fabrication process (¶ [0100]). The printer 101 includes build material 102 that is propelled by a drive system 104 and heated to an extrudable state by a heating system 106, and then extruded through one or more nozzles 110 (¶ [0100]). The nozzle can include a resistive heating element, or similar components to directly control the temperature of the nozzle 110 (¶ [0126]).
Burnham further discloses a temperature control system of the heating system 106 may include one or more active devices such as resistive elements that convert electrical current into heat or Peltier effect devices that heat or cool in response to an applied current (¶ [0144]). The temperature control systems may include a heater that provides active heating to the components of the printer 101, a cooling element that provides active cooling to the components of the printer 101, or a combination (¶ [0144]).
As evidenced by Burnham, the thermoelectric cooler cooled by a Pelter device in modified Montgomery is able to heat or cool in response to an applied current (Burnham ¶ [0144]) and is considered “at least one secondary heater”
Montgomery does not disclose the at least one secondary heater comprises a stack of radial heater devices, each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide.
Fuller discloses printer 100 (¶ [0155], Fig. 2A) comprising an extrusion core 300 that liquifies filament 9001 (¶ [0170]; Fig. 3). A first-temperature-controlled block 314 (at least a first heater) in the hot-end 310 generates temperature to liquefy filament 9001 and is a resistive type heating block (¶ [0176], Fig. 3). Transition-section 330 comprise a second-temperature-controlled block 334 and first-insulator 332 and the second-temperature-controlled block 334 is a resistive type heating block (at least a secondary heater) (¶ [0177]).
Fuller depicts the at least one secondary heater 300 comprises a stack of radial heater devices (Figure 3 shows the transition-section 330 comprising a second-temperature-controlled-block 334 is placed directly over the hot-end 310 comprising the first-temperature-controlled-block 334 and are “stacked”; the distance between the filament pathway to the edges of the extrusion core are of equal distance; therefore, 310 and 330 are “radial devices”), each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide (Figure 3 depicts the filament pathway 304 through 300 and each of 310 and 330). The transition-section 330 may prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament in elongate-volume 302 by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament 9001 (in transition-section 330) and may maintain a temperature, via second-temperature-controlled-block 334, such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament 9001 is high (¶ [0177]).
FIG. 3 of Fuller
Montgomery and Fuller disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the extrusion core with a transition section comprising second-temperature-controlled-block and the first-temperature-controlled-block in the “stacked” arrangement above in Fuller to the cooler in modified Montgomery to prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament and may maintain a temperature such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament is high (¶ [0177]).
Regarding the limitation “a controller”. Crump discloses a temperature controller and temperature sensors are used on the dispensing head to closely control the temperature of the supply material just above its solidification temperature (c 4, L. 10-14). Controlling temperature ensures consistent flow and that the material will solidify substantially instantly upon cooling (c 4, L. 14-16).
Montgomery and Crump do not disclose a controller comprising: a processor, and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations.
Burnham further discloses a controller (¶ [0100] - control system 118 manages operation of the printer 110) comprising: a processor (¶ [0149] - a processor and memory), and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations (¶ [0148-0149] - providing instructions to control operation of the printer; computer executable code to control the heating system 106 and the drive system 104).
The approach advantageously uses drive speed to control heating in a manner that can adjust heat more quickly than resistive heating elements or the like for improved control of the temperature during extrusion (¶ [0118]). A force sensor is configured to measure a force resisting advancement of the build material 102 along a feedpath through the nozzle 110 (¶ [0118]). The resistive heating element may also be used for specific functions, such as de-clogging a print head by heating the build material 102 above Tm to melt the build material into a liquid state and can provide a convenient technique to reset the nozzle 110 without more severe physical intervention such as removing vacuum from a build chamber to disassemble, clean, and replace affected components (¶ [0126]). The temperature control systems are coupled in a communicating relationship with the control system 118 to controllably impart heat to or remove heat from the components of the printer (¶ [0144]).
Montgomery and Burnham disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the controller programed with computer executable code to control a temperature control system of a heating system comprising of one or more active resistive elements and force sensor in Burnham to the printer in modified Montgomery to de-clog a print head by heating the build material to melt the build material into a liquid state to provide a convenient technique to reset the nozzle without more severe physical intervention (Burnham ¶ [0126]) and to controllably impart heat to or remove heat from the components of the printer (Burnham ¶ [0144]).
Burnham discloses a rotary force sensor for a drive motor or a sensor that detects an electrical load on the drive motor may also be employed to obtain a suitable control input (¶ [0219]). Initiating a remedial action in response to error conditions may include pausing a fabrication process, initiating a nozzle cleaning operation, notifying a user, or the like (¶ [0322]).
Montgomery, Crump, and Burnham do not disclose wherein the controller is configured to detect an inlet clog based on motor current exceeding a motor current threshold.
Tu discloses the controller is configured to detect an inlet clog (¶ [0020] – material blockage) based on motor current (¶ [0016] - stepper motor connected to a current detection module) exceeding a motor current threshold (¶ [0016] - operation control is provided with a current threshold, and when the real-time current exceeds the current threshold, the operation control module generates and sends a warning signal). The current detection module is connected to the driving mechanism and the operation control module, so that the current detection module can detect real-time current and feed it back to the operation control module to determine whether material blockage occur, which is simpler and more efficient (¶ [0032]).
Montgomery and Tu disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the current detection module with operation control provided with a current threshold to generate a warning signal when the real-time current exceeds the current threshold to the controller in communication with force sensor in modified Montgomery to detect real-time current and feed it back to the operation control module to determine whether material blockage occur, which is simpler and more efficient (¶ [0032]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (US 2018/0333915 A1 used in rejection, equivalent to WO 2018/213559 A1) in view of Crump (US 5340433), Fuller (US 2016/0339634 A1), and Burnham (WO 2017/152142 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Montgomery discloses a system 119 for additive manufacturing (¶ [0045] - three-dimensional printer 119), the system comprising:
a material guide 104 (¶ [0046] - feed tube 104) comprising a physical transition point between a hot side and a cold side of the material guide (Fig. 1 depicts a hot side and a cold side of 104), wherein the material guide is configured to further extrude the extruded print material 110 (¶ [0046] - for receiving a forwardly driven filament 110) outwardly to a nozzle 103 (¶ [0059] – a nozzle 103 communicating with the outlet 127)
Montgomery Fig. 1
at least one heater element 102 (¶ [0047] - heater 102) that provides a physical transition point along the material guide
at least one secondary heater (¶ [0048] - a cooler 101) including cooling hardware (claim 52 - cooled by a Peltier device) at least partially wrapped around the cold side of the material guide (As depicted in Fig. 1 the cooler 101 in modified Montgomery is at least partially wrapped around the cold side of 104), wherein the at least one secondary heater further provides cooling (claim 52 - cooled by a Peltier device).
The limitation “to clear a print head” is recited in the preamble. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02 (II).
As the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention and the limitation “to clear a print head” is not recited within the body of the claim, the limitation recites purpose or intended use of the invention.
Montgomery does not disclose at least two hobs suitable to receive and extrude therebetween a print material filament for the additive manufacturing and the at least one heater element distally from the at least two hobs.
Analogous art Crump (referenced in Montgomery in ¶ [0004-0007]) teaches an apparatus for making three-dimensional objects comprising a dispensing head (c 3, L 15), a heater to heat material above its solidification temperature (c 3, L. 65-67), and a flexible strand of solid material (c 3, L. 61-62).
Crump further discloses at least two hobs 210, 212 (c 12, L. 11-12; Fig. 13 - pair of feed rollers 210 and 212 are driven by a servo motor 213) suitable to receive and extrude therebetween a print material filament for the additive manufacturing (c 10, L. 55 - c 11, L. 1 - feed rollers are used to induce the flexible strand of supply material into and through dispensing head) and the at least one heater element distally from the at least two hobs (Fig. 13 depicts the heating coil 238 is “distally” from the feed rollers 210). Aided by the gripping and frictional contact features of the feed rollers (c 10, L. 68; c 11, L. 1), a driving movement of strand feed rollers 210, 212 against the strand 204 can be achieved (c 14, L. 45-46) and a "pumping" action in which the strand acts as a piston can be used to force melted liquid in the lower end of liquefier nozzle 226 (c 14, L. 47-49).
Montgomery and Crump disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the feed rollers driven by a servo motor in Crump to drive the filament through the feed tube in Montgomery because the feed rollers maintain gripping and fiction contact with the solid filament (c 10, L. 55 - c 11, L. 1) and the driving movement of the servo motor allows “pumping” action on the solid filament in which the solid filament acts as a piston that helps drive or push the melted print filament out of the extrusion head (c 14, L. 45-49).
Regarding “at least one secondary heater”, Montgomery and Crump do not explicitly disclose cooler 101 is at least one secondary heater. However, as evidenced by Burnham, the cooler 101 cooled by a Peltier device is also able to heat.
Analogous art Burnham discloses a printer 101 that fabricates an object from a computerized model using a fused filament fabrication process (¶ [0100]). The printer 101 includes build material 102 that is propelled by a drive system 104 and heated to an extrudable state by a heating system 106, and then extruded through one or more nozzles 110 (¶ [0100]). The nozzle can include a resistive heating element, or similar components to directly control the temperature of the nozzle 110 (¶ [0126]).
Burnham further discloses a temperature control system of the heating system 106 may include one or more active devices such as resistive elements that convert electrical current into heat or Peltier effect devices that heat or cool in response to an applied current (¶ [0144]). The temperature control systems may include a heater that provides active heating to the components of the printer 101, a cooling element that provides active cooling to the components of the printer 101, or a combination (¶ [0144]).
As evidenced by Burnham, the thermoelectric cooler cooled by a Pelter device in modified Montgomery is able to heat or cool in response to an applied current (Burnham ¶ [0144]) and is considered “at least one secondary heater”
Montgomery does not disclose the at least one secondary heater comprises a stack of radial heater devices, each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide.
Fuller discloses printer 100 (¶ [0155], Fig. 2A) comprising an extrusion core 300 that liquifies filament 9001 (¶ [0170]; Fig. 3). A first-temperature-controlled block 314 (at least a first heater) in the hot-end 310 generates temperature to liquefy filament 9001 and is a resistive type heating block (¶ [0176], Fig. 3). Transition-section 330 comprise a second-temperature-controlled block 334 and first-insulator 332 and the second-temperature-controlled block 334 is a resistive type heating block (at least a secondary heater) (¶ [0177]).
Fuller depicts the at least one secondary heater 300 comprises a stack of radial heater devices (Figure 3 shows the transition-section 330 comprising a second-temperature-controlled-block 334 is placed directly over the hot-end 310 comprising the first-temperature-controlled-block 334 and are “stacked”; the distance between the filament pathway to the edges of the extrusion core are of equal distance; therefore, 310 and 330 are “radial devices”), each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide (Figure 3 depicts the filament pathway 304 through 300 and each of 310 and 330). The transition-section 330 may prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament in elongate-volume 302 by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament 9001 (in transition-section 330) and may maintain a temperature, via second-temperature-controlled-block 334, such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament 9001 is high (¶ [0177]).
FIG. 3 of Fuller
Montgomery and Fuller disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the extrusion core with a transition section comprising second-temperature-controlled-block and the first-temperature-controlled-block in the “stacked” arrangement above in Fuller to the cooler in modified Montgomery to prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament and may maintain a temperature such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament is high (¶ [0177]).
Regarding the limitation “a controller”. Crump discloses a temperature controller and temperature sensors are used on the dispensing head to closely control the temperature of the supply material just above its solidification temperature (c 4, L. 10-14). Controlling temperature ensures consistent flow and that the material will solidify substantially instantly upon cooling (c 4, L. 14-16).
Montgomery and Crump do not disclose a controller comprising: a processor, and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations.
Burnham further discloses a controller (¶ [0100] - control system 118 manages operation of the printer 110) comprising: a processor (¶ [0149] - a processor and memory), and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations (¶ [0148-0149] - providing instructions to control operation of the printer; computer executable code to control the heating system 106 and the drive system 104).
The approach advantageously uses drive speed to control heating in a manner that can adjust heat more quickly than resistive heating elements or the like for improved control of the temperature during extrusion (¶ [0118]). A force sensor is configured to measure a force resisting advancement of the build material 102 along a feedpath through the nozzle 110 (¶ [0118]). The resistive heating element may also be used for specific functions, such as de-clogging a print head by heating the build material 102 above Tm to melt the build material into a liquid state and can provide a convenient technique to reset the nozzle 110 without more severe physical intervention such as removing vacuum from a build chamber to disassemble, clean, and replace affected components (¶ [0126]). The temperature control systems are coupled in a communicating relationship with the control system 118 to controllably impart heat to or remove heat from the components of the printer (¶ [0144]).
Montgomery and Burnham disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the controller programed with computer executable code to control a temperature control system of a heating system comprising of one or more active resistive elements and force sensor in Burnham to the printer in modified Montgomery to de-clog a print head by heating the build material to melt the build material into a liquid state to provide a convenient technique to reset the nozzle without more severe physical intervention (Burnham ¶ [0126]) and to controllably impart heat to or remove heat from the components of the printer (Burnham ¶ [0144]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed October 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the amended limitations of claims 1 are not disclosed in the prior art, specifically amended cancelled claim 3 into claim 1 and further adding that the “radial devices” are “radial heater devices”.
Regarding the arguments to claim 1, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections above address the newly amended limitations, necessitated by amendment.
Fuller depicts the at least one secondary heater 300 comprises a stack of radial heater devices (Figure 3 shows the transition-section 330 comprising a second-temperature-controlled-block 334 is placed directly over the hot-end 310 comprising the first-temperature-controlled-block 334 and are “stacked”; the distance between the filament pathway to the edges of the extrusion core are of equal distance; therefore, 310 and 330 are “radial devices”), each having a port therethrough suitable to receive the material guide (Figure 3 depicts the filament pathway 304 through 300 and each of 310 and 330). The transition-section 330 may prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament in elongate-volume 302 by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament 9001 (in transition-section 330) and may maintain a temperature, via second-temperature-controlled-block 334, such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament 9001 is high (¶ [0177]).
FIG. 3 of Fuller
Montgomery and Fuller disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the extrusion core with a transition section comprising second-temperature-controlled-block and the first-temperature-controlled-block in the “stacked” arrangement above in Fuller to the cooler in modified Montgomery to prevent or minimize jamming of hardened filament by increasing a viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid filament and may maintain a temperature such that the viscosity of liquid to semi-liquid-filament is high (¶ [0177]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754